Free shipping on all orders over $39

Your Best Face Control gets a makeover

February 22, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 12 Comments
I have to confess that I’ve never been completely in love with Your Best Face Control ($160 in the TIA shop) and so I was excited to see that it has been reformulated – and in a most intelligent way. It no longer relies so much on peptides that inhibit expression lines and it has introduced two very interesting ingredients with a focus that may help sagging skin.

The first is tetradecyl Aminobutyroylvalylaminobutyric urea trifluoroacetate. I admit that I’ve seen dinosaurs with friendlier appellations, but you’ll want to get to know it anyway. It is a tripeptide that thankfully is marketed under the simpler name of Syn-Hycan. Specifically, it is aimed at lifting sagging skin. It stimulates hyaluronan (HA) synthesis and expression of the proteoglycans, decorin and lumican.

The company that makes it tested it on women women aged 56 to 65 years with loose skin on face and forearms and claims that it “induced a significant decrease in sagging and face volume in 74% of the subjects after 56 days of twice-daily use” and that after 84 days there was “a significant decrease in the double chin was observed in 58% of subjects”.

The other new key active in YBF Control is Relistase (the equally intimidating sounding acetylarginyltryptophyl diphenylglycine). This is actually a tripeptide and inhibits elastase activity and boosts collagen 1 synthesis. It has also been designed to treat sagginess and restore firmness to the skin. I haven’t found any independent studies but the manufacturer claims that women around the age of 49 saw a 14% improvement in overall elasticity within 8 weeks.

Update: Read my review of the new Control.

Ingredients: reverse osmosis water, Relistase (glycerin, acetylarginyltryptophyl diphenylglycine, Syn-Hycan (tetradecyl Aminobutyroylvalylaminobutyric urea trifluoroacetate, magneisum chloride, glycerin), Syn-Tacks (glycerin, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminobutyroyl hydroxythreonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate), Matrixyl 3000 (glycerin, butylene glycol, carbomer, polysorbate-20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tripeptide-3), nylon-12, olivem, Renovage (triglyceride, teprenone), olive squalane, ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate, ethoxydiglycol, dimethylisosorbide, meadowfoam seed oil, trans resveratrol, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), vitamin e, c10-c30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, leucidal, lipochroman-6, sodium hyaluronate, coenzyme Q10, tetrahydrocurcuminoids, alpha lipoic acid (R-lipoic acid), trithanolamine

Old formula: Reverse osmosis water, Snap-8 (water, acetyl octapeptide-3), Syn-Tacks (glycerin, palmitoyl dipeptide-5, diaminobutyroyl hydroxythreonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate), Leuphasyl (water, glycerin, pentapeptide-18, caprylyl glycol), ppg5 ceteth-20, Matrixyl 3000 (glycerin, butylene glycol, water, carbomer, polysorbate-20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), cyclomethicone, nylon-12, ascorbyl tetaisopalmitate (vitamin C), dimethylisosorbide, jojoba, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), vitamin e, c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, sodium hyaluronate, Lipochroman-6 (dimethylmethoxy chromanol), idebenone, alpha lipoic acid, polysorbate-20, triethanolamine, paraben du
  • March 1, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    Yes, please, Marta. The reformulated Control is something I would dearly love to not just try, but would hope would correct the loss of control I've recently experienced on my face from my lips downward and my jawline, as well as my neck. I'm at my wit's end as to how to combat it, so this offer is timely. ~jk

  • March 1, 2012

    by imelda

    Now that the subject of double chin has been brought up, sagging skin around the neck and under the chin, sound threatening indeed and I would do everything possible to avoid that. Perhaps a 2 month trial of YBF Control will help prevent that from happening too soon. I wish I can have the chance to test this new formulation.

  • February 29, 2012

    by sue becca

    Hello Marta:
    I got the sirius Aurora light, which is great, to treat the sagging skin...Can't imagine how wonderful would be to be able to test this YBF new formula with the Sirius Aurora Led light...!!! Please consider me :) Thanks.

  • February 29, 2012

    by Valerie

    Hi Marta, I would be very excited to try the new Control and provide a review. I'm almost out of my Reluma and was looking for a new face product to try. I'm gearing up for my wedding this summer and so want to find something to make my 40 year old skin look great.

  • February 29, 2012

    by Denise Miller

    Hi Marta, I would love to give my 54 year old slightly saggy skin (around the jowl area yuk). I've read about Syn-Col and Syn-Taks but this is a new one which I'm very interested about testing. I have tried many "lifting" creams, serums, etc. but have yet to find one that works. Love to review it or if not, read yours!

  • February 29, 2012

    by Peggy

    Hey Marta, I would love to test the new Control! I've been tempted to experiment with a little DIY, and Syn-Hycan is one active I really want to try. I've made friends with many of my imperfections, but sagging jowls is one that's hard to warm up to. I'd have a lot more piece of mind using a product from YBF than one I whipped up! Whether I test it or not, I'm eagerly looking forward to the review.

  • February 29, 2012

    by Lynne

    Count me in!

  • February 29, 2012

    by Susan Robinson

    I would love to give YBF Control a whirl....after reading your article, Marta, on peptides and the high quality peptides in Control I would like to see this in action against my sadly sagging neck. Somehow this just sneaked up on me....I looked one day and there was crepey loose skin on my neck! Yikes....what is a girl to do? Well, try to be one of the reviewers for YBF Control for Truth in Aging, that is what!!!!!
    I would really love to see what effect this would have on my neck!
    Thanks Marta and gang!

  • February 29, 2012

    by Kim

    I have been interested in trying Control for a long time. After becoming a convert to Correct, Prep and Quench, I'm certainly curious to see if this is another winner, especially now that it is reformulated. I promise a thorough review and would be so grateful to get the opportunity to try this out. Thank you so much!

  • February 29, 2012

    by camp

    Hi Marta, I would love to try Control, especially to test the Syn-Hycan effect on sagging skin. My mid-50 skin would be perfect for a trial of Control! Really liked your write up on the reformulated Control. I also learn so much.

  • February 24, 2012

    by Susan

    Impressive formula!!! Looking forward to your review.

  • February 22, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    *clicks her heels! Snap-8 is gone. This is true cause for (personal) celebration. Thank you, Darrell. Now I have to save my pennies in a serious way... ~jk

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...