Free shipping on all orders over $39

The Science Behind Rejuvel 3D Cell Technology

rejuvel 3d logo
October 6, 2015 Reviewed by Marta 65 Comments

Patents licensed from NASA, 3D cellular technology, microgravity, biomimetic suspension. Perhaps all this space-age babble put me in mind of Matt Damon in The Martian and his memorable quote, “I’m going to have to science the sh- out of this.” In other words, my skept-ometer went into the red zone when I was sent an email about a new serum called Rejuvel 3D ($149 in the shop).

The first thing I did was check on the patents (I didn’t know it was even possible to license a patent from NASA). They are legit and, without blinding you with science, they referred to things like “cells in a three dimensional co-culture process” and three dimensional cell growth facilitated by an electromagnetic field. Still, I wasn’t much wiser and had no idea what a 3D cell might be and how it could end up in my next anti-aging serum.

So the nice people at Rejuvel arranged for me to speak to their head scientist. And what I learned was extremely intriguing and could even be a new frontier in anti-aging skincare.

It started with NASA scientists wanting to get things to grow faster in space. Imagine cells in a petri dish clustered in two dimensions and therefore with limited communication between them. Even worse, cells in a dish start sticking to the plastic and form “unnatural cell attachments.” On the other hand, cultures of 3D cells are able to communicate more as result of forming appropriate cell-to-cell attachments.

These cells are in a kind of rotating vessel that NASA originally invented in order to figure out the effects of microgravity (think astronauts floating around weightlessly). When cells were cultivated in this vessel, they were found to be three dimensional, much like real ones in plants or humans. There are a couple of elements to the cylinder that are helpful for cell culture. One is the reduction of friction, which can stress cells out. The other is a magnetic pulse that further stimulates the cells.

Now this is all well and good, but how does it all relate to the Rejuvel 3D serum? A quick perusal of the ingredients list shows there’s some Matrixyl 3000 (a peptide combo that increases collagen but doesn’t have much to do with NASA) and green tea.

It turns out that the green tea is actually plant stem cells taken from the callus cells (the cells that are triggered when a plant is wounded) and subjected to culture within the rotating cylinder. So, it boils down (weak pun intended) to tea from 3D stem cells. The theory being that being more akin to actual cells, they will communicate better with ours and go about getting useful things done, like making fibroblast.

The proof, of course, is in the potion and I’ll be testing my bottle of Rejuvel 3D serum in the weeks to come.

  • October 14, 2015

    by michele

    how can i sample this???

  • October 14, 2015

    by ted

    This may be a scam run by penny stock promoters. I don't know. I mention this because I am a penny stock investor and found this company today. It was intriguing, which led me to this site. A popular penny stock discussion board called IHUB has quite a few postings that say this is not a serious company. I don't have an opinion yet, but thought I'd let your know. Here is a link to their page for this company: http://investorshub.advfn.com/Rejuvel-Bio-Sciences-Inc-NUUU-28930/

  • October 14, 2015

    by Eli

    Hi Marta, your scientific description of this serum got me interested since I am a scientist. Me and my sister want to test the serum. I am 67 and my sister is 68 years old. I have wrinkles on my cheeks, around my mouth and chin area. My sister's face is much worse, full of wrinkles and sagging. Just wondered, can you also use this serum on hands? Thank you for your attention.

  • October 12, 2015

    by Darlene Trinker

    Hi, I would like to give this product a chance to work on my skin. Since I was 23 I went from having a beautiful skin to having a "pizza face" skin within one year. Since then I have been running to dermatologists to try to fix the scars, the dark spots, the oily skin, the white heads that form from morning to night time. I'm tired of it all, and if that was not enough I now have wrinkles on my forhead and the sagging is starting to show around my mouth. I'm a super vain 53 year old, Brazilian women with lots of fixing that I would love to work on and an enormous amount of persistence to work on my appearances.

  • October 11, 2015

    by Robin

    I am intrigued by this new discovery--and would adore being a tester of it! I am 55 and my skin is in pretty good shape, except for some sagging here and there and also some discoloration in one area of my neck. I am searching for the magic potion, too! Thank you, Marta, for all that you do for our "skin concerned" community.

  • October 11, 2015

    by Lynne

    Why should I be a tester? Simple, because every time Marta reviews a special super product, I have to have it. While some have been good I am still searching for that really magic one though.

  • October 10, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Staci, the call for testers went out in our newsletter. You'll see a sign up on every page of the site. As a newsletter subscriber you'll be alerted to all calls for testers, promotions and sales and be given a special discount code that you can use every time you shop. Join our newsletter community!

  • October 10, 2015

    by Staci

    Hello, I see many people have offered to test this product, however, I didn't see a "request for testers", nor a response to inquiries. Are you in fact looking for people to test this product? Like the others, I would be very interested as well. I'm 40 years old and have relatively young looking skin, minus the beginning of aging starting to show (gravity is JUST starting to show its positioning, frown lines and forehead wrinkles are my main concerns).

  • October 8, 2015

    by Melissa

    I would love to test this product. I recently made my first purchase from your site, based on your recommendation, and I am pleased with the product. I turn 63 in 3 months and my middle son is getting married next summer. I would love to look my very best for his wedding

  • October 8, 2015

    by Flossie

    I would love to try this Rejuvel with you. I have for the second time in my live put myself under exstream depresstion over the death of another brother(the first one was my twin, 25 years ago) it took me just over two years to be able to go on with my live and deal with the pain now the pain is back and I feel just like I did 25 years ago, anyway this isn't about my depression it's about what depression and stress do to your skin, in three months I've aged at lest five years. I ordered some other cream (I didn't read all the small print and was charged almost six hundred for not reading the small print cause that cream did nothing for me but stress me out more cause my credit card wouldn't take the charge off. I would love to try this cause it really sounds like something that would work, I would love to look more my age (55) than 65.
    Best of luck to who ever you choose.

  • October 8, 2015

    by elisa

    I am a HUGE SPACE GEEK so the "NASA" got my full attention. I would love to try this along side my skincare guru Marta. I am in one of the most female age biased professions there is..(i'll let you guess which one of the many i am referring to), and the invasive stuff is not for me, so skincare is of the utmost importance to me. Here's hoping...

  • October 8, 2015

    by Betsie

    I would love to join you in testing Rejuvel. I am 61 years old and have tried many products some better than others.
    This product sounds intriguing to me! Being in the Beauty business for over 40 years I would be able to give an honest review of this product.

  • October 8, 2015

    by Julie

    This has certainly got my attention. They can produce 3D stem cells for liver growth etc., so why not face? I would love to try this. I am 55 and have tried all sorts of high end products for anti aging.

  • October 8, 2015

    by Dina

    Marta
    I have been reading your reviews for a long time now and always wondered just how it all works. I'd love to test this product with you for hands on experience from the beginning. In addition, the three d technology intrigues me a d I have high hopes for rejuvel. I'm 45, divorcing and am having a difficult time adjusting to the changes in my skin. I know I need to find a regime ( and possibly procedures), quick in order to halt this terrifying aging process. Thank you for your site as it certainly brings a little much needed clarity to the over encumbering world of anti aging products.

  • October 8, 2015

    by Jessica

    This is my first post, though I have thoroughly read, more like devoured, the reviews and articles on your website for some time. I am fascinated by science and our discoveries in general, its an added bonus when it contributes to my skin care regimine. I would provide an in depth, honest, unbiased and fair review. I would describe my pros and qualms with the product and research the details behind the product to allow others who may have differing opinions the most information in order to base their own decision. I am 33 and spent my teenage years basking in the sun I love so much and yet have so much disdain for.

  • October 7, 2015

    by Susan

    The subject of patents on this article is timely, as just yesterday I had a conversation with a scientist regarding the implication of something being patented. Three points were emphasized:

    1) Patents are not proof that the object works or gives the desired results.
    2) Patents are used to establish proprietorship.
    3) Patents allow discussion within the scientific community.

    While the ingredients are intriguing, there isn't a certainty they will deliver.

  • October 7, 2015

    by Kelly

    I would like to join you in testing Rejuvel. Very discouraged with my skin lately, just getting old so quickly. I was lucky for a lot of years but that has run out . I'm a 51 yo female post menopause and spent too much time in the sun for too many years.

  • October 7, 2015

    by Dee

    I would love to try it!!!

  • October 7, 2015

    by Gina Fair

    I'm game! I'd love to try this. I'm all for science.

  • October 7, 2015

    by Sharon

    I am up for a trial run.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Rod

    Bring it on! If you're looking for a guy to try it, here I am....

  • October 6, 2015

    by Susan

    I would love to test Rejuvel 3D serum . I am 52 years old and on a journey to find new "elixirs " to ward off gravity and the ravage of menopause! I would like to do my part as a middle age American women , by offering myself up in the name of science!! Testing this new product is the least I can do. I would be very proud and thoroughly report back with my findings. Anything for science! :)

  • October 6, 2015

    by Christine

    Hello Martha,

    First off I want to thank you for the products and all the R & D you have done for all the ladies looking for the best of the best for our skin. I am often told I look 10-20 years younger and I do believe it can be attributed to the great products I've found and use on your site. I take my health and skin extremely serious and want to be a good representative on what's achievable with good products and consistency. I see you have many worthy women volunteering to test this very promising new product but please add me to that list if there is room :)

  • October 6, 2015

    by Donna Schneider-Stockstrom

    I own a spa and love the science behind skincare. I frequently use TIA as a resource and currently retail a line (Cosmetic Skin Solutions) based on info I found on TIA. I want to offer my clients the best, result-driven products that are currently available and would love to try Rejuvel 3D to determine if it would be effective for both me and my clients.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Debbie

    I would love to test Rejuvel 3D. I am nearing 55. I take great care of my skin and seem to always be intrigued with the latest and next greatest skin care product that will continue to keep the youthful look that I have managed so far. I'm still searching for the best skincare product. Is Rejuvel 3D the one?

  • October 6, 2015

    by Vivian

    Hi Marta,
    Thank you for creating this site. I have a PhD in Neuropsychology and highly value research, even the anecdotal clinical reports we are limited to with our skincare products, and I am very grateful for your clear and thorough reviews. This product utilizes intriguing new technology.
    I am 63 years old, have taken excellent care of my skin and have never used much makeup (only under-eye concealer and mascara, with the occasional addition of blush, but in recent years not even that) and have always received compliments on my skin. But lately the products I have been using to firm my throat and jawline have started to let me down and the marionette lines are also becoming more prominent.
    I am desperate to stave off the effects of gravity and would love to see this new tech work. I don't know if any cells applied to the surface of the skin can actually interact with our own, but these would certainly have a greater chance of working than previous formulations. Now if only they could create an electromagnetic field around our face to keep it lifted, THAT would be something!
    I would be very grateful to have a chance to try out this new serum with you.
    Thanks for considering me.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Michele Watson

    I volunteer to test this in the interests of all TIA mature age futurists like myself who are willing to travel far and wide for the perfect skin solution. My skin is as dry as Mars reflecting seasonal weather patterns and unpredictable surfaces. My neck has long succumbed to forces of gravity and if Rejuvel 3D serum works as it claims I will sign up for the rest of the range too!

  • October 6, 2015

    by SusanDe

    Well, at least it isn't iron rose quartz crystals discovered on Mars, ha. It seems to have some science behind it.

  • October 6, 2015

    by angela

    I love serums and always look for the next big thing. My dermatologist knows that I am always on the cutting edge when it comes to skin care, and he respects my opinion before suggesting new products for hid patients. I'll bet he's never heard anything like 3 D stem cells! He'll be intrigued and so am I!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Tina

    Hi Marta,

    WOW, this sounds like a very intriguing product and since you and I are the same age and like to use products with the latest & greatest technology .... it would be interesting to compare notes & opinions after taking this product for a test drive. Both of us always incorporate the heavy-hitting ingredients like peptides and growth factors because we need ingredients that are going to really go to work to renew our skin, turn the cells over, take care of existing damage and diminish the wrinkles and imperfections -- while preventing our skin from accelerated aging and breakdown of collagen. Would love to see what miracles Rejuvel 3D could work for my skin!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Cubanbarbie

    Can't wait to hear if it works well; we're all looking for that perfect potion to preserve us :)

  • October 6, 2015

    by Jane

    I am the youngest in my group of friends and am always being mistaken for the oldest. The texture of my skin has changed dramatically as early menopause, stress, and a polluted environment have taken there toll on my skin over the past 4 years. I have had some success with products purchased on your site but have never participated in a test before, I would LOVE to try this product and see if it can deliver.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Marion

    I am a skin care junkie and I do use alot of the products that are in Rejuvel 3 D. I do not have sensitive skin and will try the pfoduct for the allited time. Everyone comes to me for what's new on the market.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Elizabeth, it takes a bit to get your head around this, but - yes - that's the point. All live cells are 3D. But when you try to synthesize them in a lab, in a typical petri-dish setting they are deformed, squished against one another and the plastic dish and lose their pure 3 dimensions, becoming, in parts, 2D. The NASA invented cylinder creates a frictionless environment in which the cells are allowed to be 3D. Most cosmetics use lab synthesized cells and so this is supposed to be a step up.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Dee Beck

    I would love the opportunity to test Rejuvel 3D. I'm always interested in new and unique products to try on my 63 year old skin. My skin is dry with a loss of elasticity, some sun spots, fine lines and dark circles under my eyes. Rejuvenel 3D sounds like it could be just what I've been looking for.
    It doesn't get more unique than a serum from NASA. If they can send a man into space I think Rejuvel 3D could be my ticket to better skin.
    Thank you Marta!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Denise

    Very interesting. I'd love to test it on my 58 year old skin only because it sounds like something out of a sci-fi movie. I guess that makes me a skeptic :)

  • October 6, 2015

    by Debbie Fontenette

    Hi Marta. I believe I would be a great candidate to test this new cutting edge serum, as I already use all the regular ingrediants that we know encourage cell turnover - vitamin C serum. hylaronic acid, peptides, and retin A. I also exfoliate regularly and use my Ultra Renew Plus religiously 5 nights a week. If this formula is truly something special, I think I'll know it. Thanks for your consideration and all of your amazing work!!!
    Ps I am 52.

  • October 6, 2015

    by melodysaw

    I purchased all my skin care products from this site because I trust you. all my girlfriend comment on my good skin. I would love to try the Rejuvel 13.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Elizabeth

    Sounds interesting, but aren't all cells 3 dimensional ie not flat, single layer 2-D?

  • October 6, 2015

    by Lyn

    sounds interesting. can't wait to hear your review.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Linda Lu

    I would love to channel my inner Jane Jetson with Rejuvel 3D! We women of a certain age, are always searching for that magic potion that will restore, delay or rejuvenate.

    One of the most attractive features of this product is, depending upon it's efficacy, the price point. Wouldn't we all love to find a magic elixir at an affordable price?

    I would love to test drive this product and hope it's science, not fiction. From the highlighted ingredients, this could be the one!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Delia Sadler

    I would love to try the Rejuvel 13. I am 62 with fairly good skin, but any product that targets wrinkles and neck area, would be a good investment to ward off the signs of aging.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Cynthia

    Space-the final frontier, one I'd like to travel! Skin will need help before I go.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Maria

    I have been a big fan of your website and have shared it with many. I have been through a lot of changes recently and my skin has shown it. I would be honored to share your journey in trying your latest treasure.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Elizabeth

    I have tried about every serum out there and have not found something that really works well for me. I would love to try Rejuvel 3D serum; it sounds great! Thank you!!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Lori

    Hi, what an intriguing new product! I just turned 50 this year and am always trying the latest and greatest in natural skincare to help with forehead wrinkles, sagging skin, and sun damage from the days of silver tanning blankets, baby oil and iodine :) I love reading about and trying new products that will help me age gracefully! Keep us posted on results and if you need more testers.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Mary

    I'm 55 and known for my lotions and potions approach to keeping wrinkles and sagging at bay.....until a year ago. I had severe stress life ocurrence and have yet to find anything to reverse the lack of care and stress effects for the months I spent caring for my loved one. I'd love to try the breakthrough technology with you!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Imelda

    I just reached a milestone and would be curious to find out if this serum can soften (the lines) and lift around the mouth, chin and jaws areas which gravity has slowly and sadly slackened. I also want to see if this serum can decrease puffiness around the eyes. Evrything seemed to be changing at this age:(

  • October 6, 2015

    by Cindy

    Wow. It sounds amazing. Can't wait to try it!!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Paula Singletary

    I would be a good candidate to test Rejuvel 3D because I am sixty years old and always on the look out for something that REALLY is anti-aging, and not toxic. I've always taken good care of my skin and may be genetically blessed, because people say I don't look my age. But I can see the aging process beginning...and would love to reverse it. Who wouldn't?

    Thanks for letting me(hopefully) test with you, Marta.

    Paula Singletary

  • October 6, 2015

    by Paula Singletary

    I would like to test Rejuvel 3D!

  • October 6, 2015

    by kate

    Hi Marta,

    As an Esthetician working in a medical setting, I feel with my knowledge of skin care and ingredients, I would be a perfect fit for giving my opinion on this product. I am very interested in this technology. Not just for myself but for my clients. So much of my job is educating clients to skin care lines as well as new technologies. I am a lover of SkinMedica's TNS Serum. To date, I have not found another product that comes close to it.
    Thanks,
    Kate
    Chicago, IL

  • October 6, 2015

    by Cheryl

    I am on your list to receive a sample. I would love to test the Rejuvel 3D product. I am blessed with very healthy skin. I have a regular skin care routine which I am commitment to daily.
    I am impressed with this new skin care product. Love to try it!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Paula

    I would like to test Rejuval 3D. I am 60 years old and have taken good care of my skin.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Tina

    Beam me up Scotty! I think I've already tried every anti-aging cream, serum or potion on this plant, so I'm ready to follow NASA's lead to uncover youth in another galaxy. I'd love to try Rejuvel 3D.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Vio

    Would love to test it. There are very few things that work and I'm getting really desperate.... I'll be 46 in 2 days. We MUST find a "cure" for aging other than well... dying. LOL Please let me test this with you!!!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Marica

    I am 66 and have taken good care of my skin. Highly intrigued in the latest and
    best treatments to forgo deep wrinkles as I grow older. So far, so good.

    I would love to be accepted as a candidate for your trial of Rejuvel 3D!!

    Thanks for your consideration, Martha.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Kathy Blume

    I would love to test Rejuvel 3D serum with you. I'm a huge space geek, always wanted to be an astronaut. But I get seasick in a rocking chair. I'd never be able to handle weightlessness. I'd be the most yerktastic person in space since Barfin' Jake Garn rode the Vomit Comet.

    So, basically, Rejuvel 3D serum is my one chance to collaborate with NASA without losing my lunch.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Beth THOMPSON

    I would love to be a tester. I'm 50. Yikes, that even weird to write. My skin is pretty tight but I'm starting to see a change especially whey I accidentally turn around my iPhone camera on me….

  • October 6, 2015

    by Le

    Hi. I'm an esthetician and have been now for 18 years. I'm in my late 30's and am seeing the effects of surfing 3-5 days a week on my skin. I'm obsessed and dependant on anti-aging serums and would love to try this new technology out with you!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Kristin

    HI Marta. I believe that I would be a great candidate for trying out Rejuvel 3D. I am 50 years old. I have always tried to keep my skin wrinkle free. I use only natural oils and I skin brush. I read read read about different plants and oils that are beneficial to the skin. I am always trying new things that of course are chemical free. I do have problem areas that are in different areas of the neck and face whereas the remainder of the face is smooth. I am an avid skin care geek that is determined not to show age on my face!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Janet

    Hmmm....interesting. Can't wait for your review.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Donna

    1st off thanks so much for offering this trial! I am a 50 something mom who loves finding new discoveries! I review honestly , like or not. I keep up my appearance, after all 50 is not dead, just gets better and better. That said , why not look our very best at ANY age!

  • October 6, 2015

    by Carol

    Love to test with you. I am 65 yrs. old and would love to stimulate my cells as well as increase collagen. This would be fantastic need the firming also.

  • October 6, 2015

    by Kelli

    I will be a tester for you! Pick me because I am 56 and commented first!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...