Free shipping on all orders over $39

W3ll People Universalist Multi-Use Colorstick Review

W3ll People Universalist Multi-Use Colorstick
June 20, 2013 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 32 Comments
TRU Rating
A multitasking makeup product for all skin types

Pros

Organic ingredients; long-lasting color

Cons

Waxy texture when first applied

by Shannon

As someone who is a full-time student while working full time, I often do not have a lot of time to do my makeup. Multi-use products are a crucial component of my cosmetic bag, and the W3ll People Universalist Matte Multi-Use Colorstick ($33) has become my new essential.

The color that I tested was Universalist 8, a dusty rose. It looks similar to the NARS The Multiple (Orgasm), $39, in the packaging, but after swatching on my hand, there is a noticeable difference. (See pictures below.) The Universalist goes on smoothly, with an even wash of rosy pink, while Orgasm is sheer, and more golden. Application of the Universalist is a bit challenging. Due to the waxy nature of the stick, W3ll People recommends applying with a brush or fingers. However, this can lead to uneven application. I recommend using your fingers, and using a very light application. The color is very easy to build, from a sheer flush of rose, to a deep rose.

Nars and W3ll People multi sticks Nars and W3ll People side by side 

Photo: [top left] W3LL People Universalist (top) vs. NARS Orgasm; [top right] NARS Orgasm (left) vs W3LL People 

The Universalist is a product that stays on all day. I wore it on my eyes, lips, and cheeks, and I was not disappointed. When I wore it on my eyes, it stayed on from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.! The color was a lovely light rose, and while it goes on waxy, it finishes as a powder. When I wore it on my cheeks, it was very easy to apply evenly. The color stayed on my cheeks during an eight-hour shift at work, and did not fade. When I wore it on my lips, it was not drying. My lips felt soft and smooth, and the color needed minimal reapplication.

What surprised me was the large amount of natural ingredients in Universalist. Not only is the Universalist Multi-Stick free of parabens, but it is also free of typical cosmetic ingredients, such as dyes, silicone, dimethicone, talc, fragrance, artificial preservatives; along with phthalates, sulfates, petroleum, bismuth, oxychloride, and nanoparticles. When I looked at the ingredients list, I was pleasantly surprised. Instead of beeswax, or water listed as the first ingredient, the first ingredient was grape seed oil, which is a moisturizing agent. The rest of the ingredients include beeswax, olive oil, aloe and natural colorants, such as carmine.

The Universalist Matte Multi-Use Color Stick by W3ll People is a color stick that I highly recommend. It comes in four different shades, so it is easy to find your perfect shade!

  • March 28, 2014

    by Robin Autry

    I use the W3LL People Universalist Multi-Use in moonglow on days when I'm looking a little tired or just want a hint of color. Over the years I've been trying to simplify my makeup routine and this mult-use stick is perfect. I apply moonglow directly from the stick onto my checks, below the brow bone, forehead and chin then blend with fingers. You can use anywhere that you want that dewy look. It's fast and convenient. I plan on purchasing in other colors in the future.

  • July 9, 2013

    by Theresa

    I've been a loyal fan of Jane Iredale as I've never had anything react poorly, yet I do find it to be extremely costly(mainly because I want to try everything).
    I would love to try W3LL PEOPLE as It being a natural product, tops my list.
    I feel I would love to try a more moisturizing product, with less steps to get
    my face together instead of my usual lengthly morning ritual of one product on top of another and another etc.

  • July 5, 2013

    by Kellie

    I am a 53 year young, full time working Mom and am looking to simplify my current make-up routine. I use Bare Minerals and am finding, to achieve a flawless look, it takes considerable time layering foundation, face tint, blush and to top it off, mineral veil... Would love to try W3ll People minimalist products.

  • July 5, 2013

    by Karen

    I have used a few natural cosmetics lines, including Burt's Bee's, Physician's Formula-Organic Wear and Illuminaire Cosmetics. Of the three, Illuminaire (mineral-based liquid, SPF20) was the most effective, long lasting, and beneficial. There is difficulty with spreading the products evenly as they have a tendency to be thick going on, but the coverage, sunscreen factor and color choices make the foundations and other make up items desirable and natural alternatives.

    As most women, I have limited time for make up application, and the idea of a minimalist makeup set would be a wonderful time saver. I would love to try this W3LL PEOPLE set for the natural ingredients factor as well, as I see that grape seed oil is the first ingredient as are a number of other oils and essential oils. I use some of these same oils in separate application routines, so it would be a lovely convenience to have these same ingredients all rolled into one.

  • July 5, 2013

    by Jan

    I've used Neutrogena and don't like what it does to my skin. My biggest need is make-up that lasts and looks natural and flattering.

  • July 5, 2013

    by josephine

    I love to try beauty products like W3LL PEOPLE to see if it will work on my skin and I believe it is a good skin product. I do not have a favorite product but I just want skin products that can show positive and visible results on my skin.

  • July 5, 2013

    by shirley

    I don't have a favorite natural skin care product.. I would love to try yours...

  • July 5, 2013

    by Karen

    I've been using Bare Minerals for quite a long time. I've tried other mineral makeup brands ad have always come back to Bare Minerals. I would love to try W3LL PEOPLE and put them to the test.

  • July 4, 2013

    by Kathie

    I don't have a favorite natural make up and would love to try yours!

  • July 4, 2013

    by Kathie

    I don't have a natural make up brand but would love to try this!

  • July 4, 2013

    by Nadia

    I'm 51 years old and can not afford the natural lines of make-up so, I usually wear covergirl or revelon when on sale. Even with these products I find they fade towards the end of the day and I look washed out. I would be curious to see how well this product works. From what I've read it sounds like every woman's dream to have makeup that looks good and last all day.
    Thank you and Happy 4th everyone! :)

  • July 3, 2013

    by Joanne lunsford

    I use Jane Iredale, and I love it! But sometime it takes a long time to put everything on. I would love a simple healthy skin care regime.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Kai W.

    Mine is Boots No. 7. This brand deliver what it promises.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Tiffany Gaal

    I don't have a favorite natural makeup brand - yet! But I would love to try W3ll people and maybe it will become my fav :)

  • July 3, 2013

    by MARIA

    I´ve used 100% Pure mineral foundation and Bare Minerals; but I would love to try W3LL PEOPLE.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Sherry Proch

    I have tried Bare Minerals and would love to branch out into a different and Truth in Aging approved set :) thank you for the opportunity!

  • July 3, 2013

    by Lisa Kerr

    I like NAKED by Urban Decay. Thank you for the chance to win:)

  • July 3, 2013

    by Tabatha

    I like very natural looks when wearing makeup. Would love to win Minimalist makeup , it looks to be the perfect natural look that I have been searching for for years. ; ) Pick me Please : )

  • July 3, 2013

    by mell

    Bare Minerals

  • July 3, 2013

    by kelly

    my current favorite minimalist makeup is the" benefit" brand--- easy to use & I control the depth of color for the natural effect I like.

  • July 3, 2013

    by kelly

    my current favorite minimalist makeup is the" benefit" brand--- easy to use & I control the depth of color for the natural effect I like.

  • July 3, 2013

    by kelly

    my current favorite minimalist makeup is the" benefit" brand--- easy to use & I control the depth of color for the natural effect I like.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Candice

    For natural makeup I wear Juice Beauty concealer, powder, blush and some of their eyeshadows. I'm also interested in trying out Josie Maran's products, although the prices are a bit steep.
    Quality natural makeup is hard to find. The ingredients in the Universalist Colorstick are top notch and the color looks very flattering for cheeks and lips. It's long lasting and doesn't dry out lips, which is exactly what I need. It would be nice to have a more natural look for summer, with quality ingredients that won't irritate my skin. I would love to give the W3LL People makeup set a try.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Sophie

    I use a lot of Juice Beauty makeup products but even some of their products have "nasties" I would rather avoid. I'm still on the lookout for a great, natural CC cream.

  • July 3, 2013

    by min

    I'm only just exploring mineral makeup (because of newly discovered allergies) so don't have a fave brand (yet).

  • July 3, 2013

    by Christine

    I use Bare Minerals, and really like the base, mineral veil, and blushes. I'm not as fond of their eye shadows and lip products. I've been looking for other products to try at a reasonable price, and would love to try these.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Karlyn

    I have been using some of Jane Iredale's products (BB cream, eye primer, blush) and would love to branch out to some other organic brands. My skin always looks so much better and healthier when I just go with the bare minimum necessary.

  • July 3, 2013

    by Dorothy Campbell

    Clinique is what I use currently!

  • July 3, 2013

    by Susan Corkum

    I would really love to try this...

  • July 3, 2013

    by Linda

    Organic Wear from Physician's Formula

  • July 3, 2013

    by Sandy

    The closest I get to 'natural' make-up is Yves Rocher. I need hypoallergenic make-up because I get rashes on my eyelids and my lips will peel. I've been interested in natural make-up, but I haven't yet been able to afford a brand or product that is truly natural. I'd love to try this out, see how I like it, and if I could fit it into my budget. The ingredients look great.

  • July 2, 2013

    by W3LL PEOPLE

    We're blushing at this lovely review - and it's not just the Universalist ColorStick! You're sure to luv the 8 different luscious colors - not to mention the 60% organic formula packed with organic aloe! Keep in mind Universalist 1-4 are luminous and 5-8 are creamy satin. TIP: for lips try layering our delish Paganist Supernatural Lipgloss!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...