Free shipping on all orders over $39

E'shee Serum Cellular Repair- reviewed and recommended

Our Rating: 4 stars

Is a Solution for:
Broken Blood Vessels, Redness, Rosacea

Pros

Active ingredients plump skin without dryness

Cons

Small amount of product for the price
May 24, 2010 Reviewed by Marta 23 Comments
Best used on targeted areas rather than the whole face

When I first saw E'shee Clinical's collection of serums (I was sent free samples), I didn't know what to make of them. The prices seemed to be in inverse proportion to the size with the E'shee Clinical Esthetic Cellular Repair Serum ($179 in the shop) for a Liliputian 10 ml or 0.34 fl oz. As I said, these teensy 10 ml ampoules must be full of something mighty powerful – or we’ll have to consign them to the Dept of Daft. So far, I have only tried the Serum Cellular Repair and, three weeks in, I think it is pretty extraordinary.

Given the size/price ratio, I have been targeting it at the area from my cheekbones to my outer crow's feet and on the fine lines around my lips (I've been using KaplanMD's serum on the rest of my face). The smoothing effect on wrinkles is impressive and I've also been extremely pleased with the reduction in redness caused by those minute broken veins, or thread veins. So far, I have used about a third of the amount and reckon I have about 10 weeks more to go. My guess is that if you were to use the recommended couple of drops for the whole face, there is about 6-8 weeks worth.

The key active in E'shee's Serum Cellular Repair is a recombinant human growth factor, FGF1. Growth factors decline in our skin as we age and cosmetic growth factors and proteins considered to be potent wrinkle reducers. E'shee says it works with Professor Chiu of Ohio State University, who patented the human FGF 1 gene.

The ingredient that I believe to be responsible for treating the redness and broken veins is the horse chestnut. The seeds contain a saponin called escin. This is supposed to strengthen veins and capillaries by blocking an enzyme called hyaluronidase, which can breakdown of proteoglycans (part of the structure of capillary walls).

Tinocare GL is interesting as it is based on a wood-degrading fungi that secretes a special type of ß-glucan as a moisture-retaining agent to help them penetrate the barks of trees. The makers of Tinocare GL say they have mimicked this process to create a cosmetic ingredient with moisturizing properties. This along with the sodium hyaluronate makes this one serum that never feels drying. In fact, it really does make my skin look plumper.

Mulberry is here as a skin lightener. Studies have been shown mulberry leaf extract to inhibit tyrosinase activity. Additionally, several phenolic flavonoids, such as gallic acid and quercetin, and fatty acids, such as linoleic acid and palmitic acid, have been isolated from its leaves.

The bottom line on a product like this is whether I would by myself more if it using my own hard earned cash. The answer is yes, but I would  use it very parsimoniously (as I have) to target problem aging areas that need some heavy artillery. In the meantime, I am going to add in the Serum Hydra Gold ($119) to get a take on something else in the E'shee line. It has gold leaf (gold is an antioxidant) in it and algae, but that's about it so we shall see. E'shee also does a vitamin C serum, but as my skin isn't a big fan of C I am waiting to hear how Junko gets on with this.

Ingredients: Aqua, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate, Propylene Glycol, 1.3 Butylene Glycol, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Glycerin, Morus Alba (Mulberry) Extract, Tinocare GL, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethanolamine, D-Panthenol, Lactic acid, Carbomer, Allantoin, Phenoxyethanol, FGF 1 (Recombinant Human acidic Fibroblast Growth Factor).

Buy Me
$ 179.00
  • September 19, 2016

    by Marta

    1,3 butylene glycol is generally considered to be safe: https://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/butylene-glycol

    There are concerns (toxicity and irritation) with propylene glycol: https://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/propylene-glycol

  • September 19, 2016

    by **

    Dangerous as it contains butylene and propylene Glycol. Harmful ingredients

  • April 6, 2014

    by Shalini

    Hi. I recently purchased the Eshee KI Elixir and quite liked the results. I have also read wonderul reviews about the E'shee Serum Cellular Repair. I need to understand however, what is difference between the two products in terms of ingredients and skin concerns/treatment?
    Your advise would be greatly appreciated :)
    Thank you
    Shalini

  • March 14, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Jurgita, I don't think you need this kind of serum as it is really for wrinkles and firming. These are not issues that you mention. Good moisturizers (with helpful antioxidants)for combination skin that you might like to look at are La Vie Celeste Day/Night Cream, Your Best Face CE, and Snowberry Bright Defense http://www.truthinaging.com/snowberry-bright-defence-day-cream-no-2
    http://www.truthinaging.com/your-best-face-advanced-ce-concentrate
    http://www.truthinaging.com/catalogsearch/advanced/result/?manufacturer[]=27

    I have just put up a post for suggestions for enlarged pores: http://www.truthinaging.com/face/these-work-for-enlarged-pores

  • March 14, 2013

    by Jurgita

    I'm just wondering is this serum suitable for my skin, as I'm 34 y. o., my skin is mixed type, with very dry and sensitive cheeks and quite oily, large pores nose/forehead area..

  • February 8, 2013

    by Janet

    Marta: Thanks to you, I LOVE the KI, my skin is much firmer, and noticeably better. The KI though, has not touched my redness. Are you recommending use both the Cellular repair and the KI?
    thank you

  • September 28, 2011

    by Howard

    So agreed ..Best Bang is my motto and feeling. Please educate me on e'shee and how it could compliment my 50 yr old male skin

  • March 27, 2011

    by marta

    Hi Jennifer, I believe that the horse chesnut is good for broken capillaries. I don't know if E'shee would be good for dark under eye circles. Somehow I doubt it. How about trying SenZen's Double Dose http://truthinaging.com/eyes/senzen-double-dose-eye-cream-reviewed-and-recommended

  • March 26, 2011

    by Jennifer

    Hi, Marta--thank you for your diligence and integrity in the midst of so much mis-information with anti-aging products. I was wondering if you thought this would be a worthy product against dark circles caused by thin skin/visible blood vessels and pooling because of the chestnut ingredient... thought I read somewhere that this an effective ingredient for that. Seems I am still on the hunt for a worthy product (Correct, although effective, caused an allergic reaction for me). Thank you!

  • January 10, 2011

    by We are voted “Best anti-wrinkle product 2010″! | E'shee means Personal

    [...] being said, E’Shee’s Serum Cellular Repair was the best anti-wrinkle product I found in 2010. The standout active is a recombinant human [...]

  • January 6, 2011

    by marta

    Kimberly, take a look at our post on propylene glycol. I'd rather avoid it, but I am not sure that you need to be scared of it: http://truthinaging.com/ingredients/propylene-glycol

  • January 6, 2011

    by Kimberly

    I agree with Susan, propylene glycol scares me and the minute amount of HGF does not correspond for its price. I need to know of any other products with HGF listed higher on ingredients list, please ty

  • June 25, 2010

    by FGF1 and human growth factors- what is it | E'shee means Personal

    [...] are two notable things about E’shee’s serum, which I reviewed and recommended a few weeks ago and which I am still using in my daily regimen. [...]

  • May 29, 2010

    by Susan

    It seems a shame that the HGF ingredient is last on the list. With such a small amount used and no other extraordinary ingredients, the price hardly seems justified. I'm especially unimpressed with propylene glycol being #3 on the list (behind water and witch hazel). I'll save my money for something more impressive.

  • May 27, 2010

    by marta

    Richard,

    The E'Shee does not have a fragrance and it is a colorless gel in a small clear bottle - very unisex, totally discrete. I would definitely recommend investing in really good serums rather than Botox. The cumulative effect of these ingredients is only good, whereas with Botox people tend to need it more and more frequently.

  • May 26, 2010

    by Richard

    Hi Marta!

    Would you recommend this serum for men? Is it has heavy perfume smell to it? I’m 48 and I need some “heavy artillery” around my eyes and on the forehead. . I’m in sales, so I have to look good to be able to keep up with younger competition. I’ve been using Botox for past 4 years. Its o’k, but works on me only for about 3 month, it’s painful and expensive. This one not cheap, but if it’ll last me for same 3 month, it looks like better alternative. It will come to something like 2 dollars per day… I think I can afford it. Please advice.

  • May 26, 2010

    by marta

    Great suggestions Lori and Junko. Watch this space.

  • May 25, 2010

    by Junko

    The best 5 catagories seem to have a nice range of pricing. Eshee is the highest priced of anything that's been reviewed yet I believe (someone correct me if I'm wrong). A Best Bang for Your Buck catagory might be nice to pull in the best values from all catagories?

  • May 25, 2010

    by Lori

    Marta
    Perhaps this has already been done but I'd love to see a round-up of best "value" products in the various categories. So often the reviews are wonderful for items many of us simply can not afford. We need a list of "heavy hitters", like Folligen, that don't hit your wallet hard!

  • May 25, 2010

    by Junko

    Please post back Marta with final thoughts when you've emptied your Ampoule.

  • May 25, 2010

    by marta

    Long term the growth factor should be eliminating/repairing them. That's the the theory but I'd need to keep using it. I have to say that so far the - possibly superficial - effects are very good though.

  • May 25, 2010

    by Junko

    Marta, can you say yet whether you think the repair serum is eliminating wrinkles or just temporarily plumping the skin and smoothing them?

  • May 24, 2010

    by Kathy

    Marta,
    Did they give you any samples to share with deserving followers of TIA? hint, hint, hint?
    Kathy
    xoxo

Have You Tried E'shee Clinical Esthetic Cellular Repair Serum?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment E'shee Clinical Esthetic Cellular Repair Serum below.

My Comment

Add a comment... E'shee Clinical Esthetic Cellular Repair Serum

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...