Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best Eye Creams -updated 2009

Five Best Eye Creams 2009
July 20, 2009 Reviewed by Marta 9 Comments

Looking back at our last Five Best eye creams (November 2008), it is good see that it is still a strong list. And it’s good to know that we can better it. Having said that, despite tough new competitors, YBF’s Correct ($150 in the TIA shop) stays the course. High fives to YBF, while we welcome the latest to lift brows, banish dark circles and fade crow’s feet. Please suggest your own favorites and make requests for us to get stuff in to review.

Ingredients in Dermophisiologique

Water, PEG-30 dipolyhdroxystearate, dicapryl ether, zea mays oil, glycerin, caprilyc/capric triglyceride, cetearyl ethylhexanoate, sweet almond oil, beeswax, triethylhexanoin, aluminum starch, octenyl succinate, capryloyl glycine, olive fruit oil, silica, propylene glycol, magnesium stearate, magnesium sulfate, tocopheryl acetate, yeast extract, panthenol, wheat germ oil, coconut oil, poiesis factor, sylibum marianarum extract, lilium candidum extract, vaccinium myrtillus extract, malllow extract, helycrisum extract, centella asiatica extract, echinacea extract, hypericum perforatum extract, fragrance, linseed oil, hyaluronic acid, hydrolized glycosaminoglycans, glycine, escin, hexamidine disethionate, decyl oleate, sodium benzotriazoyl, butyphenol sulfonate, buteth-3, tributyl citrate, lecithin, ascorbyl palmitate, tetradibutyl pentaerithyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, citric acid.

Ingredients in Nurture My Body

Purified Water, Vegetable Emulsifying Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)***, Vegetable Glycerin, Euphrasia Officinalis (Eyebright) Infusion**, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender Flowers) Infusion**, Symphytum Officinale (Comfrey Root) Infusion**, Trifolium Pratense (Red Clover) Infusion**/****, Avena Sativa (Oatstraw) Infusion**, Carthamnus Tinctorius (High Oleic Safflower) Oil**, Olive Squalane Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba Seed) Oil**, Chondrus Crispus (Seaweed) Extract**, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Gel**, Rosa Damascena (Bulgarian Rose) Hydrosol**, Calophyllum Inophyllum (Alexandrian Laurel) Oil**, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil**, Borago Officinalis (Borage Seed) Oil**, Macadamia Ternifolia (Macadamia Nut) Oil**, Glycine Soja (Soy Lecithin), Matricaria Recutita (German Chamomile) CO2**, Tanacetum Annuum (Blue Tansy) Essential Oil***, Lavandula Officinalis (Lavender) Essential Oil**, Carota Sativa (Carrot Seed) Essential Oil***, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) CO2**, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) CO2**, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Extract

Ingredients in YBF Correct
Reverse osmosis water, licorice root extract, snap-8 (acetyl glutamyl hexapeptide-3), pepha-timp (polypeptide), cucumber extract, simugel (C16H34), syn-ake (tripeptide), haloxyl (hydroxysuccinimide, chrysin, palmitoyl oligopeptide (and) palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), nutmeg butter, matrixyl 3000 (palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), dimethyl isosorbide, alpha arbutin, cyclomethicone (and) dimethicone copolyol, ethyhexyl palmitate, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), glycerine, l-proline, provitamin B5, raspberry seed extract, alpha lipoic acid, sepilift DPHP (palmitoyl-1, palmitoyloxy-4 proline), triglyceride, paraben du, sodium hyaluronate, caffeine, cetearyl isononanoate, ceteareth-20, cetearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, cetyl palmitate, ceteareth-12, vitamin e, BHT, olive leaf extract, vitamin a, violet leaf extract, oakmoss absolute.

Ingredients in Epionce Renewal Eye Cream:

Distilled Water, Petrolatum, Glycerin, Phenyl Trimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Emulsifying Wax, Cetearyl Alcohol, Steareth-21, Beeswax, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Oil, Bisabolol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Caprylyl Glycol, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Cyclohexasiloxane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexlglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Laureth-7, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Lilnalool, Limonene, Magnesium Stearate, Malic Acid, Manganese Glycerophosphate, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil Unsaponifiables, Phenoxyethanol, Phoenix Dactylifera (Date) Fruit Extract, Phytosphingosine, Polyacrylamide, Polydodecanamideaminium Triazadiphenylethene- sulfonate, Polyvinylalcohol Crosspolymer, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Steareth-2, Zinc Pyrithione, Zinc Stearate.


Ingredients in Dermaxime

Aqua, cyclopentasiloxane, C30-45 alkyl cetearyl dimethicone crosspolymer, acetyl tetrapeptide-5, caesalpinia spinosa oligosaccarides, caesalpinia spinosa gum, glycerin, pseudoalteromonas ferment extract, cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate, horse chestnut seed extract, centella asiatica extract, phenoxyethanol, ethylhexylglycerin, centaurea cyanus flower extract, jojoba seed oil, camelia sinensis, cranberry seed oil, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, disodium EDTA, sodium hydroxide.

  • August 2, 2010

    by deborah rodell

    Received the sample and now am trying to purchase the item. I have been trying for 5 days and it seems your site it down. I even called this morning and still waiting for a response. I love this stuff. For now it is the only thing I will use, it works on fine lines, dark circles, big lines etc. etc. I know it is pricey, a little goes a very long ways and it really works. I am a product junkie when it comes to my eyes, I do not wear makeup but have been blessed with long lashes and very green eyes so this is what I play up. So you can imagine all the products I have gone through and all the times I have felt "money down the drain". With this I have only felt gratitude that Marta has turned me onto the best eye product ever.

  • December 9, 2009

    by marta

    Deb,

    We haven't done another trial since YBF. I hope cosmetic companies take note and more of them decide to put their products to the test with our VIPs. I know that YBF found your feedback incredibly useful.

  • December 9, 2009

    by DEB

    Marta- I signed up for VIP - did the very 1st one for YBF - faithfully gave detailed feedback yet have not been included in any other trials. I still get all the emailed blogs and VIP "heads up" info but have rec'd no product to test - a very sad situation for a product junkie...

  • November 5, 2009

    by Oksana

    I am 37 y/o with very minimal beginning loss of skin turgor under eyes area. I have tried a full-size of YBF Correct and I am not impressed.
    First of all, my concealer constantly "rolled" and I would end up with very annoying "crumbles"; since I changed to Eminence Plum Eye Cream - it has never happened again. I have really not noticed any significant difference in the overall condition of the skin under the eyes either. In comparison, I have noticed that the turgor has improved and circles lightened up with the use of Eminence Plum Eye Cream.
    The organics in the Eminence cream, as well as generous size, and lovely consistency make it a wonderful option for quality under eye skin care.

  • September 18, 2009

    by Michelle

    I have an eye cream suggestion for TIA to review. I tried out an eye cream sample that IMAGE skincare sent me, and it seems to work quite well. I only had a small sample, so it only lasted about a week, but I definitely saw the lines around my eyes soften and start to diminish. Ok, I'm 23, but still. They also sent me an eye gel, and I think I used them both at the same time, but I'm going to give most of the credit to the cream. It seems to do more, or at least work faster. It's called Eye lift cream or something. You can always contact an IMAGE rep in your area to send you a sample. I suggest asking for a generous one because the one I got was like 2 small swabs taken out with a Q-tip. But I guess a little goes a long way.

  • July 31, 2009

    by admin

    Marylea,
    Our site got hacked yesterday and we managed to get most things back in working order - except picture galleries. So it's not you. Great for eyelids is the Dermophisiologique Optyma. The full review is <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/reviewed-and-recommended-dermophisiologique-optyma-24-hour-eye-contour-cream/" rel="nofollow">here</a>
    Galleries will be back in action early next week. Thanks for your patience.

  • July 31, 2009

    by Marylea

    BTW - LOVE this site! This is some amazing stuff!

  • July 31, 2009

    by Marylea

    I'd love to hear about products that can do anything at all for drooping, crepey eyelids. There aren't any descriptions (other than ingredients) for these 5 Best eye creams. Am i missing something here? I click on the thumbnail and keep getting the same page of ingredients. ??

  • July 25, 2009

    by Nina

    My quest for the perfect eye cream......After years of spending lots and lots of dollars on lots of expensive eye creams, nothing worked on the under eye dark circles and the fine lines. Finally, I came across Hydrolyze while searching on the web and gave it a try. I saw my under eye dark circles improve within the first week and the fine lines improve with just a few days of using the cream. After two weeks, my eyes were much brighter and the dark circles lightened considerably.

    After a month of using hydrolyze, the area around the eyes was less lined, much lighter and more toned and firm. I would recommend hydrolyze to anyone who has had stubborn dark circles that just will not go away. My eyes are looking fresh and bright. I am so happy that I discovered hydrolyze.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...