Free shipping on all orders over $39

What Is It: Aldenine

September 26, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 7 Comments
When I was putting together the latest Five Best antiaging ingredients, it struck me that Adenine hasn't been on my radar for a while. I first came across it in Osmotics' products, but it has gradually become a little more commonplace. Here at Truth In Aging, we haven't written much more than a couple of sentences on Aldenine here and there, so I wanted to know if I should be giving it more credit.

Aldenine is the name given to combining tripeptide-1, soy and wheat proteins and xanthan gum. A tripeptide is synthetic peptide containing three amino acids.

Lipotec, a Spanish company, developed Aldenine based on research from the University of Milan. Aldenine is a radical scavenger and it specifically goes after the reactive carbonyl species. It acts, therefore, as a cellular detoxifier and it is supposed to be more powerful than carnosine. As well as boosting collagen III production, it protects cells from sunlight.

When you were four years old 90% of your collagen was collagen III. At age 50 90% of your collagen has become collagen I. Naturally, we'd all rather have collagen III and Aldenine is supposed to boost production of it by 300% in seven days.

It does this by going after a particular type of free radical called reactive carbonyl species (RCS). They have been studied a lot in relation to diabetes, but only recently have come to be associated with skin deterioration. Skin collagen is a favored target of the reactive carbonyl. They are regarded as especially nasty because cells can’t get rid of them by themselves.

Aldenine also protects collagen by neutralizing something called 4-HNE, which is in our tissues, but in higher quantities during oxidative stress due to the increase in the lipid peroxidation. Normally the keratinocytes in our bodies can detoxify HNE, but not when they have been exposed to UVB.

By neutralizing 4-HNE and capturing RCS, Aldenine acts as a cellular detoxifyer. I have read that is more active than carnosine.

The problem with all this is that all the research has been conducted by Lipotec, the company that also markets Lipochroman-6. That doesn't negate it, but it would be nice to see some independent data. Still, this Aldenine is definitely worth having on our radar.

Products with Aldenine: Osmotics Anti-Radical Age Defense ($125), Zelens Skin Science Serum, Dermaxime Rejuvenating Day Cream, Skin Doctors Antarctilyne Plump, Hydropeptide Power Lift.
  • October 17, 2014

    by tammy

    I just turned 47 oct. 15 2014 and I'm 6 sorry I've tried everything and I don't believe that it will work but ya know what I would like to try

  • October 13, 2010

    by Hollis

    Well, it's me again! I would love to try tis product and think I can do a god job for you because...

    1) In my previous review, I faithfully used the product exactly as instructed unti finished.
    2) I wrote what I hope was a credible and detailed review, and I updated and modified it after new information became available.
    3) I fit the target Baby Boomer demographic, but my skin is oily rather than wrinkled. Therefore, I could benefit from a peptide-type product that boosts collagen and combats oxidative stress, rather than an emollient to combat dryness. Ironically, I show signs of sun damage because sun exposure was the prevailing recommended treatment for acne when I was a kid!

    In brief, I am a disciplined, honest, and (fairly) discerning when it comes to anti-aging beauty products, and I would very much like to step u to the plate if you still need a reviewer. Thank you!

  • October 5, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    I would love to try this product and give it a very thorough and honest evaluation. Science and its interest and perpetuating youth is especially my forte since I am a Baby Boomer and would benefit from its positive findings. Since before the days of Ponce De Leon we have been hoping to discover the "fountain of youth" and turn back the cruel ravishes of times clock! Hopefully this product holds the secrets we are searching for. Please include me and I will also have my husband use it. He is a scientist and does not believe anything can reverse times maw!

  • October 4, 2010

    by mare

    i am a 49 year old mother of 4 who has worked very hard at staying in the best shape possible. though i have cheated throughout the years by sunbathing because i live in buffalo NY the damage has been quite limited. however this last year i have finally noticed a few sun spots around cheekbones, and small lines and crepeness around eyes.
    i am an an RN an certainly know what stress, sun, diet, and day to day living can do to a complexion. i truly wonder if there is any product that can really replace the collagen that is lost in youth. Aldenine is intriguing ingredient and i would love to try it and see the results for myself.

  • October 1, 2010

    by Susan

    I have found thsi website to be a great source of information about aging skin. I learned long ago through expensive trial and error that department store skin care is pretty ineffective.

    I either make my own, buy from dermatologists/plastic surgeons or small boutique brands with a significant amount of proven active ingredients.

    I got a sample of eye cream from you that has to be the best I have ever used and would love a sample of an Osmotics firming product as I have never found any firmers that did much.

  • October 1, 2010

    by Wonda

    I hope to be starting school in the next few weeks. Thanks to what I have learned here at TIA, I have decided to study esthetics! I am so excited about this opportunity and would LOVE to start class with 'fresh face.'

  • September 30, 2010

    by pat strusinski

    Thanks for fixing the comment link.

    I would to "road-test" this product for you. I have used Osmotics products in the past and would love to see how this one measures up!

    Pat

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...