Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 5 stars

Buy this product

Your Best Face Balance- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta November 26, 2010 19 Comments

Pros

Anti-inflammatory properties to calm acne

Cons

Claims of "calming fragrance" aren't supported
Does a superb job of mattifying oily skin and soothing reddness

I could have done with Your Best Face Balance ($45 in the shop) this past summer when I was breaking into a sweat trying to control – mostly in vain – my shiny face. But Balance, a brand new product from YBF, wasn’t available then. However, this mattifyer does some other things that my skin really likes, such as closing pores and controlling redness and rosacea.

Balance is a pale blue, soothing and cooling cream with a lovely whiff of lavender. It has been formulated (at a most reasonable price, I must say) to control breakouts, calm irritation and regulate shine – all without drying out the skin at all. I have found that I can use it all over the face, or just where needed and it plays nice with any other potions I happen to be using.

Although YBF bills it as perfect for 20-somethings, my 50-year old skin is finding it extremely useful and the addition of L-carnosine is giving me an antiaging boost. I even found myself recommending it along YBF Prep ($80 in the TIA shop) to a 40-something reader who emailed me for advice for her oily, sensitive skin that had blocked pores and had been subjected to too much retinol.

YBF always tends to be a bit out there (in a good way) and I had to grin when I saw that Balance contains tetradecylthioacetic acid (TTA). This was one of our ingredients to look out for in 2010.  As well as being an antioxidant, it is anti-inflammatory and may hold promise for helping those with acne. It protects cell proteins and metabolism and, it seems, regulating the sebum that is responsible for acne.

In the anti-acne dept, we can also find niacin and vitamin B. Bisabolol, hyaluronate and azulene soothe and hydrate. Dab it on before your morning commute and YBF claims that the soothing lavender and neroli oils will banish rush hour blues. I don’t know about that, but I have taken it with me on my Thanksgiving weekend trip to Nicaragua.

Ingredients:

Reverse osmosis water, nylon-12, olive squalane, L-carnosine, olivem (cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate), ppg5 ceteth-20, niacin, tetradecylthioacetic acid (TTA), c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, vitamin B5, alpha bisabolol, sodium hyaluronate, lavender oil, cedarwood oil, niaouli oil, triethanolamine, paraben du, azulene (guaiazulene)

Buy Me
$ 49.00
  • December 1, 2010

    by Oksana

    I don't understand - what is all the fuss about?
    this is not an evidence-based scientific database, like Cochrane, Uptodate, etc. so sometimes Marta contradicts her own posts (i.e. Korres Abissinian oil mascara), so YBF Correct has done NOTHING for my 38-y/o crow's feet - so what?
    I think, "THANK YOU!" is in order here for Marta and the Co. for giving us choices and information in order to do further research and make our own independent deciisons about "things" we put on our faces.
    Infantilism will not take you far in life! if you don't think, this website is worthy - create your own.
    Regards!

  • November 30, 2010

    by Lori

    I have personally not had great results with ALL of YBF products and their price tag does keep me from trying some that certainly sound tempting. But I can only sing the praises of their customer support! For that, I am thankful!

  • November 30, 2010

    by Junko

    Lisa, Thank You for adding your thoughts to this string. I purchased Balance this weekend with only Marta's thoughts on it. Your thoughts about using Balance reassures me that I've made a good buy!

  • November 30, 2010

    by Lisa

    Well, I might as well way in too. I, too, am a member of the community and have been using Balance for about three weeks now. I echo Marta's review. I like the matte finish it provides my skin as well as the effect it has on reducing my large pores and typical breakout areas. For the record, I am not a fan of every YBF product. Some have worked very well for me and some have not. Frankly, some I can afford and some I can not! I think one thing is clear about the line - it's focus is on providing high quality results driven products. I think that Marta touts all sampled product lines (not just YBF) that provide quality products (ideally without harmful chemicals and preservatives) whose companies provide good customer service as well as solid information on their products' ingredients.

  • November 29, 2010

    by Mark

    I must throw my hat into this ring also, as I echo Junko and Julie K's comments. As a member of the TIA community I know firsthand that we provide unbiased and thorough reviews of products. Many of us have used YBF products and have found them to work very well, however, as has been said before all products will not work the same for everyone for many various reasons, some obvious and others not so obvious. I do not think that Marta has taken Darrell Owens under her wing (or anyone else) as was said, however let it be known that I,too, will sing the praises to the high heavens of anyone that makes a product that produces results in the anti-aging arena. Kudos and thank you to YBF and all other companies out there that strive to produce quality products with cutting edge technology that yield results.

  • November 28, 2010

    by Darrell Owens

    Thank you Ha Ly -- this is much appreciated.
    -Darrell

    Your Best Face Skincare

  • November 28, 2010

    by ha ly

    I've used many of YBF products and sometimes I wonder what the benefits are. It gets great reviews from TIA, and I'm hopeful that it'll work wonders for me too. But what I also take into consideration is that not all products will work well for everyone. With that said, I'm not a big fan of Restore. I've used two full bottles and have not seen great results. I did recommend it to my friend who tried it and loved how well it worked for her. I only recommended based on what TIA said and I believe the ingredients they have in there, even if it doesn't work for me. I used Correct, the sample size, and did not see great results. I didn't see any. However, I'm 23 and thankfully, there are no lines yet, so I wasn't sure what I was looking for it to do. I received samples of Prep too and wasn't a great fan of it. I didn't really see any differences. I'm going to try this again since I received another sample size to give it another try.

    I am hopeful about Balance and Nourish... I just received my shipment. :)

  • November 27, 2010

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Junko and Julie - happy post Thanksgiving,
    I thought you would like to know that each bottle of Balance contains six one hundredths of one drop of lavender.

    -Darrell

  • November 27, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    Truth in Aging is all about providing information. What we do with it is up to each of us individually- even Marta. She tests products endlessly to give honest reviews to her audience. This particular product had lavendar oil included, and she cited this up front. Talk about "rock and hard place." I am deeply grateful to her. End of story. ~jk

  • November 27, 2010

    by Arandjel

    Junko, actually, I couldn't agree with you more. We are definitely on the same page when it comes to personal responsibility. But the problem is, that by portraying herself as some sort of consumer crusader, working in the public's best interest, and establishing herself as an authority, Marta has a tremendous responsibility to her readers, who rely on her for accurate information and advice. For instance, Oliver gave up lavender products because of her article, and I'm sure he's not the only one.

    That type of media power, where purporting to serve the greater good, shouldn't be abused. Consumer Report wouldn't (I hope) start pushing gas-guzzlers because some car company offered them a sweet deal. The same high standards should, according to my opinion, apply to Marta. That's all.

  • November 26, 2010

    by Junko

    Arandjel, I do not believe that I missed your point. Hopefully, we each have our own independent, well functioning minds in which to form our personal opinions, actions, decisions and motivations with. Marta, and all who contribute(you as well)bring personal opinions to TIA, which I believe IS the point. In my mind, what YOU think of a particular product or ingredient, is EXACTLY the point. Information and reviews are given on TIA, but it's my mind that disciphers and digests how I'll act upon it. What I do with that information is up to me. Comforting to know that there is still something in this life that I am in total control of, which is, my thoughts and actions :) I appreciate the Lavendar/Linalool article as it gave me additional information when assessing ingredients. To be lied to is when someone makes an untrue statement with intent to deceive. I see no deception in YBF's full disclosure of Balance's ingredients nor in Marta's article of the possible harm from Lavendar/Linalool. To close, I think your point is...that you won't be trying YBF's Balance. We're all good with that!

  • November 26, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Olivier, the article on lavender talked about linalool at some length. And my conclusions was this: "lavender oil is probably best avoided in direct contact with the skin given that it is mostly comprised of linalool and linalyl acetate." Here is the link to it: http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/lavender-and-skin-safety?

    We have also recommended other brands that use lavender - for example, Nurture My Body. In our interview with the NMB founders, we raised the issue with them and they claimed that the processing and type of lavender makes a difference. http://truthinaging.com/hair/founders-series%E2%80%93-patty-kerr-and-rich-arnold-of-nurture-my-body

  • November 26, 2010

    by Arandjel

    Junko, I'm afraid you completely missed the point of our comments. We are just confused by Marta's inconsistency, that's all. I mean, it's fine if she chooses to endorse a brand, like in the case of YBF, but to then start recommending a product with dubious ingredients - especially after having posted that entire article on its dangers, kind of puts her integrity as well as credibility in question. And to make matters worse, mr Owens failing to provide any legit reason to why they chose to incorporate lavender oil in YBF Balance. After all, this blog it titled "Truth In Aging", and yet for these reasons, I can't help but feel like I'm being lied to.

  • November 26, 2010

    by Junko

    Arandjel and Oliver ~ Spokesmen for TIA's purist members. Takes great discipline to be a purist and I do ADMIRE that. I am however a member who aims for moderation and BALANCE (pun intended?). The information given on TIA helps me to find that balance. When I eat a big mac (seldom, but I do) I drink a diet coke with it too! Thank you for trying to help all the purist's in our community!

  • November 26, 2010

    by Olivier

    I am also not a fan of the contradictory informations.

    I stopped using products with Lavender since you guys published the article against it. There was no precision regarding linalool in it... and I am not comfortable using products with lavender, nor do I think it should be recommended after the statement you guys made.

  • November 26, 2010

    by Arandjel

    Darrell, as a regular reader of this blog, it's pretty evident you've been taken under Marta's wing, so she would probably end up recommending whatever you put out there. Unless opting for the path of denial, the rest of us should probably reconsider your products. For a skin care line that uses cutting edge ingredients, I find the inclusion of lavender oil to be rather thoughtless, and overall hazardous. You mention it having a reputation for calming and soothing, but it's also known for being a skin irritant and hormone disruptor. When Paula Begoun, who in general is down with most skin care ingredients (yes, even mineral oil and parabens), has a problem with it, then something must be terribly wrong...

  • November 26, 2010

    by Marta

    My take on lavender - and I could be in denial - is that it is the linalool that is the issue. It is a component of lavender oil and dose dependent. Cosmetics often have linalool as a specific ingredient and I am concerned about those. But I am happy to use products with lavender oil or water

  • November 26, 2010

    by Darrell Owens

    For those curious about the inclusion of lavender, we carefully considered its use in Balance; in large part thanks to TIA and Marta's post earlier this year.

    Despite its reputation for calming and soothing, when used in high concentrations lavender like many essential oils can be irritating or damaging to skin.

    Our approach to use of lavender in Balance was one of restraint, realizing that when used responsibly and conservatively, ingredients such as lavender can still make a useful and beneficial addition to formulas.

  • November 26, 2010

    by Arandjel

    Hm...is it just me, or are you slightly contradicting yourself now - http://truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/lavender-and-skin-safety? Also, your review here could use some proofreading. With that said, and in the spirit of Thanksgiving, you deserve a big thanks and recognition for all the work you do; so, thank you. :)

Have You Tried Your Best Face Balance (day cream) ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Your Best Face Balance (day cream) below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Your Best Face Balance (day cream)

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...