Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Your Best Face Correct (reformulated) Review

is a Solution for:
Crow's Feet, Dark Circles, Fine Lines, Puffy Eyes, Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
Your Best Face Correct .5 oz
June 27, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 29 Comments
TRU Rating
An effective method to tackle aging eyes

Pros

Notably lifted, firmer, and de-puffed eyes without parabens

Cons

None

This product has been reformulated. Please visit the shop for the most up to date review.

If it ain’t broke don’t fix it, was my first thought when I heard that Your Best Face was reformulating its Correct eye cream. It has long been a favorite of mine, I didn’t much see the point of messing with it. Well, it turns out that Correct hasn’t so much been reformulated as upgraded. It is improved in texture and performance and, surprisingly, new Correct isn’t just better than old Correct, it does different things. Like lift the eye lids to an extent that is quite astonishing.

After a couple of weeks of using the new Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the shop), I noticed that my eye lids were more visible. They were notably lifted, firmer and not at all puffy. Correct has always done a good job at smoothing out crepey wrinkles and the new version continues the cause, but also does a much better job of firming. If old Correct was really good, new Correct is excellent.

There have been significant changes to the formula. New Correct is whitish/cream rather than custardy yellow and has a thicker, more massageable texture. No babies have been thrown out with the bathwater. The distinct almond smell is an immediate indication that spin trap, a busy molecule that captures free radicals, is still a key active. As is that other YBF favorite, Lipochroman-6, plus Matrixyl 3000 and Renovage. However, there is much that is new and interesting.

Syn-Hycan may be responsible for the lifting effect as it was designed to tackle sagging skin. YBF also introduced it to the recently reformulated Control facial serum. It stimulates hyaluronan (HA) synthesis and expression of the proteoglycans, decorin and lumican.

Tego Pep 4-7 is made by a German company called Evonik and is based on the peptide tetrapeptide-17, which is supposed to have collagen, hyaluronic acid and fibronectin boosting activity. There is perfuorodecalin used to dissolve and deliver oxygen to the skin. Pentavitin is a moisturizing agent that has a long-lasting effect because it binds to the lysine in the keratin of the stratum corneum and can’t be washed off easily. Correct also has homeostatine (you will also find it in YBF’s Boost). It aims to maintain homeostasis in the extra-cellular matrix, which balances the synthesis and degradation of the matrix, keeping the skin moisturized, firm, and elastic.

Last but not least, paraben du, the old preservative complex, has been ditched and the new Correct has the safe and effective leucidal, made from fermented radish root.

*Editor's Note: Since this review was published, Your Best Face Correct has been reformulated for 2014.

  • October 6, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Kate, there has never been a 1oz version of Correct. It has only ever been manufactured as a 0.5oz

  • October 3, 2014

    by Kate

    I love YBF's Correct and have been using it for a couple of years. However I was very, disappointed after my last purchase of it to discover that for the same price you now only get .5 oz instead of 1 oz. this means the price has doubled since the last time I bought it. As much as I love the product I'm not sure I will continue to buy it.

  • September 17, 2014

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Deb,
    There was no old stock of Correct to be had. When we rolled out the updated formula in 2012 the new stock was not sold until the former stock was sold through.

    Custard yellow is one way indeed to describe the color Correct has been, is and always will be based on the color of some of the ingredients we use. There was a difference in color between the pre and post 2012 formulas but in the end, "custard yellow" could be used to describe both formulas.

    I hope this helps Deb, to reassure you that you have the current formula.
    My best,
    Darrell from Your Best Face

  • September 16, 2014

    by Deb

    When did they switch out to the 'new' stuff bec I ordered and received it not that long ago (your review is 2012) and my product is still custard yellow. Just asking...
    Used it for years but am now seriously thinking of switching to AQ for just this reason. Hate old stock.

  • April 4, 2014

    by Jennifer Bowen

    What can I say? I love this product. It just works for me. It's light enough that it moisturizes without clogging my skin and it isn't too thin or too thick in consistency for me. Most importantly it works, on puffiness as well as dark circles. I also happen to be fond of the faint almond scent.

  • September 14, 2012

    by Emily

    I'll add to the chorus....I too bought the new formula over the summer but hadn't cracked it open until last week, when I used up the last of my old one. I am loving it! I somehow think it's easier to apply as well.

  • September 14, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    HAHA! I only just finished my old formulated cannister of Correct three days ago. No way was I going to let a drop of the liquid gold go wasted. I had purchased my new formulated Correct a couple months ago, and it was waiting. I am on Day 3! AND AWAY WE GO... weeeeeeeeeee! ~jk

  • September 14, 2012

    by Darrell

    Big thanks and hello to Junko!
    ...Am very glad to hear this and thanks for making my day!

    -Darrell

  • September 14, 2012

    by junko

    Didn't believe it was possible to improve Correct but I'm 3/4 way thru my bottle of the new formulation and it's magnificent! Better than the old formula at reducing bags!! I've tried more eye creams than I care to count and Correct is the very best of all of them!!

  • August 13, 2012

    by Adria Cormier Babineaux

    Wondering how can I order a sample of the ybf correct? Thanks

  • August 13, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Oksana, yes the new Correct is on sale. We don't have any of the old one left.

  • August 13, 2012

    by Oksana

    hi, Marta
    I am about to re-order Correct. Am I assuming correctly, that only the new formula of Correct is now available in the TIA Shop?

  • July 6, 2012

    by Dawn T

    I would love to try a sample if they are available! Thanks for letting me know.

  • July 5, 2012

    by Laura

    I can't wait! Just ordered mine :) Will report back with my verdict in a few weeks!

  • July 3, 2012

    by Lori

    Marta, sorry for not being clear. I am interested in trying the new formula but before investing that amount of $ I'm wondering if sample sizes are sold (wouldn't expect them to be in the pumps :) ). I'd be willing to take another chance on the pump if the new formula is as amazing as it sounds!

  • July 3, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    What an exciting year for YBF... and through proximity TIA! Yay for all of us. I can't wait to spread the news (can you hear Streisand?) * laughs ~jk

  • July 3, 2012

    by dawn taylor

    Are their samples available of the new formula? I'd love to try it. I've been using AQ and while I love the face serum, I'm not sold on the eye product. Thanks for all the great info!

  • July 1, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Lori, the YBF samples are not in the same airless pumps, so you wouldn't get a chance to test whether they work.

  • July 1, 2012

    by Lori

    I have gone through 2 bottles of the old formula of Correct and while I was pleased with the results I had trouble with both pumps which is a concern at the price. I think there would be many TIA members who would greatly appreciate an opportunity to try the new formula before investing the $. If it's awesome,I'd take another chance at YBF's pumps and hope for success :) Any thoughts of selling sample sizes? I love YBF'S products but have had bad luck with all the pumps!

  • June 29, 2012

    by Darrell

    Hi there,
    There were quite a few specific Truth In Aging readers I kept in the front of my mind all through working in the new formula for Correct -- you were one of them Oksana!

    I recall from other posts, an area where you've said before that previous iterations of Correct missed the mark when it came to hydration and moisture. That was the exact feedback which drove one of the many changes in this iteration of Correct.

    As a result, the new version does indeed do a much better job at hydrating and providing/retaining moisture (without feeling heavy).

    Thank you and hats off to you and everyone who provided feedback which lead to a better product!

    -Darrell

  • June 29, 2012

    by Oksana

    hi,
    is the new Correct more hydrating?
    hope, the new formula will make the pump more effcient.
    love this cream - even if I still have to layer with a moisturizing eye cream, it's worth it.

  • June 28, 2012

    by Darrell

    Hi Kim,
    Each person is different of course and there can be many different causes of eye bags...

    ...but in my own case, for example, I've always been plagued with eye bags caused less by allergies and more by fatty deposits (of which there is little topical help for) and I am very pleased with where I've taken the formula this round -- a definite step forward is how I would describe Correct's ability to help with eye baggage.

    -Darrell

  • June 28, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kim, I have found that the new Correct tightens the under eye area nicely

  • June 28, 2012

    by kim

    Will the new formula help with my ever-so-stubborn under-eye baggage? I use correct now and like it, but I don't really see an improvement in this area. Thanks!

  • June 28, 2012

    by Darrell

    Hi Patti,
    Thank you and as it turns out, most airless pump fails are not a direct result of a problem with the pump, but rather the formula failing to work the way it should with the pump. In the process of upgrading the new Correct, we found that simply switching to a different pump without first improving how the formula works with the container would not have solved any pump problems.

    So, as part of the recent changes we improved the formula so it would perform better with the existing container – this was a MAJOR focus during this upgrade of Correct and I am pleased with the progress.


    Indeed, we are still watching for higher-performance pumps, which are accessible to small brands such as ours, but the focus of this particular upgrade was to improve how Correct performs with the existing container and to improve the overall texture and skin care benefits. The improvements in performance with the container are very, very significant.

    Thank you,
    Darrell

  • June 28, 2012

    by Patti

    But did they fix the pump? I love their products but the packaging doesn't work (have to use a q-tip to get the darn stuff out of the bottle!). For the price, I expect the pump to work.

  • June 27, 2012

    by Laura

    I agree with jc - I keep hoping for a giveaway ;) A recent bout of under-eye eczema (yes I am lucky, yes I am) has made my under-eye crepiness exponentially worse! Sigh..maybe for Christmas. Hurry up, Santa!

  • June 27, 2012

    by jc

    man, if it was in my budget to blow 150$ on just an eye cream, much less anything else in the line, this looks the one i'd do it on. that ingredient list is beautiful and i'm not even a purist when it comes to ingredients!

  • June 27, 2012

    by VickyL

    Wow! I can't wait to try this upgraded Correct. Lifting the lids against the constant pull of gravity is music to my ears.
    I am really impressed with the new version of Control so I expect great things. Darrel & the ybf team are constantly improving already great products. That's the recipe for success. :)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...