Free shipping on all orders over $39

The Ultra Renew LED and ultrasonic device (VIDEO)

Reviewed by Marta June 11, 2012 45 Comments

It is barely a month since I launched Ultra Renew, Truth In Aging's LED and ultrasonic device and it instantly became a bestseller. I use it myself three or four times a week and I am thrilled with the firming and lifting results I have been getting - especially around the mouth and jawline. In this video I explain how the device works, show how to use it in ultrasonic mode and the three integrated (no need to remove the light panels) LED lights.

Editor's Note: The Truth Renew & Truth Renew PLUS prototype devices are no longer available for sale in the Truth In Aging shop.

FDA Approved Truth Vitality Lux Renew with LED and Ultrasound Learn about Truth Vitality Lux Renew, our first ever FDA-cleared device that offers ultrasound, red LED and blue LED therapy to safely and painlessly minimize wrinkles, firm and lift skin, and clear adult acne.

Buy Me
$ 89.00
  • March 3, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Patrice, the Plus is out of stock. We should be getting some more in by the end of March.

  • March 3, 2013

    by Patrice Podvojsky

    Wonderful I'll be awaiting with baited breath.
    Also I see you no longer are advertising the Ultranew PLUS as it has been sold out, but are still promoting the earlier version. Is the PLUS discontinued?

  • March 3, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Patrice, in theory yes. but the device head is small and it will take time to do a large area. I am working on a version for the body that will tighten, help with cellulite and stretch marks. Watch this space.

  • March 3, 2013

    by Patrice

    Can the ultra renew be used on the inner thighs to tighten up that area? I'm 70 and they are so wrinkled and dimpled, hate to wear a bathing suit.

  • March 2, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Shelly - yes the Ultra Renew is 110-220 volts and can be used with your local adapter. Please see the product page for full details: http://www.truthinaging.com/truth-in-aging-ultra-renew-ultrasonic-led

  • March 2, 2013

    by Shelly

    Hi Marta,

    I see from an earlier post that you can ship the Ultra Renew to New Zealand. In NZ the household voltage for all outlets is 220 volts versus the normal 110 volts in the US. Is the Ultra Renew dual voltage? If not, is it safe to plug the Ultra Renew into a voltage converter that converts the 220 volts to 110? Cheers,

    Shelly

  • February 16, 2013

    by Teresa

    Enjoyed the video. Can Ultra Renew be used on the breasts?

  • January 19, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Josiane, I believe that it is safe to use LED/ultrasound/ionic on Botox treated areas. But I would also suggest that you ask the doctor that performed the treatments for a second opinion

  • January 19, 2013

    by josiane smith

    would the ultra renew affect areas treated with botox?

  • December 28, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Anna, I personally use this device for sagging in those areas and I have seen great improvement - please bear in mind that I have been doing this religiously three times a week for a year. It requires patience and diligence (as with most things). We can ship to Australia, but you may have to pay local import duties.

  • December 28, 2012

    by Anna

    Hey Marta, a couple of questions for you, I'm turning 44 soon & have relatively good skin for my age but have noticed some slight sagging of my cheeks, corners of my mouth & jawline. Will the device help with lifting & toning these areas & do you do to Australia? Or could you recommend another device.
    Thanks

  • December 26, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Keiko,
    The Red LED light may help to tighten the under eye skin. But I would hold the device just above the skin. The ultrasound is not suitable in my view since the device must be in contact and moved over the skin and it would be easy to drag the delicate under eye skin and do more harm than good. Ultimately, this is not your answer. A good eye cream may help - see the Five Best suggestions:http://www.truthinaging.com/reviewed-recommended-eyes/five-best-eye-creams-of-2012

  • December 25, 2012

    by Keiko

    Hi Marta - I'm impressed by your research, thoroughness and honesty. I'm also interested in the Ultra Renew to try to help with my under-eye bags. There was a comment back on Aug 24 from Dawn who asked the same question, but I didn't see an answer. Will the ultrasound and/or the LED work on the eye bags? Thanks much...

  • December 18, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Candy, ultrasound doesn't work by heat on this type of machine. Here is more on how ultrasonic works and why this device will not cause fat loss: http://www.truthinaging.com/treatments/ultrasonic-how-it-works

  • December 17, 2012

    by Candy

    Just looking into home machines and
    wondering if these bone healiing
    ultrasound (same as radiofrequency)
    would help. They sure are cheap. I read
    one study saying multiple passes over
    a period of 8 days (weeks?) was more
    effective than one strong session. I wonder
    if the heat is causing fat loss. This is why
    I am considering a low intesity bone healing such as Exogen 4000. Some
    used ones are less than 100.00.

  • December 1, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Diana, ultrasound does not effect the eyes and you do not have to pull up your eyebrows. You simply move the device in an upward direction from the eyebrow to hairline. Both red and green LED light help with rosacea.

  • December 1, 2012

    by Diana Gonzalez

    Hi , I have few questions. Using the sonic around your or upper brow, Does the sonic wave affect your eyes in anyway? Do you have to pull your eyebrow up then place sonic on it? has and study been done? Also would green light therapy help with rosacea ?

  • November 26, 2012

    by Marta

    Watch this space. We think we might have them back in stock today. Please standby and we will let everyone who has asked know by email.

  • November 26, 2012

    by C FREEMAN

    Marta,
    would have loved to take advantage of purchasing during the 20% discount period that appears to end on November 26. I have placed the ultrarevew on my wishlist hoping that it might be in stock during that period. Is there anyway you can honor that discount when it is back in stock? Happy Holidays to all and think beautiful thoughts.

  • November 25, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Yvonne, we are hoping to have it back by early December. We will ship worldwide.

  • November 24, 2012

    by YVONNE

    Very interested in the Ultra Renew LED & Ultrasonic device. When will it be back in stock? Do you ship to New Zealand?

  • November 23, 2012

    by Kim

    In the video, you state a 2 mm lift to the brow may be achieved in one session, and that researchers have found that. BUT, I HIGHLY doubt that is accurate. That 2 mm measurement is for Ulthera, a famous ultrasound device only used in dermatologists' and skin spa offices, NOT for in-home devices. Just look it up - easy to find the specs online. Given the sort of intensity that one goes through in the dr's office with Ulthera - I, myself, have had 2 separate full face and neck treatments over a period of 1 1/2 years, it doesn't sound realistic/accurate that that number you quote, 2 mm for brow lift (and certainly not in one session), is for -- any -- in-home device. That 2 mm is specifically for Ulthera, unless you can add a link to a scientific journal that can show us it has surprisingly been found for your device or any other home ultrasound device as well, such as the LED/Ultrasound device on Amazon that appears to be the same as yours - btw, I can't tell yours apart from the one on Amazon - they appear to be exactly the same - odd. Anyway, just full disclosure, I do NOT have any connection to Ulthera - in fact, I would say that Ulthera is awesome for the brow, BUT very little improvement for the lower face, and actually a disturbing degeneration under the chin/neck area - and I'm not the only one who experienced that. I personally know others with the same exact results. Btw, I have heard, but cannot verify, that new research is pointing to some fat loss with ultrasound, though it has fully been touted as not the case...until recently. At this time, it appears doctors are not united on this point. And, it would be very hard to determine if some docs are going to not mention it if they have already bought the machine and must make a profit off it. The drs who state that it DOES cause fat loss, do not have Ulthera in their offices, I checked, and that is as you might expect. Anyway, if it does cause any fat loss, it is not to a large degree. And, it seems that if it does occur, it might be due more to the lack of experience of the operator as the operator can SEE to what depth they are penetrating with Ulthera, so an experienced operator should be able to keep the ultrasound OUT of the subcutaneous layer of fat area in your face.

  • October 18, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Lilly, it isn't defective. This is normal. It appears that the ultrasound is working, but it isn't operating optimally with the LED light on. Please use them consecutively

  • October 18, 2012

    by Lilly

    Hi, just got mine today. It says you can't use the LED and ultrasound at the same time. But when I turn the unit on the LED light goes on and I can feel the pulsating of the ultrasound. So it seems like they are both on at the same time. Is my unit defective?

  • October 15, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Sandy, I haven't personally tested it for muscle pain, but some members of the community have - with good results.

  • October 15, 2012

    by sandy

    Im researching this product for dual purpose for aging face wrinkles such as it stated use but can it be used for muscle aches and stiffness. Ive seen other products that are only for muscle therapy whats the difference? can it have dual purpose? is it the level of ultrasonic that changes the use.

  • September 22, 2012

    by karla

    Hi
    IT'S VERY DELICATE EQUIPMENT, BE CAREFUL TO NOT DROP IT OR BANG IT.
    Just got my and second time, i dropped it on the bathroom foor, plastic inside broke which holds the outer plastic shelling to the actual machine snapped opened. It was a gentle fall, and only from a very shallow height and i've dropped hundreds of things on my floor including drinking glasses and nothing has ever broken on that bathroom floor in 15 years. Luckily i was able to get it glued back on and it worked perfect.y. But just a warning, that the machine is very very very delicate. Other than that, it's only been a couple of days i've had it so can't review it's effect, except that my face feels tightened and warm afterwards, the tightened feeling could be serum ...hmm let you know in the next few weeks.

  • September 22, 2012

    by FELICIA

    @Marta:the device tis so customized for lazy me~Look forward to get one when in stock. (will you make a little bigger platform one later??)

    @Phyllis: I have been doing Thermage and fraxial and I have done facial lift already....I won't expect these devices work same result compared to those med treatment but i think its an alternative and economical way to maitain besides the treatment and hope to extend it. I going to try on several and doing experiments to see if it helps to hold over my visit to med spa.

  • August 27, 2012

    by Marta

    I have now launched my own Gel Serum for use with the Ultra Renew. It has antioxidants and 5% YBF Control. There is more info here:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/ultra-renew-gel-serum-with-5-correct-its-finally-here

  • August 24, 2012

    by dawn

    Hi Marta, I posted this question in the TIA shop too. Is there any chance this device might help with my forever-present under eye bags? If so what setting would be the best? Thanks so much, I'm very interested in trying this!

  • July 12, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Naheed, its not a good idea to use a sheet mask with LED as it will inhibit penetration of the light

  • July 11, 2012

    by Naheed

    I have been using this device for a few weeks now and really love the way it lifts the eye area, still need to work on my jawline more. I am sure in couple of months I'll see some good results. I have a question though (again)....Can LED light pass through those sheet mask infused with HA and collagen. I tried it once and my face looked more hydrated and plumped. I put on the mask and used red light for about 10 minutes all over the face. Is there a harm in doing so? Although I wish it could help with my under eye bags. But overall I like the effects.

  • July 1, 2012

    by janice chin

    hi. im intrested with this device. but i live in asia, malaysia to b exact. is it possible to order frm u? n hows the shipment n cost if it is possible. pls advise me. thanx alot

  • June 18, 2012

    by Win

    Is the device safe for upper forehead treated with botox? Will it wear off the botox sooner? Also, what is the voltage of the device? Will it work in the UK? Do I need a compressor with it? I read that it may already come with an adaptor. Thanks!

  • June 15, 2012

    by Annie

    Thanks Marta, very helpful

  • June 15, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Anniekim, the instructions are meant for guidance. You can find what works for you. Personally, I repeat the movements four times on each side. For LED, again it depends your time and patience. Don't use it for more than 30 mins per session. 10-15 mins in each color should be ample though to see results. Remember the colors have different functions (blue - acne, green - hyperpigmentation and red - wrinkles) - so unless you have acne, dark spots and wrinkles, you are not likely to use all three in one session.

  • June 15, 2012

    by anniekim

    Oh, sorry another question. In LED mode the recommended session time is 10-15 minutes. Is this10-15 minutes in total for all three lights or 10-15 minutes for each light?

    Many thanks

  • June 15, 2012

    by anniekim

    Hi, i've just received my ultrrenew and tried my first session of the ultrasound mode this morning.

    In the instruction booklet it gives six diagrams to show where to place and move the ultrarenew on one side of the face and says to allow four minutes for each side of the face. I am unclear as to whether I should do one of each of the six diagrams in four minutes, so devoting approx 40 seconds to each section, which would be very slow, or whether I can repeat each six movements so the total time spent on one side of the face is 4 minutes.

    Many thanks for your time and help

  • June 12, 2012

    by Marta

    Yeay Laura! I am so pleased. I have a Baby Quasar, it was the first such device that I ever bought about 3 years ago. It got superceded by the Sirius Aurora and now by Ultra Renew. I tried using it again recently and was not impressed (perhaps my model is now simply old).

    Nylongirl, ultrasonic is more for firming and lifting and the LED (red) for wrinkles. The best way to think about it is that they are complimentary.

  • June 12, 2012

    by Laura

    I also want to add that I have a Baby Quasar that I've used off and on for years now and the results have never been this quick and dramatic with the red LED alone. I basically used the ultrasonic and then 6 minutes of green LED followed by 6 minutes of the red LED. I used the 100% pure green tea tonic as a conductor + antioxidant.

  • June 12, 2012

    by Laura

    I LOVE my ultra renew. I have only used the LED 3 times and the ultrasound 2 times and I feel like my skin looks more refreshed and tighter. Oddly enough I woke up this morning and could swear that my cheekbones are "popping" out more! I have't seen my cheekbones since before I was pregnant (and 10 lbs lighter)! I don't know if it's due to the tightening effect but I'm SOLD. I'm so happy that my post-baby skin is looking better! So how often can I use this thing again? =)

  • June 12, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Phyllis, Thermage is radio frequency and somewhat of an old technology that relies on heating to over 60 degrees. The newer ones such as Pelleve or Apollo Tripollar go to just over 40 degrees are less painful and more effective. Ultrasound for at home use does not get hot to anywhere near this extent and does not melt or degrade fat. I have been told that, with the Apollo for example, there are different settings for specifically targeting fat (eg for treating cellulite) and that the settings used for stimulating collagen do not degrade fat cells. Anyway, I think if you have found salon microcurrent and LED to have little effect then you could be disappointed by the at home devices, which are obviously less powerful and require diligent use three or four times a week.

  • June 11, 2012

    by Phyllis

    I am 73 and wonder if the Ultra Renew is powerful enough to help sagging on my lower face and neck.. I have had numerous (about 28) microcurrent sessions with LED and see only a very subtle difference.
    What is the strength of the LED and of the ultrasound.
    Also, recent news shows that radiofrequency from Thermage and others may tighten the facial skin and produce more collagen but at the expense of fat degradation. Is there a similar concern with Ultrasound since it also heats up the are that joins the fat and connective tissue. I have fat "loss" on my face and would be devastated if the Ultra Renew caused more.
    Thank you,
    Phyllis

  • June 11, 2012

    by Hi Emily

    I think I would not use ultrasonic on under eye pouches. The device has to be moved firmly over the skin and I think the under area might be too delicate and feel 'dragged'

  • June 11, 2012

    by Emily

    Excellent video, Marta! I really appreciate your clear guidance since I'm just now experimenting with the Ultra Renew. And what a beautiful smile on your face!
    I like the tip from last week's post on using one antioxidant serum for both modes -- will try that. I like your focus on using ultrasonic mode for the jawline. But here's a question: would you use it on undereye pouches or stick to LED?
    Thanks for a great video.

Have You Tried Ultra Renew Ultrasonic LED by Truth in Aging ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Ultra Renew Ultrasonic LED by Truth in Aging below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Ultra Renew Ultrasonic LED by Truth in Aging

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...