Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Yarok Serum 1 - reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dry or Brittle Hair
July 13, 2010 Reviewed by admin 10 Comments
You might know by now my obsession with oils and similar potions for hair. I am on the never ending search for the next best hair dressing and I'm a complete sucker for a good hair oil (I've been totally raised by my Indian mother to do regular hot oil treatments to keep my hair shiny and healthy). So, whenever my hair is feeling a little more dry than usual, a good oil massage is usually what I turn to. Since my last experimentation with Redken's shampoo and conditioner didn't go as planned, I needed some emergency TLC to restore vibrancy to my hair. Happy to report I totally found it in Yarok's Serum 1 ($28).

It contains anti-inflammatory and skin soother roman chamomile and antiseptic/anti-dandruff clary sage and atlas cedar (also reported to have healing effects to the skin, or in this case, the scalp). The addition of petitgrain oil actually counteracts oil; sesame seed oil is a potent antioxidant with moisturizing vitamin E. Coconut oil is notoriously beneficial for your hair -- it's a saturated oil that smooths strands and is also said to have anti-fungal properties. The molecular structure of coconut oil is super conducive to penetrating and healing the hair shaft. Along with olive oil, it happens to be one of my favorite hair oils growing up! Finally, super vitamin- and mineral-rich wheat germ oil totally rounds it all out.

So here's the funny thing: the serum I used from Yarok's line (they have seven) is actually prescribed for blondes. It's called the "Illume Your Blonde" serum, in fact. I'm a total brunette.

I'm not in denial -- to be fair, I happened to get this specific product in a gift bag a long time ago, so I didn't pick it out exactly. But here's where you can actually use the product off-label and it's OK. The reason this one is prescribed for blondes is that people with lighter hair (naturally or processed) generally have a more delicate scalp, so the formula is accordingly more gentle. For a brunette to try something more gentle is OK -- might not work as well the other way around.

I massage a little of this serum on my scalp, and coat my hair lightly to the roots in hopes that it would reverse my hair's dry spell. It did that and so much more. My hair was shiny, feeling more bouncy and healthy. It did the trick in just one use and I've been using it weekly ever since. For $28, it's such a great buy for the times your hair is going through a rough patch. Though I do have my eye on their Serum 2 for "Real Brunettes" for when I run out of this one. I'm just saying.

Ingredients:
Roman chamomile, clary sage, atlas cedar, petitgrain, sesame, coconut and wheat germ oils.

UPDATE (2/2/2012): Yarok discovered that Serum 1 worked best as a finishing product that adds shine and tames frizz, rather than a treatment serum. It has been re-released as the Feed Your Shine Hair Serum.

Ingredients in Feed Your Shine Hair Serum:

Pure sesame, coconut, wheat germ, Roman chamomile, clary sage, atlas cedar, petitgrain oils
  • August 15, 2010

    by Oksana

    hi,
    I have tried Yarok serum #2 with rosemary. I applied it for an hour, just as recommended by the company. On the first attempt, I used a beer shampoo bar and nettles-infused apple cider vinegar rinse (found via Kim's recommendations in the April review of her hair routine) - my hair was still pretty oily. Then I washed my hair with Yarok's shampoo and followed up with Yarok's conditioner - the results were great.
    I am growing out blond highlights, so the ends of my hair are still pretty different in texture form the roots. At first, the ends were "dryish", but given a few hours - my hair was just all over bouncy and shiny.
    I will try next time mixing in some emu oil with the serum #2; it sounds like a great idea.
    I used beer shampoo bar (the ingredients, by the way, are fantastic)on my 15-yr.old daughter's long, blond hair, followed with the same rinse - beautiful! She had no trouble combing her hair through; and the brightness, the shine!

  • July 29, 2010

    by Junko

    Yarok's sounds lovely but with all of my hair at $28 per ounce for the serum's, I'm thinking about mixing up a DIY. Martal, please do let us know how the shampoo and conditioner works for you.

  • July 29, 2010

    by Marta

    I've just ordered the one for blondes and I am going to try the shampoo and conditioner as well

  • July 16, 2010

    by Shyema

    Let me know how it works out! It's done some heavy duty repairing for me, and a little goes a long way..

  • July 16, 2010

    by Courtney

    I love Yarok's hair serums! I would recommend Serum 7: Spark your youth. If you are very active and in the sun a lot, this serum helps restore your hairs' natural beauty! Being a swimmer, it also helps against the tough chlorine and chemicals of the pool.

  • July 14, 2010

    by Jaysie

    Oh, geez, except for the coconut, this contains oils I haven't ever tried on my hair. And I'm blonde so I feel my credit card gettig warm.

  • July 14, 2010

    by Lisa

    Shyema - Great info! I think I am going to have to try this...Thank you!

  • July 13, 2010

    by Shyema

    OMG I totally forgot to mention this, thanks Julie! So they say to leave it on for an hour, but that's tops. Most oils say the longer you leave it on, the better, but Yarok says after 60 minutes, it absorbs most of the serum to the max and there's no need. I like to just leave it on while I work/write and then shampoo it out.

    And Junko, I'm really curious about emu oil myself so doesn't sounds like a bad idea at all :)

  • July 13, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    How long did you leave it on- like a masque for 5 minutes or so or overnight? I, too, am tempted =) Great review! ~jk

  • July 13, 2010

    by Junko

    Sounds lovely Shyema! I'd be tempted to mix in some Emu oil with this just before applying :)

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...