Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

The Wonderbar- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin, Face Care for Men
January 23, 2011 Reviewed by admin 23 Comments
Do you believe in miracles? I don't. Well, when it comes to skincare. So I was in fact skeptical about thewonderbar, a facial product, which is still sort of a skincare phenomenon. Skeptical= curious. The Wonderbar promises to cleanse, tone, exfoliate and moisturize all in one go. It's basically a full facial detox. So I dropped $40 and got a bar.

First, the name itself, Wonderbar, is already too "infomercial" for me. But I never judge a product by its name. Next, the whole process of using it is a production. You have to leave it on your skin for 3-5 minutes. And you can't use it in the shower as it has to dry. Annoying, right? But, after two weeks of using it, I am completely obsessed.

So here's the deal with The Wonderbar. It's made from a special, 3,000-year-old clay from Austria, a clay that contains the essence of 700 herbs and plants, all of which are ridiculously good for the skin. It also has chlorey-nahre, an organic, micro-algae formulation, that is known to clarify your skin, making it shiny and radiant and supple. It absorbs quickly into your skin and naturally rejuvenates cells. From my research, this concocted formula purges the skins of toxins rather than trapping them beneath your skin. Of course, this is great for acne, rosacea, eczema, psoriasis, hyper-pigmentation and large pores.

The Wonderbar is essentially a mini-mask. I have used it for two weeks now, every morning and every night. So far so good. Because it even claimed to work as a toner, moisturizer, etc, I did not use anything during this process. No facial scrub, no toner mists, no serums. I did use a moisturizer in the morning for SPF and a night cream at night because it didn't hydrate as much as I wanted it to on these cold, dry nights.

My face looks incredibly healthy and clean. It looks fantastic, actually. Completely toned and fresh and, well, amazing. The build-up of blackheads, I also noticed, was less than before. This whole Wonderbar experience is truly unusual as I generally don't endorse all-in-one products, nor am I a fan of bar soaps for the face, but this was $40 well spent. If you're interested, I would suggest checking out their web site first as there are some precautions about initial use, avoiding mineral powders, using it with make-up etc.

Ingredients:

Disodium Lauryl Sulfosuccinate - Sodium Coco-Sulfate - Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Starch - 1-Octadecanol - Paraffin - C17789 - Talcum - Heilmoor Clay - Water - Glycerin - Chlorey'nahre (CLO) - Polyglucuronic Acid - Olea Europaea Fruit Oil - Chamonilla Matricaria (Chamomile) Extract
  • February 20, 2011

    by Cat

    It's day 16 and I just re-ordered a full size Wonderbar. I'm not out, I just LOVE it and don't want to be without! Everyone remotely intrigued should try it! It's been amazing. I am sitting here still feeling fresh faced and glowing more than 8 hours after cleansing this morning. I actually left it on for about 2 hours for the first time today but it is not necessary and it doesn't have to dry. I also use it in the shower and will use it all over once I have the larger bar. The only detox symptoms I've experienced have been a little tightness and some flakes at one corner of my mouth, ha. That's it! I also tried it as a shampoo and loved it, then realized I might be rinsing out color that I pay dearly for so I didn't do that again. But, I can continue with my clarisonic dry brushing mornings before cleansing as I no longer feel the need to rinse off oil first thing. That to me is a true victory! I expect this product to top your best cleansers list next time for sure!

  • February 2, 2011

    by Cat

    My first bar is on the way! I've been so excited to try this one after reading about it here first, I almost bought the 4 boxed set! I am 49 and have an oily slimy texture like a reptile when I wake every morning. I don't like a lot of steps and am hoping this will be part if not all of an answer to prayer for me! I recently bought myself a Mia and found some relief but realy prefer to use it as Marta does, by dry brushing, only there is no good time as I'm swirling my natural oils around, lol!

  • February 1, 2011

    by Ann

    Maria - Thanks for your feedback. Sounds great. I have just ordered one. Are you using the Wonderbar both morning and evening, 7 days a week? Thanks for letting us know.

  • January 31, 2011

    by maria r. lewan

    I love my Wonderbar & will tell you all, I have not changed the other products I use on my skin & have not had one problem at all! I lather the Wonderbar & leave it on for 5-10 min (depending on how much time I have in the morning) then follow it with my Beautisol serum (thanks, Marta for recommending this!) & Chanel moisturizer-my skin is so clear, the pores are just about gone! No healing crisis for me! I am 59 yrs old & couldn't be more pleased with this "wonder"bar!
    BTW-my daughter's boyfriend, with a very heavy beard, says it's the only thing that helps him get a close shave with no irritation!

  • January 27, 2011

    by Lena

    After using the product for several months, I went to my dermatologist to ask him what I could do about my age spots (something the Wonderbar doesn't address), and he said that my rosacea and skin texture were so much improved that he was going to call the company and see if it was something he could have available to sell in his office. He was that impressed. Using it every day for so long, you really have to wonder when someone says it destroyed their skin, what the were using with it. The company is very upfront about using plain products. I have a really hard time believing that this product hurt someone's skin, but I can believe that people might use it with a chemically incompatible product and damage their skin that way. My daughter has used it on her children when they get cuts and scrapes and it does nothing but help heal their skin. It's not a "miracle", it's just a great, easy product. Instead of saying USE WITH CAUTION, it might make more sense to say USE AS DIRECTED.

  • January 26, 2011

    by Lauren

    First off 2 weeks as a fair trial, not in my world. I won't belabor the ingredients, but will add there is a plasticizer in there.....hmm.

    What I mainly want to say is a friend bought and used this "miracle" and destroyed her skin barrier, ended up having to resort to EL's ANR night concentrate (the 21 day use one) to repair all the damage caused by using this product.
    USE WITH CAUTION!

  • January 26, 2011

    by jimmy

    thank you mark!!

  • January 25, 2011

    by Mark

    Jimmy - I'm glad you will report back when finished with the bar - this sounds like one I could benefit from, but I do want to know your final results before investing.
    Thanks and Happiest Birthday Wishes to you!

  • January 24, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Whether or not I ever use Wonderbar- agree with its protocol or not- this discussion is intriguing. My skin has never needed or wanted to be "washed" to much. Now, you must consider I've always been acting on intuition alone. So this regimen with Wonderbar is extremely opposed to all I've ever done with my face. But I'm very interested to read others' experiences! ~jk

  • January 24, 2011

    by jimmy

    hi everyone, i'm glad that you are truly concerned about results of this product. I do have to admit, I was very hesitant about giving it a shot but at the same time, that's why I'm here for you... to try out products and give honest results. first, I do have to mention products yield different results for different skin types. mine is mostly oily/combo, but there is some dryness that goes on. annoying. and i'm sure age is a factor (I am 32, turning 33 this friday) as well as the fact i'm asian.
    i never, ever liked facial bars but when i tried wonderbar, i did notice pretty substantial results. i am, like i said, two weeks in and, as stated in my post, the only thing thing i could gripe about is the fact it left my face a little dry (like lena) but that's when my moisturizers do come in handy. because it's something super new and has all sorts of weird claims and disclaimers, i opted to try it as is without any other face scrub or wash or toner. My mug, believe it or not, has been looking super healthy and fresh and clean, despite the lengthy process of getting there. like with any new product, you will most likely have an adverse reaction, and i did with two very small pimples, but that is part of the process and those pimples disappeared within days. with any product, we take risks. i think everyone should use their fair judgement with a product and if it works for you, that's great. there are several products out there that my skin absolutely does NOT bode well with and that i will avoid. i think wonderbar is very unique and i'm curious to see how my skin continues to react from it. my goal is to continue using this bar until it's completely gone and see how my face is doing then and i will be happy to give the results. thanks, and don't hesitate to ask any other questions!

  • January 24, 2011

    by Lena

    I'm 57, so I think, or at least from only my personal experience, it does an amazing job on mature skin- even in a cold climate! And you are probably right on about men and younger skin too. I sleep in it several times a week and wake up with wonderful skin, so in my opinion, it has to be the other products one might mix with the wonderbar that cause breakouts, and not the bar itself. I do understand where you are coming from though, especially if you already have a routine you love in place. By the way, the website tells you not to sleep in it, but I can't help myself.

  • January 24, 2011

    by Junko

    Lena, Happy to read your results and from the website and other external reviews I deduced that Wonderbar would be a minimalists product. I think men and younger skin would its' best candidates ~ unfortunately I don't fall into either of these categories :(

  • January 24, 2011

    by marta

    I found an April 2010 article from Wonderbar claiming that it was discontuing including talc, yet it is listed in the ingredients with our post. I have written to Wonderbar for clarification.

  • January 24, 2011

    by Lena

    I've used the wonderbar for a long time, over a year, and have never had one problem aside from a little dryness in the beginning that went away after a couple of weeks. It got rid of my pores and rosacea. Amazing because nothing else has ever done that. I'm obsessed! The feeling i get from the company is that they want people to use plain moisturizers and wear little makeup, which i think is bad for your skin anyway. I keep up with the facebook page and they seem to be changing their stance on cerave, cetaphil and clinique, and recommending more products with lower toxicity levels, like facial oils for moisturizer, which is what i've started using. Last week they put up a bad review by some dr. on cetaphil due to the ingredients. they tell you to use physical block too, which I've read is better for our skin and works better. i think the product is for people who prefer to go without makeup and who want to stick with a simple routine. I don't get that they are trying to "decide for you", just that if you are going to use the product, there is a right and a wrong way to use it. i love it and would recommend it. also, my daughter uses it and has never had anything but good results. i think the few people who have bad breakouts are using the product wrong. The purging concept is probably because the bar has clay in it. If you look up clay, it's a known detoxifier and pulls oils and dirt from our skin. All I can say is, I think you are missing out! I do think they should change their website so it doesn't sound so scary, though, because it's not.

  • January 24, 2011

    by Oksana

    Julie Kay and Junko,
    thank you!
    Wonderbar should include a "retreat special" to go along with their product - just in case one needs an exhile to recover from all the purging.
    I believe, that the entire "purging" concept must be reviewed, since there is no evidence to support it.

  • January 23, 2011

    by Julie Kay

    Junko, you said, "I don't like the idea that Wonderbar decides..." I agree wholeheartedly. I've worked too hard and made enough mistakes along the way. I've found my basic key ingredients and feel I have a firm, yet tenuous, grasp on holding back the tumultuous cascade of wrinkles and sag just waiting for my misdirection. ~jk

  • January 23, 2011

    by Junko

    I've been browsing thru a lot of reviews on the Wonderbar and I'm too scared to try it. I use far too many different products to have to try eliminating Wonderbar conflicts. I don't like the idea that conflicts result in major break-outs. Weeks and months of break-outs with scarring that might never go away. The risk of what might happen if it doesn't work isn'nt worth it to me. I don't like the idea either that Wonderbar decides what I can and cannot use on my face. I'd like to be the one who makes those decisions~

  • January 23, 2011

    by Dennis

    I'm definitely less concerned about parabens, as far as my personal safety is concerned these days, but the environmental damage still concerns me.

    Marta, in your review of Marie Veronique's anti-aging oil you mention that "The good thing about oil-based formulas is that there is no water to attract bacteria and, hence, no nasty preservatives"

    Does this also apply to products that have an aloe vera base?

  • January 23, 2011

    by Oksana

    what about a life-time of paraben accumulation in the body and its effects? nobody really knows. most of the medications go through first 2 phases of clinical trials to get approved by FDA; we hear about additional "warnings" once a med has been in circulation for a while.
    we all make life-long choices on how to treat our bodies. taking chances with chemicals that produce toxic effects on human body in any amounts is a choice as well. I guess, it all depends on how desperate we are to remain looking "good".
    Darryl, I do not consider wikipedia to be a reliable source of scientific info. however, It's interesting and easy to read.

  • January 23, 2011

    by marta

    I would encourage people to read our articles on<a href="http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/what-is-it-propylene-glycol" rel="nofollow"> propylene glycol</a> and on <a href="http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/what-is-it-preservatives-and-parabens-and-are-they-safe" rel="nofollow">parabens</a>. We have attempted to look at all sides of the arguments and as much research as possible. Of course, there is always more to learn and we welcome being directed to research and facts.

  • January 23, 2011

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Oksana -- as a product-maker, I very respectfully offer up my opinion about propylene glycol and parabens.


    There is a tremendous amount of false information spread about propylene glycol. Often, companies that don’t use the ingredient will market mis-information they find as a tactic to make their own products that don’t use propylene glycol more appealing to consumers.


    My understanding is that propylene glycol is potentially toxic if consumed in large quantities (which is the case with most ingredients) but as it is typically used in cosmetics and food, is in-fact, safe. Statements about toxicity and irritation potential of propylene glycol, such as are found in the Cosmetics Database, are notably based on high exposure levels – far above that of any exposure we would typically encounter in consumer products.


    Propylene glycol is often confused with other, toxic glycols. Statements about the toxicity of ß-propylene glycol and ethylene glycol are often taken out of context and inaccurately used to describe propylene glycol, which becomes some of the greatest source of mis-information.


    Detailed information about the toxicity and safety of propylene glycol can be found here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propylene_glycol



    With regard to parabens...
    Portions of scientific studies are often misquoted or taken out of context and become the source for what many people consider misleading information. Sometimes that information is used to convince consumers that preservatives are dangerous and that paraben-free products are safer and better than their preserved counterparts.


    At the same time, preservative-free or paraben-free companies often imply their products are safer. Some of those companies go so far as to use information out of context that fuels an impression or creates fear that using products containing preservatives increases the risk of cancer.


    For example, a 2004 study by Dr. Philippa Darbre is often misquoted as having literally determined that parabens cause breast cancer. Experts in the medical and scientific communities have since agreed portions of the Darbre study taken out of context have unnecessarily sounded an alarm that has since been difficult to reset.


    To date the Cosmetic Ingredient Review (CIR) Expert Panel, the Food & Drug Administration (FDA) and the National Cancer Institute (NCI) have all stated that when used appropriately it cannot be concluded that parabens cause cancer.


    Thank you and with respect,
    -Darrell Owens

  • January 23, 2011

    by L

    How do you think this would be using it for a body wash also?
    Thanks,
    L

  • January 23, 2011

    by Oksana

    Jimmy,
    glad to hear you had such great results with this product - after reviewing Q&A on Wonderbar website, anybody would have to conjure a tremendous amount of courage to start using it.
    forgive me, but it sounds like Wonderbar folks use a lot of pseudo-science to promote their product: exotic, hard-to-get ingredients from "different parts of Europe" and "made in Malaysia"; "no pain, no gain" motto; must be used with mineral sunscreen, while use of "some mineral powders" is discouraged because of "severe infection" with Wonderbar concomminant use (clinical proof? studies?). vague at best.
    I also cannot get over the fact, that they recommend to use Clinique dramatically different moisturizer, as "basic and plain".
    some of the listed ingredients in it are:
    - Mineral Oil Mix of refined liquid hydrocarbons derived from petroleum. Baby oil coats skin like plastic wrap impeding ability for skin to breathe.

    - Propylene Glycol Surfactant (found in anti-freeze). No difference in PG found in antifreeze and used in personal care products. Breaks down protein and cellular structure. Implicated in brain, liver, kidney abnormalities. Can cause dry skin, rashes and damage to skin surface.

    - Methylparaben and propylparaben – BOTH in this moisturiser! are the most commonly used preservatives. Sometimes the “full house” of parabens is listed as “mixed parabens”. Now found whole in tumours particular breast tumours.
    I think, I 'll stick with my MIA and Nurture Your Body Cleansing Milk - beautiful!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...