Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Uniquely Emu Rejuvenating Conditioner- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dry or Brittle Hair
October 5, 2010 Reviewed by Junko 13 Comments
See Junko's profile

Marta knows I’m a big fan of emu oil for my hair, so she sent me a bottle of Uniquely Emu’s Conditioner ($13.95) right after she wrote her review of both the shampoo and conditioner back in June.

The first time I used it I applied it to my scalp and worked it down to the ends like I’d normally do with any rinse out conditioner. The result after blow drying was oily weighed down roots with really soft, smooth and silky ends. I’d remembered reading on more than one occasion that conditioners shouldn’t be applied to the scalp but only to the ends in order to have volume at the roots. This had never been a habit that I practiced since all the conditioners I use are so beneficial for the scalp and growth. Uniquely Emu made it obvious to me thought that my normal conditioners hadn’t been giving the ends the moisture and hydration that they’d been needing.

You can imagine my guilt! All these years I’d been serving my roots while starving my ends. Well, this won’t be happening any more! I now use 2 conditioners when I shampoo. A conditioner for the scalp and Uniquely Emu’s Rejuvenating Conditioner on the ends. With this, I really feel that all my hair from top to bottom is getting what it needs.

The moisturizers in this conditioner come from emu oil, vitamin e, carrot oil and spearmint oil. I love the smell of spearmint which is a stimulating oil like peppermint, but because spearmint contains less menthol it’s gentler for the scalp and skin. For what it’s worth, the bottle says it gives you carotene, panethol & sunscreen protection too. Panthenol is a product of pantothenic acid (Vitamin B5) and alcohol. When panthenol is metabolized by living cells, it releases Vitamin B5. Since hair is not made of living cells it doesn’t metabolize and remains a provitamin which hasn’t been proven to do much of anything for hair. As I’m not putting this conditioner on my scalp, the vitamin a from the carotene probably isn’t doing much either. Being a rinse out product, I can’t imagine that there’s much titanium dioxide left after the rinsing to offer a lot of uv protection.

Even so, long haired gals should note that Uniquely Emu’s Rejuvenating conditioner leaves the ends of my hair in such a nice state that I can’t imagine shampooing without it now. Marta said in her June article that Country Devine makes a conditioner with almost the same ingredients for a few dollars less. After looking at the ingredients I did notice right away that it lacks the spearmint oil. I have ordered it and will let you know how it compares, and the spearmint oil; I’ll be adding that in myself!

Ingredients:

Purified Water, Natural Glycerin, Steral Konium Chloride, Emu Oil, di-Tocopherol Acetate (Vit. E), Glyceryl Sterate, Natural Oil of Spearmint, Panthenol, Natural Titanium Dioxide, Carrot Oil, Carrot Extract, Carotene, Methylparaben, Propolyparaben.
  • October 21, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Anna
    I haven't tried it but it looks interesting with plenty of ingredients for hair growth and health. Here are the ingredients:
    REGENEPURE® DR INGREDIENTS: Aqua (Deionized Water), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf (Aloe Vera Gel) Juice, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Carbomer, Glycerin, PEG-8, Ketoconazole, Niacin (Vitamin-B3), Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Extract, Hydrolyzed Wheat Proteins, Dimethicone, Allantoin, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin-C), Pyridoxine HCl (Vitamin-B6), Linolenic Acid, Emu Oil, dl-Panthenol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Menthol, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Oil, Hexylene Glycol, Salicylic Acid, PEG-25 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Oil, Caffeine, Zinc Oxide, Guanine, Benzophenone-4, Polysorbate-80, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, FD&C Blue #1.
    For anyone concerned about Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, it is considered gently (more details in our <a href="http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/disodium-laureth-sulfosuccinate" rel="nofollow">ingredients database</a>). However, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate can be an irritant, as can be <a href="http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/benzophenone-4" rel="nofollow">benzophenone-4</a>.
    If you decide to try it, let us know how you get on.

  • October 21, 2010

    by Junko

    Hi Anna,

    I haven't tried this brand. I just went and looked at the ingredients there are a couple of not so nice ingredients in each of them. Depending on what you're willing to accept, they do seem to have some beneficial ingredients for the hair. You could always give them a try and then give TIA a review of them, just like the rest of us!! Share the Love!!

  • October 20, 2010

    by anna

    http://www.regenepure.com/

    i'm thinking of buying the shampoo/conditioner above (regenepure) they both have emu oil in it. has anyone tried it?

  • October 16, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Junko - I'm also ordering the Yarok after reading VickyL's post. FYI, The NMB Volumizing did exactly the opposite to my hair, made it limp and greasy at the roots! I think I have "Mary, Mary, quite contrary" hair.

  • October 15, 2010

    by Junko

    Thank you Jaysie! Was very curious if anything was working for you. The Uniquely Emu Conditioner I'll definitely be buying again. I think after reading VickyL's comments on Yakok I'm going to have to try it too.

  • October 14, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Ohhh, Junko, you should see the shampoo bar in my shower. And if I had a nickel for every hair product I've given away, I'd be rich. The only time my hair behaves is when I'm in a desert climate, but even then, my hair does not like a steady diet of the same products. I wish I could find two product lines that I can rotate just so my shower is not a-jumble with bottles.

    Today, I am re-trying Nurture My Body...the Volumizing shampoo & basic conditioner. When I first tried NMB, it was very humid here and my hair was stressed so I had a bad experience. Now the weather is dry and in the 60's so I'm giving it another chance. The only shampoo I use with any regularity is Redken Extreme, and that's only after I color every 5 weeks or so. It gives a great shine to blonde hair, but it's full of chemicals and if I use it more frequently than about twice a month, my hair gets frizzy-frazzled. This is also true of shampoos/conditioners with cones. I also am able to use Joico K-Pak condish, but not frequently. Besides the Redken and Joico, I have 6 other brands in my shower right now, but those names will likely change in the next couple of months as they always do. I'm about to cave on the Nutri-Lift. And/or the Uniquely Emu. I'm sure the mood will strike soon.

  • October 14, 2010

    by Junko

    Dearest Jaysie,

    Virgin Wavy and long (hits the top of my butt).
    Actually Jaysie, you have the most fickle head of hair known to TIA. I'm really curious as to what you use. Side Note * received the Country Devine, review coming soon, don't waste your money ~ buy the Uniquely Emu!!

  • October 13, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Junko - What kind of hair do you have? Dyed, virgin, straight, curly, etc.? Thanks...

  • October 6, 2010

    by Michelle

    Thanks for the update...I wanted to make sure I ordered the right one!

  • October 6, 2010

    by Stephanie

    Thanks Junko!

  • October 6, 2010

    by Junko

    Michelle,
    I am so sorry for the confusion! I didn't realize that they made 2 different conditioners. I presumed that Marta had sent me the same and with both having similar names Revitalizing andd Rejuvenating. Thank you for pointing this out! I am using, and I'm reading it right off the bottle this time 'Rejuvenating Conditioner'. Marta, can you please change the headline on the review for accuracy? Stephanie * Long time favorites of mine that I always have are Max Green Alchemy Scalp Rescue and Nutra-Lift. Thanks again Michelle for catching and calling out that there are actually 2 conditioners made by Uniquely Emu.

  • October 5, 2010

    by Stephanie

    Junko,
    Which conditioner are you using on your scalp?

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • October 5, 2010

    by Michelle

    Quick question...the ingredients you listed are for the Rejuvenating conditioner but the review says Revitalizing conditioner. Which one are you actually using?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...