Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Ultra Renew LED and ultrasonic device- reader reviewed and recommended

Pros

Provides a real firming and lifting effect

Cons

Require a serum for "slip"
July 3, 2012 Reviewed by Emily 36 Comments
A powerful at-home device to take your anti-aging routine to the next level

I’m writing this based on over six weeks’ experience with Truth in Aging’s new Ultra Renew combo ultrasonic and LED treatment device ($89) – though probably I could have written it sooner! I was delighted to test-drive the Ultra Renew, first a prototype product, then the current branded device sold in the shop, so I waited until I’d used them both for a while. I am delighted with the experience – have learned about the value of ultrasonic – and think this is a very good way to put $89 to work.

I was already a convert to LED, having learned about it here at TIA and bought the well-priced Sirius Aurora as soon as it came out last year. LED was about as close to life-changing as anything can be in your sixth decade: the red light really improved my skin’s appearance (resilience, wrinkles, firmness) and the green light had a dramatic effect on pigmentation. But I’d never had ultrasonic treatments and was perhaps a bit more skeptical on that front – though game to try.

First of all, out of the box: the TIA Ultra Renew is a well-designed, sturdy-feeling implement, well designed to comfortably fit the hand and face, with a nice, solid feel. (Though I had good results with the Aurora, it has a rather insubstantial feel and a tendency to become a bit temperamental – the connections between the removable LED panels and the electronics were flaky.) The controls for the Ultra Renew are immediately intuitive, and in LED mode, the light frequency (color) is controlled by simply clicking the controls, rather than changing out different-colored plates – far easier and more reliable. Best of all, TIA’s instructions were to use ultrasonic mode (in sweeping, upward motions) for up to eight minutes, and to use LED, moving slowly across each area, for 10 to 15 minutes. I had found the lengthy sessions with the Aurora (which also advises using LED in both “pulse” and steady-light modes) rather tiresome after a while (and so I hadn’t remained consistent with it, I’m afraid).

Besides better accommodating my limited attention span, the Ultra Renew really worked. Ultrasonic was a big surprise: I would agree that it provides a subtle but real firming effect, and that my skin seems somewhat “lifted” – jawline, cheek, brows, even forehead. I used it on my neck as well. The LED mode worked as I’d expected, and I soon got back into a routine, alternating treatments between green and red. I used LED on my neck, chest, and hands, too. (It’s great for hands, in my experience, and I definitely have those freckles better under control.) I sat down with the device about four times a week, starting each session with ultrasonic and then switching to LED mode. I did notice that for the first couple of weeks, my skin was a bit pink – sort of flushed – after ultrasonic (of course, I used the “high” setting) but that subsided almost immediately and didn’t seem to happen at all after a while, perhaps as my skin got used to it.

One thing I struggled with – and that I suspect everyone will have to work out for herself – is what topical products/serums/etc. to use with the Ultra Renew. As Marta points out, the ultrasonic head, dragged across and up the face, really needs some kind of help to move smoothly – something with good “slip,” but also, TIA says, that’s water-based to provide conductivity. And LED, I knew from experience, is enhanced by the use of serums that reinforce its impact. I started my sessions using an aloe vera gel for the ultrasonic, rinsing it off, and then applying an oil or serum before switching to LED mode. But the aloe gel was kind of sticky and unpleasant, and the process seemed more trouble than it was worth. I used YBF’s divine Private Reserve Oil, which of course provided wonderful lubrication, but I worried that (as an oil) it wasn’t suitable for use with ultrasonic. I ended up preferring to use either YBF Control throughout my sessions, or a combination of YBF Hydrate B Concentrate, (because it has a gel-like quality) with YBF Antioxidants Concentrate. I’m still not sure what’s optimal, but these seem to work for me, and might make sense for others my age.

I’ll continue to experiment with serums, but will count on Ultra Renew as part of my routine. I am pretty cautious about buying pricey home devices: my inventory consists of a Clarisonic I bought about four years ago, and still use every day, and the Aurora. But as an easier-to-use LED device coupled with the magic of ultrasonic, I would definitely spend $89 on the Ultra Renew. Thanks, TIA!

Editor's Note: The Truth Renew & Truth Renew PLUS prototype devices are no longer available for sale in the Truth In Aging shop.

FDA Approved Truth Vitality Lux Renew with LED and Ultrasound Learn about Truth Vitality Lux Renew, our first ever FDA-cleared device that offers ultrasound, red LED and blue LED therapy to safely and painlessly minimize wrinkles, firm and lift skin, and clear adult acne.

  • August 27, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Colleen, this article will help you choose the right technology for your needs: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/tool-up-with-the-best-at-home-device-for-you

  • August 27, 2015

    by Coleen

    Hello, I am new to the Anti-Aging devices and can not belive all the options.
    I am not sure if I should be looking for Microcurrent, Ultrasonic with Photon and Ionic, Led.

    I am looking for a device that will help with tightening the skin, especially around the jowel area, wrinkles, maybe skin correctness as far as age spots..

    Also, I really didn't want to pay over $100.00 either but wanted a reputable seller that backed up their product by giving a warrenty..
    Any suggestions.

  • June 30, 2015

    by Jami Dixon

    I used this device on my chest tonight and in between my boobs for a tiny wrinkle that is forming. I am wondering if this is a safe practice to continue? I have read that it's not safe for the neck because of thyroid, but haven't heard anything about the chest area. Thank you

  • May 7, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Roberta, while it is safe to use the device after fillers and Botox, you should consult with the doctor performing the procedure on the timing. I am not aware of a product called Baby Bliss. I think you might mean Baby Quasar. It isn't so much the number of lights but wavelengths measured in nm. The Ultra Renew is: Red: 650 nm
    Blue: 470 nm and Green: 530 nm. Baby Quasar doesn't give these numbers. However, the BQ has been revamped and is now 25% more powerful than the old model and I would think it is every bit as powerful as the UR+ if not more so. Note that it does not have green or blue light, or ultrasonic.

  • May 7, 2013

    by Roberta Reid

    Dear Marta, can you use the Ultra Renew Plus one week after getting voluma derma filler? How long do you wait after botox? Is the strength of the ultra renew plus LED the same as the baby bliss? is it the same amount of lights? Thankyou Roberta

  • May 2, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Pam, the thing is that I've never seen any research for LED light and hair growth, only for low level laser. Because of this I've always dismissed the "LED combs" etc. If anyone has some experience of trying LED for hair, I'd love to hear from you.

  • May 2, 2013

    by Pam

    Hi Marta,

    I was wondering if there is a difference in the RED LED light used for anti-aging and the one used to stimulate hair growth? Have you tried your Ultra renew on your scalp? And would you recommend it?

  • May 1, 2013

    by Esthere

    Hmm ok. Well since I turned 37 last year, I kind of lost weight only from my face, my face is not firm anymore, especially around my mouth. I am slim over all, I weigh 47 kilos. I eat very healthy so I dont know why it has happened. I do need some plumping. I have no face fat to lift, so I now have what we call loss of volume. What in your opinion would work on this, the LED or the ultrasound? And any creams you suggest for this? I do think the EGF is helping a bit though. But when i am tired and work long hours no matter what I use...it feels like nothing. Appreciate your response and help. thank you.

  • May 1, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Esther, overall I think LED and ultrasound are the most effective thing I have found yet. The results are cumulative and require diligence and patience - you have to use the device at least 3 times a week. I would start when you see the first signs of aging. I started monthly LED and microcurrent salon treatments 10 years ago (in my early 40s). I wish I had had an home device then.

  • May 1, 2013

    by Esther

    Hi Martha, thank you so much for the info. Any particular age when you should start LED, do you opt for other products first and then eventually if you feel nothing works you go for LED? Does this also mean that LED beats any other skin care we use, like anti wrinkle creams, Retin A etc? I am on Retinol alternating with Retina, C E Serum, EGF, and also Nuface microcurrent. Also 30 % Glycolic Acid once a month.
    Do you really incorporate everything or you you dont? Thank you so much for all the info, you really are doing a good job in educating us and sharing your experiences. Much appreciated.

  • April 24, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Esther, the Lightstim is LED only with red and infrared light, whereas the Ultra Renew has LED in red, blue and green and it also has ultrasonic. So they are not really the same. You can read more on the different LED:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/how-led-light-therapy-works-as-an-antiager-for-skin

    Here is some info on the different LED light colors and what they can help with here:http://www.truthinaging.com/face/green-its-the-new-red

    And you can read more on ultrasonic here:http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/ultrasonic-how-it-works

  • April 24, 2013

    by Esther

    Is this device similar, or exactly like, the Lightstim? I am looking into the Lightstim at the moment. Dont these two devices offer the same kind of lights? do you guys think there are any side effects?
    What results are you seeing? Thank you for all the info and sorry for the many questions...

  • March 6, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Mary, there are no contraindications for dental implants.

  • March 6, 2013

    by mary

    i have dental implants (titanium screws); is there any contraindiction regarding ULTRA RENEW or other LED devices like AURORA

  • February 27, 2013

    by Carole

    Hello, I would like to know witch is the best device ; the Tanda c luxe device from au Aurora, the Face Fx from Silk's or the ultra renew plus and why?d ,Also I would like to know if they are safe for people with lupus. Tks

  • February 20, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Betty, yes you can. LED is typically beneficial for rosacea

  • February 20, 2013

    by Betty Angeloni

    Could you use this on rosacea?

  • February 7, 2013

    by Dianne

    With regard to which gel product to use with the ultra renew, I concluded that the best and by far the cheapest is what the professionals (both beauty and medical ) use and that is ultrasound gel! It is so cheap to buy online and in small or large quantities. You can also spritz with a water mist if needs be. Sooo cheap!

  • January 17, 2013

    by marybeth oberheim

    Does anyone know if this can be used with hyaluronic acid gel? I have a lot of hyaluronic acid powder that I can mix with water to use as a gel for the ultrasound.
    The only serum I'm currently using is "correct" by Osmosis.. and it's a little sticky.. not sure if it would give me any slip.

    thanks!

  • December 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Email multi-tasking with Ultra Renew. Now there's an idea for us busy ladies.

  • December 14, 2012

    by Faye Beuby

    Ciao ancora, Forgot to add that the device is great for old acne scars...as I'm a few months from 70, those are really old acne scars! Faye

  • December 14, 2012

    by Faye Beuby

    WOW Marta! I just received my Ultra Renew...bought it for the ultrasound as I have many LED devices. I guess one could say I'm using it "off label" but after only 4 days of using it on my lips I've noticed a tremendous difference--lines on my upper lip are diminished to almost nonexistent. Both upper and lower lips are plumped...maybe it's just a temporary plumping effect but, so far, it's amazing. Granted I'm using it for way more than 4 minutes...it's on while it peruse my email every morning. Grazie infinito!

  • September 18, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Laura, the device is not contraindicated for cancer. As always, you are advised to consult your oncologist before considering this or any other treatment.

  • September 18, 2012

    by laura Smith

    I have just had cancer and am on Chemotherapy- I have been told by someone who sells this Ultrasonic Photon Device that you should not use any electronic devices like this if you have or have had Cancer.
    Do you recomend this also, she said to use the devices that are not electronic like the Dermo Roller.
    Please tell me what you recommend

  • August 30, 2012

    by elizabeth iken

    As a nurse and salon owner I get many questions on skin care and anti-aging products. This company is smart and is well run by a team of experts in their field! The most effective and easy one step cream I have found is at: iken.nerium.com

  • August 30, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Michele, we are not going to do the cordless version. It is much more expensive - prohibitively so.

  • August 30, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    Hi Marta
    I am holding off buying until your cordless version comes out. When is this likely?

  • August 27, 2012

    by Marta

    I have now launched my own Gel Serum for use with the Ultra Renew. It has antioxidants and 5% YBF Control. There is more info here:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/ultra-renew-gel-serum-with-5-correct-its-finally-here

  • July 7, 2012

    by Junko

    Marta * Would be thrilled if Darrell could formulate a potion that wouldn't dry out so quickly and let the waves penetrate. Aloe gives slip but dries almost immediately and needs water/tonique to hydrate it. I am spritzing continuously thru a session. I've almost used an entire bottle of MyChelle Fruit Enzyme Mist in 2 weeks. Slip and wave penetration allowance seem to be the challenge. Anything else you desire could be added first like Joan is doing. As an added note, I had read on the web that ultrasonic was being used to alleviate pain so I used my Ultra Renew on my husbands sore neck one evening while watching TV * and low-and-behold! He said that it made the soreness GO AWAY. My only fear now is that my night-time session time will double...a session for his neck and a session for my face! Thanks so much for this device Marta * I LOVE IT!

  • July 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Kathy, that would be fine. Just remember that you can't use an oil-based product with ultrasonic; has to be water-based

  • July 6, 2012

    by kathy

    i just received my ultra renewal and look forward to trying it out. i got the bundle pack with the mad hippie vitamin c serum but was also wondering if tilvee's argan vitality oil can be used with it, perhaps in LED mode?

  • July 6, 2012

    by Emily

    Thank you for a great tip! I will certainly try it. Thanks so much.

  • July 6, 2012

    by Joan

    Jellen Organic Conductive Gel is what I've found works best. I put my preferred serum on first, let it really sink in for a few minutes and then use the Jellen with my ultrasonic device. It's only $29 for 2 ounces, much cheaper than using only serums that are $100 an ounce or more! If the gel starts to dry a little while using the device, I just spritz my face with water and the "good slip" returns.

    Here are the ingredients:
    92% Organic Content: Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Juice), Kosher Vegetable Glycerin, d-Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Hamamellis Virginiana (Witch Hazel), Phenoxyethanol, Dimethlaminoethanol (DMAE Bitartrate), Carbomer, TEA (Triethanolamine), Tetrasodium EDTA, Citric Acid.

    The DMAE might not be for everyone, but I like it.

  • July 5, 2012

    by Emily

    Hi Junko and nice to hear from you :-) I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one having trouble with what to use -- LED is easy but ultrasonic is more of an issue. But I love Marta's idea! Thanks!

  • July 5, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Junko, I'm glad to hear you are getting results with Ultra Renew. For me, its a breakthrough. Not so, what to use with it though. I usually end up using a ton of 100% Pure's Tonique. I think I need to get something made specially for us - perhaps I can twist Darrell's arm.

  • July 4, 2012

    by Junko

    Thanks for the article Emily! I've only been using my Ultra Renew for 2 weeks now but I'm already seeing some improvement in firmness! Really happy about this!
    I'm using Aloe Gel as a base with continued spritzing of MyChelle Fruit Enzyme Mist to keep it moist thru my session. I'm not happy with the Aloe for your same reasons and will try something different once I use these products up. I'm hoping to see more comments from users as to what's working for them and what's not working for them.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...