Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Your Best Face Nourish and Balance- reader reviewed

Our Rating: 0 stars

January 11, 2011 Reviewed by TIA Community Member 12 Comments

by Ann

I sampled both Your Best Face Nourish ($45) and Balance ($45 in the TIA shop).  Nourish is the eye cream, apparently for 20-somethings. I'm in my 30s.  I thought it was a very good eye care product. It moisturizes the under-eye area well and seemed to hold fine lines at bay, as well as under-eye shadows. I like the texture and the price point.

I have also tried two full-sized tubes of YBF Correct ($150 in the TIA shop), and I have to say that Nourish provided almost equal results.  In future, I would be more inclined to purchase Nourish than Correct due to the substantial cost savings.

Unfortunately, I don't have much positive to say about Balance, a face moisturizer. For some reason, it left my face with an odd "matte" look and was not very moisturizing.  On the other hand, I have very dry skin, especially in the winter. This product might be good for someone with an oilier skin type.

Buy from the Truth In Aging Shop and for 10% off subscribe to our newsletter

Ingredients in Nourish

Reverse osmosis water, cucumber extract, olivem (cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate), meadowfoam seed oil, nutmeg butter, caffeine, nylon-12, ppg5 ceteth 20, L-carnosine, c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, vitamin B5, alpha bisabolol, vitamin e, dimethyl isosorbide, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), Lipochroman-6 (dimethylmethoxy chromanol), trans resveratrol, violet leaf absolute, oakmoss absolute, triethanolamine, paraben du

Ingredients in Balance

Reverse osmosis water, nylon-12, olive squalane, L-carnosine, olivem (cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate), ppg5 ceteth-20, niacin, tetradecylthioacetic acid (TTA), c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, vitamin B5, alpha bisabolol, sodium hyaluronate, lavender oil, cedarwood oil, niaouli oil, triethanolamine, paraben du, azulene (guaiazulene)

Buy Me
$ 55.00
  • January 18, 2011

    by Darrell Owens

    I wanted to add that I really appreciate all of the discussion. We will keep making improvements -- the latest round holds a lot of promise. In addition to improving the formula side so that our products perform better, as mentioned, we are also looking at container solutions.

    While containers are on my mind, I thought I would share...
    Hopefully container manufacturers read TIA and recognize an opportunity...a gap in the industry being overlooked. A situation we face, as do many small-to-mid-size skincare manufacturers, is a very limited range of airless pump container choices due to ridiculously high minimum order requirements.

    Many container manufacturers still set minimums order requirements at 5,000 units ... 10,000 units ... and often-times 20,000 units. A great sale for the container salesperson if they can get it, but in my opinion they are missing out on cultivating new business in a new economy.

    Thank you!
    Darrell Owens

  • January 18, 2011

    by marta

    I am testing Osmotics Boost and having the same issue. I will try the shaking method and report back.

  • January 18, 2011

    by Angela J

    Junko - Thank you so much for sharing your tip! My bottle of Correct stopped dispensing and I just assumed it was empty, but then I opened it and saw that there was a lot of product remaining. I've been scooping it out with a tiny spatula that I sterilize with alcohol each time and that was ok, though it's much more difficult to control the amount, not to mention I hate exposing the product to air. After reading your post, I tried shaking the bottle vigorously and VOILA! it dispenses perfectly.

  • January 16, 2011

    by Junko

    I have a suggestion for the pump problem as I have on occasion had problems with correct bottles. Seems to be a vacuum issue?? If no product is being dispensed, I shake my bottle vigorously just once or twice up and down, then when I pump I can hear vacuum and pump then having enough force to pull the bottom up which then sucks correct up and out of the dispensing hole. Give it a try as it has worked each time dispensing has stopped (maybe 3 times) with my current bottle. I just think that it's a vacuum problem where there's too much air above the product when it settles level sometimes.

  • January 15, 2011

    by Darrell Owens

    Hi Stephanie,
    So glad to see your post! I just logged in to email and see you emailed too - thank you!

    Let's also get you set up with the current Quench. It was a complete change from our first iteration, to the current. I'd like for you to be able to compare.

    -Darrell

  • January 15, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Hi Darrell,

    I am the person who was discussing Define with you via email in December. I'll resend.

    I tried Quench right after it came out so it seems I got it when it was perceived to be grainy.

    I do love the product in the undefined bottle- Marta thinks it's Concentrate so consider me a fan. I bought it in November and only recently opened it- plus I did not keep the packaging, hence no descriptive card.

    Thanks again,
    Stephanie

  • January 12, 2011

    by Darrell Owens

    Darrell here,
    A number of things to cover, first to Ann. Thank you for the review! I am sorry Balance wasn't right for you but appreciate you sharing the way you did. I think the information you provided about your experience and your skin type will help someone who might be trying to decide between Balance, which is more of mattifying treatment, and perhaps Boost, which is more moisturizing. I thought your review would be helpful to others and so I posted a link to your review on Twitter that day.


    Junko -- I think your comment helped as well with insights about Balance. Thank you, always!


    Stephanie -- Hello to you! I am not sure if you are the Stephanie I was emailing with a couple of weeks ago, but if you are and don't mind emailing me again, please do. I lost a good amount of my inbox and quite a few important emails are just gone.


    In your comments above you bring up great points and I hope I can offer some answers and I also have a few questions.


    My apologies for the trouble with the pump! We always try to set things right when someone experiences trouble with a container. We made improvements with how Correct behaves in its container and it seems we have room for improvement with how Define is dispensed too. We are making improvements which help the product flow better in our existing containers. Separate from formula improvements we can make, we're also continuing to look at container options which might prove even more reliable. Hopefully folks who have watched our brand over the years, see that part of what we do is continually improve as we grow.


    You had mentioned about Quench and I was wondering if you recall when you experienced it being grainy? When Quench first launched we did have significant trouble with the formula becoming grainy. We've since reformulated Quench and so I would love for you to have another go at it. Since the formula changed some time ago, we've only received high marks for its quality texture.


    I think Marta may have answered your question about the bottle with the generic label and touched on that we get to share things early in exclusives with TIA. In those instances our basic brand label is how the container is packaged, but the product should always be accompanied by a printed information card explaining the ingredients, directions and description. When Antioxidants Concentrate was first available, it was packaged in such a way with a generic YBF label. Another time we were briefly out of stock in 6ml trials of Boost, which were packaged with Prep as a promotion -- and so we upgraded the trials of Boost from 6ml to 15ml containers. In this situation, a generic label was also used but the containers included a Boost product information card.


    Thank you again for your questions, feedback and insights! Stephanie -- again my apologies for the experience you had with the container and I hope you'll email me directly. My apologies too if you are the Stephanie I had been emailing with and then we lost touch, but perhaps you could resend your last email?


    Thank you!
    -Darrell
    Darrell.Owens@ybf-Skincare.com

  • January 12, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Hi Marta,
    Yes I got the bottle from you when I purchased some things from the TIA store (which I *LOVE* by the way).

    Have you ever had issues with the YBF bottle pumps? If you have any suggestions for how I might get the rest of the product I would really appreciate it.

    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  • January 12, 2011

    by marta

    Stephanie, did you get the mystery bottle from us? We had some testers of the new version of Concentrate and that were not labeled and we may have sent you one inadvertently.

  • January 12, 2011

    by Stephanie

    I regularly use YBF Correct, which I love, it is fantastic for the crepey skin under my eyes and keeps my slowly encroaching crows feet at bay.

    I reviewed Defend on TIA and found that it wasn't a good fit for me.

    I tried the Quench product but the texture which seemed a little grainy turned me off.

    I've got a half full bottle of Define, and I can no longer access the product; the pump release any product. I can get to the product if I remove the top and scoop the stuff out, but then everything is contaminated. I like the product well enough but didn't notice anything amazing, especially at the $70 price point. I won't be buying it again- my frustration about the defective pump is probably causing more wrinkles as I frown at the bottle.

    Finally, I recently started using another YBF product, but I don't know which one it is as the bottle doesn't have a name, it simply says "your best face powerful anti aging skincare". Whatever it is, my skin likes it. I believe it's the old version of the antioxidants "Concentrate" but can't say for sure. Very strange that the bottle isn't clearly labeled.

  • January 12, 2011

    by Junko

    Balance I believe is intended for people with oily/normal skin that is prone to break-outs and want to matte the area's which become shiny/oily during the day. I love Defend and am using Balance to compare. I'd say I like Defend a bit more but the price difference between the two make Balance an easier buy. The matte look is one of the main reasons why I use it!

  • January 11, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Hi Ann,
    Thanks for your review. Have you tried any other YBF products?

    What do you use for your dry skin?

    Stephanie

Have You Tried Your Best Face Nourish (eye cream)?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Your Best Face Nourish (eye cream) below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Your Best Face Nourish (eye cream)

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...