Free shipping on all orders over $39

UPDATED Eyelash growth product round-up: do they work and are they safe

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
Reviewed by Marta July 3, 2008 38 Comments
This post has been UPDATED. For the June 2009 roundup click here.

I posted a round-up of eyelash growth products, summarizing whether they worked and were safe. Since then, products have come and gone, new information has come to light and I've tested a few more. So here is an updated eyelash enhancer round-up.

Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner.
It certainly worked; my eyelashes were growing like weeds after three weeks of use. However, it was yanked off the market at the beginning of January, although you can still find it for sale here and there. It contained prostaglandin (an analogue to be precise), a powerful drug used to treat glaucoma. The positive side effect is that it makes your eyelashes darker, thicker and longer. Bad side effects can include burning/itching and change of eye color. I stopped using it as soon as I found out about prostaglandin.

Jan Marini's Marini Lash. Jan Marini has a new lash product without prostaglandin. I've just posted a review after trying it for three weeks. It works and it's safe.

Dermaquest's Dermalash. This also worked for me (see review). Longer lashes and some new growth. It has done a very good job of filling in my eyebrows as well. No glaucoma drugs (it uses amino acids and vitamin B) and I had no allergic reactions to it.

MD Lash Factor. This product reportedly works. It too contains prostaglandin. See Jan Marini, above.

Revitalash. Some reviewers report a burning sensation when using Revitalash. If it doesn't bother you, it does seem to work. Revitalash used to be based on an ingredient called bitamoprost (this is what prompted the FDA recall of Jan Marini's original product). Revitalash reformulated the product to use prostaglandin. The newest version is claimed to be 100% safe.

Keracyte-B. Keracyte-B is a scalp conditioner that uses elastatropin, a synthetic form of elastin. This is aimed at stimulating the hair follicle. There are some anti-aging ingredients, such as matrixyl 3000,  mixed in too. It does not contain prostaglandin. I haven't tried it, but have heard that it works.

Renew Eyelash Revitalizer. For some reason, persons under 18 can't use Renew without a doctor's prescription. I haven't used it and haven't come across anyone who has. Renew doesn't contain prostaglandin. It really seems as though it is a hair regrowth product that is being marketed for eyelashes. The main ingredients are: tripeptide-1, a kind of protein used to prevent the breakdown of collagen, and biotin, a B vitamin used in hair regeneration products.

RefectoCil Longlash. This has the benefit of being cheap (about $20) and RefectoCil does not contain prostoglandin. I can't imagine that it works since it is just a concoction of plant extracts. If your esthetician tries to get you to try it, bear in mind that the maker markets it to salons by saying they can expect a 300% profit margin when they sell RefectoCil.

Lilash. This was developed by a doctor in Scotsdale. Thanks to a reader's sleuthing skills, we now know that the ingredients for Lilash contain a prostaglandin analogue. I've had reports of allergic reactions.

Talika. The best thing I can say about Talika is that it comes with a nice origination myth (a young French doctor treating World War II casualties in Paris in 1948 finds out that her potion of plant extracts heals wounds and makes eyelashes grow). I have read a review saying it doesn't work. Quelle surprise.

Mavala. This product is applied like mascara (most of them are applied like an eye-liner). Anyway, it doesn't work.

FNS Nutrilash. I tried this and it didn't work after four weeks. Perfectly safe though.

Lumilash. Reportedly in the works by Allergan. Not yet on the market and Allergan has just applied for FDA approval.

Peter Roth Thomas Lashes To Die For. Contains a prostaglandin analogue.

Intuit Beauty Enormous Lash. This one also contains a prostaglandin analogue, and this is how it appears in the ingredients list: 17 phenyl-13, 14-dihydoro trinor PGF 2 (Alpha). Not as "revolutionary" as Intuit claims.

Skin Research Laboratories Neulash. This contains prostaglandin analogue.

SD Lash. Made by Phoenix Medical, this has natural ingredients with the active being hexapeptide 11 (derived from yeast). Some readers have reported good results.

Skin Biology's Folligen. A copper peptide cream that is primarily designed for hair growth. It works by strengthening the hair follicles. I have had really good results on brows and lashes.

B Kamins Chemist Lash Fortifier. Natural ingredients of the kind found in hair growth products.
  • August 1, 2013

    by CA

    Hi, I'm looking for an eyelash growth product that is safe and natural.

    I was looking at the ingredients for Dermalash and found this article: http://www.thebeautydivas.com/eyelash-enhancers/dermalash.html And now I'm wondering, what exactly is in the ingredient listed as "Eye Lashes Growth Promoter Complex?"

    Thanks

  • August 1, 2013

    by marta

    Hi CA,
    We wrote about the Dermalash ingredients here: http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/04/dermalashs-active-ingredients.html.

  • August 1, 2013

    by CA

    Hi Marta,

    Thanks for the response. I may have to try Jan Marini Lash. Hopefully they work for me :)

    I still don't understand why Dermalash listed the ingredient as a "growth complex" and not what it was made up of. Oh well.

    Great site btw.

  • August 1, 2013

    by Lienita

    I've have used Lilash. It definitely works. My lashes were fuller and longer and I started to see a difference in 3 weeks. But the prostagladin in Lilash started to scare me, so tried other more natural products with mixed results.

  • August 1, 2013

    by Marjolein

    Hi all,

    First thanks to Marta for all this information. I'm from Holland, until now we only find Talika in our shops, which I've tried but didn't work for me at all. I also started using Lilash, I bought it on ebay, on their website they claim te be safe. The product works very good! My lashes are fuller but definitely longer. Thanks for al your information, regards from The Netherland

  • August 1, 2013

    by Rebecca

    I used Lilash for 1 1/2 years. I had AWESOME eyelashes. People would actually stop me to say I had the longest eyelashes they had ever seen. Unfortunately, I have developed an eye problem. After seeing five different eye doctors, three of whom were specialists, I have been told that it was most likely the prostaglandin in Lilash which damaged my eyes. I am quite disappointed, and I also feel a bit foolish for damaging my eyesight for vanity. Of course, I did not realize I was jeopardizing my vision. (In case you're wondering, I developed a spot on my cornea which has thinned by 50% in my left eye, and it also started in my right eye.) Anyway, my lashes are half of what they were....both in length and thickness. I'm not sure if they are any better than if I were using nothing on them. Is there really an eyelash enhancer without prostaglandins that works? I would LOVE to have my long, lush lashes back. I'm forty-two and need all of the beauty help I can get ;)

  • November 20, 2012

    by Alexa

    Has anyone tried LashX proline? It says it's safe for eyelash extension wearers. I want a product that will keep my natural lashes in good shape while wearing extensions, and stengthen them so that my extensions last longer. Thanks

  • October 14, 2012

    by Linda

    Hello,

    Excellent post!! Do you have an update for a natural eyelash growth serum that actually works? Thanks

  • November 30, 2011

    by marci

    Any comments on Idol Lash?

  • March 8, 2011

    by lucia

    Hello all,
    i find this reviews very helpful,thanks Marta.
    i would like to know if anyone tried the Idol lash?..they say its all natural and i read some reviews saying it works good and its cheap as well.
    i cant open the updated 2009 roundup here.
    sorry to hear about Rebeccas problem,its shame they didnt tell the consumers what prostaglandin can cause.

  • September 30, 2010

    by Sam

    I use latisse once a week and it maintains my lashes. Haven't had any adverse effects. I would rather use something natural or FDA approved. I believe the chances of color change is only at a 4%. That's very low.

  • June 24, 2009

    by Elle

    Thanks so much, Marta! I appreciate the quick post! :o)) That's good to hear! I've been using the new Enormous Lash for about a week and a half, and will let you know when/ if I see results. :o)

  • June 24, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Elle, I am sorry that I missed your post. You are right, no prostaglandin and it otherwise looks OK.

  • June 24, 2009

    by marta

    Hi Elle,
    I'm sorry I missed this. I think it looks OK. (Probably time to update the eyelash roundup)

  • June 24, 2009

    by Elle

    Marta,

    The new formula of Enormous Lash states that it DOES NOT contain prostaglandin or parabens. I posted the current ingredients on June 13th. The new formula does not contain the ingredients that you stated as being a prostaglandin analog. Do you see anything in the CURRENT ingredients for Enormous Lash that are dangerous, or have unsavory side effects?

  • June 17, 2009

    by marta

    Enormous Lash contains prostaglandin. Side effects can include burning/itching and change of eye color.

  • June 16, 2009

    by curious 2

    I bought the new enourmous lash from nordstroms is it safe to use????

  • June 13, 2009

    by Elle

    The current Enormous Lash product on the market is by Beauty Society (No longer Intuit). The current ingredients are as follows: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerine, Potassium Olivoyl PCA, Arginine, Alanyk Glutamine, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Phospholipids, Sphingolipids, Panthenol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Isopentyl glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Trisoium EDTA. I did read your comment regarding Panthenol and Phenoxyethanol possibly being irritants. Is there anything else that appears to be a problem in this current formula?

  • April 22, 2009

    by Hilary

    I am currently using Peter Thomas Roth's Lashes To Die For. It is now the fifth day, so I'm not seeing any results yet, but I am making Photos of my eyes to mark the progress for myself and curious friends.
    I would like to point out a side effect, which I have had since day one: My breast are painfully tender, similar to the days before I have my period. Before my period however, they are swollen, which they are not now.
    I have checked the www a bit, and prostaglandins are actually hormones, crucial to giving birth and inducing abortion (see wikipedia, prostaglandin analogues). Although the packaging already states that you shouldn't use this stuff while pregnant or nursing, TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY! You don't want to be losing your baby because of your lashes.

  • March 24, 2009

    by BambiLashes

    Great article very informatve, nice work

  • March 11, 2009

    by Curious

    Will you review Beauty Lash MD & Long Lash MD?

  • December 5, 2008

    by Nadia

    I was disappointed to see that you think that Talkia Lipocils for eyelashes doesn't work. You haven't seen any growth with this product at all? Is it harmful to use?

    Thanks!

  • November 10, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>As mentioned in the comment above yours, Marini Lash and Dermalash are safe (as is Folligen). See our post on Five Best eyelash and brow growth products:<br />
    <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/10/five-best-eyelash-and-brow-growth-products.html" rel="nofollow">http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/10/five-best-eyelash-and-brow-growth-products.html</a></p>

  • November 9, 2008

    by Rachael

    <p>so reading all these, is there any eyelash conditioner that is safe to try? it sounds like they all have some bad side effect in them that hasn't been perfected yet. if there's one that's safe, which is it?</p>

  • September 14, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Not being one to take chances, I stopped using it once I found out about the possible side effects. So I'd only been using it for three weeks and nothing untoward had happened by then. Perhaps you could take a chance and use it up (fingers crossed) and then switch to something safe and (at least for me, effective) like Dermalash or the new Marini Lash.</p>

  • September 14, 2008

    by Lindsey

    <p>I *just* started using the Lash Factor MD. Unfortunately I bought it first and learned about it second. I really don't want my eyes to change color, and I'm wondering if you experienced that when you were using the prostaglandin products. If so, how long had you been using it when you saw the change. </p>

    <p>THanks! Your report has been very helpful</p>

  • September 8, 2008

    by irene

    <p>I used the NewLash last night and when I woke up this morning I couldn't open my eyes. They were so sore, red like I have an infection and it was red all over almost to my cheekbones. It was horrible, I couldn't go outside. And from the review I just read its not save to use. I'm throwing it out, what a shame on the product and its company!</p>

  • August 17, 2008

    by Kim

    <p>Thanks for the information on all these, do you know anything about Pink Magic Lash? It is another eyelash growth product as well.</p>

  • August 10, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I always wondered why the original Jan Marini specified using it on the upper lashes only. Now I know.</p>

    <p>I'll try to find out more about the new Revitalash MD - the ingredients list just says LashGrow Formula. I'll contact Revitalash and get more information.</p>

  • August 10, 2008

    by Catherine

    <p>I have used Revitalash for at least a year. It works like a miracle. However, I stopped using it for my lower lashes since it seems to cause some discoloration of the skin. I noticed longer and fuller upper lashes in about 3 weeks, and it also worked on my eyebrow. I have never tried the newest formulated one, the one without the prostaglandins analog. The one that I am using is called Revitalash "R", not "MD". I am wondering if the newest reformulated version work as good as the older version. Also, I would like to compare the effectiveness between MD lash factor and Revitalash and their safety issues since I am considering switching over to see if MD lash factor works a little better. Please advise. Thank you.</p>

  • July 31, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I've just found out (via an article in Cosmetic Design) that Neulash contains isopropyl cloprostenate, a prostaglandin analogue. I've added a new post.</p>

  • July 23, 2008

    by Camay Jennings

    <p>I have several friends who use NeuLash, and they have had phenomenal results. One lady's lashes are so long, she needs to trim them. No one reported side effects. The esthetician that sold it to them said that the formula had been sold to another company, and it would soon be packaged in a smaller container for $100 per unit. Right now (today) you can get it on shopNBC.com for $109.50.<br />
    Cheers,<br />
    Camay Jennings</p>

  • July 19, 2008

    by jo

    <p>The ingredient listing for Neulash looks almost identical to gloLash Enhance by gloMinerals minus the Soybean Oil and Phosphatidycholine:</p>

    <p>Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Biotin, Panthenol, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Cyclopentenoic Ester, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Phosphatidycholine, Polypeptide-23, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenisen, Sorbic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid<br />
    <a href="http://www.dermstore.com/product_gloLash+Enhance_12274.htm" rel="nofollow">http://www.dermstore.com/product_gloLash+Enhance_12274.htm</a></p>

  • July 8, 2008

    by marta

    <p>I think these are the ingredients for Neulash:<br />
    Water, Rhizobian Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Biotin, Panthenol, Panthetine, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Allantoin, Pumpkin Seed Extract, Dipotassium, Glycyrrhizate, Cyclopentenoic Ester, Octapeptide-2, Copper Tripeptide-1, Polypeptide-23, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenisen, Sorbic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid </p>

    <p>No prostaglandins. A couple of things are known irritants: Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenisen (I wrote about an FDA warning on them: <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/06/fda-warning-on-phenoxyethanol.html)" rel="nofollow">http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/06/fda-warning-on-phenoxyethanol.html)</a> and, for some people, panthenol</p>

  • July 8, 2008

    by Michelle Walters

    <p>I just used a product called neulash. it is a eyelash conditioner that says it makes your eyelashes grow. I have seen other products out there, but this one I tired from Saks 5th Ave. When I tried it it, It started to make my eyes watery and sore. Does anyone know what is in it? I have heard of others who dont use chemicals in there's like Revitalash. Does Neulash use that ingredient like in jan marini that was pulled a while back?? I need to see my doctor, but I wanted to ask others what they thought...</p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Marta

    <p>Good catch. I'll add it straight away.</p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Deadlily

    <p>I'm curious if you plan on reviewing Enormous Lash</p>

  • July 4, 2008

    by Jo

    <p>Enormous Lash is missing....</p>

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...