Free shipping on all orders over $39

Medik8 Firewall
145

Medik8 Firewall Review

Reviewed by Marta June 11, 2009 27 Comments
TRU Rating

Pros

Potent copper peptide and Matrixyl 3000 serum that really works

Cons

Silicones and preservative
An excellent skin regenerating serum

I am just going to cut straight to the car chase. Medik8 Firewall ($145 in the shop) works. It really works. It really, really works.

OK. I suppose you'd like a little more detail so we'll flashback a month. I must admit I approached Medik8 Firewall with some trepidation. The name is silly, there is a gimmicky 'dual chamber' system and, by the company's own admission half the ingredients are there as a smoke screen to deter competitors from hacking their secret, patent-pending sauce. What with all of that and the fact they jumped on the publicity bandwagon of Boot's and its scientist-endorsed Protect & Perfect, it all seemed, if you had asked me, to be too gimmicky to be true. A month on and I've (mostly) changed my tune.

Daily application on the right side of my face for the past 36 days has produced appreciably noticeable results. The biggest change is that my skin is much, much firmer. In a side-by-side pinch test, it puts the left side of my face to flabby shame. The beginnings of a nasolabiol groove are diminished. Crow's feet are smoothed out. Overall skin tone isn't bad, but I'd have to say that this isn't this potion's forte. At least for me, Firewall is a little drying and I've found that I need to follow with a moisturizer.

The dual chamber thingy has turned out to be less fiddly than I had feared. The premise is that the ingredients are most active when they first encounter one another, so they are kept in separate chambers until used. The idea is to pump a drop from each cylinder onto the back of the hand, mix together then apply.

So what are the actives that pack Firewall's punch? There are several forms of copper in Firewall. Copper is the key mineral in lysyl oxidase, an enzyme which weaves together collagen and elastin, and there is a mountain of research on how topical applications of copper heal wounds. However, I am a little skeptical about colloidal copper, which seems to have snake oil abilities to cure everything from arthritis to graying hair.

An especially interesting ingredient is N-acetyl cysteine. This is produced in the human body and plays a role in the sulfation cycle, acting as a sulfur donor in phase II detoxification. Cysteine also helps synthesize glutathione, one of the body’s most important natural antioxidants and detoxifiers. Also on the of-high-interest list is Liprochroman-6, listed here as dimethylmethoxy chromanol. I wager that this is going to be an antioxidant to watch and that it will start showing up more and more in high-end, anti-aging potions. Lipochroman-6 is an able scavenger of two free radicals: RNS and ROS. According to Lipotec, who makes lipochronan-6, it does a significantly better job of fending off oxidative stress than resveratrol, the antioxidant component of grapes.

Although I love the visible effects of Medik8 Firewall, I am less enamored of the ones that might be going on that I can't see. Silicones are toxic and there are fair few of them here. I don't like the preservative sodium benzoate, which in a British study on yeast cells appeared to attack cells’ mitochondria, damaging their ability to prevent oxygen leaks that create free radicals. Methylisothiazolinone is another controversial preservative that is a skin irritant, as ismethylchloroisothiazoline.

So Mr (or Mrs) Medik8, if you were to toss the silicones and revise your preservative strategy you'd have one very loyal fan.

Buy Me
145
  • May 15, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Toni, the FDA rules on ingredients labeling are as follows:
    Ingredients above 1% need to be listed in order of concentration
    Ingredients 1% or below can be listed in any order
    Exception: Color ingredients are listed at the end
    As you will note, this review was published in 2009. The formula has since been revised and a new review is here: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/medik8-firewall-new-formula
    Having said that, I do know that the Matrixyl 3000 peptides in Medik8 Firewall are less than the Sederma recommendation of 4%. For what it's worth I have been told by a couple of chemists (including one at L'Oreal) that Matrixyl works at 1%. It is a very expensive raw ingredient and so it is in Sederma's interests to test at a higher rate.

  • May 14, 2015

    by Toni

    I looked at the ingredient list and the Matrixyl peptides are on the very bottom? The FDA requires cosmetic companies to list the first 50 percent of the ingredients in order of percentage by volume. And allows cosmetic companies to arrange the last 50 percent in any order they choose. Sederma of France the makers of Matrixyl claim that in order to achieve proper results as tested cosmetic companies should use 3 percent by volume in their formulations. Based off the ingredient list I am seeing I cant see how this product could have 3 percent by volume.

  • December 19, 2014

    by Delia Sadler

    I, too would love to try this new Medika 8
    firewall. I bought the previous one and was somewhat impressed. I'd like to see if the new formulation will work.

  • December 18, 2014

    by Allayna

    Please see my response just before this. Everyone needs to learn that copper is excellent for the skin. Of course it needs to be the correct formulation. That is why I would love to try your product(s) please. At least I will tell you the truth. Thank you for kindly letting me try this product after gone underground a loooong ways (scary) in Sweden.

  • December 18, 2014

    by Allayna

    When we went to Sweden as a family to meet our family left in Sweden, we found out about a very interesting story from the oldest copper mine in the world. Over 100 years ago a young man died in the copper mine unfortunately and his body was preserved in the oker (sp?) that was full of copper. When they found him around 70 years later they realized his body was beautiful and well preserved! Then when they took his body to City Hall to show in a clear glass case, an approximately 90+ year old wrinkled up lady just able to walk by was shocked!!! That lady looked and said "That was my financee. We were supposed to be married!!!" Well you could imagine how she felt when he looked better dead and well preserved than she did all wrinkled (I also think with a cain.) Lesson learned: try to use the right kind of copper to protect your skin! That is why I would like to try this product to see if it's good. Please and thank you.

  • December 17, 2014

    by Joyce

    I would love to dare to try the new formula. I previously used this and although gave it a 4 star I only reordered it once. The cost seemed steep. I would love to try the new blend on my 65 year old face to see if it has more firming qualitys.

  • December 16, 2014

    by Rachele

    Are Copper Peptides the ultimate answer? Have you discovered "the" solution? Yes, yes, yes! I too would truly love to try a sample of Medik8 Firewall while I am waiting for my Osmotics Blue Copper 5 to arrive.

  • December 16, 2014

    by Susan

    I threw this in the garbage. It is full of toxins such as barium sulphate and phenoxyethanol. What a waste of money. I will be more careful when making purchases from this site.

  • December 16, 2014

    by Dawn

    I would love to try this product. My skin is starting to sag a little so I'd love to see the difference that this product would make. I'm in Australia, am I eligible to participate?

  • December 16, 2014

    by Jennifer

    I would love the chance to try this. I've had my eye on it since i tried the Osmotics Blue Copper Prime and found copper peptides to be effective. I think however the packaging on the Medik8 to be a lot more innovative and would be interested in comparing the two. Plus anything geared towards firming, plumping and erasing fine lines is on my list of things to try!

  • December 16, 2014

    by Bettyy

    i would like to give the new formula. I've been reading you reviews about firewall but have hesitated to order. I do love the mitochondria serum and plan on reordering it and the prime copper cream.

  • October 26, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Camilla, I think you should stick with Firewall for now. Typically it is better than AQ at lifting. However, treating sagging skin with a topical product is challenging and will require months rather than weeks. A very strong glycolic such as the one you are using every night will likely interfere. As the glycolic is removing sebum your skin will work hard to replace it and it will take longer to process the actives applied in another product, in your case Medik8. You should certainly space them out - Firewall in the morning and glycolic at night, but if at all possible you could reduce the glycolic to say 3 times a week. That will help

  • October 25, 2014

    by Camilla

    Marta - I've been using Medik8 Firewall for 3 months now and while my skin tone looks and feels good, I don't see much of a lifting or tightening effect. I use MD Forte's 30% glycolic serum every night which has done a remarkable job of leaving my skin unlined at age 60 (been using it for 10 years now!) but I am noticing some sagging starting around the jowl line. Do you think the glycolic serum might be interfering with the lifting effect of Firewall? Would AQ Skin Solutions Active Serum be better than Firewall for sagging skin?

  • July 25, 2014

    by Amanda Jane

    I have become quite obsessed by my face and skin, which I have to say I have always taken for granted.....without realising it. Hitting 50, which I was in complete denial about, my face and body started to change. I was semi anoretic at the age of 16... but never that bad, but always in control. I think the main point here, is that my mum who was blessed with Hollywood bone structure and skin, aged magnificently. She did not use super expensive creams, she did not need to.....why not? This is my question, my mother did not have Botox or any thing else, she lived her life in moderation...without being boring, and her skin regime was Ponds cold cream and Nivea, all be it from the age of 14... at boarding school., so why did she have such great skin without needing to spend an absolute fortune? Genes. You can not buy them. But., not one of your articles gives mention to them.



    .

  • July 9, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Taneisha, I think it may work as copper repairs and there are many studies of its effects on wounds and scars. However, I think it would be most effective as part of an exfoliate and repair regimen. Regular (at night because it will make the skin more sun sensitive) glycolic exfoliation followed by nightly and daily use of a repair serum such as this one. I would also add in LED light therapy as well. It will take a few months of dedication to the task though to get results.

  • July 9, 2013

    by Taneisha

    Hello,

    I am looking for a product that WORKS for acne scars, I have tried endless products and nothing has worked for me. This is my last resort before I give laser a go.

    Does this product help with acne Scars? If not is there anyone who knows something that does work?

    Thanks

  • June 26, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Laura

    Generally, it is not a good idea to mix copper and vitamin C, unless they have been specially formulated to work together (as in E'shee's encapsulated vitamin C formula, for example). If you have vitamin C products and want to try a copper one, the best would be to space them out - say, the copper product in the morning and vitamin C at night.

  • June 26, 2013

    by laura

    Can you use skin products with Vit C and Copper at the same time? I think I read that copper and vit c neutralize each other. Have you heard that? I'm just checking because I may purchase this and I use many products with Vit C.

  • January 21, 2010

    by marta

    Hi Dannus
    Sulfor and aging is probably something I should do some research on. In the meantime, you might be interested in this post http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/methyl-sufonyl-methane

  • January 21, 2010

    by Dannus Brovar

    Marta, do you know of how else the sulfation cycle plays a role in he body with regard to the aging process. Could there be a mineral component involved?

  • June 14, 2009

    by marta

    Asya, I've been thinking more about your question. Medik8 relies a lot on copper. This is mostly a repairer, so if you don't have wrinkles it won't do much. At 30-something, it might be better to focus on collagen building ingredients such as <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2008/01/what-is-it-matrixyl.html" rel="nofollow">Matrixyl</a>. See our <a href="http://www.truthinaging.com/2009/04/five-best-serums-with-matrixyl-3000-updated-april-2009.html" rel="nofollow">post</a> on Five Best with Matrixyl.

  • June 13, 2009

    by marta

    Michelle, you mean nasolabial lines. Yes, Medik8 absolutely does work on them.

  • June 13, 2009

    by Michelle

    Hi Marta,

    you said this product helps firm up skin. Do you have anything that helps with frown/expression lines or whatever they're called. The ones that branch out from the sides of the nose, and deepen especially when you smile.

  • June 12, 2009

    by marta

    Asya, if I was 30-something I would probably use it three times a week and a good moisturizer the rest of the time.

  • June 12, 2009

    by Asya

    Hi Marta,

    would you recommend this for 30-somethings? It is, after all, in the antioxydant category - could it work for prevention, rather than correction?

  • June 11, 2009

    by marta

    As far as I know, Medik8 is available from their <a href="http://hairloss1.introweb.nl/cgi-bin/haaruitval.storefront/4a317b43004004e4271b5041604905c6/UserTemplate/1" rel="nofollow">website</a> and - although in Europe - they will ship to the US (for about $12 extra).

  • June 11, 2009

    by mari

    where can i purchase medik8 firewall in the us?

Have You Tried Medik8 Firewall ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Medik8 Firewall below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Medik8 Firewall

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...