Free shipping on all orders over $39

Reviewed and Recommended: Watts Power White Tooth Whitener Kit

March 23, 2009 Reviewed by admin 22 Comments
I have this gorgeous girlfriend called "T". She is truly beautiful inside and out, but if I had to single out one specific thing that makes her so attractive, it would be her 1000-watt smile.  Her beautiful white teeth positively glow, and when she flashes that million-dollar smile, EVERYONE, and I mean EVERYONE, smiles back.  You just can't help yourself.... she smiles, you smile back....and happiness endorphins fill the air.

Because T''s smile is not a byproduct of veneers, it is not perfectly straight or even, but it is as white as snow, and it makes T look 20 years younger than her actual age. Having a bright white smile is one of the least expensive, easiest ways to look great...for men and woman of any age... and is especially important as the years add up. My two vices.... a huge morning cup of coffee and evening glass of merlot ...are major tooth yellowing culprits, but even ice tea, cola and berries will stain your teeth. And of course, everyone knows that nothing makes a smile dingier faster than smoking.

My smile may not be as radiant as my friend T's but I do try to keep it white. When I was in my mid thirties, my dentist politely suggested that I invest in custom tooth guards that allowed me to apply dental-strength bleach to my teeth every night, all night, for two weeks and while the results were wonderful and long lasting, it was also quite expensive.  About 10 years later I had a less expensive but equally effective "one-hour blue light"  (Zoom) treatment done at a different dental office and again the results were great.  In recent years I have tried the Crest dental strips, which were quite affordable, but somewhat clunky to use, and the results were not as impressive.  Last month I tried something new... the Watts Power White Tooth Whitener kit, and I must say the results are fantastic.

I applied the product according to the very clear instructions which come with the kit, but overly simplified, here is what you can expect. The Watts kit contains an upper and lower "tooth guard" which you customize to fit your own specific tooth size and spacing by emersing them in hot water and trimming them to match your gum line. The bleaching formula contains a very powerful 36% Carbamide Peroxide and comes in a plastic syringe which makes application to the tooth guards quite convenient.  Note: You want to spend enough time fitting and trimming the tooth guards so that the bleach stays on your teeth and avoids long term contact with the sensitive gum area, but that is easily done. The bleach is applied via the tooth guards and left on for 15-30 minutes each day for a week. After one week, apply the Remineralizing Gel (calcium, fluoride and phosphate) which re-balances enamel, reduces bleaching-related sensitivity and to a degree protects against future staining. You may then begin another round of treatment the following day if you desire, but my teeth were beautifully white after one week. By the way, the bleach will last for years if stored in the refrigerator, and the syringe contains enough to do weeks and weeks (or years) of applications.

The verdict?  The Watts Power White Tooth Whitener was much more convenient and easily as effective as going to the dentist for a whitening treatment, at a mere fraction of the price. After just one week of usage I have a beautiful white smile which makes me feel better about myself, makes me want to smile at everyone I see, and really does make me look younger. It was easy, it was fast, it didn't make my teeth sensitive or make my gum line sore, and I have enough of both products left for at least another year of white teeth!

If that isn't something to smile about, I don't know what is!

As always, If you have tried this product and have something new to add, please add a comment to this post!
  • August 28, 2010

    by Debbie Lambert

    Kandee Johnson does a youtube video where she expains how to take a 99 cent mouthguard from walmart, cut off the helmet piece and mold that to your teeth for whitening trays.

  • May 31, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Esther - If you already have custom trays from your dentist, I recommend buying Day White ACP 9.5% Hydrogen Peroxide syringes on the Internet. The 9.5 HP is approx equal to the strength of 36% Carbomer Peroxide and the Day White ACP contains ingredients to just about cancel out any sensitivity. Follow the directions for number of applications over a 2-week period, but you'll see a difference after 2 or 3 days.

    BTW, I think custom trays are a very good investment as they last for years if you take care of them.

  • May 31, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Esther, at the end of her article Kate says: "After just one week of usage I have a beautiful white smile which makes me feel better about myself".

  • May 31, 2010

    by esther

    So after all of the issues with the trays, did you find that the whitening product itself worked well? I have trays that were made by the dentist and am looking for a new whitening gel. Were your teeth sensitive after use? How long after using until you noticed a change in your teeth? Thanks so much for any feedback!

  • November 16, 2009

    by marta

    A really tiny amount Ashley. In fact, I rub the gel on to my teeth rather than squirt into the tray for more control.

  • November 16, 2009

    by Ashley

    Hi,
    I have the gel and trays, but I've lost the instructions. How much gel do I put into the tray for each use?

  • November 9, 2009

    by angels_fury55

    hi teri.

    what if i dont have the tray? I have the whitening gel and the reminilization gel... will i still be able to apply it without the tray?

    please let me know.

    thanks in advance.

  • August 31, 2009

    by marta

    Terri, thank goodness. I can't wait to try it. Thanks for reaching out.

  • August 31, 2009

    by Terri Watts

    Hello. This is Terri Watts, President of www.WattsBeauty.com and creator of the entire Watts Power Teeth Whitening, Skin Care and Supplement lines. We do offer new self forming trays that allow you to swallow during whitening to minimize and/or eliminate the drooling mess. My new tray does not need to be boiled or formed making it even more user friendly. The warmth of your mouth helps it to form on to your teeth line. Marta, send me your address and I will send you one of my new self forming trays for free. Kind Regards, Terri Watts - Send email to info@WattsBeauty.com

  • June 16, 2009

    by marta

    I haven't found trays that work with Watts and I end up swallowing it and spitting it out before it has had chance to do anything. Copley <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/06/targeting-tooth-stains-with-target-whitening-wraps.html" rel="nofollow">recommends Target's whitening strips.</a>

  • June 14, 2009

    by Michelle

    So did the alternative method work out for you Marta? Did the Watts power white gel work to whiten your teeth as much as they claim? I'm about to turn back to Crest white strips. =P

  • May 2, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    I hope the Aquafresh trays work for you. I already have personalized trays from before provided by my dentist. We can use that with the PowerWatts gel, correct? Please let us know if the Watts gel works that way for you. =D The gel my dentist gave me to try for two weeks worked, but it didn't seem to brighten the shades as well, or as quickly as the Crest Whitening strips I've used before.

  • April 27, 2009

    by marta

    Karen,

    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I went on a parallel path and bought some gel trays by Aquafresh. They kind of worked providing I used only a tiny amount of gel. Strips next... I'm going to grit my teeth and nail this thing.

  • April 26, 2009

    by Karen

    I read on a different site of a woman who purchased generic whitening strips at Walmart and used those to apply the Watts gel. It might be worth a shot.

  • April 21, 2009

    by marta

    I had another go and one guard shriveled in the hot water. I tried to bend it into shape but it still didn't fit. The other one just refused to budge. I've dumped them and am trying to think of an alternative that I can use with the gel.

  • April 16, 2009

    by Kate

    Hi Marta,

    I understand...my first attempt at shaping wasn't right either. My mouth is smaller or at least more narrow than most adults, so I did have to take a second try at heating and bending the entire mouthguard to get the right fit, and leaving it in the hot water for a longer period of time did the trick for me. It also took two trieds on trimming to make sure no substance got onto my gums. Let me know if this helps or if it just isn't going to work for you.

  • April 8, 2009

    by marta

    I had a terrible time with this. I just couldn't get a fit. The dental equivalent a little kid in mommie's high heels. After five minutes of non-stop drooling of gel, I gave up. And yes I did trim and boil. Any tips?

  • April 1, 2009

    by marta

    Not yet. I'll try it this weekend and let you know.

  • April 1, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    have you had a chance to test this product yet? Does it really work and shows results in a few days like the reviews say? I thought the Crest White strips worked well for me, but this product seems to offer more product for about the same price.

  • March 24, 2009

    by marta

    I just bought two sets (arrived today). My husband will be trying it out if I have to tie him down first.

  • March 24, 2009

    by Kate

    Hi Chris,

    You crack me up! That being said, I honestly think that aside from sun protection, having white teeth is the single best thing you can do for yourself to look great at any age. Let me know how it works for you!

  • March 24, 2009

    by Chris

    Thanks for the review and for convincing me to place yet another order for yet another beauty product that I probably don't need but will happily spend money on anyways!!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...