Free shipping on all orders over $39

Green Brands - Five Best of 2010

Reviewed by Shyema April 18, 2010 18 Comments

Last year, we did a round up of five best organic brands that have given us visibly positive results in our tests and trials. Their eco-friendly philosophy and plausible scientific backing gave the brands even more cred with us. Continuing with tradition, we’re celebrating Earth Day 2010 with some more favorites we’ve added to the list over the year:

AMALA
Potent botanicals without the harsh chemicals, this organic brand works with fair trade partners around the world. Amala’s Rejuvenating range is big on cocoa extract, which is high in flavonoids and lessens skin reddening. A French study also saw that cocoa polyphenols improved skin elasticity. We fell hard for their toner, and collagen mask (so much so, it was part of our Five Best facial masks!).

Amala’s Purify Collection also includes their Blue Lotus Face Mask which is loaded with antioxidant properties such as bioflavenoids quercetin and rutin. Along with softening shea butter and jojoba, our tester found her skin smooth and kept her acne at bay.

100% PURE
We can always appreciate a skin care brand with an ingredients list where often enough, we don’t even have to go to the dictionary for. That’s how simple beauty starts with 100% Pure. Their Potent Mushroom & Peptide Antioxidant Concentrate is rich in acai and pomegranate oils, and the Pineapple Enzyme Facial contains brightening fruit enzymes that promote skin elasticity and new skin cell growth. For a foaming cleanser that never makes the skin feel dry or tight, try the Cranberry.

Thanks to Kim, we got to know their tinted moisturizer and a makeup range that uses only pigments from fruits. They stick to their principles with organic ingredients that deliver beautiful results.

JOHN MASTERS ORGANICS
We’ve had a string of good luck with John Masters Organics. Marta raves about its Vitamin C Antiaging Face Serum (she says “there’s not a single thing to dislike!”) which evens out the skin tone and moisturizes. But John Masters has more than just skin products worth the praise — their hair products also work wonders. Their Lavender Avocado Intensive Shampoo and Conditioner brings back a warm luster and volume to hair while still being safe for chemically-treated locks. Lavender apparently also helps hair growth. According to a University of Maryland study, testers who massaged their scalps with lavender and other essential oils daily for seven months experienced significant hair re-growth compared to those who massaged their scalps without the essential oils. Also recommended: Mandarin Maximum Moisture (which Copley says is a “miracle in a slim bottle”), and Herbal Cider Hair Clarifier and Color Sealer which is heaven-sent for oily hair.

SKIN PERFECTION
Skin Perfection is all about delivering organic, anti-aging products without harsh chemicals, toxic synthetics, fillers, or parabens. Their internet-only business also keeps prices affordable and we can’t complain about that. Their 10% Glycolic Acid Cleanserreduces the appearance of pores and helps clear skin. Lisa also reviewed and recommended a slew of their products (including the Clear Skin Toner, Clear Skin Anti-Aging Hydrator Serum and Liquid Face Lift) after noticing this regimen made her skin more supple and bright.

REVOLUTION ORGANICS
Revolution Organics pure and healthy line contains body creme’s and lip balm, but it’s the Freedom Gloss, that really impressed us with its slick, goop-free formula (read: no more sticky strands of hair getting caught on our glossy lips!). Not only that, but it’s all-natural and eco-friendly formula make it a gold-medalist in the lip product department.

Made from 85% certified organic ingredients that’s paraben- and sulphate-free (not to mention no chemicals or artificial ingredients), we love that it also contains soothing aloe and natural salve. It contains moisturizing ingredients such as jojoba oil, olive oil, and shea butter that conditions without drying it out. So not only does it feature champion ingredients without the “bad stuff,” it wins our heart for making us look good too. Beautiful vibrant colors with staying power. Love.

  • October 21, 2010

    by Femke

    Really good post! I prefer organic products any time! Too bad a lot of organic brands presented by TIA doe not ship to Europe. Like Pratima and Amala, who both have products I would really like to try. Is anyone familiar with Petite Marie Organic products from the UK?

  • May 13, 2010

    by Praana

    definately agree about the John Masters. I use it all the time and everyone comments on how good my hair looks!

  • May 11, 2010

    by Elizabeth

    Love the reviews, but I don't see my absolute FAVORITE products! I've been using Virginia Brown's cleanser/moisturizer and it is so fantastic. Like the ones you listed, it's all natural AND green. They sell them online (vbskinsystems.com), and they give me a discount for recycling the bottles. Bonus!

    Thanks for putting good info out there :)

  • April 21, 2010

    by Jennifer

    I’m planning on making my routine more green by transitioning to using organic skincare products. The Eye Bright eye cream and Nutra-lift’s Wrinkle Repair Ultra are perfect examples that I would love to test and give a review on.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Michl

    My routine has been green-morphing…I use mainly natural/organic ingredients. I keep it simple and as close to nature as possible…
    I eat mainly local and organic…and try to buy products w/ minimal packaging…

  • April 20, 2010

    by Angela

    I’m going to make a concerted effort to repair my skin from the inside out – eat more fresh fruits and vegetables that are in season and locally grown and drink a lot more purified water (not bottled!). I’m also going use more food *on* my face by incorporating things in my routine such as Ildi’s parsley mask, fresh berry exfoliators/masks, oatmeal/almond scrubs, etc. – this way I can clean out my pantry while simultaneously cleansing my face.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Nancy

    These products sound wonderful! Eating organic is great but if I’m putting non organics on my skin, it just makes it more difficult to have a healthier body. Thanks for sharing these products with us.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Summer in Illinois

    Marta,

    What a great way to help green the one place that I feel is so hard to finally give up products that you have used forever. I stumbled upon this site about a year ago and have followed its advice ever since. Everything I have added into my regimine has been great—even fabulous. I would be thrilled to try some new organic products as I am trying to make everything in my beauty drawer good for my skin. I have tried a few John Master’s produts and LOVE them–the other lines are new to me. I am anxiously awaiting my YBF sample packet and ageless eyes in the mail. Thank you for this website.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Marybeth

    Marta,
    I love the provision of additional information on earth friendly earth friendly organic products. Yeah! I am far willing to try things that are from environmentally aware companies that use eco-friendly methods to produce and package their lines. Avalon Organics puts out a reasonably priced line of vitamin C based products that I have had luck with. Their story and information about their products is available at: http://avalonorganics.com. Thank you again for making it easy to access products that promote sustainability and are kind to our planet!
    Marybeth

  • April 20, 2010

    by Val♥TIA

    My green goal is to gradually phase out my “other” products. I don’t want to waste them, not to mention I wouldn’t even know how to dispose them. This is a major hill to climb so I’ve just been focusing on green skincare to start since that’s what I use the most of. Also, my friend and I are having bi-monthly spa day parties where we hip our other friends to organics by everyone crafting their own products!

  • April 20, 2010

    by Jennifer Jackson

    What about L’uvalla? I read such a wonderful review here on their Age-Defying and Eye/Lip Cream.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Kim

    I am SO into testing these products. Would LOVE to write a review!

  • April 20, 2010

    by Sharon

    One way I love to stay green and use organic is making my own Oil Cleansing oil for the OCM way of cleansing. I use a combination of oils with at least 20% Castor oil to cleanse my face. I put some in the palm of my hand and rub all over before getting in the shower take a hot cloth and put over your face for a few minutes then wipe off the excess. Leaves your skin clean and soft.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Beatriz

    I sterted knowing cosmetics green maks through your blog. Plese, continue doing so¡¡

  • April 20, 2010

    by Becky

    It’s not easy finding products that are both green and effective….but I’m trying! Right now I’m using Derma-E products and am liking what I see so far.

  • April 20, 2010

    by Ines

    Thank you Shyema. Since I started using organic products (I have to admit that not ALL of them but I am trying…) my body and soul had been rewarded. I like Skin Perfection products and look forward to increasing the number of green products in my dresser and bathroom cabinet.
    Rgrds,

  • April 19, 2010

    by Shyema

    Yaaay, thanks!!

  • April 19, 2010

    by Val♥TIA

    Really nice post. So cool to see top brands listed, especially Amala. I’ll be sure to send this link to friends who are just beginning to see the light. Thanks, Shyema!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...