Free shipping on all orders over $39

Tilvee’s Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dull Skin, Oily Skin
October 7, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 14 Comments

Imagine an orchard of exotic fruit, packed with antioxidants and other good things. Wouldn’t you love to just crush it all and rub the goodness into your skin. Well, Tilvee has somehow magically transformed a mouth watering fruit salad into powder form and put it into a tub. All you do is add a drop of water and make a paste.

That just about sums up Tilvee’s Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque ($27), which is nothing more or less than pure fruit powders plus some clay and exfoliating bamboo.  The idea is to take a scoop of the powder and, in the palm of your hand, mix it with a few drops of water or even your favorite toner – I tried it with Peach Moon Water. It quickly forms a paste that can be spread over the face and left for five or ten minutes.  The process turned out to be surprisingly easy and not at all messy.

I’m not really sure whether powdered fruit is all that bioavailable (eg: how much of the antioxidants and other nutrients can really penetrate the skin), but what I can tell you is that I have used this mask several times now and my skin looks fabulous – truly glowing – and feels both firm and soft afterwards.

The dominant extract is antioxidant pomegranate (both seeds and juice) which helps promote growth and thickening of human skin. More unusual though chokeberry (aronia arbutifolia). This has an off the charts ORAC rating (ability to knock out free radicals) of 16,062.  Camu camu is also worth getting to know better. It is claimed that camu camu has 30 times more vitamin C than an orange. I did my research and it turns out that a camu camu berry does have an awful lot of C, accounting for 3% of its weight. This mask also has mangosteen, but unfortunately this has less of a pedigree when it comes to backing up claims that it is an antioxidant, although it may have anti-inflammatory qualities.

All in all I am delighted with Tilvee’s Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque and am eager to discover more products from this small Colorado based company.

Ingredients

Punica granatum (Pomegranate) fruit juice powder, Euterpe oleracea (Acai) fruit juice powder*, Aronia arbutifolia (Aronia) fruit powder, Garcinia mangostana L. (Mangosteen) fruit powder, Punica granatum (Pomegranate) seed powder, Cocos nucifera (Coconut) fruit juice powder, Rubus idaeus (Red raspberry) fruit powder, Moroccan lava clay (Rhassoul), Bambusa vulgaris (Bamboo) powder, Myrciaria dubia (Camu Camu) fruit powder, Avena sativa (Oat) flour.

  • October 29, 2010

    by » Amazing Detail and Intricate Web of Deception—Apple Stem Cells Wrinkle Cream for Men

    [...] Tilvee’s Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque- reviewed and recommended Yes To Inc » [...]

  • October 20, 2010

    by Kimberly

    This sounds like something my skin could really benefit from. My skin is dull and has hyperpigmentation. I have tried lots of products but they haven't given me the results I'd hoped for.

  • October 17, 2010

    by Daniel

    Wish I could try it, we are a bit slow in the uk to get products like this and I think now that mens skin care is booming all over the world is important for men to test products too. I've tried so many masks in my time but this one sounds amazing. I try and eat as many superfoods as I can and do reap the benefits it would be interesting to see how they work applied topically. I shave every day which means my lower face gets a battering every day would be good to see how the anti inflammatory compounds in the mask help in soothing that area and my face in general

  • October 14, 2010

    by Aimee

    Tilvee’s Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque sounds perfect for me. I am allergic to many chemical cosmetic ingredients, so, I try to use only face masques from fruits and other natural ingredients such as raw honey and raw shea butter. Even just using the shea butter on my face and neck at night gives my skin a gentle rosy glow and plumpness by the next morning. I am dying to try Tilvee's masque. And, thank you so much for your wonderful website, Marta, will all the incredible information that you present. YAY!

  • October 14, 2010

    by Maureen

    Marta, I am new to your TIA website. I am amazed and overwhelmed with all the information it contains. I would love to try the masque you mentioned. The powder base is interesting, but the anti-inflammatory properties really peaked my interest. Maybe it would help the puffiness I sometimes have in my face, especially around my eyes. Anyway, thanks for sharing.

  • October 14, 2010

    by Cindy

    The ingredients in this masque and the cream sound amazing. As someone with sensitive skin, I like that the ingredient lists are short and full of things I can actually pronounce. My hyperpigmented, aging skin would love to try it!

  • October 14, 2010

    by colinmack

    I looked this cream up and it looks wonderful! I am just about out of my night cream and serum so I would love to try this!

  • October 13, 2010

    by Elyse

    Wow - I looked this cream up on the Tilvee website and it looks terrific. Between the cold and the central heating, winters in Chicago can be brutal on the complexion. My soon-to-be-red-and-dry-face felt soothed just reading the list of ingredients. In addition to the argan oil and sea buckthorn extract, it contains shea, cocoa, and mango butters, chamomile extract plus aloe and avocado oil. Heavenly... I'd love to try this product!

  • October 13, 2010

    by Shannel

    Well as a Colorado native I would love to try to support a local company. I have been using a pomegranate antiox booster from skin actives and would be interested to see how this powder compares. More importantly though, my fiancee left last Saturday (for good) and I'm lookin for healthy pick-me ups in any way, shape or powder in this case. So sob sob, pick me!

  • October 13, 2010

    by Val♥TIA

    Oh my word...this could do wonders for my hyperpigmentation. Not to mention, the skincare combos you could make from this are endless! This just really makes being a Mad Scientist sexy. Who wants Tilvee? I do! I do!

  • October 10, 2010

    by Susan

    This looks yummy. I like the powder form, because preservatives don't have to used. This is on my list of future purchases.

  • October 8, 2010

    by Angela J

    Karla, what a brilliant idea to mix with the Concentrate! Yet another item that I must put on my "must have" list.

  • October 7, 2010

    by Karla

    For over a year now, I've been using Tilvee's Acai Pomegranate Rejuvenating Masque once or twice a week. I like to combine it with YBF's Concentrate and leave it on for about 20 minutes for wonderful results. I totally agree with Marta; the masque reaally does give my skin a glowing quality, leaves it both soft yet firm after, and feeling fresh.

  • October 7, 2010

    by Angela J

    Marta, This sounds good enough to eat. I much prefer powder masks that I make fresh each time and can mix with any liquid medium, not just water. The possibilities are almost limitless - yogurt, aloe vera gel, honey, fruit juice, etc. Perhaps you could post a link to their website? Thanks!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...