Free shipping on all orders over $39

Uniquely Emu oil for hair growth

Reviewed by Marta November 17, 2012 40 Comments

I was about to run out of my emu oil and was hesitating about whether to buy it again (it looked like melted chicken fat and smelt like a farmyard) when Charlize Theron inspired me go and look for a superior replacement. Emu oil is one of Charlize’s can't-live-withouts. Happily, my research for a better class of emu oil took me to Uniquely Emu, which sells a triple refined, odorless and completely clear oil called Clearly Emu ($26-$69 in TIA store). An oil worthy of Charlize’s coif. Heck, worthy of mine.

More effective at what, you ask. Emu oil is a big help for hair growth and even regrowth. And no, this is not some urban myth perpetuated by the Australian emu farming community. Nor folklore from New Zealand. This bird is backed by science.

Emu oil is actually very close to human sebum and, hence, our skins will easily absorb and process its goodness. It contains essential fatty acids: linolenic, linoleic, oleic, and palmitic. Linolenic (omega-3 EFA) and linoleic (omega-6 EFA).  Oleic is a known to have anti-inflammatory properties. Specifically, topical applications of emu oil may result in the growth of thicker hair….. both a thickening of existing hair shafts (which shrink in diameter with age) and a “re-awakening” of the dormant (sleeping) hair shafts (which increase as a percentage of total hair shafts with age).

In fact, a Dr. Michael Holick at Boston University School of Medicine conducted a study on mice which was designed to quantify the effect of emu oil on hair growth and hair regrowth. The Holick team saw 20% increase in DNA synthesis, which means that there was a 20% increase in the proliferation activity, or the growth activity of the skin in the animals that received emu oil, compared to the animals that received corn oil.

Also amazing, 80% of hair follicles that had been asleep were woken up and began growing hair. Overly simplified, normal hair follicles alternate between a resting phase and a growth phase, and topical applications of Emu oil were a wake up call for these snoozing hair follicles….in mice.

Balding men take note: emu oil may inhibit 5 alpha reductase – a body chemical that is responsible for the conversion of testosterone into DHT. It is known that DHT is strongly implicated in the onset and progression of male-pattern baldness. When Emu oil is applied onto balding parts of the scalp, it works to de-stabilize the DHT-producing components of hair follicles.

You can rub Clearly Emu or Emuleve into the scalp neat or use it with Folligen or your preferred hair growth product.

In the TIA Shop:

Truth Vitality Advanced Complex and Clearly Emu Ultra Clear Emu Oil Duo

Clearly Emu Ultra Clear Emu Oil

  • September 1, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Tahsin
    As I first came across Clearly Emu a couple of years ago, I was wondering recently if there is anything better. I did a lot of research and Clearly Emu is one of the few that is triple refined. It does help hair growth especially if combined with a hair growth treatment that has copper peptides.

  • September 1, 2012

    by Tahsin

    Hello, there.
    I wonder if someone can help me find the best emu-oil product-the one which is the best and purest to grow the hair and regrow the loss hair. I will appreciate you help. Thank you all.

  • September 9, 2011

    by vasanthi

    gooseberry juice and badam oil will control grey hair.

  • September 9, 2011

    by vasanthi

    which oil will control grey hair? otherwise which way to control grey hair? homeopathy treatment will control grey hair or not.

  • September 7, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Vasanthi, unfortunately there is no evidence that emu oil will control grey hair.

  • September 7, 2011

    by vasanthi

    i am 33 years old. i have 20% grey hair. if i use emu oil. i can control grey hair or not. if u tell they i will start, emu oil.

  • September 29, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Anna, saw palmetto is in Hair Signals, although not a shampoo it is for thinning hair http://truthinaging.com/hair/hair-signals-for-hair-growth-reviewed-and-recommended
    and

  • September 29, 2010

    by anna

    does anyone know of any good shampoos and conditioners with saw palmetto in them? i heard from my doctor that saw palmetto helps with hair thinning

  • September 28, 2010

    by Kim

    Thank you for the reply and information. I think I am going to try one of the eye creams on your list. Hopefully it will lessen the dark circles under my eyes. I have given up on finding the right concealer. There are only so many natural/organic concealers and none of them work for me! Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction.

  • September 13, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Kim, emu oil will stimulate existing hair follicles, but it won't create them or transform ones that produce normal female facial hair into ones that will give you a beard. Having said that, I'm not sure I'd use it for dark circles anyway. Emu oil is a good moisturizer because it close to human sebum, but I'm not sure it plumps the skin or actually thickens it. There are some good eye creams that we have seen good results with for dark circles. See our Five Best eye creams - in particular, Correct by YBF. http://truthinaging.com/uncategorized/five-best-eye-creams-2010-2

  • September 12, 2010

    by Kim

    Seeing that it's good for hair and hair growth is cool, but I'm interested in emu oil for its (alleged) skin-plumping ability. I have dark circles under my eyes due to thin skin and emu oil supposedly generates cell growth which would hopefully make the dark circles disappear. But now I'm concerned about hair growth. The last thing I need on my face is extra hair. Any thoughts?

  • August 30, 2010

    by anna

    do you all recommend ultra clear emu oil or emuleve? do you have to keep it on overnight? isn't it too greasy cuz it is an oil? thanks so much!

  • August 16, 2010

    by marta

    I am using the Aussie emu oil right now. I think it does the job - but I find it much greasier than Emuleve.

  • August 16, 2010

    by Junko

    I too have purchased the Aussie emu oil from Amazon. I've put it into a DIY hair oil for my entire head, but still too fond of Emuleve for my hairline w/Folligen.

  • August 15, 2010

    by Ellena

    I received the emu oil from Amazon. It is that one Ch Theron uses. It is thick, clear and no odor at all! Good surprize! As per its potential to help with hair loss it is too early to say anything, but l used around the eye area and it makes my skin soft and no redness appears (as l get red with about any product l use).

  • July 16, 2010

    by Ellena

    Update only re Chronos: l could not find the list of ingredients online so l phoned the company situated in Montreal, Canada. Unfortunately, the first ingredients are water and alcohol as well as peg-20 and so l am not going to try at all as products with alcohol give me a rash as well as they dry my curly hair big time.

  • July 13, 2010

    by Ellena

    Great ideas. I am going to buy Charlize's one and share my experience after a few months. I read on Amazon the reviews about that specific one, and people say it is clear and does not smell. Hope to achieve great results. I also came accross something called Chronos and it has a lotion for day as well as a night time one. On internet l found it has herbal ingredients, not sure if that list was complete but people who tried it, reported similar results with minoxidil 2%. I might give it a try as well later on this year, if the emu oil and Folligen will not work. I don't know what to think of Folligen as customers on Amazon gave it only 3 stars. For sure, taking high quality fish oil as well as a supplement containing vitB and zinc help alot.

  • July 13, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Ellena, the reason I went for the Uniquely Emu products is that they are highly refined. I'd been put off by others that smell like a farmyard. However, I notice that Charlize's (now that its available) says that the more refined ones have lost some of the nutrients. We'll definitely have to check it out.

  • July 13, 2010

    by copley

    Marta's research on a new replacement brand of emu oil brought her to Clearly Emu. Charlize's preferred emu product may not have been readily available at the time. But since it is now sold through Amazon, we will try to get our hands on a bottle for a comparison review. If you end up doing the same, please share your thoughts!

  • July 12, 2010

    by Ellena

    Thank you so much Copley.
    How come Marta or anybody else did not give this one a try but went for the most expensive one? I would have thought that trying something a star with great hair recommends, is a good start, no?

  • July 12, 2010

    by copley

    According to InStyle, Charlize's emu oil of choice is this number from down under: http://www.amazon.com/Australian-Pure-Premium-Powerful-moisturizer/dp/B001MWV40U. Though it's nearly half the price of <a href="http://truthinaging.com/hair/uniquely-emu-oil-for-hair-growth" rel="nofollow">Uniquely Emu</a>, we can't say whether it is equally effective. Charlize is the only one among us who has publicly attested to its powers .

  • July 12, 2010

    by Ellena

    Are there other cheaper and effective brands of this oil? What is Charlize's brand?

  • January 29, 2010

    by Junko

    Must of been a 2 oz. glitch. I received a message for both Clearly Emu and Emuleve when I tried to order the 2oz. of either of these. Was a nice message though, offered a 10% discount if I'd say why it should be restocked. I ended up ordering the 1 oz. of Clearly & will try this on my hair, it's the more economical of the 2. I'll use what I have left of Emuleve (tried & true) for my face. I'm still amazed at how far 1 oz. of this oil goes...

  • January 29, 2010

    by marta

    Junko, Perhaps you encountered a glitch. The 2oz is in the store and all seems to be up and running.

  • January 29, 2010

    by Junko

    I'm amazed at how long my 1 oz. of Emuleve has lasted, BUT can you stock the 2 oz. again Marta? I ordered yesterday and found that you're no longer stocking 2 oz's? Emuleve is wonderful. Has amped up hairline growth when put over Folligen. For a year I've used SuperCop for scar removal. Never used Skinbiology's recommended Emu because I was afraid of oil & breaking out. A bad bout of acne 3 years ago is exactly why I have these scars! Now, I'm using Emuleve over SuperCop at night. Makes a huge difference in how the SuperCop performs & NO it doesn't clog pores or cause my face to break out. Wish I wouldn't of wasted a year without Emu, but happy to be using it now! Thanks for finding superior Emu oil's for us!

  • January 4, 2010

    by marta

    Eileen, you can use emu oil every day by just rubbing it into your scalp. (I was only using it weekly because before I found Clearly Emu I was using the Skin Biology one which is too thick and smelly for more than once a week).

  • January 3, 2010

    by Eileen

    Marta, how can the emu oil (i just purchased the Clearly Emu from TIA) be used to thicken and smooth hair? I see where it can be used as a once per weekly conditioner and am wondering if it can be used daily?
    thank you, Eileen

  • December 3, 2009

    by marta

    Attention vegans, I've found an alternative to emu oil from Skin Actives. Its called Emulator.

    Almond seed oil, palm oil, shea butter, flax seed, rosehip and pomegranate oil, sea buckthorn(Hippophae rhamnoides), borage, foraha, kukui (Aleurite moluccans) nut and babassu (Orbignya oleifera) oils; mango, pumpkin seed, kokum (Garcinia Indica) and tucuma (Astrocaryum tucuma) butter, pomegranate (Punica Granatum) Seed Oil and astaxanthin and tocotrienols and lycopene and alpha D-Tocopherol and thioctic Acid and lutein.

    (http://www.skinactives.com/product/detail.aspx?prodID=169)

  • November 22, 2009

    by Matt

    Can someone tell me their results of hair regrowth?

  • November 20, 2009

    by marta

    Thanks Laura. It's possible, although I haven't found anything scientific to back up coconut oil and hair growth except this: that it inhibits both 17B-HSD and 5 alpha reductase, precursors to both androstendione and DHT activity. Reprod Biol. 2002 Nov;2(3):277-93. I'll keep on foraging for more information.

  • November 20, 2009

    by Laura

    People on Twitter were recommending organic coconut oil as a vegan hair growth treatment. What do you think, Marta?

  • November 19, 2009

    by marta

    Claudia,
    Emu are generally raised and then slaughtered for their meat (which is close to beef in flavor). The oil is a byproduct. The oil is not extracted from live birds.

  • November 19, 2009

    by claudia

    Ok I now know the oil is rendered fat that comes from the back of the emu.

  • November 19, 2009

    by claudia

    Does anyone know exactly how emu oil is obtained and what part of the emu it comes from? I would like to try it but it doesn't sound cruelty free.

  • November 18, 2009

    by Jack

    Glad you found a better product. I believe they use AEA Certified Fully Refined - guarantee that it has met certain requirements and is tested out of house by an American Oil Chemists Society chemist - safe emu oil should not smell rancid or like a barnyard.

  • November 18, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Asya, yes it does. Even if hair growth is not an issue, its a great conditioner. You can use it as a hair mask and leave on for 20 minutes once a week.

    Vegans and vegetarians... now that's a challenge. And you know how I like those. I shall go on a quest.

  • November 18, 2009

    by Asya

    Hi Marta,

    based in your experience (I see you've already finished one bottle), does the oil have an overall effect on your hair? I mean shine, elasticity and all that. Thanks!

  • November 18, 2009

    by aerwin

    Yes I wish there was a vegan version too. I really want my hair to grow faster.

  • November 17, 2009

    by Jan

    Thank you for the info on this....I will check out their products. I currently use 'Laid In Montana' brand emu eye cream and find it's about the only thing that works effectively on my dry/allergy undereye wrinkles. I wish I could find something a bit less oily but I'm always so disappionted in other products. Plus it gets expensive....so, until I find something better, this emu stuff works great!

  • November 17, 2009

    by Angela

    Emu oil sounds like such a miracle worker - I just wish there were a vegetarian version of it.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...