Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Your Best Face Correct

Your Best Face Correct .5 oz
Is a Solution for: Your Best Face Correct
Crow's Feet, Dark Circles, Fine Lines, Puffy Eyes, Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
June 23, 2010 Reviewed by admin 30 Comments

This product has been reformulated. Please visit the shop for the most up to date review.

What is it? A pale yellow eye cream packed with ingredients meant to combat wrinkles.

For people with: Crow’s feet, fine lines and wrinkles.

Recommended use: Sparingly apply small dots of Correct around the eye area. Gently massage outward toward the temples.

Highlights: Marta calls YBF Correct her desert island eye cream (thanks to Junko for the analogy) and loves that the product takes care of crepiness, fine lines and crow’s feet. Her friend swears that it is the only thing that has ever gotten rid of the dark circles under her eyes, which Marta guesses is due to Haloxyl, a peptide formulation that includes chyrsin and hydroxysuccinimide. Chrysin stimulates the enzyme that clears out bilrubin (a color degradation element) while hydroxysuccinimide makes iron (color degradation element # 2) soluble so that it can be eliminated.

With feedback from Marta and TIA readers, Correct's formula was updated in the fall of 2009 to include these changes among many others:

  • Ingredients discontinued in Correct, fall of 2009: Silicones, Vitamin A, BHT, Syn-ake
  • Ingredients introduced in Correct, fall of 2009: Eyeseryl, Renovage, Lipochroman-6, Olivem

In our first reader review on the product, Briana called Correct her new BFF, and at just 39, was ecstatic to be using something to combat her newly acquired crows feet. She loved that puffiness decreased tremendously and even thought that the hefty price was worth it!

Dana received the Correct eye cream sample and liked that hours after application, her under eye skin was still well-moisturized and mostly wrinkle free.

Susan says: I know of YBF because of Marta ONLY. I owe TIA big time. I use Correct and am considering branching out to YBF’s other products.

Complaints:

Cynthia says (of the old formulation): Does anyone else find that Correct stings? I patch-tested several times and was dismayed to find that each time I applied the very tiniest dot (inside of wrist, orbital area under eye) I felt a slight burning. I told myself perhaps this was a ”tingling” sensation (like some ostensibly “bag”-shrinking eye gels cause), but it was definitely not comfortable and did not go away even after a half hour (when I rinsed the area off). I was told that I am likely too sensitive to the product to use it, so I won’t –but I hate to feel I am overreacting here and missing out on the benefits of such a favorably reviewed product. I’m just curious: anyone else have this reaction?

Ingredients we love: Marta likes the cutting edge Renovage, which contains the ingredient teprenone and targets teleomeres to stabilize them. Maintaining telomere length extends the Hayflick Limit (the number of times a normal cell population divides before it stops) by one third. She also loves the collagen-building Matrixyl 3000, Snap-8, which inhibits expression lines, and YBF signature radical scavengers spin trap and Lipochroman-6.

Ingredients we don’t: n/a

Retail Price: $150 in the shop

More on TIAFounders Series: Darrell Owen and Kimberley Fristed of Your Best Face

Bottom line: Marta continues to list YBF as one of her favorite eye creams, even after discovering it two years ago. She loves the powerhouse of ingredients that have helped her and her friends in the eye department. Combined with the fact that our readers liked their own results, we think it’s worth the price.

*Editor's Note: Since this review was published, Your Best Face Correct has been reformulated for 2014.

  • August 18, 2011

    by Matt

    Darrell,

    Moved to email.

  • August 17, 2011

    by Darrell

    Hi Matt,
    You're raising a great point though regarding patents. There is a lot that's fuzzy in the industry in terms of how ingredients (idebenone being one example) may be used, restricted (or not restricted) as it ties to claims about an ingredient, how it is used in a formula (in combination with other ingredients) and so on.

    A quick search on the web for example turned up these companies which also use idebenone to some extent in their formulas: DermaQuest, Priori (as you mentioned above), True, True Radiance, Dr. Michelle Copeland Skincare, Bathhouse Naturals, Nutra Luxe, md Formulations, LifeCell, Skin Organics, Bren New York and Cellbone.

    -Darrell

  • August 17, 2011

    by Matt

    Hi Darrell,

    I know that this is perhaps not the place to discuss this, but you got me curious and the only reference to a patent on Prevage that I can find is also on this site from a poster by the name of Top Secret (real original). The patent number cited is US 6,756,045 which was filed in 2002 and is in fact not owned by Allergan, but is exclusively licensed by Priori Skincare who is a partner in Prevage. This patent would seem to cover any usable concentration of idebenone from 0.0001% to about 30% by weight (claim 26).

  • August 16, 2011

    by Darrell

    Hi Matt,
    Prevage with Idebenone is a trademarked phrase and Allergan holds patents on formulas for Prevage and Prevage MD, containing specific amounts of idebenone at rates of 0.5% and 1.0% in combination with other specific ingredients contained in their formulas.


    -Darrell

  • August 16, 2011

    by Matt

    Just looking over the ingredients for YBF Correct, isn't Idebenone an Allergan patented ingredient that is exclusive to Elizabeth Arden Prevage?

  • July 10, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Dennis, I think not. Please email admin@truthinaging.com with your address and we'll send you one on Monday.

  • July 10, 2011

    by Dennis

    Hey Marta, wondering if you ever got my email requesting a sample of Reluma eye serum? Sent the 23rd of June. My email to you in the past has gone into your junk folder. Thanks :)

  • July 10, 2011

    by Marta

    We are now giving away new samples of YBF Correct with every purchase <a href="https://truthinaging.com/store/index.php?route=common/home" rel="nofollow">in the TIA shop</a>. This is limited while stocks last, so don't delay if you'd like to try out Correct.

  • June 25, 2011

    by Marta

    You'll be pleased to know that Your Best Face is now making slightly larger samples of Correct that give about one week's use. Also, I've just been discussing with Darrell giving them with purchases in the TIA shop. This will be a limited offer and we'll announce the timing next week. Watch this space!

  • June 23, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Dennis, just just email us at samples@truthinaging.com

  • June 23, 2011

    by Dennis

    Marta, might I also get a sample of reluma? my eyes are the bane of my existence, always tired looking. I just completed a double TCA peel on them and would love to try a powerful serum such as reluma on them. Thanks!

  • June 23, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Sam,
    Please email us at samples@truthinaging.com with your address. We only have small Correct samples - they will give you a sense of what the product is like, but not enough to see results. We can also send you a sample (slightly bigger) of ReLuma's eye cream, which is also good.

  • June 23, 2011

    by Sam

    Hello Marta, I would love to try a sample of Correct before buying the product and breaking the bank, so if there are any available , I would appreciate one. Is Correct the best you have tried , any other cream that comes close. Thank You.


    Sam

  • November 9, 2010

    by ME Waszak

    So very disappointed in this eye cream. Had never heard of the product until I found the TIA site, Marta's recommendation, and a slew of positive comments. Bought this pricey cream, used it for a week and could practically see the fine lines forming day by day. Was not moisturizing. My eyes felt dry and scratchy and makeup under my eyes looked cakey. Stopped after a week because I didn't want to cause damage that might not be reversible. Waste of money for me.

  • September 3, 2010

    by Lisa

    *BEST eye cream I've ever tried! (And that's saying a lot because I've tried everything!)

    If you have dark circles, you will LOVE this eye cream. It works miracles. It is expensive and I live in Canada so got dinged twice with shipping charges, and another $30 in duty tax. But in my opinion, it's well worth it. Marta recommended this and I took a leap of faith with the considerable price tag but I'm very happy. As she says, it works wonders on fine lines and crow's feet and really firms.

  • September 3, 2010

    by marta

    Suz, please drop me a line at marta@truthinaging.com to confirm your shipping address. Have a good Labor Day Weekend.

  • September 3, 2010

    by Suz / Suzanne

    ON another Note: I want to mention that it is so funny in that I have indeed tried other products and gave it much more time before even considering effectiveness... It's the eyes and neck that I seem to be looking for quick fixes lately. I expected too much, too soon from this. Especially lately where my skin is looking not as I want it to.

    For Example, I have tried CELLBONE HYPERPEPTIDES and their SUPER AOX..My Skin seemed to love these right away, but I still search for more intense regimens. I must mention that these are Wonderfully calming and feel good on my skin like no other. Not to mention that for THAT day, my skin looks great. BUT, again I am not sure about the cumulative effect to be honest!!

    I have tried Matrixyl 3000 from NCN and that doesn't seem to give me the same results.. But again, I have used the CELLBONE for 3 months and the NCN product only a few times. Go figure.

    At my age, I should know better that it takes time.. I Thank you again, and to Darrell for responding as well.. I truly was under the impression that this would be a "Quick" forming type serum/cream...

    I look forward to giving this an honest try for much much longer..

    Suz/Suzanne

  • September 3, 2010

    by Suz

    Oh Marta!! I PROMISE I will! I just saw this post, and was searching for something new to try... I was struggling with a few others and hesitating on ordering...finally giving up. I am like so many of us in that I have sooooo many products = $$$$ just sitting there.

    I PROMISE YOU I will try it longer.. Thank You!! Wow! That is so nice of you..
    I am so grateful for this forum as well..

  • September 3, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Suz, you are most welcome. I do find your comment ironic though. I sometimes get questioned about whether I really try products for long enough - and I test everything for at least 30 days. If something does NOT work for me I will sometimes (as I did with YNS recently) keep going for six weeks. Indeed, if something did give me "instant" results I'd be very suspicious of it. Whether it is Correct or anything else, I encourage you to give things a more meaningful trial. Your skin is a complex organ. I am going to give you a larger sample size out of my private stash if you promise me to use the entire amount before coming back to tell us how you got on ;)

  • September 2, 2010

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Suz,
    Thank you (and thank you for the email this afternoon - I just got in an will be writing back to you),

    I often describe treating skin with products as requiring the patience of treating a wound...there really are very few genuine quick fixes to be found and the body often need time to respond.

    I don't think I've said this before, but I think one of the most exciting things about my work is the hunt for great new ingredients! Finding a new antioxidant or a potent botanical gives me a rush - so indeed I am always on the lookout for ways to up product effectiveness.

    I'm excited to share more, as we get closer, about new options we'll have available to those looking for a great eye cream that doesn't take a "does it all" approach and that's more affordable for everyday use and/or maintenance.

    Thank you again & cheers!
    -Darrell

    Darrell Owens, founding partner & principal formulator
    Your Best Face Skincare LLC / http://www.ybf-Skincare.com
    407.394.7989

  • September 2, 2010

    by Suz

    I just saw this posting and after all this time, I should comment : )

    #1) Thank you for the Free Sample! That was a Nice Surprise. I too was confused about what it was, but quickly remembered I had requested to test it.

    #2) If I am to be Honest here, I must admit that I didn't notice any Ah Ha! moment regarding this eye cream. Now, please note that maybe I am expecting a miracle quick-fix for lift and de-puff.... I also don't believe I gave it enough of a chance, to be fair. I was looking for "instant" results, and gave up after 3 days.

    I may try again in the future, but my goodness! It is Truly Expensive! If it is that good, maybe I should get with a friend and split cost : ) Would be nice to be able to formulate it on our own, wouldn't it? It sounds so wonderful. as far as your reviews, which is why I really should give it another chance..

    Again, THANK YOU for the FREE Sample; that was Awesome!! It' hard to find that anymore... You're GREAT Marta!

  • July 21, 2010

    by Jan

    I recieved a sample of eye cream in a small disc like container and saw a goldish dab of cream. It is lovely and has a comforting feeling and I thought it did show a nice smoothing effect with just a few applications.
    It felt very natural to me and was gentle.

  • July 13, 2010

    by D

    Thank you for the sample of Correct! I've been dying to try it since reading about it on your site. Can't wait to see if it works for me!!!

  • July 9, 2010

    by L

    Thank you thank you for the free sample of Correct!!!!
    How did you know I was out?
    You are a life saver...well...for my eyes anyway:)
    You are the best of any company or website!
    Truly the BEST!
    L

  • July 8, 2010

    by Lori

    Hmmm...THANK YOU Marta and YBF for sending the TOTALLY FREE sample of Correct, so highly regarded that it is referred to as "liquid gold"! I did nothing, paid nothing and asked for nothing but you generously provided me with something! And I knew exactly what it was since you had posted about the free give away.:) You're the best!

  • July 8, 2010

    by Jacquie

    I'm a believer, Julie..

    This may be my next indulgence. I'm seriously looking better with each passing day...

  • July 8, 2010

    by Julie Kay

    Liquid Gold is what you received! And anyone who doesn't intend to use theirs can send them to me! A hint= use a toothpick and pick up a dot the size of a sesame seed. That's all you need for each eye. Liquid Gold I tell ya! ~jk

  • July 8, 2010

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Patrice,
    You emailed us as a person named Dani but from the same domain as you linked in your name as Patrice.

    And actually we did email you back. Here is a copy of the email:

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Darrell Owens [mailto:darrell.owens@ybf-skincare.com]
    Sent: Wednesday, July 7, 2010 03:37 PM
    To: 'Dani'
    Cc: 'Co-Founder', marta@truthinaging.com
    Subject: Re: ? re sample recd

    Hi Dani,
    My apologies that you did not receive a product card with your free sample! We had only a very short notice and unfortunately, toward the end of filling and packing, we ran out of product information cards. Please visit the page from our web site which outlines what Correct is for and how best to sample our eye cream: http://www.ybf-skincare.com/products/correct.htm

    Correct is actually a very concentrated eye cream and requires very little product for each application. You should find that a small amount goes quite a long way. The amount of eye cream provided to you in the free sample is equal to just over 1/10th of a full size container that sells for $150.00 and contains more free product than what many large cosmetic companies provide in their own samples.

    Even though we are a small business, we try to be more generous with our free samples than most big brands you read about on Truth In Aging. As a follower of TIA, perhaps you've noticed we give quite a lot and show appreciation with free and bonus product every time we're given the opportunity. Even though there was little notice or planning, we were thrilled to create nearly 400 samples for TIA readers - providing nearly $6,000 worth of free product - all on the fly because we appreciate Truth In Aging and its readers.

    Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings that the free sample provided to you was so miniscule as to prove nothing.

    All my best,
    Darrell Owens, founding partner & principal formulator
    Your Best Face Skincare LLC / www.ybf-Skincare.com
    407.394.7989

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Dani [mailto:info@extratouchinc.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, July 6, 2010 09:09 PM
    To: founders@ybf-skincare.com
    Subject: ? re sample recd

    Attn: Darrell & Kimberley

    I just recd a half-dollar size container of something of which I have absolutely no idea! On the cover the word "correct" is written.
    It came in a TIA pkg with no instructions, no identifying data other than a business card.

    Now really of what good is this substance of which I know nothing about and the amount being so minuscule as to prove nothing.

    patrice a TIA follower

  • July 8, 2010

    by marta

    Patrice, I am sorry you feel like that.

    We sent out 400 samples of Correct - the samples are about 10% of the size of a full size $150 cream. YBF has been hugely generous as there is a significant cost in providing them for us. Add in cards with explanations etc and that would be pretty onerous for them. By the way, mailing this stuff out you all has a pretty high cost for me too. Yet, YBF, KaplanMD and I are happy to so because we appreciate our readers and customers. Mostly they are appreciative of us too.

    You will find an answer to your email because they copied me on it.

  • July 8, 2010

    by patrice

    Marta so glad you filled me in on what I received. I received this half-dollar size container with some solution inside that had written on it 'correct'. It came in a TIA envelope and nothing else other than a business card. No data sheet, description, instructions, nada. I emailed them to find out what I received but got no answer. I was about to email you, Marta to solve the mystery and Voila there you are filling me in on what I have received.

    So now I'll try it but I doubt very much whether I'd pay $150 for this item, no matter how great. There's enough great stuff out much more reasonable especially in this tough economy where one has to review carefully how important is this purchase.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...