Free shipping on all orders over $39

Our Rating: 5 stars

Buy this product

AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum- reviewed and recommended

Reviewed by Marta May 2, 2012 53 Comments

Pros

A high concentration of growth factors

Cons

May pill under makeup if not used sparingly
One of 2012's top serums

I ended my introduction to AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum ($149 for 1oz in the shop) at the beginning of last month with the words “now let’s see how it works.” Well, here’s my answer after a five-week trial: it works. I mean really works. And really what more is there to say. No ifs. No buts. AQ is an anti-aging serum that is repairing my wrinkles and improving the texture of the skin.  OK, I suppose I could say a few more things.

AQ Serum is up there with the greats – at least the ones that qualified for my Five Best anti-aging serums of 2011. There is no doubt that when I update the list later this year, AQ will be amongst them.

When Kristen did my makeup for the last batch of videos (for example the interview with Kahina’s founder), she said “whatever you are doing to your skin, keep doing it.” Mostly what I was doing was AQ – mornings only. I find that as long as I add in three or four nights a week Your Best Face Control and Skin Nutrition’s Night Cream, I don’t need to layer a moisturizer over the AQ serum.

However, I do think that most users will find the solution less oily than BioEffect and less gel-like than ReLuma’s serum. AQ is a slightly milky, very light solution. It goes a long way and, in my experience, need only be used sparingly – indeed, should be used sparingly to avoid pilling under makeup. I have used it as an eye serum and found it to be very firming (AQ has a separate product for eyes that I have yet to try).

AQ’s formula is simple: a couple of vitamins, lactic acid and glycerin with the dominant ingredient being the active human fibroblast conditioned media. According to the bumpf that came with my free sample, AQ has a concentration of 42% of these growth factors.

For a quick primer on what this is: from progenitor cells of human fibroblast, new cells are created in a laboratory and the conditioned media is, in fact, the solution (sugars, amino acids and such) secreted in the petri dish in which the cells are grown. These proteins are what make it into our serums,they supposedly contain growth factors that are said to stimulate skin cells to repair damage that has accumulated over the years, such as hyperpigmentation and wrinkles. AQ says that it uses a “cell sorting technology” to ensure that the formula only includes growth factors that are beneficial to the skin.

My (not especially elegant) plastic pump is said to hold enough for about 8 weeks. I would say it will last as least as long as that. I can also tell you that I will be using it to the end and will purchase a second bottle.

Ingredients: Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Polysorbate 20, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lactic Acid, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Phenoxyethanol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol.

 

Buy Me
$ 149.00
  • February 12, 2017

    by eric ainge

    Hi Everyone,
    Does this serum last one month or two? I am using Regenica's Rejuvinating Dual Serum and I love the results but it only lasts 4-6 weeks cause of the thickness. I am thinking of switching to this or Reluma's Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Serum. Many thanks in advance and any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

  • November 1, 2015

    by Susan

    My nurse uses this on me after I get needled for 6-8 weeks and I use after I roll with my roller every night. 45 and loving the results!

  • June 10, 2014

    by lorimac45

    Question. Is there a shelf life on this product? I have some that I purchased at a discount but I'm not sure how "fresh" it is.

    Thank you.

  • March 15, 2014

    by Maggie

    I have been using AQ Skin Solutions for about two years and was just wondering whether it is a good idea to take a break from it periodically. I have had great results and now use it only at night. I was wondering whether I should use it even less--say a couple of times a week, or take a month off and start over. Do you have any recommendations?

  • August 28, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Nanci, I think there is always a risk when layering too serums. Plus I think there is a law of diminishing returns. As always, you should find a regimen that seems to work for you, but I would suggest using one serum at night and one in the morning. A little moisturizer on top though should be fine.

  • August 27, 2013

    by Nanci

    I just started using this at night and have been also using the mad hippie vitamin c serum with it. Because I also find it drying I pat a little Kiehl's moisturizer on top of the two serums. Should I be doing this or am I compromising the AQ Serum?

  • August 6, 2013

    by deboarh falero

    I have been using this and the eye formula. I would like to know what is the best moisturizer to use with this. I was told not to use anything with the Retinol A in it. Any suggestions.

  • January 12, 2013

    by Michele Watson

    Hi Nicky
    I found it best to use on own at night and not under makeup.

  • January 11, 2013

    by Nicky

    I have been using this for over 4 weeks onto my second bottle ..It has definitely made my overall skin texture look better and has reduced my pore sizes a little .. I have had similar effects with some other products that were cheaper but they irritated the skin more than this does .. I have used it with my sirius aurora ..what I don't like is my skin doesn't feel hydrated it feels dry ... the serum texture goes on well but .. if you put too much on under makeup by accident ..you get that crumbly effect ..The eye cream I was not so fussed with wrote a review on the eye cream page .. I will try other products as its pricey would I go back to it... maybe ... if I needed a skin boost but would have to alternate products due to dryness.. which adds more expense to your skincare regime this may work way better on skin that's not dry ..

  • December 20, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Jan-Marie, AQ can be used with ultrasound as it is water based. However, it might not be very economical as you do need enough product to ensure that there is plenty of slip and the device glides comfortably over the skin as well as has sufficient conductivity. You might find yourself going through a bottle quickly.

  • December 19, 2012

    by Jan-Marie Gendlin

    Can AQ be used with Ultra Renew? specifically, the ulrasound. I love this product!

  • December 19, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Shannon: here are a couple of articles with suggestions for 30-somethings:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/a-skincare-regimen-for-30-somethings

    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/beauty-regimen-for-a-30-something-new-mom

  • December 19, 2012

    by shannon

    oh thanks Marta! i was searching for anti aging skin care and found your reviews on AQ.. What would you recommend for anti aging for women in early 30s then? i would like to prevent/ delay wrinkles!

  • December 19, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Shannon, I only recommend this type of active ingredient for someone with wrinkles - it needs something to repair.

  • December 19, 2012

    by shannon

    hi, im 30 yrs old this yr, and im wondering if this product is suitable for me, or is it more for mature skin?

  • November 13, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Sheree,

    Don't feel like you made a mistake in referring to the serum as a cosmetic. Most products, ESPECIALLY anti-aging products HAVE to advertise as "improvements in the appearance of". And the reason is because the FDA regulates how cosmetic products are advertised. Cosmetic products (including skincare), cannot make treatment claims because they are not drugs or medications. By law, we have to phrase our advertising in particular ways. So even for myself in answering your question, I can't say that my product is not a cosmetic, or that the results you are seeing are not cosmetic. But what I CAN do, is give you a more detailed explanation of what you are seeing, and how our science is working for you, and explain that what you are seeing is not a "mask".

    You had a great and valid question!

  • November 9, 2012

    by Sheree Pecoraro

    Thank you Pamela. And I'm sorry, I probably chose the wrong word in using "cosmetic". I know the serum isn't a cosmetic, I meant were the improvements I'm seeing actual changes in the skin or as many products and commercials say "improvements in the 'appearance' of"... Your explanation was great, thanks again!

  • November 9, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Sheree,

    Thank you so much for your comment and review! I am delighted that you are having such a wonderfully positive experience with AQ.

    To answer your question, the effects of the using our product are not necessarily cosmetic in the sense that it does not contain a whitening agent or a coloring agent that changes the tone and texture. It also does not contain any ingredients that are designed to mask or create an appearance the way make-up does. And the effects are not washed off when the product wears off.

    Our product is absorbed into the skin and provides your skin with the proteins that young healthy skin makes. As you age, your skin produces less of these proteins (growth factors). The growth factors are what help nourish the skin and help it to replenish and stay healthy looking. As with any aging process, when you age, your body just makes less of what it needs to remain vibrant. As a result, you have to supplement. The growth factors in our product go to supplement the ones your body is no longer making. As a result, your skin is able to behave more closely to the way it once did when it wasn't short in growth factors. The results you are seeing are a result of your skin's ability to replenish now that it has the proper nutrients and tools to do so.

    As far as your question regarding whether the results are lasting, it's important to remember that we cannot stop the aging process. Even though we are able to supplement with nutrients our body no longer makes, if we stop supplementing with those nutrients, our body will still continue to deteriorate at it's own rate and not produce the growth factors that are needed to stay vibrant. And of course, as you age, your body will only continue to make less growth factors. A good skincare regimen is part of what we do to maintain a youthful looking appearance, just the way that we need to eat vitamins to supplement for what our bodies no longer make enough of.

    As for deep lip lines and sagging jaw lines, I will leave that question to those who have already had experience with AQ to tell you what their experiences are with them. It would be best to have a testimonial rather than an endorsement from an AQ employee. I believe Marta has mentioned that it did help her with some of her lip lines, and another user who said it has worked well for her neck and decollete area.

    Always happy to answer your questions!

    Pam

  • November 9, 2012

    by Sheree Pecoraro

    I just finished making my second purchase of this product and then proceeded to write a review and included a question which probably would have been better written here.

    Can you tell me if the effects of this serum are cosmetic or are actual lasting changes in the skin? I'm also wondering if I can expect any benefit for deep lip lines and sagging jaw line? These two are my most aging concerns. Thanks..

  • November 6, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hello Lydia,

    Allow me to help clarify! You have a very good question. The AQ FACE Serum includes a TGF-Beta GF that actually inhibits hair growth. So if you are using the face serum on your face, it will not cause your facial hair to grow stronger or thicker.

    This same GF that inhibits hair growth has been removed from our AQ Eye Serum, because of course, it is for the eye area and we don't want to inhibit the growth of eyelashes or eyebrows. This is why our Eye Serum is effective for eyelashes and brows.

    You can use AQ face serum without worry that you will grow unwanted facial hair! We've taken precaution to assure that that is not a side effect of the product!

    Thanks!

  • November 6, 2012

    by Lydia

    Marta, thank you for the reply. You mentioned “it works on the follicle that produces hair or lashes”. This is exactly my concern. Most women have some facial hair after puberty and it increases in menopausal women 45 years and older. The question is, if AQ serum being applied on a daily basis and as you said “it works on the follicle that produces hair” it means that AQ will 'awaken' the follicle allowing the hair to grow deeper, stronger, thicker. If this happens to eyelashes, then it should be happening to tiny facial hair that are spread somewhere on any woman’s face. Over the long run, there will be more facial hair, which is practically impossible to get rid of. I am looking for a quality firming cream to my mom who is 54. Her friend was using copper peptide cream and ended up with increased facial hair in a year.

  • November 5, 2012

    by Marta

    Hy Lydia I have been a regular user of AQ serum and promise you I have no beard or mustache. For hair growth, it works on the follicle that produces hair or lashes, it won't just make hair grow anywhere.

  • November 5, 2012

    by Lydia

    I read in AQ eye serum reviews that it also promoted eyelashes growth in some users. It that is true then my question is : does AQ skin serum promotes facial hair growth? Have anyone experienced increased facial hair while using AQ? Copper promotes hair growth. I am wondering about AQ.

  • October 30, 2012

    by Karen Prince

    I was given the opportunity to review a sample of AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum and am ready to share my results. I was excited, as I have been using, very successfully, AQ Eye Serum. I did not see any results, initially, my skin broke out, but I stuck with it, as I believed that the break out was due to trying so many different products to find out what worked for my skin for my anti-aging regimen. By the 8th day, things turned around and I am very pleased with the glow that my face has, as well as how it has "calmed down". I am 57 years young, have great skin with few lines, no wrinkles, primarily marionette lines. My skin is normal, but has gotten dryer this year, so I also used YBF "Balance", once the serum dried (30 seconds, it was in my skin). This gave my face an exquisite look as if it was "primed". I do not use foundation, but a loose powder, as I like to see my skin. I wake up at 4:30 a.m. to prepare for my workday and when I arrive home at 7:00 p.m., my face is still perfect. I never touch up my make-up during the day, just never had to do it, so not part of my "ritual". I kept looking at my skin, as my friends were saying, "Your skin looks beautiful, it's so supple. What are you doing?" Honestly, I think that the AQ Skin Solutions Serum helped plump out the marionette lines, as well as my routine use of the Ultra Renew. I will be purchasing a regular size of the product. I highly recommend this for women with mature skin, even if you have few lines...jump start & get ahead of the aging process!!

  • October 29, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Sharon,

    We have had a lot of success with clients who have rosacea, even of the not so mild kind. Our formula includes a set of growth factors called Interleukins that enhance cell defense, regulate cell homeostasis, and is naturally anti-inflammatory. As a result, it actually enhances the immune function of your skin and naturally calms and soothes redness and irritation. We recommend our Active Serum to users who have rosacea to help with the symptoms.

    I encourage you to give our product a try and see if it will work well for you! Please let us know how it works for you!

  • October 27, 2012

    by Sharon Harris Mackey

    Pamela, I have mild rosacea that flares up occasionally. Would I be able to tolerate the active ingredients and the lactic acid in the serum? Thank you, I am excited about a product that could firm up my starting to sag mid face.

  • October 9, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Shalini,

    I am the rep at AQ Skin Solutions and I have very very acne prone skin. In fact, I had a terrible break out and was able to treat it with our clinical treatments. I do use the Active Serum at home to maintain my results and I can say that it is very safe for acne prone skin.

    Acne is caused by over active sebum glands. The sebum glands become overactive for a variety of reasons that are causing an imbalance in your skin. Our product is actually designed to help restore the balance to your skin so that your sebum glands are not overproducing as much. It also has anti-inflammatory properties that will help to reduce redness. And of course as our product is based on would healing technology, it will also help to speed up the healing of acne lesions and lighten acne scars. People with acne prone skin who have used our product have commented that their skin is also less greasy and glossy. I highly recommend it for acne prone skin!

    Thanks!

  • October 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Shalini, this is not an oil based product, although there is a small amount of bergamot oil (unlikely to cause a reaction). This is one of our best sellers and I cannot recall anyone writing in to report an acne breakout as a result of using this. I have sensitive, breakout prone skin and have no issues with it.

  • October 8, 2012

    by Shalini

    Hi. I was interested in purchasing the AQ skin system Active Serum. However, I happen to have an acne prone skin and was wondering if it would be a safe investment for acne-prones and whether this product is oil-free.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Elena

    Hi Pamela,
    I appreciate companies that really listen to their customers and I might give your bergamot-free serum another try. I've recently been looking at a serum by anteage which is based on cytokines. According to literature they play a bigger role in repair/Regeneration. Does your serum contain any cytokines? Anteage publishes the specific ones on their website as they believe there are those that are inflammatory and those that are anti-inflammatory and thus essential.

  • September 25, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hello TIA Community,

    I was inspired to consult my scientists as well as do much of my own research after the comments on bergamot oil. In our formulation, bergamot oil has many uses. One of which is that it is a natural preservative due to it's high anti-bacterial and anti-viral nature which makes it very useful for even acne. It is also used as an anti-oxidant as it is very high in anti-oxidant properties. As well, bergamot oil is also has very strong anti-inflammatory properties. And of course it is also used as a natural fragrance.

    Bergamot in itself is also effective in fighting bacterias that cause UIT's, vaginal infections, psoriasis, and even viruses such as HIV and pneumonia. It is also found to trigger breast cancer cells to die.

    However, it should only be used in dilution and in very small percentages. The amount of bergamot oil found in our products are very minimal, probably equivalent to a drop per bottle.

    The main ingredient in bergamot oil that is phototoxic is Bergapten, which is found in many citrus fruits including grapefruit. It is advised that any topical application of citrus oils can cause sensitivity to sun exposure for certain very sensitive skin types. However, bergapten in itself is being used to treat certain skin discolorations that are associated with sun damage.

    However, science and technology have since found ways to extract bergapten from bergamot oil for use is cosmetics. In fact, the standard now is to use bergapten free bergamot oil.

    In any event, in light of this discussion, AQ has decided to create a formula without bergamot oil for those users who are more sensitive.

    The lactic acid in our product serves many purposes as well. It's a mild exfoliant that removes dead skin cells from the surface to allow for better penetration of our product. Attributed to AQ's effectiveness is it's ability to penetrate and deliver the ingredients to where they need to go.

    As well, lactic acid is a buffering agent that helps maintain the PH balance in products. This is also very important for maintaining the molecular integrity of our product as proteins are very sensitive to anything too acidic or basic. And lastly, lactic acid is also a humectant that helps to retain moisture on skin's surface.

    I've collected some links to studies related to bergamot oil for anyone's reference if they're up for some reading and are as curious as I was.

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22634580

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22465092

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21878361

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21334901

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20690896

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18045389

    http://www.bioline.org.br/pdf?gm07041

    Thank you TIA Community for your patronage!

    PS. Gloria! As always, I am so thrilled to hear about your positive experiences with AQ! It's rewarding to hear that as time goes by, you are noticing more positive results! I have to say, after Marta mentioned that it was good for lashes, I gave it a try myself. I have noticed that my lashes are growing in faster, and filling out so that there is less sparseness in between. As well, the lashes that are growing in are thicker and stronger and don't break as easily! I've had a few of my other clients mention the lash effect as well! Bravo to Marta for taking notice!




  • September 20, 2012

    by Gloria

    Elena so sorry to hear you did not have positive results on the AQ. I have been using the AQ active serum since June and the eye serum for almost 4 weeks. I was a lover of the ReLuma line and while I am still a fan of their products I absolutely love the AQ. I recently went for a facial and she asked me if I had some injections as in Restylane, Juviderm or Botox. When I told her what I was using she was shocked. Marta I also think my lashes are geting darker and or longer. I started using it on my neck and decollete and again wonerful results. It has smoothed some wrinkles on my neck and the rings are not so prominent. My face looks so smooth and I feel that it has lifted and less sagging. I also have been using the Ultra Renew the last 4 weeks 2-3 times a week. I am a redhead and I did not experience any burning problems but always use sunscreen as well. I do not go out in the sun too much though.

    The only bad thing about it is I received all these wonderful products in my new Discover with Marta collection for Fall and I don't want to stop using the AQ to try them.

  • September 14, 2012

    by elena

    i had high hopes for this product, but it failed me completely. Not only did i not see results after 2 1/2 months of diligent monthly use, but my skin became super sensitive due to the constant lactic acid exfoliation and most importantly the very phototoxic bergamot oil (still can't figure out why anyone would use it). I use a lot of sunscreen since the sun is very strong in my country (more like bathe in it), but still managed to get 2 burns on my neck (where the skin is the thinnest). And this is the first time in my life that anything caused a burn on my skin as i'm very careful with it.

  • July 2, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Pinky,

    I'm not sure where you read that AQ should not be used with certain products. The main dominant and active ingredient is Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media. Those are the same proteins that are made by your body's own skin cells, so there should be no compatibility issues with other products. I would suggest that if there are any products that would not be good for your own skin's biology, don't put it on your skin.

    We do recommend that if you are combining the use of AQ with other products, make sure that AQ is applied first and allow 3-5 minutes for the growth factors to completely absorb before applying another product. The more the growth factors are allowed to absorb into your skin without interference of other products that may contain ingredients to block absorption, the better your results will be.

    Also, I AQ's serum is healing and anit-inflammatory, I think it may do very well alone to help with soothing the breakouts you may be having. You may not need to combine so many products. If your skin is already prone to breaking out, the less you are putting on your face, the better.

    I hope this answers your questions!

  • June 30, 2012

    by Pinky

    I read somewhere (upthread, yes?) that one should not use AQ with Renova. Is there a technical reason for this that can be shared here? Is there any other type of product that should NOT be layered under or over this serum?

    I ask, because I've been using AQ with Retin A, Prevage and Blue Copper. I've been putting Retin-A over the AQ (less pilling that way) and then using either the Prevage or the Copper, depending on how bad my face is breaking out (copper soothes the breakouts).

  • June 26, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Gloria!

    That is wonderful news! I am so happy to hear that you are having great results! We do have a lot of clients who use it on their neck and to help with the pigmentation in the chest area. It works wonders. Can't wait to hear how it goes!

  • June 26, 2012

    by Gloria Gerber

    I have been using the serum now for almost 2 weeks and I can honestly say I have seen an improvement in my skin. My skin has kind of taken a beating over the last few months because of losing my husband. I absolutely love the Reluma line. I think I have found a new love. I am looking into the eye serum as well. Pam I am going to start using it on my neck as well. One of the things I love is you need very little to do your whole face and neck. I will update later!

  • May 21, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Michele,

    We do not have a separate product specifically for neck firming. AQ Active Serum is designed to be used everywhere. In fact, we have several clients who've used it on their hands and arms for age spots and wrinkles, and also in the decollete area for the same reasons. They've also used it on minor cuts and burns to speed up healing and reduce scarring. I think you will definitely see improvement on your neck for neck firming. However, depending on the level of firming you need I'm not sure of how dramatic the results will be from regular topical application.

    I do however recommend our dermastamping treatment for neck firming. It's done with a licensed provider and penetrates a more concentrated formula of growth factors into your skin. Also as well, the effect of microneedling will trigger your bodys' natural healing response to produce collagen and firm. I'm not sure where you are, but feel free to email me, pamela@aqskinsolutions.com. I'd be happy to find you a provider in your area.

    Thanks for the question Michele!

  • May 18, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    Pamela would AQ be good for neck firming-or do you have another product?

  • May 7, 2012

    by Bess

    Marta, I am so glad to hear that you loved AQ. I have used both the face and the eye serum on an off since your first review in 2008. It is an amazing product and find myself returning to it again and again. For a 56-year old woman, my skin is remarkably elastic. After using the eye serum for a year, I stopped using under-eye concealer altogether. The skin beneath my eyes is firm and bright. I now use both products only once daily -- actually, once nightly. Do check with AQ about using the serum with other products. They advise separating the application of Renova and AQ (when I was using both products, I used AQ in the am and Renova in the pm). Best of all, the manufacturer has reduced the bundled price. And finally, I'd rather pay for product and performance than packaging, I'm sure you and your readers feel the same. Cheers! Bess.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Joan

    I've used the AQ Skin Solutions in the past (it may have had a slightly different name ... A&G?) and will say it is the only product I've ever used that made a visible difference in my skin in less than 2 weeks. People noticed and commented on the changes in the appearance of my skin. No other product has ever done that.

    At that time, it was about $199/bottle. I don't think I ever got 8 weeks out of a bottle. Maybe 6, tops. It was very effective, but eventually I just couldn't keep spending that kind of money.

    I wish I had never stopped.

    In the last year or so, I've tried Reluma Skin Illuminating Anti-Aging Serum, Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Repair Moisturizer and E'shee Serum Cellular Repair (over $370 for the 3 different products) and the results were minimal at best. Nothing special, nothing visible.

    I'm glad to see that AQ has brought their price point down a little closer to earth. I'm definitely going back to Skin Solutions.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Marta and Lisa, I think you will both find that getting into a good habit of treating at night is going to benefit you overall, no matter what your routine is. i used to be terrible at it too, always falling asleep working on my computer. But not having a good night routine does more damage than not even if you are using good products in the morning. Now that I've been more diligent about it, even if it means waking myself up at 3 am to wash my face and treat it after I've fallen asleep, has made a HUGE difference. Please keep us all updated on whether I'm right or not!

    PS. sorry for the not so sexy plastic bottle, but you'd rather have a sexy face right? From my inside knowledge of how expensive it is for us to manufacture this product, I can HONESTLY say, you truly are paying for the content, not the packaging.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hello everyone! Let me comment that we are in the process of preparing and packaging to participate in one of Marta's "Discover with Marta" collections (hoping I'm not ruining any surprises). We are planning on including both an active and an eye serum for testing. For those of you who are really curious, that would be a good opportunity to try our product!

  • May 2, 2012

    by Marta

    At this stage, all I know is that the eye serum costs $99 and looks as if it might be good for puffy eyes as well as wrinkles. Here's the ingredients list:
    Water (Aqua), Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Glycerin, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Steareth-20, Dlipeptide-2, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Butylene Glycol, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Seed Extract, Polysorbate 20, Chrysin, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Aminoethylphosphinic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Extract, Lactic Acid, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Phenoxyethanol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol

  • May 2, 2012

    by Lori

    Marta, any further info on AQ's product for eyes? That sounds very exciting for firming based on the results you've seen with this serum! I've been searching for some eye magic!

  • May 2, 2012

    by Ann

    Im absolutely intrigued....I've tried your faves with no result....if you're really going to test the eye serum I'd love to help....I didn't have results with YBF correct!

  • May 2, 2012

    by Lisa D

    Marta, I'm glad to see that you found this effective, too. I purchased the Active serum from their website a couple of months ago, and I found that it has worked better for me than the ReLuma, which I tried last year. I'm hoarding my bottle, and am using it in the mornings only. I noticed the comment above that it's recommended to use it at night, though, so perhaps I'll switch (I do better with my skin regimen in the mornings). I do like this one quite a bit. The texture of my skin has definitely improved.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Dennis

    That is a nice dream. Hurry up, science!

  • May 2, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Pamela, I started to see results within about 2-3 weeks, by which I mean a slight, but visible smoothing of wrinkles (crows feet) and fine lines (around the lip area and a very annoying dimple in cheeks) and the skin overall felt firmer. By week five these were all looking even better and I'll report back again when I've finished this bottle.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Marta, If I may ask, how long was it after using the serum did you begin to have noticeable results? I'm aware of how quickly our Eye Serum works, but I'd like to hear your take on the Active serum. Of course it always varies from person to person, but that feedback would be great.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Marta

    I hear you on the night versus day Pamela. I never used to use products at night at all, so I'm getting there slowly. But I will swap to evening from now on and let you know how I am getting on. Thank you for the offer of the eye serum. Perhaps we can offer a "Dare To Try It for a member of the community to review.
    Dennis, my two cents are that conditioned media/growth factors are in their infancy and complex. I imagine that these formulas will get better as formulators perfect which ones will signal what. Ultimately the recipes could become highly personalized. Just a hypothesis (or dream), but exciting times.

  • May 2, 2012

    by Dennis

    Intriguing and simple formula! not a horrendously bad price either. definitely wanna get my hands on some.

    Do you think that formulations with conditioned media are continually improving and just going to get better? or is there a limit to what they can do?

  • May 2, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Marta! Thank you so much for the review! I can't say enough what an exciting experience this has been for myself and AQ Skin Solutions. Your eye serum is on the way for testing! I did want to mention that I wished you were using AQ at night rather than during the day. It is recommended by our scientific team that if you are only going to use it once a day, it is much preferable to use at night because that is when your skin is in repair mode. And as is the nature of our product as a repairing serum, that is when the skin and the serum work together the best. In any case, I am absolutely thrilled you have had a great experience with the product and can't wait to see how you fare with the eye cream!

    Cheers!

Have You Tried AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum below.

My Comment

Add a comment... AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...