Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 0 stars

Buy this product

Ultra Renew Combines Ultrasonic with LED for Firmer Looking Skin

Reviewed by Marta May 9, 2012 119 Comments

Ultrasonic is the very best treatment that I have found for sagging skin, and when this technology is combined with LED, it is a skin firmer and plumper, and a smoother of lines. I decided to call this combination Ultra Renew. Yes, this is Truth In Aging’s very own at-home ultrasonic and LED device: Ultra Renew.

I left a little tease at the end of my post on how to pick the best at-home anti-aging device, saying that I was trying out a new device that has both ultrasonic and LED. Many of you picked up on it and asked for more details. Well, now I can reveal the all new Truth In Aging Ultra Renew. I have been working with a manufacturer and testing for months to be sure that I could create a real advance on the basic LED device. I love my Ultra Renew and I am proud to put Truth In Aging’s brand name on it.

Ultra Renew has ultrasound for face firming.  Plus there are three integrated LED lights (so there’s no removal of individual light panels) with red light for smoother skin, green for a clearer complexion and blue for breakouts and pimples.

Long a fan of LED, I am now very impressed with what ultrasonic can do, especially along the jawline, marionette lines and from cheek to temples. With regular use, the firming effects are notable and much better than LED alone. So what is it?

Ultrasonic is ultrasound. As the ultrasound waves pass to the skin, they cause the vibration of the surrounding tissues, particularly those that contain collagen. This vibration leads to the production of heat within the tissue. In most cases this cannot be felt (nor can ultrasonic waves be heard). It also produces more elastin and collagen. Ultrasonic also helps prep your skin for anti-aging serums. Even if you eshew the serum, you’ll need to apply a water-based gel or serum (UPDATE: we have now produced Ultra Renew Gel Serum infused with antioxidants) to help the conductivity of the ultrasonic waves.

In ultrasonic mode, the device is pushed firmly in an upwards direction across the face. Please note that neither the device nor the skin surface become no more than a little warm and the treatment isn’t at all uncomfortable. With ultrasound, the higher the frequency of the oscillation of the wand, the more shallow the ultrasound will pass to the skin. The Ultra Renew is set at 3 MHz, which is ample for an effective treatment with noticeable results. In fact research has shown that increasing source power doesn’t make ultrasound any more effective, so it is a gentle therapy.

LED seems to work by targeting water layers on elastin and encourages cellular metabolism, accelerates the repair and replenishment of damaged cells, and aids in the production of collagen. Blue light wavelengths pass to skin and produce singlet oxygen, which potentially destroy acne-causing bacteria. Green light targets melanocytes, melanin-producing cells located in the bottom layer of the skin's epidermis.

The LED and the ultrasound are used consecutively (not at the same time) and I have found that about 4 minutes of ultrasonic per side of the face, followed by 3-5 minutes of LED per side is adequate. Play around as time and inclination permits (LED alone, ultrasound alone, both treatments on just one area of the face). Three times a week is optimal. It can be used on hands, neck (LED and ultrasonic are safe for use on the neck providing that you don't have an over-active thyroid) and décolleté as well. I’ve seen research claiming that ultrasound elevates elbows (this I have yet to try) and can raise brow height by 2mm in just one session.

Ultra Renew is a sturdy, reliable device. All LED lights and ultrasound are activated at the press of a button and it comes with complimentary goggles and illustrated instructions. Note that the voltage is compatible worldwide, but outside the US you will need to purchase a local adapter from your hardware store.

 

Editor's Note: The Truth Renew & Truth Renew PLUS prototype devices are no longer available for sale in the Truth In Aging shop.

FDA Approved Truth Vitality Lux Renew with LED and Ultrasound Learn about Truth Vitality Lux Renew, our first ever FDA-cleared device that offers ultrasound, red LED and blue LED therapy to safely and painlessly minimize wrinkles, firm and lift skin, and clear adult acne.

Buy Me
$ 89.00
  • October 18, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi April, we do not operate a telephone hotline. But if you email customerservice@truthinaging.com we will be happy to take care of you.

  • October 18, 2014

    by April

    Is there an 800 number ?

  • May 5, 2014

    by Sandy

    Can the Ultra Renew be used on the body as well as the face? What is the difference between LED and RF?

    Thanks,
    Sandy

  • April 26, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Sunny
    This device, the Ultra Renew, has been replaced by a newer version called Truth Renew: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/truth-renew-ultrasonic-and-led-anti-aging-system-2
    We also have the Ultra Renew Plus, which in addition to LED and ultrasound, has ionic (plus and negative) and all three modes can be used at the same time. Please bear in mind that these are different technologies to the Tria, which is a laser device. Personally, I do not like laser because I find it very uncomfortable to use and because it works by extreme exfoliation which tricks your skin into thinking it has been wounded and produce new cells. I much prefer that LED and ultrasound work on the cellular level to boost collagen. There is more on how the different technologies work here: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/tool-up-with-the-best-at-home-device-for-you

  • April 25, 2014

    by sunny

    Hello,
    I am trying to decide between this device and the Tria age defying laser. For the money what does a better job in minimizing wrinkles?

  • May 17, 2013

    by Jean

    Frustrated that I purchased the Ultra Renew and within just a few months the Ultra Renew Plus, which you say works much better, came out.

  • May 2, 2013

    by Marie

    Marta, I just read the site. Sounds good and thinking of purchasing. Question - I am using Nutraluxe MD with infrared and roller heads that provide massage. Do you think using your product and mine would be too much IR light meaning too much would slowly cause fat burning? I also work out and lose fat pretty quickly. But I notice when I lose fat my skin sags more and the cellulite looks worse - horizontal lines and deep dimples. Can I use your body product without the IR or should I????

  • May 2, 2013

    by Marie

    Marta, Thanks for the quick reple. I will check it out!

  • May 2, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Marie, we have another device that is specifically designed to be used on the body. It doesn't burn fat, but firms the skin using infra-red light, ultrasonic and EMS. You can see more here: http://www.truthinaging.com/body/ultra-renew-sculpt-for-slimming-and-body-shaping

  • May 2, 2013

    by Marie

    Marta or whoever,

    Can your product be used on thighs? I have a product with infrared (same as led?) and it says that it burns fat. I don't want to burn fat, just smooth dimples. and lift my skin. I had a lipo and now have more visible wrinkling really bad on my now uneven thighs.

  • February 4, 2013

    by Marta

    Thank you Ann, that's great news on the broken capillaries. I mentioned using LED for them in my recent Five Best for broken capillaries: http://www.truthinaging.com/face/five-best-for-broken-veins-2013

  • February 4, 2013

    by Ann Pino

    One week update: The red LED has diminished the broken capillaries on my cheeks to the point where I might be able to stop using concealer on them soon. It has also worked wonders on a brown patch on my left cheek that is now almost gone.

    No obvious improvement on the marionette line on the left side of my face, but I've started feeling a noticeable tightening when I use the ultrasound on my forehead.

    Last night I tried massaging the corrugator muscles that are making 11s between my eyes. Then I followed up with ultrasound and a frownie patch. Big improvement! Much better than ONLY massaging the muscles and wearing the frownie patch. I'm going to continue this method every other day, using red LED on the off-days to continue building collagen.

    I'll check back in a week or two with another update!

  • January 27, 2013

    by Ann Pino

    I hesitated to buy the Ultra Renew because I've been spending a lot of money on products lately, but I justified it to myself that I could also use the ultrasound for injuries.

    Wouldn't you know it, I wrenched a toe in dance class the night before my Ultra Renew arrived! I could barely walk that day, but I used the ultrasound that afternoon and was at 80% by the next morning. Another treatment, and I was ready to dance again, just 48 hours after the initial injury!

    I also did the blue laser on a cystic pimple that had been plaguing me for two weeks without ever erupting or going away. It was barely visible after one treatment and gone by the second treatment.

    I can't wait to see what the Ultra Renew does for my little sags and wrinkles, but if it keeps me running, dancing, and zit-free, I've already gotten my money's worth!

  • January 22, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Annie, what I am saying is that you can use it for as little as 1o minutes and see results. You can use it for longer if you want.

  • January 22, 2013

    by annie

    Marta, am just wondering why you only recommend 3-5 mins on both sides of face for the LED mode, total only 10 mins max, when the aurora and baby quasar advise a lot longer, 25 mins. Is the LED on this more powerful so you can do it for less time (ie the joules per cm2?/second Many thanks

  • January 14, 2013

    by Michele Watson

    Hi I just wondered if the green LED can be used for white pigmentation? I have white sun spots which look awful-the result of walking on the beach lately I guess (can get to 30 degrees even early most days in Summer in Perth Australia!) Will green LED work on this? It is not vitilligo -just looks like white freckles :-(
    Thanks Marta!

  • December 4, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Teresa, the Ultrasound should NOT get warm and you should not feel anything. This mentioned in the accompanying instruction manual. Please do consult this as it is important to use the device correctly in ultrasonic mode. You can tell if it is working by carefully putting a drop of water on the metal plate and it will vibrate slightly. Here is more information on Ultrasound and how it works: http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/ultrasonic-how-it-works

  • December 4, 2012

    by Teresa Otero

    I purchased this, but I'm not sure the ultrasound is working. I don't feel anything and it did not get "warm". How can I tell if this function is working?

  • November 20, 2012

    by Anna Maxwell

    Dear Marta, Thank you so much for your response: I really appreciate it. Anna

  • November 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Anna - "seriously effective", now that's music to my ears. I agree that I have found no research that suggests any of these treatments would be unsafe for a pregnant woman. However, I can say that no actual safety tests on pregnant women have been carried out with Ultra Renew. So, to be on the safe side I think you should consult your pediatrician.

  • November 14, 2012

    by Anna Maxwell

    Dear Marta, I have had my Ultra Renew for a while now (and the Baby Quasar before that), and have found it seriously effective, particularly combined with a monthly Caci (micro current) facial. However, I am now pregnant. None of my internet research suggests that there is any good reason other than just extreme caution why one cannot continue with either of these. Caci facials have been found to be entirely safe and without side-effects, and I had understood that the same applied with home LED and ultrasonic products too. Please could you let me know what your reasons were for the warning, and what your views are? Thank you so much. Anna

  • October 11, 2012

    by Sonja

    I got this about a month ago.........my first time trying any device like this. I have to say.......I do believe it is working! I think with time and consistent use I will see more and more clearer results but for right now my skin seems smooth and a bit more plump. Under my chin area was the main reason I got this........I think I notice a very slight improvement with sagginess. I did get the gel serum from Truth in Aging with it and I sort of love/hate it. I have no doubt that it is chock full of beneficial ingredients but I have found that it gets sticky pretty quickly and I have to apply quite a bit over and over during my "sessions" to keep the slip. I wish it wasn't so darn sticky! I have been just sleeping with it on my face after a session despite the stickiness and maybe that helps with my skin looking nice? Anyway, I would def repurchase at this point and plan on continuing using it and hopefully will see further improvement!

  • October 5, 2012

    by FELICIA

    HI, I just tried my new Ultra renew, a question: I didn't see the answer or question about why can 't the LED and the ultrasound be used at the same time? (if you have posted it, just send me the link)
    do I really have to wear goggles on it with LED mode?
    tks~

  • September 29, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Linda

    The recommended maximum times are set out in the instruction manual that came with the device - if you need a replacement copy please let us know. The recommended times are 3 times a week for 30 minutes or 5 times a week for 15 minutes. It is advisable to stick within those limits.

  • September 29, 2012

    by Linda Surber

    I own and use the Ultra renew machine everyday. My questions: Is there a problem with using the machine every day? Can I use it for longer than suggested? I use it for about 40 minutes total over my face, neck and chest. I am beginning to worry that maybe this could be unsafe? Please let me know.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Elena
    The short answer is I don't know if 2 passes would be enough. Every little helps, but it might not be optimal.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Elena

    Marta,
    If I wanted to use the ultrasound solely for product penetration since I already did ulthera, would 2 passes per area once in the morning and once at night be adequate or overkill? What if the passes were faster, would it still do the job at helping the products penetrate?

  • August 27, 2012

    by Marta

    I have now launched my own Gel Serum for use with the Ultra Renew. It has antioxidants and 5% YBF Control. There is more info here:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/ultra-renew-gel-serum-with-5-correct-its-finally-here

  • August 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Rhonda, we expect to have it back in stock in about a week. We will make a note and email you when it comes in.

  • August 14, 2012

    by Rhonda

    Hi Marta, after reading the reviews on this product, I'm so very excited to purchase one of my own but I noticed your site is currently sold out. Would you be able to provide me with an expected in-stock date? I would love to order this product as soon as possible. Thanks!

  • August 4, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Mary, the Ultra Renew is ultrasound. The Clarisonic uses something that it calls "sonic" technology. I have never found any information by Clarisonic as to exactly what this is, but I do not believe that it is ultrasonic. Therefore, its a bit like comparing apples and pears. I have a Clarisonic Opal device which appears to vibrate, ultrasound does not do this. Hope this helps.

  • August 3, 2012

    by mary

    i have a clarisonic, ultrasonic, if i am using this on my face, will there be any added,different benefit to using this ultrasonic technology?

  • July 13, 2012

    by JM

    Awesome-- thanks Marta! Best wishes on your new invention ;-)

  • July 13, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi JM, you are absolutely right that you need to reapply whatever water based product you are using otherwise it is uncomfortable to use. I am working with Darrell at Your Best Face to make a serum that we can use with our Ultra Renews - watch this space.

    Re the Zeno - I am tempted to say give it a try. You will find the regimen that works for you.

  • July 13, 2012

    by JM

    Used my Ultra Renew for the first time and loving it! One thing I have noticed, I will need to add more aloe and rosewater on my skin next time. The sonic function pricks slightly when there is not enough gel or water.

    One more question: prior to Ultra Renew, I was using Zeno Line Rewind. I wonder if I can still use my Zeno Line Rewind in the p.m. as directed on days when I do not use my Ultra Renew, or will that be to much LED?

    Thank you!

  • July 12, 2012

    by JM

    Thank you Marta!

  • July 12, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi JM, you can use the Ultra Renew at any time.

  • July 12, 2012

    by JM

    Is the Ultra Renew strictly for evening use or can it be used in the morning?

  • July 11, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Elena, hypo is OK - according to other readers who have checked. But I would check with a doctor if I were you.

  • July 11, 2012

    by Elena

    Marta, I know that it's been said to avoid passing over the thyroid in cases of hyperthyroidism, but does the same stand for hypo?

  • July 11, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Miri, You need to use a water based product with ultrasound. With LED you need to use antioxidants. It doesn't matter if it is oil or water based in the LED mode. You can find some more information in the instruction manual. The low/mid/high are to control intensity. I always use the high mode. Although it appears as if you can use both modes together, they do not function simultaneously on this device. We have actually sourced a new device that does and also has a third functionality. We hope to have this available in a month or so.

  • July 11, 2012

    by kathy

    i started using the ultra renewal and the directions say that you can't use the ultrasonic and LED at the same time, but the ultrasonic can be turned on in LED mode and vice versa. is there a reason they can't/shouldn't be used together? also, i have a small patch of eczema under my eyebrow....could this help and if so, what mode would i use for that? i would also echo everyone else's comments about how hard it is to maintain "slip" in ultrasonic mode. i'm using a serum and am constantly misting my face with water to keep the device moving easily along my skin.

  • July 11, 2012

    by Miri

    Hi Marta,
    I just recieved my device and have few questions: which type of gel (oil based or water based or simply my regular serum) should i use when working with the led and when working with the ultrasound waves? another question is why can't i use the ultrasound waves together with the red light to shorten the treatment? and finally - for what purpose does each wavelength (low - middle - high) suitable for?
    thanks so much, can't wait to start seeing results....

  • July 8, 2012

    by Skeptigal

    I have had my Ultra Renew for over two weeks. I think I see a difference in my face (tiny), not so much on my sagging neck (it may be a while). Actually, I had a DEEP furrow between my brows that is just a line now. Some leg spider vein patches lightened up a lot w/ one treatment of green LED and highest wave setting. "Permanent" bruises are taking longer. The spider veins have been slow in returning, but I've not exposed my legs to the sun yet. I expect I will have to treat both regularly.

  • July 2, 2012

    by Marta

    Elena, I'm probably missing something but isn't that consistent with what I'm saying. The 7mhz goes no deeper than 4hnz. If your question is why is it 4-7mhz, then I don't know and I think we should ask Ulthera. Also, and this applies to Ronnie's question as well, I don't think we can really try to compare Ulthera with at home devices. Ultherapy is heating up to 60 degrees and is renewing collagen by creating a trauma. They might both be ultrasound but they are light years apart in practice. As I mentioned, I'm putting together some research and will try to cover questions regarding at home devices.

  • July 2, 2012

    by elena

    Thanks Marta,
    You have mentioned that higher ultrasonic power is ineffective, but in reading about ulthera, it was mentioned that "the 4 MHz handpiece delivers IUS to a 4.5 mm depth, while the 7 MHz handpiece can focus energy at 3 mm or 4.5 mm". What's your take on this?
    Thanks again

  • July 2, 2012

    by Ronnie

    Marta- Do you know if you can use the Ultrasound device over an unlimited period of time, like years? I know with the Ultherapy you get one treatment which has results over a period of time.
    Thanks.

  • July 1, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ronnie, that's fantastic news. I am really pleased for you. I think the ultrasound is the only thing (for at home use) that makes as big an impact. For everyone who has been asking questions about how it actually works and how safe it is, I have been gathering a lot of research and will have a post ready in a couple of days.

  • July 1, 2012

    by Ronnie

    I wasn't sure if I should make my comment here or under the other review area- maybe you can post it to both. I must tell everyone this because I have used many products and the DPL LED device and really never saw a reversing of any issues (wrinkles, sagging, pores, spots). I stopped using the DPL after 90 days (several years ago) because I didn't see any progress and I use creams and potions, hoping to at least slow aging. BUT, I must tell everyone that I have been using the Ultra renew for several weeks, several times a week and I have documented with pictures that the sagging of my lower face has lessened. It's almost unbelievable! I attribute it totally to the ultrasound. My turkey neck skin is more difficult, but I'm hoping it responds soon. I'm 59 y.o. so you know I have skin issues that conceivably could not respond like a younger skin, so I am elated. I just hope it continues! I would really like to get the Ulthera done- but I can't afford it.

  • July 1, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Elena, ultrasound doesn't emit heat. I may have been confusing in my original description and I have edited it a bit. I am also going to put together a longer post on how it works. In the meantime, this is what happens: the ultrasound waves pass into the skin they cause the vibration of the surrounding tissues, particularly those that contain collagen. This increased vibration leads to the production of heat within the tissue. In most cases you won't feel heat - nor will you hear the ultrasonic waves. Professional machines such as Ulthera get up to 41 degrees (home devices don't get anywhere near this). Furthermore, it has to get above 56°C before "rapid thermal toxicity occurs" (Kennedy JE, et al. Br J Radiol. 2003;76(909):590-599). Ultrasound is used widely to treat injuries and I have read that "ultrasound is thought to accelerate the normal resolution time of the inflammatory process by attracting more mast cells to the site of injury".

    I will pull all my research together in one post. In the meantime, I hope this helps.

  • July 1, 2012

    by elena

    Marta,
    i'm using the ultrasound part of the renew, but i'm worried about the heat it emits, as this is not a one-time treatment but a 3x weekly one, which means chronic use of heat and perhaps chronic inflammation thus acceleration of aging?? Your input would be much appreciated.

  • June 18, 2012

    by Arandjel

    Thank you, Marta, for clearing that up so quickly. :) I also found this link which explains the details of what we've been discussing: http://www.plasticsurgerypulsenews.com/10/article_print.php?QnArticleID=215.

  • June 18, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Arandjel, several people have emailed me about this issue. There are two elements to this, as I understand it. The first is temperature - not frequency (the frequencies are all in the low range and ultrasonic doesn't work more effectively at higher frequencies). The key is temperature (I've been told this over and again by the Ulthera and the other medical grade devices such as TriPolar (which I reviewed recently). Ulthera operates at 60 degrees celsius, TriPolar and Pelleve at 40 degrees (well, they are radio frequency, but it is all similar). Anyway, these things get very hot. Secondly, the machines are calibrated with special settings to target the fat cells - at least that's what the person who administered the TriPolar told me. Obviously, none of the home devices operate at these levels and the results are consequently much more subtle. On a personal note, I have been using Ultra Renew since the early part of the year or so and my skin looks plumper with no evidence of fat loss. I will try to do more research on this and explain it in more detail in a post.

  • June 17, 2012

    by Arandjel

    On the other hand, Ulthera, the ultrasonic therapy designed to tighten loose skin, has not shown to damage fat cells, but then again it operates at 4 and 7 Mhz....Am I perhaps missing something in the science specs here?

  • June 17, 2012

    by Arandjel

    Hey Marta, I was doing my own in-depth research on this gadget, after having purchased one, and came across this study http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20123425. The procedure is called Liposonix, which uses a 2 Mhz ultrasonic device to get rid of unwanted fat. Needless to say, it got me a bit worried, because I don't think anybody wants a gaunt face. What is your take on this? I mean, do you think it's possible to damage the subcutaneous fat layer by using the Ultra Renew?

  • June 15, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ronnie, that's really helpful to know. Thank you.

  • June 15, 2012

    by Ronnie

    For those inquiring about using the device, both LED and Ultrasound, I was just diagnosed as hypothyroid so I asked my doc and she said neither should affect the thyroid. But I'm not sure if she meant for hypo only.

  • June 12, 2012

    by Nylongirl

    Thanks Marta
    I realize that, what I meant to ask is what is the effect on the skin. Say if you have a baby Q will adding this make much difference just for the ultrasonic effect? How much does that actually do?

  • June 12, 2012

    by Marta

    The Baby Q is LED only (no ultrasonic) and only has red light. The Stop is radio frequency, a different technology, and our tester gave it a poor review that you can read here: http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/stop-anti-aging-device-is-a-non-starter

  • June 11, 2012

    by nylongirl

    What's the difference between this and the baby q and the tripollar "stop"? How do they all compare? Is one better than the other? Do they do similar things?

  • June 7, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Liz, I am a rosacea sufferer and find LED very helpful at keeping it at bay.

    Hi Valerie, I am excited to hear that you are getting married. Congratulations and good wishes from us all.

  • June 6, 2012

    by Liz S.

    Hi. Does anyone know if this device can be tolerated by those of us who have rosacea? I realize that rosacea triggers can be very individual but i'm curious if anyone with rosacea has been able to use this.Thanks!

  • May 29, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Elena
    The product does need to be water based to get conductivity so emu oil isn't a good idea - unless you spritz water over it. Or use your favorite water-based serum. Certainly, LED should not be used with a hyperactive thyroid, but I believe that ultrasound is OK but you should get your doctor's opinion first. It is recommended to use the device no more than 3 times a week for 30 minute sessions.

  • May 29, 2012

    by elena

    Hi, just used my ultra renew device for the first time tonight, and i have a few questions:
    1) The water and aloe needed to be reapplied often so i used emu oil as a conductivity medium instead. Is that ok?
    2) I used it on the neck as well using only upward movements. Is this correct?
    3) I know about LED and the thyroid, but does the same go for ultrasound? I have a hypoactive thyroid.
    4) Is it counterproductive if i use the ultrasound machine more than the recommended time and perhaps every single night?
    thanks again

  • May 17, 2012

    by Marta

    Thanks Denise, looking forward to your feedback.

  • May 17, 2012

    by Denise

    Marta, I am soooooooo excited about trying this. I am anxiously awaiting my shipment and cannot wait to start using. I've toyed with the idea of LED before but too expensive. So glad you came out with this. I had posted earlier but just wanted to let you know again how much I am looking forward to your new product.

  • May 15, 2012

    by Riza

    Marta

    pls advise the official website of this product,

  • May 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Gloria, yes we can exchange it for you. We sold out of the tethered ones and are getting more in and then we'll get the cordless (so it will be a few weeks).

  • May 14, 2012

    by Gloria Gerber

    Oh Marta I have been off line for a few days and did not see your post about testing a battery model. I already ordered it. If I don't use it can I return it if you decide to come out with a cordless model?

  • May 13, 2012

    by Marta

    It's worth noting that ultrasound energy does not pass through air effectively at the higher MHz frequencies. Therefore, the frequencies are very low and that is why you also need a conduction medium - eg water, gel etc

  • May 13, 2012

    by Dennis

    Not sure if this has been covered, but I'm curious to know if there is a government limit on how strong at home ultrasound devices can be?

  • May 12, 2012

    by Marta

    Hello again Kim, I did respond to your question a few days ago and will again now. I can’t comment on the one you have found on Amazon as I haven’t tested it. I have worked with a manufacturer for months testing and refining mine. Therefore, I know that it works. Yours may be just as good and have the same functionality, but I simply don’t know because I haven't tested to ensure that it works and is reliable. I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel, but trying to source good quality products for the community here. And just an FYI for anyone interested, we ship ours free within the US and newsletter subscribers can get 10% off.

    Yes, all such devices are contra-indicated with an over active thyroid and we make that clear on the product description and instruction manual.

  • May 12, 2012

    by Kim

    Sorry, one last link that might be of interest:

    http://www.nasa.gov/home/hqnews/2003/nov/HQ_03366_clinical_trials.html

    AND, one thing that I've seen pop up in several places - they say to not place the light straight on the thyroid if you have thyroid probs, which are so prevalent in women. So, if you've thyroid probs, you might want to look into that more to check the validity. I haven't researched it enough to know myself. But the fact that I have seen it mentioned repeatedly in some reputable places, makes me pause.

  • May 12, 2012

    by Kim

    Sheesh, more typos - I meant peptide lotion, not peptide ointment - and the peptide lotion is sold here on Truth in Aging. I've been using that for about 6-7 years now. I can't say mine is the best, though, because, admittedly, I have only tried about 2 or 3 brands, but I can say I like mine, and I love the company folks, and I think it makes enough of a difference on my skin to spend the $$ on. So I use Retin A and peptide lotion. Just fyi, any youthful look I have, a lot may be genetic too, and the fact that I've been a lifelong competitive athlete of a fairly high level doesn't hurt either, I am always mistaken for my late thirties and forties. And as I said above, I'm turning 50 in a few months. Although, I think the people who think I am in my late thirties have eyesight problems or the inability to tell ANYone's age lol. It could also be that most of my friends are all about 10 + years younger and when you place something in different environments (for example, a 50 year old in with a bunch of 20 to 40 year olds), it tends to be interpreted differently lol.

  • May 12, 2012

    by Kim

    To Michele Watson, I'm going to be 50 in a few months myself, so I know what you mean. Medically speaking, very few things including creams and all devices make a difference that is significant enough to warrant their purchase and investment of time. It is important to look up the actual medical/scientific research behind all the ingredients put into creams/ointments/oils and into the technology of each device. But LED and ultrasound both have the medical research behind them.

    Lots of folks have seen this already, but just in case, here's one of the first BIG articles that encouraged more LED research for the mfr of devices for use by the public. It's by NASA on quite a variety of cells and everything from wound healing to just plain proliferation:

    http://epublications.marquette.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1005&context=dentistry_fac&sei-redir=1&referer=http%3A%2F%2Fscholar.google.com%2Fscholar_url%3Fhl%3Den%26q%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fepublications.marquette.edu%2Fcgi%2Fviewcontent.cgi%253Farticle%253D1005%2526context%253Ddentistry_fac%26sa%3DX%26scisig%3DAAGBfm16fZLR_Vl-2rXcnKPiLanbhDtxTQ%26oi%3Dscholarr#search=%22http%3A%2F%2Fepublications.marquette.edu%2Fcgi%2Fviewcontent.cgi%3Farticle%3D1005%26context%3Ddentistry_fac%22

    One other intriguing aspect of LED therapy is that, relatively lately, research is in progress to study its effect on Alzheimer's patients and traumatic brain injury folks. People having LED light placed close to or against their skulls - although I don't think they're using home devices (but hey, it couldn't hurt - except I hear I guess some of your hair could fall out at first cuz it apparently has an effect there too lol - but think cuz that promotes new hair growth or rather follicle stimulation, so all the old ready to fall out hair might be accelerated resulting in what looks like a negative reaction...at first, but I'm not sure about the hair related effects LOL. The brain effect sounds pretty awesome so far, though!

    So you can't go wrong with LED or ultrasound, though in-home devices are, of course, going to be weaker and take longer, than devices in dr. offices, but that's cool. And of course, the number of joules counts and also the type of wavelengths, but I think you all know that already.

    As far as creams, I just go straight to Retin A. No question about the efficacy of this. Loads of decades of research behind it. However, most folks have to be incredibly careful how they acclimate their skin to it or they can wind up with some very bad reactions. I recommend not using the alcohol based Retin A gels, but only the creams. And begin with the lowest strength AND only twice a week at NIGHT on one part of skin to see how you take it. But, I'm obviously not a doc, and it's prescription. If I go off it, which I have, I always have to acclimate very slowly back on or suffer some very annoying skin probs - extreme drying, flaking, redness. I've been using off and on for over 20 years. I also use a peptide ointment, which seems to have a slight effect. But, I do not use the stem cells. I'm still looking for good safe solid evidence that backs the use of any of that line of products up. I did used to do a lot of stem cell research as a scientist, so I do know something about them, and just not sure about them for use on skin for several reasons, which I won't go into.

    With regard to this new device here, I will try asking again as maybe my question was not seen, as Ilse also asked above, what is the difference between this new device and competitors? There is what appears to be an IDENTICAL device on Amazon for starters, link is provided by Ilse, above.

  • May 11, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kathy, I know that it can be used be used on all body parts. However, I've only read research on elbows and knees, not tummy.

  • May 11, 2012

    by Kathy

    Marta, can this be used anywhere else on the body? Tummy? Elbows? knees?

  • May 10, 2012

    by Christine

    This is incredibly exciting!!!

  • May 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Denise. I had the teeth sensation with NuFace as well. Ultrasonic is heat (although it won't feel hot) and I have not had that sensation at all with my device.

  • May 10, 2012

    by Denise

    Marta, I was so excited when I saw the newsletter . I have been wanting to try the LED light (Sirius Aurora) but was waiting. Glad I did. This sounds so much better. My only question before I place my order. I tried the NuFace and didn't like the electricity on my face. It seemed to hurt my teeth and I was a little scared of it (lol). Is the ultrasonic just heat and not electricity? Thank you Marta for always bringing us cutting edge products and thank you for answering my question.

  • May 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Gloria, this version of Ultra Renew must be kept plugged in. We are testing a version which doesn't so you might want to hold off until we decide whether to offer that one as well (it will be a little more expensive).

  • May 10, 2012

    by Gloria

    How exciting Marta. I will be ordering right away. It sounds much easier to use than the Sirius. I tend not to use it because of the time it takes and it is rather cumbersome to keep it plugged in. Congrats to you and your new product!

  • May 10, 2012

    by Holly

    Hi Marta - this sounds very exciting AND very affordable! I have just one question - and that is why are some LED devices applied directly to the skin while others, such as the Facial Secret, are used by holding the device a number of inches away for your face? Is there a significant difference in effectiveness? I'm really drawn to your device because if you say it's great then I'm there already! BUT, I'm a klutz with my hands, time poor and lazy - which, in spite of the heftier price tag, sort of makes the Facial Secret attractive to someone like me. You wouldn't consider making a hands free version for those of us with hand issues?!? Keep up the great work and many thanks for making your device compatible for overseas purchasers - Cheers, Holly

  • May 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Michele, I agree with Kim re Thermage versus Ulthera. Thermage is painful and doesn't work very well - many physicians I have spoken to say they no longer provide Thermage.

    Yes the Ultra Renew will work in Australia and anywhere else in the world providing you buy a local adapter.

  • May 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Holly, the distance from the face is each manufacturer's recommendation and some tend to err on the side of caution. The Facial Secret brochure advises a distance of 6 inches, however a rep from the company told us that one inch from the skin is fine.

  • May 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ellie, on the Ultra Renew the LED light colors do not operate simultaneously. You choose the color that you want to use. However, unlike the Sirius, there is no need to change the panel for each light as they are integrated into the unit. The light casts an area that is about half the fact - ie from chin to cheek.

  • May 10, 2012

    by Ellie

    Hi marta,
    I was so close to ordering a Sirius Aurora after reading your great reviews- but now i'm very tempted by this!
    Just wondering though is it as effective to treat with all three LED colors at once rather than one after the other? Presumably there is 'less' of each colored light this way? How big is the wand- the bit that's in contact with your face?
    thanks!

  • May 10, 2012

    by michele watson

    Thanks for the responses! I am very thin so its more excess crepey skin on neck that's beginning to show at 51 which is getting to me!
    It's funny as here in Perth they recommend the FS thermage for tightening (radio waves) and its very expensive- and so I am glad you explained re the fat. It seems that the new device will be the best for tightening if ultrasound and LED help excess skin. I just feel that I must get it sorted before it gets worse. Serums (I am using Nutralift and Beautisol) aren't working on my problem.Any other suggestions will be very welcome!

  • May 10, 2012

    by Kim

    No Georgia, microcurrent and Ultrasound are not the same. There is definitely the research to back up the ultrasound. The microcurrent, well, all that electrical muscular toning stuff, tons of companies sell machines for every part of the body. The facts are that you canNOT build muscle, no matter HOW much it hurts (and you can turn some of these devices up to make you HURT), using electricity. Ask any professional. As an athlete exposed to a lot of these insanely high-priced electrical devices for firming and building muscle in all areas of the body, I can attest over many years they do not work the way they say they do. But, it has to do with how the muscles are stimulated and is technical. The best use of these machines are for other areas of your body for RECOVERY from hard workouts. Anyway, just to be thorough, the only muscles any of the electrical devices help is those of bedridden folks who haven't any muscle and THEN some of these devices can help improve their musculature. I am not voicing my opinion. This is just some facts. I'm sure any improvement due to such a device on the face would amount to minuscule or nothing. So, yes, definitely ultrasound over microcurrent. As I said above about Ulthera, pretty incredible in some parts of my face - there may be other improvement as well, but part of that may also be that I started getting to bed earlier lol. But, DEFINITELY the entire forehead and brow region was tightened, smoothed, and lifted. Incredible for that. Go to realself.com to see some Ulthera reviews from folks. I'd like a home ultrasound device, but I've got to do some comparison of these products.

  • May 10, 2012

    by Kim

    typo above - I mean 'eyebrow' not eyebrown

  • May 10, 2012

    by Kim

    Just remember, Thermage gets rid of fat too, Michele. That's not always what folks want in face or neck. Thermage did nothing for me, btw. Ulthera (ultrasound) is just amazingly great for the brow/forehead region - which results in awesome eye/eyebrown lift - natural looking that is (I suppose that is why Ulthera always emphasizes brow/forehead region when they're advertising improvements lol), but I didn't really see too much anywhere else on the face/neck, although I had it done on my entire face and neck (two separate times, about 1 year between treatments by two different nurses).

    http://www.ultherapy.com/about-ultrasound-skin-tightening

    The only thing about Ulthera is that with my first treatment, my whole neck/chin area was numb for, no joke, three months, during which numbness gradually diminished, but was a bit nervous if there was some nerve damage there. Apparently not.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    I have been told that radio frequency eg thermage is good for sagging necks. Does ultrasound work as well/better?
    Thanks Marta!

  • May 9, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    Is it effective on sagging necks (I guess avoiding the bony middle bit!) Can it be used in Australia?

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Georgia
    Microcurrent is more like galvanic, which is what your NuFace is. I have a Nuface I wasn't overwhelmed by it and its been gathering dust for a couple of years now. Ultrasound is ultrasonic. However, if you like your NuFace I would stick with it and your current LED. If you don't like it so much then you might benefit from ultrasound (I'm getting a bit addicted to it) and you will at least get the green light too for hyperpigmentation. Hope that helps,M

  • May 9, 2012

    by Jan

    I can't wait to order one!

  • May 9, 2012

    by Georgia

    Ultrasound Vs Microcurrent??! Are they one of the same? help. I've spent already $249 on a Nuface. thanks for the quick reply... as I really do want to buy your new product, but I already had a blue/red appliance, and the Nuface.. I keep piling up on the products

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kim, I can't comment on the one you have found on Amazon as I haven't tested it. I have worked with a manufacturer for months testing and refining mine. Therefore, I know that it works. Yours may be just as good, but I simply don't know. And just an FYI for anyone interested, we ship ours free within the US and newsletter subscribers can get 10% off.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Kim

    I'm interested to hear your response to Ilse who posted a link above to what looks like an identical product on Amazon. Can you please enlighten? Any differences? It is also $63.20 + $10.37 ship. Thanks!

  • May 9, 2012

    by JustD

    Woman, you are simply amazing! Congratulations! I am really digging the first new product for the hair, it's really impressive, so I have no doubt that this new creation will furth attest to your commitment savy and mission to do exactly what you say you intend to do! Kudos gurlfriend!

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kathy, you should wear the goggles in LED mode, but you can use the ultrasonic mode carefully around the under eye and on the brow bone (between lids and eye brow in upwards movements), but not on the lids.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Anne,

    Yes it works in New Zealand as long as you buy a local adapter from your hardware store.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Pam, I safely use the ultrasonic around the under eye and it can be used on the brow bone - under the eyebrow. But I would not use it on the lids. As for silicone safety, there are no contraindications that I am aware of (its more light frequency than actual heat). But I'll do some more research on this.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Dani

    WOW! Congratulations Marta very exciting to watch the TIA brand grow :)

    I've been looking over to LED devices for the last year or so but I'm not sure if that's going a bit overboard for a 20-something's skin. Anyone in their 20s had experience with a device like this? Is it a bit too soon to start using these?

  • May 9, 2012

    by Debbie Miller

    Yes!!!!!!!Placed my order!!!

  • May 9, 2012

    by pam

    Marta, 2 questions - Can this device be used on the eye lids - upper and lower? Also, do you know if there is any concern about its use near silicone eye, chin or breast implants (ie the heating aspect)?

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Michelle, its OK to use this if you've had Juvederm. The contradications are: If taking drugs or medication that cause photosensitivity, please consult your physician prior to use.
    • Do not use if you have severe nodular or cystic acne.
    • Do not use with a topical product that induces heat.
    • Do not look directly at the light whilst in use.
    • Avoid the neck area if you suspect a thyroid problem.
    • Do not use if pregnant.
    • Do not use over suspicious or cancerous lesions.
    • Avoid open wounds.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Kathy

    Congrats Marta! This is so exciting!
    Can this be used around the eyes or on the tummy?

  • May 9, 2012

    by Sandy

    Marta, I just ordered this -- cannot WAIT to try it out. Knowing how thorough you are, I have high expectations for this! And this must be unbelieveably thrilling for You!

  • May 9, 2012

    by Anne Golder

    Would it be useable in New Zealand? Looking forward to the video.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Lynn, you can use this in the UK or Europe. You'll just need a local adaptor

  • May 9, 2012

    by Michelle

    What if you've had Juvederm injections? Any contraindication there?

  • May 9, 2012

    by Lynn

    That looks great! Is there any chance there will be a version that is wired for Europe -- both the Continent and the UK?

  • May 9, 2012

    by Emily

    Marta, I literally did a double-take when I saw this post! Congratulations! This is incredible news and so exciting! Cannot wait to try it!

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    I've been testing this and working with the manufacturer for months and I am really pleased with how it works. I'm shooting the video on Friday and so you'll be able to see it next week.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Dennis

    This is awesome, Marta! I'd love to see a video on this.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Jina

    I still do have my monthly facials (it is my once a month, one and only luxury treat), but Ultra Renew should really make a difference even if you don't go to a salon.

  • May 9, 2012

    by Ilse

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002JPPU1I/ref=ox_sc_act_title_6?ie=UTF8&m=A1RY29VDC6C0Y

    What about this one, seems the same thing to me...

  • May 9, 2012

    by Jina

    Hi, would you still continue with your monthly micro current facials or is this devise sufficient.

  • May 9, 2012

    by kim

    Congrats marta! Very exciting.

Have You Tried Ultra Renew Ultrasonic LED by Truth in Aging ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Ultra Renew Ultrasonic LED by Truth in Aging below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Ultra Renew Ultrasonic LED by Truth in Aging

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...