Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Ultra Renew Sculpt for Slimming and Body Shaping

Ultra Renew Sculpt

Our Rating: 0 stars

Pros

Ultrasonic, FAR infra-red light and EMS functions

Cons

Not suitable for facial use
April 1, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 30 Comments
Recommended for smoothing and firming large areas on the body

With the popularity of Ultra Renew and Ultra Renew Plus, I received a ton of emails from users about body care concerns (firming, slimming, cellulite and stretch marks), which prompted me to start thinking about another device to address them. LED light enthusiasts were also asking about infrared light. And I myself was intrigued by FAR infra-red when I got to know it in my favorite serum, E’shee KI. Somehow it all came together and, drum roll, enter Ultra Renew Sculpt.

Ultra Renew Sculpt has three functionalities: ultrasonic, FAR infrared light and EMS (electro massage stimulator). The device itself, including the ultrasonic plate and the light panel are all larger than the Ultra Renew and Ultra Renew Plus, making it more practical for use on larger areas such as the arms, legs, buttocks or tummy.

Now everyone wants to know whether Ultra Renew Sculpt can be used for the face. The answer is yes, but I wouldn’t advise it. The ultrasound is at 1Mhz. Therapeutic ultrasound frequency ranges from 1-3 MHz. The higher the frequency, the less effective the ultrasound is. Ergo, 1 is stronger than 3. The Ultra Renew and Ultra Renew Plus are in the 3mz range and the ultrasound penetrates less than 2 mm, which is perfect for the face.  The stronger 1Mhz of the Ultra Renew Sculpt penetrates a little more deeply and is better for body (read more on how ultrasonic works). If used on the face, it is advised, therefore, to keep Sculpt on the lowest intensity. Also the larger size is great for body parts and arguably treats more of the face. But, by the same token, Sculpt doesn’t quite get into the nooks and crannies and isn’t as easy to direct accurately when treating the face – compared to the Ultra Renew or Ultra Renew Plus.

What also makes Ultra Renew Sculpt great for the body is that it comes with EMS (electro massage stimulator). These are pads that are placed on the skin, say where you have a little cellulite dimpling. Electric current massages with five different, easily controlled intensities from gentle vibration to distinct pressure.

FAR infrared (FIR) light began to fascinate me when I researched it during my test of E’shee’s KI serum, which has ceramic FIR as its key ingredient. Our own bodies radiate far infrared (FIR) energy through the skin at around 9.4 microns. Far infrared waves are the longest rays in the light spectrum and are easily absorbed by the body to a depth of up to 3 inches. It is believed that FIR helps with slimming by encouraging mitochondria in cells to produce more energy, in turn increasing metabolism and burning more calories. I haven’t come across a ton of evidence for this, but did find a study that claimed good results on cellulite from infrared combined with radio frequency (source).

Ultrasonic and FIR infrared can be used together, but EMS functions only on its own. In my tests, I found a very noticeable firming and smoothing of the dimply skin on my inner thighs, where I was mostly targeting the device using all three modes.  I also got a little lift for the tops of my knees from the ultrasonic and infrared combo. Ultra Renew Sculpt isn’t a substitute for exercise (so don’t give up on your Bar Method routines), but it will give more than your spirits a lift – just in time for when that beach body needs to emerge.

Editor's Note: The Truth Renew & Truth Renew PLUS prototype devices are no longer available for sale in the Truth In Aging shop.

FDA Approved Truth Vitality Lux Renew with LED and Ultrasound Learn about Truth Vitality Lux Renew, our first ever FDA-cleared device that offers ultrasound, red LED and blue LED therapy to safely and painlessly minimize wrinkles, firm and lift skin, and clear adult acne.

Buy Me
$ 129.00
  • July 15, 2014

    by Alma

    i want one

  • July 19, 2013

    by kim

    Hi am really thinking about purchasing this but would love to hear from users. has this helped tone your cellulite? Do you see any improvements.

  • July 1, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Kim, IR does not melt fat. I explain the mechanism by which infra-red works in the article. It will firm and reduce wrinkles. Anyway, you can use any of the modes individually. The EMS comes with pads that are positioned where you need them and there are five settings from pulsing through to massage. Instructions for use are provided.

  • June 30, 2013

    by kim

    Also Marta, can I use the Ultrasound setting by itself? And the EMS setting by itself? I don't really want to use the IR setting because I know that it burns fat and I don't want to lose weight just tighther and reduce dimples and ripples in my skin and loose skin.

  • June 30, 2013

    by kim

    Marta, can you please tell me what the benefit of the EMS is for cellulite.? Does the product come with instructions specific to cellulite and skin tightening on thighs?

    thanks!

  • May 30, 2013

    by Marta

    (5 out of 5)

    Hi Faye

    LED can be used on the neck unless you have a hyperactive thyroid. In which case, you would avoid the throat area. The reason is that with a hyperactive thyroid there is increased sensitive to heat.

  • May 30, 2013

    by Shelley

    Dear Marta,
    I would love, love, love to try the Ultra Renew Sculpt. I spend hours at the gym each day trying to stay in shape and trying to get rid of my dreaded cellulite, as well as the saggy skin on my upper arms. I spin, lunge, squat, lift weights and do planks and push-ups, and I still have the problem. A few days ago I placed an order with TIA that will include Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Age Repair Body Lift. My order is to arrive today (YAY) and the Body Lift was to be my first attempt to attack these dreaded issues through TIA products. I await the arrival of all of my products with high hopes and excitement.....................but being able to combine the Sculpt with the Osmotics Body Lift would be truly awesome! I so badly want to try the Ultra Renew Sculpt, and assure you that I will take the time to use it often and as directed. Thank you for your consideration.

  • May 29, 2013

    by Ronnie Deal

    I have always been very thin and in good shape, but have had cellulite since I was 18 (now 60). Have used over the counter creams, to no avail. Would love to try this device.

  • May 29, 2013

    by Jennifer

    Would love to try this! I've had stretch marks since I was a teenager from gaining a lot of weight in a short time after the death of a family member. I lost a lot of weight a few years ago, which is great but resulted In a lot of sagging skin, especially in my knees. The stretch marks and sagging skin combined with the ever-present cellulite would give the ultra renew sculpt a big challenge with me!

  • May 29, 2013

    by Ann

    I'd be very interested in trying this. It sounds like the ultrasound could help my cellulite and muscle soreness, and the infrared might help with scarring, discoloration and spider veins. Not that it would take much to improve the look of my spider veins! Any firming of jiggly bits would be an added plus!

  • May 29, 2013

    by Elisse

    I would LOVE to try this product! Slimming and firming are my Top priorities... and then cellulite, which is starting in the thighs... :-( 've never had any visible results with any products I've used, no matter how highly rated or expensive, but you did say that you've had visible results with this, and that makes me want to try it Badly!

  • May 29, 2013

    by Susan S.

    Hi Marta,
    Would love to give the Ulta Renew Sculpt a try to see how it does on my thighs and even more importantly my inner arms. The skin is getting REALLY crepe-y and I'm only 57! I live in CA so my arms are bare a lot.
    Thanks

  • May 29, 2013

    by Shagufta

    Hi Marta,

    I have been using the Ultra Renew to get rid of my pregnancy related hyper pigmentation and sallow-skin.
    It is really a handy device given that I have to care for my 8 month old baby all by myself. Can easily squeeze in the 15 minutes between running behind my "crawling commando" :)

    My Ultra Renew turned out to be defective and I am awaiting a replacement earnestly so that I can set to work the magic again. (Your customer support team is really prompt and awesome)
    Will now squeeze in my post-pregnancy stretch marks in my "Ultra Renew & Me" time.

    Have tried slathering all kinds of creams on the marks and all kinds of DIY treatments from coffee scrubs to massage oils on my cellulite, unfortunately to no avail. I am losing hope that the orange peel will ever go away.

    Would love to dare and try the Ultra Renew Sculpt to chisel away the cellulite and smoothen the stretch marks whilst losing the extra 22 pounds I am carrying after my pregnancy. Will be happy to see that this member of the Ultra family also delivers as promised.

  • May 29, 2013

    by Terri

    Hey Marta! I can test the Ultra Renew Sculpt on a bit of droopy knee syndrome AND given infrared is suppose to help with circulation it may help with spider veins. I have an unsightly patch of veins on the top of one knee. I'll take before and after pics!

  • May 29, 2013

    by Sofia

    Marta, I would love to try the Ultra Renew Sculpt! My dermatologist's office just sent me an email about Cavo-Lipo which I'm considering for my legs and abs. They have great introductory pricing but it's still significantly more than the price of Ultra Renew.

  • May 29, 2013

    by Sophie

    (4 out of 5)

    This looks fantastic. Me (and my tummy) would love to try it!

  • May 29, 2013

    by Tracy

    i would love to try this device, as I have the Ultra Renew and love it!

  • May 1, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Valerie, no I am afraid that you cannot use oil with ultrasound. Any product that you use must be water-based.

  • May 1, 2013

    by Valerie

    Hi Marta,
    Could a body oil be used as the conductive fluid with Ultra Renew Sculpt? I wasn't sure if it needed to be a gel product only. Thanks!

  • April 30, 2013

    by Valerie

    Can body oil be used as the conductive medium with the Ultra Renew Sculpt? I like the Osmotics Cream, but it's a bit cost prohibitive. I wasn't sure if oil was ok to use w/ultrasound. Thanks Marta!

  • April 27, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Patrice, I am in the process of putting a video together and it should be available within a couple of weeks.

  • April 27, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Charley, thank you for the feedback. I am curious about your description of a one-page instruction sheet - there are several pages of instructions. Having said that, I did write the instructions in a bit of a hurry and am working on a rewrite and reprint right now. I'll make sure you get a new set. If you apply a little water to the pads they should continue to adhere. As I am sure you have noticed, the EMS massages beyond the pads themselves so you don't have to do it inch by inch, but say 2-3 placements per thigh. Again, I'll make this clearer in the instructions.

  • April 27, 2013

    by Charley

    I bought the Sculpt and so far, the EMS works tremendously well on relieving crippling pain in the joints in my feet, esp. along my tailor's bunion. I did it everyday for 3 days at first, and now do maintenance treatments once a week. The pad placement was very trial and error.

    I've tried using it a little bit on my cellulite, but I'm very skeptical about getting results on that front. I got the sculpt more for the skin firming benefits, which would probably take a very, very long time to validate.

    The one-page instruction sheet is very beta-test-y, and maybe churned through Google Translate from another language? My clothes iron came with more instructions. I don't have the Renew or Renew Plus, but I trawled their review pages and comments for how-tos on the ultrasonic and infrared features of the Sculpt. It would be nice if the important details were included in the box. We could really use more information on the EMS feature for cellulite treatment. If we're supposed to use the 1-inch square pads on every inch of skin to be treated, it would take me a week just to do one thigh. Also, they lose their tackiness really fast, and then they lose their conductivity. I'll need lots more than an extra pair of pads.

  • April 26, 2013

    by patrice

    I'm with Aga, I am a vsual learner and would love to see a video especially as I do not understand the pads being put on the skin how are they controlled. Where are they placed? Is the hand tool used in conjunction with the electrode pads? Before I buy I have to know how it works because most inserted instructions are not very clear at all, at all!

  • April 1, 2013

    by Aga

    It sounds terrific! It would be great if you could demonstrate how to use it on video, especially the EMS functionality. Congratulations!

  • April 1, 2013

    by Dennis

    I'll have to check that out once i'm fully recovered from my accident and given the ok to work out again. in the meantime, i'm looking for alternatives :)

  • April 1, 2013

    by Marta

    I can recommend the Bar Method for firming and elongating the calves - seriously!

  • April 1, 2013

    by Dennis

    This is awesome, I've been looking into something like this because I'm starting to get old man calves (they're sagging). If you need a tester for this down the road, I volunteer :-)

  • April 1, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Terri, the Facial Secret LED panel would cover a larger area but I would imagine it would be awkward to position against the legs. I'll ponder on this.

  • April 1, 2013

    by Terri Sacco

    Congratulations Marta! Sounds like you've been hard at work developing and testing. I have both the Ultra Renew and Plus and can tell they both make a big difference in the appearance of my skin when used consistently. I may be the odd ball, but my big body part concern unlike the others you mentioned are spider veins on the legs. Perhaps you can put this on the back burner for a future project. I did at one time attempt using Renew LED on the spiders on the tops of thighs, but as you can imagine the area of treatment is so small it would take a very long time.

Have You Tried Ultra Renew Sculpt ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Ultra Renew Sculpt below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Ultra Renew Sculpt

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...