Free shipping on all orders over $39

What's working for me right now

Is a Solution for:
Sagging Skin
Reviewed by Marta May 23, 2012 20 Comments

A couple of you were kind enough to remark on my video interview with Darrell Owens of Your Best Face that I was looking more rested. “Whatever you’re doing” said Jan, "keep doing it!” So what am I doing? Well, the one thing that I have been doing is coming to terms with menopause. This is a big bear that I haven’t wrestled to the ground yet, but I am learning that it can’t be left growling in the corner (denial, my initial strategy, proved an abysmal failure).

The thing that I could no longer deny was that menopause was making me look drained. Drained of vitality, color, moisture, firmness…. Junko described, in her “what is working for me now” round up, the effect as a “flatness” and I could relate to that. I was discovering that in the menopause zone “looking more rested", as opposed to deflated, requires a whole lot more work. The good news is that it may pay off - for the first time in a few months, I feel like I might be back in the driving seat. The regimen that is now working for me, includes a lot more heavy hitters, a night as well as morning regimen and my own secret weapon.

The secret weapon has, I believe, had the most overall impact: the combination of ultrasonic and LED. I’ve been a big believer in LED for several years now, but ultrasonic was something I was a little skeptical about. I started trying it at home when I was researching new LED devices for use at home and came across a few that were manufactured with an ultrasonic mode as well. I was amazed by the results – visible enough to be an impressive instant pick-me-up and cumulative over time. What started out as product testing – I wanted to make sure this was a reliable device that was worth importing making available for the Truth In Aging community – became a bit of an addiction. Any time I get an evening with 15 minutes to spare, I switch on my Ultra Renew ($89 in the TIA shop) and work on plumping and firming my skin. I do believe that keeping these sessions as much as four times a week are paying back and will continue to do so.

With the Ultra Renew out of the way, I am sticking with my night time regimen of the new Your Best Face Control ($160 in the TIA shop) which I think is contributing to improved elasticity. Sometimes I actually use it with the Ultra Renew, since ultrasound is supposed to helps serums penetrate and the antioxidants in Control are useful with the LED mode. I augment Control with Skin Nutrition’s Night Cream ($75 in the TIA shop), which I use on my crow’s feet.  Several months of this combination – which I am sure I would have found too rich a year or so ago – seems to be giving my parched menopausal skin the hydration it needs, while improving elasticity/texture.

Some evenings, I use Skin Nutrition’s Night Cream on my lip area. Alternate evenings, I use Osmosis Correct ($44), which has a deeper exfoliating effect (a new discovery that I think is here to stay). For some reason, I feel as if I should let them do their thing separately rather than layer them – hence the every other evening routine. In any case, my quirky approach is having an effect.

I had promised the nice people at AQ that I would use their fantastic serum (AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum) at night when, they insisted, it would be even more effective. I did give it a go, but ultimately went to back to using it in the mornings because I find YBF Control better suited to use with/after Ultra Renew. Anyway, whatever the time of day, I think AQ really is one of the best things I have found so far. I use it all over the face and pay particular attention to crow’s feet and around the mouth and marionette line area.

After all of this, my poor forehead has been neglected as it is the guinea pig of whatever else I am testing. Today I decided it needed some TLC and went straight back to Hydropeptide’s Hydrostem +6. For some reason, regular use smoothes out my forehead lines like nothing else.

As far as eye creams go, I am testing AQ’s eye serum and the early results are great, and I am continuing with Stemulation's neck and hand serum even though I have written my review.

A few months ago, I had the depressing feeling that menopause was getting the better of me. Now I’m feeling a little more confident that I can wrestle the bear. Now, what about those mood swings…..

  • July 29, 2014

    by Cindy

    Marta, do you use both Brads peptide serum and nighttime sublime gel?

  • May 26, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Collette, what about Osmosis Replenish Antioxidant Repair Serum ($44 <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/osmosis-replenish-antioxidant-repair-serum-30-ml-1-oz" rel="nofollow">in the TIA shop</a>),

  • May 26, 2012

    by colette

    Looking to purchase the Ultra Renew this weekend, but would like to know what antioxidant serum someone would recommend to use with it. The YBF that Marta uses isn't in my price range, at this point in time, so I was considering a Vitamin C serum. Anyone have suggestions? Thanks!

  • May 25, 2012

    by Emily

    Thanks for the tip, Dennis! Appreciate it.

  • May 25, 2012

    by Dennis

    Emily, they sell medical ultrasound gel on Amazon. That's what I plan on using.

  • May 25, 2012

    by Kathy

    I would love to try Osmosis. I'm a big fan of mineral makeup and have been shopping for my next favorite. The timing for a test would be perfect

  • May 24, 2012

    by Emily

    Thanks for a very interesting round-up, Marta! On the subject of gels for the ultrasonic mode of the Ultra Renew -- I had the same question. I suspect that the gel they use in medical offices with ultrasound would work best! I took TIA's advice and bought a health-food-store aloe gel (Jason's) for use with mine, but it tends to absorb, rather than provide that sort of slip layer. Any other suggestions welcome!

  • May 24, 2012

    by Marta

    Thank you Renata! I always default to YBF Correct for a firming eye cream. Currently I'm testing the AQ eye cream and will have a review of that second week of June.

  • May 24, 2012

    by Renata

    Hi Martha,

    What's the best eyecream for firming the eyelids (upper and lower) in your opinion?
    I must say you look amazing, seriously!

    Thank you,
    Renata

  • May 24, 2012

    by Marta

    Thank you Sandy!

    Do let us know how you get on with your Ultra Renew. I'd love to hear from everyone using it about what works best with ultrasonic. It needs something water based for conductivity, but I am finding that a gel gives the best slip making it more comfortable. I haven't quite figured this out yet. But if we could all pitch in, then I can try to get something formulated for us.

    Steffie, I'm sorry you're bummed. You could always give your Sirius to a deserving friend or sell it on eBay and trade up to the Ultra Renew.

  • May 24, 2012

    by Steffie

    really bummed that I bought the Sirius in February when I could have had the new TIA one for so much less $$$ :<(

  • May 23, 2012

    by Sandy B

    Yes, Marta, your hair color is terrific -- makes you look even younger. But it's your smile and the joy in your face that really makes you sparkle. I'm going to try out my ultrasonic tonight; I want to take before photos, so I can see the progress -- I'm very excited!

  • May 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kate, thank you for saying so. A lovely Australian guy, Greg Rugerri, is my hairdresser here in NY and is entirely responsible for the color (and the length as he pushed me to take it longer)

  • May 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Junko, don't forget that in the old videos I didn't have makeup and we did many of them at the old office with horrid lighting. We now do them at home with loads of natural light and Kristen does my makeup first. I have to say that I loath having makeup done and still can't get used to the effect (I take it off as soon as we finish shooting), but it does work for the camera. Having said that, my skin is looking good (even Kristen says so!). Thanks so much for the tip for St JW and 5HTP - Pascal, my very long suffering husband, will be delighted if they work for me too.

  • May 23, 2012

    by Kate

    Marta,

    I also think your hair is adding to the whole effect. May I ask what colours you use to get that natural ash blonde tone - it is so flattering and natural.

    Kate

  • May 23, 2012

    by Junko

    Thanks for giving us your routine Marta! I had noticed the changes in your face and wondered what was making such notable differences. If you go back and look at some old video and compare, it's quite impressive. Had me wondering if you'd given in to going under the knife! For my moods I've been taking St. Johns Wort & 5 HTP, and I believe they WORK for me. You look FABULOUS Marta!

  • May 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Annie, I do like BioEffect, but I think AQ is working better for me right now.

  • May 23, 2012

    by Annie

    Thanks for sharing what you are using now, it's very interesting, do I take it you have stopped using Bio Effect now? Just a few months ago you seemed very taken with it, now I don't see you mention it. Thanks

  • May 23, 2012

    by Marta

    Dennis, I have a rule to NEVER look at my reflection in computer screens, shop or car windows. They just deeply etch all defects. Jane Fonda said that she got her face lift after seeing herself in a shop window. Warning enough for me!

  • May 23, 2012

    by Dennis

    I don't know what I am currently going through, but the last few months have been a BATTLE against aging for me. My skin is always dry, My hands are looking so old. I swear I am going through andropause. As I type this from an airport terminal I keep catching my reflection the black strip of plastic above my laptop screen and my eyes looks very tired. My PaloVia seems to be losing effectiveness. I'd sell a kidney to pay for blepharoplasty. I can't wait to order my ultra renew.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...