Free shipping on all orders over $39

Elite Serum Syringe- reviewed and recommended

Is a Solution for:
Dark Circles, Sagging Skin, Puffy Eyes
May 8, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 31 Comments

It has been more than two years since Elite Eye Serum first came on my radar.  Since then, it has had a makeover including a revamped formula and a new name – Elite Eye Syringe - giving a clue to its radically new packaging. Back in March of this year, I was sent some samples and after testing Elite ($89.95) for about five weeks, I am mostly pleased with it, with a couple of caveats that I’ll come back to later.

Elite Serum is a light gel that absorbs very easily. I found its effects to be smoothing and lifting. It gave a firmness to my whole eye area, particularly lifting the lids, my under eyes became less puffy and fine lines receded.

The bad news was that after several days of consecutive use, I found it drying and had to take a few days off while resorting back to a more moisturizing cream. After going back to it for day time use, I used an eye cream in the evening and that combo still seems to work for me. If you are someone who is prone to milia from rich eye creams and have been looking for an anti-aging gel, then Elite would be worth experimenting with.

The new formula (compare to the old one here), is dominated by seaweed extract. Chondrus crispus is known as Irish moss although it’s actually a red algae. It is mostly here because it forms a gel from one of its components, carrageenen. So first off, its good to see that there are no silicones creating Elite’s texture.

Most importantly, this serum is all about peptides.  There’s Matrixyl (palmitoyl oligopeptide) and Matrixyl 3000 (palimtoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7), which are both potent collagen producers. Puffy eyes may be helped by dipeptide-2, believed to improve lymphatic circulation. It is also, due to its molecular structure, considered to be a an NMF (natural moisturizing factor).  Then there’s palmitoyl tripeptide-5, otherwise known as SYN-COLL and supposed to be an even more powerful collagen booster than Matrixyl. For good measure, there’s a couple of peptides that inhibit expression lines.

Dark under eye circles are potentially treated with N-hydroxysuccinimide, about which there isn’t much research, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, a capillary strengthener, and chrysin.

With so much to like, I feel churlish having to report that there is something that I really don’t like about Elite Serum Syringe: the darn syringe. The packaging is a big plastic tube that is supposed to look and function like a syringe – I presume to give it a clinical aura. Well (with apologies to Mr Elite, who has probably spent considerable resources on the new design), I find it annoying on every level: it is too big and awkward to handle (at least for my small paws); the tip/applicator fell off on day two, refused to stay on ever since, and I have to resort to squirting the serum into a cupped palm and then dipping a finger to dab it on my eye; it squirts too much no matter how careful I try to be; and it is an unapologetic landfill!

There’s loads left of the 14ml, and I’ll be stuck with this syringe for some time. Since the serum itself is really rather good, that’s probably not such a bad thing after all.

Ingredients: Chondrus Crispus, (Seaweed) Extract, Purified Water, (Aqua) Hyaluronic Acid, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Glycerin, Steareth-20, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Chrysin, Palimtoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Dipeptide-2, Butylene Glycol, Carbomer, Polysorbate-20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Acetyl Octapeptide-3, Caprylyl Glycol, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexyglycerin

  • July 30, 2015

    by Scot Smith

    I started using Elite Serum Rx (I don't know if this is the one you talk about here because the bottle is a different color and you don't show the luxury box it comes with) about 3 months ago. Wow! What a seriously "different" product. The presentation it was in when I was browsing the mall initially had me interested in this, but pushing that aside (that's all sales propaganda anyways) the stuff on the inside is magical. My crow's feet are greatly diminished thanks to Elite and my dark circles aren't so dark. I'm a happy camper personally.

  • August 28, 2014

    by kathi

    Can you wear it at night, and will it cause blemishes?

  • July 14, 2014

    by Christina

    Thank you for your message, Virginia. Unfortunately, we have never sold or carried the Elite Serum. You should try to contact the brand directly. Hope this helps!

  • July 14, 2014

    by virginia Fauth

    I returned the unauthorized eliteserum pump over a month ago and have not received a refund. Please advise

  • April 18, 2014

    by lavon Bonar

    Hi, I just started using Elite eye serum and really like the feel of it and am hoping for good results. I have been getting e-mails saying I can receive a free pump of it but when I try to fill out the order it tells me there is no such website. Do I have to buy another pump to get the free sample? I'm nowhere near ready to buy another pump. Just wondering. Lavon

  • December 24, 2013

    by Vera

    I was very happy to receive the product, but to my dismay the syringe does not work. How do I return this product? So disappointed.

  • December 15, 2013

    by Monique

    I've been using Elite Serum for about a month and half, morning and night. Recently I've started getting red and slightly burning rashiness at the corners of my eyes and little at the crescent of the eye skin just above the cheek. I think it's the Elite Serum that's the culprit.

    I've been a fanatic about taking care of skin since I was about 17. I just turned 54 and most people who meet me are shocked when they hear that. This last year has been aged me quite a bit - stress, lots of crying, and an allergic reaction to mold have aged the skin around my eyes considerably. It is VERY disheartening and some days I just want to go back to bed. I've considered wearing glasses full time to hide behind them.

    I really need something to work! Help!

  • October 19, 2013

    by Lorraine

    I ordered this several days ago and just received it. The pump does not work. I did not try to dispense while in locked position.

  • December 9, 2012

    by Shawna_S

    I'm only 24 so I don't have fine lines or wrinkles yet, but I do suffer from dark circles and puffiness.

    I ordered this product and received it in just a few days. I was impressed how my eyes felt immediately after applying. Cool and refreshing. For anyone wondering, this serum is clear and absolutely odorless. No fragrance to it and no 'medicine' smell.

    Results were a little slow going at first, but after doing some more research I learned that this product is a therapeutic product, meaning it's designed to work over a period of time, it's not a scam like some of those other companies that promise IMMEDIATE results. No product can do that. After 3 weeks of use I am noticing big improvements.

    Best of all, I am helping to prevent potential wrinkles. Too many ppl think that because they donn't have wrinkles yet, they don't have to think about them. This is a big mistake.

  • December 8, 2012

    by Marcy - Skin Pro

    Tiny,

    I'm having a hard time finding your name in our database - did you order under a different name?

    As the official Skin Care Consultant for the company, I'd like to introduce myself. I'm Marcy, and under Richard's advice I'll be here to help answer questions and support customers. You can post questions for me here or email support@eliteserum.com if you have anything specific you'd like to ask off-record.

    Regards,
    Marcy

    p.s. thanks TIA for giving us this forum to do this. Your site is wonderful for the beauty industry.

  • December 7, 2012

    by Beth

    This product is amazing! I'm 62 and I use this stuff twice everyday but I do use only a very small amount to prevent and reduce wrinkles. Let me say that it works and I love it!

  • November 23, 2012

    by Tiny Ly

    I had a bad experience with Elite

  • October 13, 2012

    by sri

    Hi Rachel,

    I have very bad dark circles and i have tried all options. By reading all Elite serum reviews , I understand that it works effectively for wrinkles, not for dark circles. Please do let me know, will elite treat dark circles effectively as well

    Thanks

  • October 2, 2012

    by Peggy

    I have been using the Elite Serum, from the syringe, all over my face. I figure it is safe for the eyes so why not the entire face and neck? It does not take very much extra product to do this. I have thus eliminated all creams, lotions and potions. In the end, I am saving money as well.

  • October 1, 2012

    by yvonne

    Hi, I have used Elite Serum for a week and same like you, it is drying. I shall try your method. Thanks.

  • September 11, 2012

    by Stacey Palmer

    suffer from dark circles and puffiness. I work long hours so I don't get proper rest. I've tried tons of other serums and nothing works.

    I recently purchased this product after learning about Argireline on Dr. Oz.

    I was immediately impressed with the packaging. Elite Serum comes in a unique package that looks like a syringe, but it's not.

    I love the serum itself. It's clear and odorless, non sticky and glides on effortlessly. I am able to apply my under eye makeup within minutes. This serum doesn't dry my skin either, it's very hydrating.

    After 2 weeks of use, my dark circles are significantly lighter and it's making my fine lines less noticeable.

    I would highly recommend this product to anybody who is looking for an eye treatment miracle!

  • September 10, 2012

    by Magda

    Ellen I haven't use the Elite Serum between my eyes but for me the serum works well to conceal eye wrinkles on the corners.

  • August 26, 2012

    by Ellen

    Has anyone tried using it on the lines between the eyes? Seems to me it should work on those lines as well.

  • June 29, 2012

    by Richard Banks - Skin Pro (Elite Serum)

    We have now updated our FAQs to include specific instructions on how to properly use and care for the Elite Serum syringe.

    http://www.skinpro.com/faqs

    A copy of this will be sent with each order and we are working on a professional video to demonstrate correct use.

  • June 28, 2012

    by Richard Banks - Skin Pro (Elite Serum)

    Thanks for the review, Kathy.

    So far the response to the new syringe dispensing system has been overwhelmingly positive. Certainly the defective syringe as mentioned by Marta in her initial review is an isolated incident, one that we take very seriously and the top priority of our engineering department who designed this custom applicator solution.

    We get a handful of these a month and I still firmly believe that the PROS outweigh the CONS here, particularly because we do replace the product for free with no hassle, no matter if you order directly from our website or on Amazon.

    I want to make sure that all of our customers are 110% satisfied with their purchase!

    Best regards,

    Richard Banks
    Skin Pro - CTO

  • June 13, 2012

    by Kathy

    I love the syirnge dispensing system. I am able to place a tiny drop on my finger to apply to one eye, then another drop to apply to the other eye. No waste. The container is very generous and should last a very long time with just a few drops a day! My skin just drinks this up and I can apply powder eyemakeup in minutes with no caking or creasing.

  • May 17, 2012

    by Richard Banks - Skin Pro (Elite Serum)

    Hi Samantha,

    I appreciate the positive comments regarding the airless syringe dispensing system. Again, I reiterate that what Marta experienced is an isolated incident and I have followed up by sending more samples to Marta to independently evaluate. I do not believe that her or her other testers (who are currently evaluating the product as well) will experience that issue with the 'squirting' syringe again.

    Samantha, I would be happy to answer your questions here or by email to sales <at> skinpro <dot> com.

    Best regards,

    Richard Banks
    Skin Pro - CTO

  • May 17, 2012

    by Samantha

    Used the old version - it worked but I despise airless pumps! I got an email to save 50% to try the new improved version and I'm glad I did. The syringe applies a perfect amount to my hand's palm, which I use my index finger to apply to my face. I haven't had any issue with the syringe dispensing too much or it being faulty, I'm on my second one now and never had that issue. I could see how that'd be annoying but mine work perfectly.

    I get many comments on my skin and would like to thank you for the review of this product. I entered a giveaway on another site and was wondering if you will offer a similar deal, Marta.

    Also Richard from Skinpro can I ask you questions here?

  • May 12, 2012

    by tiffany gallehugh

    I would love to dare to try the serum. i am all about finding the perfect eye cream. i would love to share my review on my blog.health and beauty 4ever.

  • May 12, 2012

    by Cyndie

    I have puffy eyes with dark circles. The peptides listed will help with the fine lines developing. I would love to try the Elite Serum.

  • May 11, 2012

    by Naveed

    I have dark circle and fine lines around my eyes . I am 40 year and not yet any thing now I impressed this article and dare to try this elite eye serum .if it suite me then I will continue it and inform u about it's result

  • May 10, 2012

    by Elena

    The packaging is very unusual and the list of ingredients seems very interesting and promising. Of course, I'd like to try it

  • May 8, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    "... all about peptides, " and "Dark circles are potentially treated..." made my heart go pitty-pat until I spied Snap-8 in the ingredients list. I use YBF Correct daily in the mornings, but am actively searching for a drop-dead knock-out to end all eye creams for overnight that will aid my dark circles. And, I agree, that syringe thing would drive me mad! ~jk

  • May 8, 2012

    by Marta

    Thanks Richard, we'll be getting other reviews in over the next few weeks and we'll see how they get on with the syringe. But, aside from that, I do enjoy using Elite.

  • May 8, 2012

    by Richard Banks - Skin Pro (Elite Serum)

    Hi Marta,

    Thanks for your review. I am happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the positive benefits of the peptide-infused serum. One point that I would like to make is with regards to the packaging.

    The 'squirting' that you mentioned of the serum is a defect in the operation of the airless syringe. This has been reported to us by customers on a few occasions and we do replace these for them upon request, at our expense.

    I would say it is only affecting a very small sample size of less than 1% of the Elite Serums. I stress that by design this occurs very infrequently. Did your other testers experience this 'squirting' issue? I use this product twice daily since inception and so does my entire family and nobody has reported to me that this has occurred for them.

    However, we do receive the odd customer inquiry about this and as mentioned, we replace it without hassle.

    Thanks again for taking the time to post your genuine experiences with the Elite Serum.

    Best regards,

    Richard Banks
    Skin Pro - CTO

  • May 8, 2012

    by Yendry Morales

    interesting commentary Marta. I came to Google to find out what others said about Elite Serum because I use it for 4 months now. I have big improvement in skin tone and notice less wrinkling. I also had issue with the dryness you suggest, which is why I visit Google and now your site to see if others have same problem. It works better for me using once per day - it maybe too strong for twice daily use as directions state. I was a user of the old serum and this version is better - the syringe is a perfect way to dispense - maybe you had a faulty one, mine never came off. I will continue to see what others say - I'm a big supporter of the Elite serum.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...