Free shipping on all orders over $39

The New YBF Control- reader reviewed

Pros

Contains spintrap

Cons

Caused breakouts
May 27, 2012 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 8 Comments
Did not provide visible improvements in skin's tone or texture

Reviewed by Peggy

I knew the jowls were forming. Like the viewer of some late-night B sci-fi flick sees the mutant space ooze slowly encircling the unsuspecting teens necking in a car, I knew the dreaded “sags” were inexorably closing in, soon to infect my jawline with alien wattles if I didn’t take action! Like a hero in the nick of time came the chance to test the newly reformulated YBF Control ($160 in the TIA shop) - but alas, like the tanks and bazookas the army always tries on those sci-fi monsters, it proved to be ineffective - at least for my skin.

I had high hopes for Control. It has two new actives aimed specifically at improving the skin's elasticity. See Marta’s review of Control for information about them. Control is a pleasure to use. It has a texture similar to Correct ($150 in the TIA shop), with a lovely almondy scent that I believe is from the spin trap. It leaves a very slight tackiness which is not enough to be bothersome. I did experience a couple of minor breakouts, but almost everything I’ve tried has also done that, so this would not keep me from using it. I used Control for five weeks, once a day in the morning, which is what YBF’s website recommends. At night, for the first couple of weeks I used a cream from Skin Actives with retinyl ester at 0.3%, which is supposed to be effective, but much gentler than Retin A. Because this combo didn’t seem to be producing good results, I replaced the vitamin A cream with a very light application of squalane to prevent dryness. The switch had no effect on breakouts.

Being desirous of giving an objective review, both for myself and the TIA community, I took photos to make sure any changes I noticed were actual and not wishful thinking. (I’d like to take a moment at this point to forewarn any future reviewers that taking close-ups of parts of your face you don’t normally see may be an unsettling experience.) What a shock! I normally don’t get a good view of the side of my 54 year-old, fair, sun-damaged face, and to borrow a line from Jimmy Durante, “What a revoltin’ development this is!” (I seem to be on a movie theme here.) Even my earlobes have wrinkles! And it’s not just wrinkles, but the texture, discoloration, and alas, sagging, are more apparent from the side than from the angle I normally see.

Your Best Face Control | Before/After | Truth In Aging
Your Best Face Control | Before/After | Truth In Aging

I’ve seen no improvement from using Control. If anything, the texture of my skin seems a little worse, as if slightly inflamed, which makes the wrinkles seem a little deeper. In all fairness, I have to state that I haven’t tried anything that has noticeably improved my skin, other than under my eyes, upon which Correct has done very well. The scientists will have to keep working away in their bunker to find the weapon that will stop the alien onslaught. I’m sorry to say that Control is not the hero of this story. Where’s Steve McQueen when you need him?

[Editor’s note: Also see Emily’s review and Nina’s review of the reformulated YBF Control]

Ingredients: Reverse osmosis water, Relistase (glycerin, acetylarginyltryptophyl diphenylglycine, Syn-Hycan (tetradecyl Aminobutyroylvalylaminobutyric urea trifluoroacetate, magneisum chloride, glycerin), Syn-Tacks (glycerin, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminobutyroyl hydroxythreonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate), Matrixyl 3000 (glycerin, butylene glycol, carbomer, polysorbate-20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tripeptide-3), nylon-12, olivem, Renovage (triglyceride, teprenone), olive squalane, ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate, ethoxydiglycol, dimethylisosorbide, meadowfoam seed oil, trans resveratrol, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), vitamin e, c10-c30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, leucidal, lipochroman-6, sodium hyaluronate, coenzyme Q10, tetrahydrocurcuminoids, alpha lipoic acid (R-lipoic acid), trithanolamine

  • June 4, 2012

    by Peggy

    Darrell, thanks for the offer and the information. That does shed some light on the complex subject of copper peptides. I think I need to find a copy of "Copper Peptides For Dummies!"
    Your comment about the possibility of vitamin A products causing undesired results when used with other actives raises a whole new question for me. After reading Marta's review of it, I ordered Osmosis Correct to use at night while using AQ Active Serum during the day. Now I wonder if that will cause a problem. I'm hoping that combo won't be disagreeable with my skin.
    It seems the more I learn about actives, the more I find I don't know!

  • June 2, 2012

    by Darrell

    Hi Peggy,
    Thank you again too and perhaps the one suggestion I could make is that if you find at some point you have gone for a couple of months without use of any type of vitamin A/Retin-A (or a derivative) and would like to give another go with Control, please reach out to me. All vitamin A products can cause undesired results with other products, like Control, which are high in active ingredients.

    On copper peptides...
    There is a great deal of misinformation populating the web about copper peptides -- much of it is either facts twisted by manufacturers claiming their product is better than another brand, or is specific and real information taken out of context and applied incorrectly toward a different type of copper peptide all together.

    Comparing the copper peptide we use in Marta's Hair Vitality Complex to any other copper peptide would be like comparing the movie "Bambi" to "Jaws III 3D" (or that whales-themed Star Trek movie). The reasons for this includes two things...

    First, almost an infinite number of copper peptides can exist based on the combinations of amino acids and copper used, so comparing one copper peptide to another really is like comparing apples and oranges.

    Second to the type of copper peptide, how it is used, PH balanced and formulated make it further unique so comparing suggested use rates in a formula from one type of copper peptide to another also has potential for confusion out there in web land. ...Because copper peptides are produced in a solution there can even be variation in the concentrations of the compounds producing the copper peptide -- even when identical ingredients in that particular peptide are used.

    I hope that context is a little helpful, but to recap, the peptide used in Hair Vitality Complex is produced exclusively and only for Marta. While I would absolutely heed any rate of use you find included with copper peptides that may be produced and available for DIY projects (and there are some great ones available for that purpose), because of their differences, I wouldn't apply any data you find to the peptide we created for Hair Vitality Complex.

    All my best and thank you again!
    -Darrell

  • June 2, 2012

    by Peggy

    Thank you Darrell, Marta, Ruth, Julie Kay & Gloria for your comments. And thank you, Marta, for the opportunity to try Control. I think there must be something in it my skin did not like, as I know YBF makes quality products, and others are getting good results with it. I'm now trying AQ Active Serum - it's too early to tell if it's having a good effect.
    I've been curious for a long time about copper peptides. The info about them on Skin Biology's website makes them sound like a miracle cure for aging skin, but their products have so many undesireable ingredients I can't bring myself to use them. Also, info about copper peptides on Skin Actives' website says using them in a concentraction that's too high (& Skin Biology uses high concentrations) causes protein in skin to break down, which causes skin laxity. They say a 0.1% concentration is best.
    Darrell & Marta, can you provide any information about that? I've thought of breaking into the bunker with the scientists & making my own concoction by adding copper peptides to a good moisturizer to give them a go, but I don't know how much to add. From the ingredient list for TIA Hair Vitality Complex it seems that the concentration is higher than 0.1%, which makes me think using more is safe.
    I'd really appreciate any wisdom you can lend in my quest for an effective wrinkle fighter. A big thanks from the trenches,

  • May 30, 2012

    by Gloria Gerber

    Peggy, Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful review. I hope you find something that suits your skin. I know how frustrating "the search" can be for the correct products for our skin can be. I thank Marta and the TIA community for providing us with the information and products to try that help us along the way.

  • May 29, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    You are a brave woman, Peggy, and you are beautiful just the way you are! ~jk

  • May 28, 2012

    by ruth

    one of the most helpful reviews! thanks!

  • May 27, 2012

    by Marta

    Peggy, what a wonderfully well-written review. The silver lining to this story, in my view, is as you are still hunting for a product that works for you, we can send more testers your way and enjoy the pleasure of your writing again

  • May 27, 2012

    by Darrell

    Hi Peggy (Darrell here at YBF),
    I'm a big movie buff too and so I enjoyed reading about your experience with Control -- despite it not turning out to be a box office smash with you.

    It's disappointing for me when a product doesn't deliver like I intend for someone, so I am sorry Control did not perform for you as hoped.

    Every review and experience can be helpful though and I think yours provides great detail that may help someone else who Control might prove to be a little more "Waterworld" and not enough "Dances With Wolves."

    My best to you and cheers,
    Darrell

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...