Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Moisturizers for 20-something skin

Is a Solution for:
Dry Skin
May 13, 2009 Reviewed by admin 9 Comments

As TIA's resident 20-something, I'd like to chime in regarding Marta's recommendation-packed rundown and dispense my two cents on skincare regimes for the younger set. As first signs of premature aging surface, I have found it remarkable how some of my peers look the same as they did in high school, while others appear decades older than their age. When you're in your twenties, it can still be tempting to reawaken your tan under the summer sun and crash in bed after a late night without removing your makeup. But I have learned the hard way that these habits lead to everything from age spots and wrinkles to blemishes and brittle lashes.

For the most part, 20-somethings do not yet require heavy-duty anti-aging remedies (some of which can allegedly do damage to young skin). But at this stage in life, the oil glands often are no longer supplying as much lubrication to the skin. Though this bodily change results in less breakouts, it also signals a more pressing need for moisture replenishment. Besides drier skin, 20-somethings are also characterized by a newfound financial independence (translation: "we're so po' we can't even afford the last two letters"). With economical concerns in mind, I have rounded up a few effective moisturizers fitting for my generation.

When all you need is the basics, Weleda Almond Facial Care is a great choice for nourishing sensitive skin without irritating chemicals and preservatives. In addition to its Wild Rose and Iris Facial Care lines, Weleda's new Almond Facial Care range naturally hydrates with ingredients that are endorsed by the BDIH (Certified Natural Cosmetics). Using botanical oils to relieve itchiness and reduce redness, the Almond Moisture Cream ($22), which is essentially comprised of sweet almond oil, glycerin, beeswax, and lactic acid, softens and intensely moisturizes dry skin. Another admirable and affordable product line to incorporate sweet almond oil (and countless other botanical extracts) is Yes to Carrots. Besides an outstanding Body Moisturizing Lotion ($7.99), Yes to Carrots, along with its sisters Tomatoes and Cucumbers, offers a wide range of products to keep the face hydrated at a price that can't be beat.

It should come as no surprise that a generation growing up amidst harrowing threats of global warming and rainforest destruction is passionate about the environment. 20-somethings keep an eye out for organic and fair trade certifications on everything they put in and on their bodies. Two exceptional lines that have passed muster with EcoCert (among other organic certifications) are Yves Rocher's Culture Bio range and John Masters Organics reformulated skincare collection. Yves Rocher's Culture Bio Wakeup Cream ($27) blends essential oils and organic plant extracts in an uplifting, long-lasting, lightweight lotion. Likewise, John Masters Organics thrives on beneficial botanicals with the potent Mandarin Maximum Moisture ($48), ideally used sparingly in moments of extreme dryness. A less expensive alternative is its Rose & Apricot Antioxidant Day Cream ($28), which is light enough for everyday use.

What do all of these moisturizers have in common? Well, besides the fact that they boast reasonable prices, they all lack one key component: SPF. Most 20-somethings I know put a premium on convenience, so rather than layer a mineral sunscreen over their daytime moisturizer, they would prefer to rub on a combo product in one fell swoop. Sensitive skin can seek refuge in Devita Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30 ($21) and DDF Organic Sun Protection SPF 30 ($28), both of which made appearances in Marta's Five Best moisturizers with built-in sunscreens round-up. Unfortunately, as much as I'd like to recommend Eminence Organics Tomato Sun Cream SPF 16 ($66), it doesn't quite qualify as a "good buy" in my book.

Taking the task of expediency a step farther, some moisturizers double as both face and body sun protectants. One superior example that I've come across is Skin MD Natural Shielding Lotion + SPF 15 ($15), a lightweight lotion that loads up its hypoallergenic formula with antioxidants and steers clear of risky chemicals. When you just need to coat your entire body, Juice Beauty Green Apple SPF 20 Antioxidant Body Moisturizer offers superior chemical-free sun protection with anti-aging benefits. If you have any favorites to add to this list (which is hardly exhaustive), please share with us by leaving a comment below.

  • September 21, 2011

    by Tiffany Gaal

    Great, thank you so much for the recommendations. :)

  • September 18, 2011

    by Marta

    Hi Tiffany, I'm not sure if these will fit the bill. What about Your Best Face Balance - for sensitive skin and very light weight. For more of a light serum or gel/serum I can think of SenZen's Plump It up, this will moisturize as it has sodium hyaluronate without clogging and has more of a serum/gel texture
    https://truthinaging.com/store/SenZen/SenZen-Plump-It-Up
    https://truthinaging.com/store/Your-Best-Face/Your-Best-Face-Balance

  • September 17, 2011

    by Tiffany Gaal

    I would like to try one of these moisturizers but was wondering what you could tell me about texture/finish? My skin is sensitize and tends to err on the dryer side, especially in the winter, so it needs the moisture, but I absolutely cannot stand things that have a cream or sometimes even lotion consistently. I want something more like a gel, crème, or serum. Do any of these fit the bill? If not, could you recommend one with a fairly low price? Thanks :) Love this site, BTW, use it all the time.

  • August 27, 2009

    by marta

    Ana
    If you do have dark circles and fine lines then I would try YBF. You are never too young for a good eye cream. And than you for the kind words.

  • August 27, 2009

    by Ana

    Thank you so much Marta!!! I had absolutely no idea. I guess I'll do some research on this website before buying my next batch of moisturizers. I've got my eye on YBF since it has earned so many praises from you, especially YBF restore for my dark circles and fine lines... do you think I'm too young for it?

    BTW I love your website it is simply fabulous!

  • August 27, 2009

    by marta

    Welcome Ana!
    We are not that keen on many department store products as they tend have a lot of fillers and are therefore not value for money. As you mentioned Clinique, we have been reviewing them recently since they are starting to launch much better products. Here are some links:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/face/clinique-youth-surge-and-whats-in-the-secret-sauce/
    http://www.truthinaging.com/sun-protection/reviewed-and-recommended-clinique-city-block-sheer-face-protector-spf-15/
    http://www.truthinaging.com/makeup/new-antioxidant-lip-color-from-clinique-reviewed-and-recommended/attachment/clinique-lip-smoothies-antioxidant/

  • August 27, 2009

    by Ana

    I just recently discovered this site and found it super helpful to decide whether or not to buy eyelash growth products...

    I was wondering why neither Clinique nor Lancome brands are ever featured in TIA reviews, I have sworn by Clinique since my early 20's and am now switching to Lancome for what I believed were better quality products for my dry skin and dark circles (I'm 28 now). I'm a bit worried now because I don't see these popular brands anywhere in your reviews, which made me wonder if their ingredients are not good for my skin? Help please!!!

  • May 13, 2009

    by Zoe

    Keys has a buy two, get 7$ off deal for the sunscreen. Also, totally according to their own website, the Solar Rx was listed as the safest sunscreen on the market. It is not waterproof, however.

  • May 13, 2009

    by Zoe

    I've noticed that too--the odd phenomenon of having both peers that look years younger than me and peers who look years older. I blame genes, which can't be helped, and the sun. These days, my skin instantly turns into a splotchy brown mess with any sort of sun exposure. I'm still wrestling with acne, though, and my sensitive skin sloughs off with most sunscreens. I was quite dedicated to a mineral sunscreen I found through this site, Juice Organics tinted SPF 30 sunscreen. It can rub off onto clothes and has to be reapplied frequently, but it does the job and the tint for the most part isn't even noticeable.

    I lost my tube, the other day, however, and the pharmacy where I used to get it just closed their doors so I switched back to my emergency supply of neutrogina which works well enough but needs to be applied continuously, sits on top of my skin in an oily pool and makes my skin peel off, leaving visibly noticeable pieces of gunk all over my face. Naturally, I use less than I probably should because it makes me look terrible. Yesterday, however, I made the mistake of grabbing a strange pump container off my local natural grocer's stall without noticing the hefty price tag: 26.50$ Why so expensive? Because is 18.5% nano-form zinc oxide. No Oxy-whateverines and more physical sun blocker than any transparent mineral-based sunscreen I've ever seen. Best part(s)? It goes on perfectly clear with no oil-slick look: there's a slight waxy texture to the touch, but I can't see anything and so far it appears to do absolutely nothing to my much beleaguered pores! It also seems to go quite a long way and only needs to be reapplied once every two hours under high UVA conditions. I know i'm jumping the gun here, but this may well be THE perfect sunscreen! No doubt, all those zinc nanoparticles are killings our waterways, however, but until I hear any evidence of that, I'm cutting back on beers and spending my money on Solar Rx by the people at www.keys-soap.com .

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...