Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Zerona laser for weight loss

February 17, 2011 Reviewed by admin 16 Comments
Nipping and tucking is a huge part of the beauty industry. After spending a ton of money on creams and serums, people turn to cosmetic surgery in order to fix what cannot be fixed without something invasive. But what if there was a way to markedly improve your appearance without needles or knives or really anything remotely painful?

Enter the Erchonia ML Scanner, also known as the Zerona laser. Zerona contours the body and removes inches from various parts, specifically areas that cannot always be helped with exercise (such as the hips, knees, back and other trouble spots). The process takes about 40 minutes per session for a total of at least 6 sessions conducted no more than 72 hours apart.

While liposuction literally involves vacuuming fat cells from within the body, Zerona is applied externally. It is painless, even without the use of numbing creams, anesthesia and the like. Best of all, there is no downtime after the procedure is over.

So, how does it work? The laser liquefies fat within the fat cells. The cells release their contents and the body disposes of the contents naturally. This results in the fat depleting and a decrease in volume, which leads to losing inches off of whatever particularly vexing body part you have chosen to laser. Results can be seen immediately and will last as long as you allow them to last; if you overeat, expect that fact to creep back.

In a clinical trial, patients lost about an inch from their waists, and thighs. Admittedly, this study was conducted by Erchonia, though it was published in the journal Lasers in Surgery and Medicine.



Support also comes from the FDA, which approved Zerona as a “Low Level Laser System for Aesthetic Use,” which is defined as “a device using low level laser energy for the disruption of adipocyte cells within the fat layer for the release of fat and lipids from these cells for non-invasive aesthetic use.”

Another benefit of Zerona is that people with diabetes and other conditions that prevent them from taking advantage of more invasive procedures can use the laser safely.

Since Zerona is quite new, I didn’t think there would be a whole lot of reviews on the procedure. However, I was wrong – the Internet is abuzz with talk of Zerona. There is an Adverse Event Report on the FDA’s website regarding the laser, though nothing bad actually happened to the person who filed the report. Instead, she saw no effects from her treatment. However, she claimed that the “Zerona provider did not operate the Zerona machine properly” or “position it properly” on her body.

I found that at least half of the reviews I read were negative, based on the fact that the laser didn’t work. There were also plenty of people that said they were happy with the procedure. I have a feeling that some people expect major changes to occur after undergoing the Zerona laser, when in reality it is only meant to help you shed a couple of inches. It is not a weight loss tool; it is strictly a beauty procedure, an aesthetic instrument.
  • October 10, 2013

    by Amy

    I have had 5 of the 6 zerona sessions and I must say, I have read so many bad comments, but it's working for me!! I am wearing a pair of jeans today that were completely too tight on me 2 weeks ago. And they are loose now! I'm 40, 5'7" and weighed 153 when I started. This morning my scale says 148. I'm taking niacin and drinking a ton of water. I'm also taking a detox supplement. I'm so pleased with the results that after they measure me tomorrow, I'm going to sign up for 6 more sessions! My husband sees a difference too! And to all of you who are saying well, you're eating right, exercising and drinking water--that's why you're losing weight! To that, I say that I have been working out 5 days a week since May, eating right, taking vitamins... and I've been stuck at that 153 weight. The zerona is getting me over that hump. I have no complaints :)

  • April 6, 2013

    by Brenda

    Thank you all. I am sixty one with zero metabolism and was thinking of doing the Zerona to try and jump start losing the 25 lbs I packed on in the last four years. I hate to look in the mirror in the morning. May take a bit longer but will do it the old fashioned way....diet.

  • March 27, 2013

    by ann

    total scam 12 sessions - followed protocol - no inches lost

  • January 30, 2013

    by Mark Wilson

    If it liquefies the fat with a low power laser then surely a nice hot bath will have the same effect. Really don't know how these beauty company's get away with all this pseudo scientific clap trap.! My wife is a salon owner and we attend beauty shows on a regular basis. So much extremely expensive kit with dubious theory of operation. Should send a group of engineers and Doctors to debunk this stuff and save gullible buyers money!!!!

  • August 9, 2012

    by barbie

    Complete & total scam....former employee. Never felt so stupid in my entire, educated life.. Save your money, start walking, drink plenty of water and use your common sense. We all know what to do to lose weight.

  • December 21, 2011

    by Ally

    Zerona does not work, I had my sessions at Liliana and trust me, it does not work.

  • July 23, 2011

    by Jules

    I'm doing my 5th treatment of Zerona this coming Monday and don't see any results.I've gained about 5-6 pounds since starting the program.I'm starting to wonder if this treatment is really worth the money????Has anyone gained weight prior to losing any weight or inches?I still hope and pray that maybe in time things will change.

  • July 5, 2011

    by Dave

    My wife did the 12 sessions and ate like they told her, drank water like a fish, excessed and they got a supposedly 5 inches from her arms legs and such but there's no change as we all can tell. And it cost $2,400.00 big waste of money! It's a gimmick!

  • July 4, 2011

    by Jina

    Hi

    Happy to report after 6 months of the 12 sessions of zerona my daughter has been on 128 pounds for last 2 months though does eat healthy and exercise because she enjoys it and indulges occasionally on a treat without feeling guilty. She is happy being a size 6 and recommends the zerona but you must follow protocol and do weights at gym because muscle will keep firing up your metabolism and keep your bones strong.

  • April 27, 2011

    by Zoe

    No offense, but it sounds possible to me that the above poster's daughter's weight loss very likely was due to the diet and exercise part of the "treatment".

    How do they know that the laser is actually breaking down these fat cells? Are there publications showing how the laser dissolves fat in the lab? Otherwise, how do they know the inches being lost after a treatment aren't just water?

  • February 22, 2011

    by Rachel

    I have this done this past summer, 12 treatments for about $2,000.00 and I can say with complete confidence that it was the biggest waste of money I have ever spent. I'm young (27), not overweight (5'5" and 132 lbs), and I have realistic expectations. When I started, I took the niacin, ate well, worked out and measured 28" waist and 38" hips. When I finished, the measurements were THE SAME. I had hoped to lose at least an inch off my waist and hips, but nope. When they measured me at the end, they counted supposed "inch loss" from my thighs and upper arms which they said totaled 5". The machine came nowhere near those areas, and my body looked the same as ever, as did the fit of my clothing, as did the "before" and "after" shots. I'm still angry about wasting all that money.

  • February 18, 2011

    by Jina

    My daughter had 12 treatments, has tried previously to loose weight especially around thighs by doing weights, running, yoga short of starving herself, her body would not let go of any fat. She persisted with wearing the spandex and niacin tablets which are required and for 4 weeks lost 19 inches all over and 16 pounds. After treatment now 6 weeks later has lost a further 6 pounds. She is down to a size 8 - 6. During the treatments drank no alcohol, only olive oil in salads, no fried foods or cheese. Ate normal portions of lean protein, veges, some almonds kept away from sugar and had occasionally rice bread and apples for fruit. I think she still would have had those results but not as good if she was not as diligent in her eating. She continued to wear spandex 2 weeks after treatment. Believes increase in muscle will keep her stable and continues to work out. Drank 2 litters of water as required Initially but drank less when not working out as much as she felt. Tried to keep as much a normal eating, workout and water drinking habit so when she was off zerona everything would seem normal. I think it is excellent if you do as they say the money aspect of it kept her on track. The fact she spent her own money and the fact her clothes were looser on her each day kept her motivated. She is 19 but has a slower metabolism than her younger sister that is a size 2 while eating pizza and pasta and is quiet slim. I,m thinking of doing it myself for 6 treatments for couple of inches around thighs and decrease my bad cholesterol. Hope this helps.

  • February 18, 2011

    by Lisa

    Is this like another new technique I just read about called "Cool Sculpting?" That advertises itself as a similar noninvasive solution to getting rid of fat around the waist, etc. Apparently the results take about 6 months to be completed realized.

  • February 17, 2011

    by Stephanie

    Does anyone have personal experience with this laser?

    I've tried other targeted treatments- Velasmooth which did nothing, and a series of mesotherapy treatments, which were a complete nightmare without any benefit.

  • February 17, 2011

    by David

    There are often deals through Groupon or on Twitter, but it averages around $1,500 - $1,700 for six treatments.

  • February 17, 2011

    by deb

    how expensive is this new treatment?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...