Free shipping on all orders over $39

Sciote Firming Eye Crème .5 oz
72

Sciote Firming Eye Creme Review

is a Solution for:
Crow's Feet, Dark Circles, Fine Lines, Puffy Eyes
Reviewed by Marta December 30, 2013 12 Comments
TRU Rating

Pros

Hydrating and anti-aging

Cons

Nasty ingredients sodium hydroxide and phenoxyethanol
The best lower-priced eye cream I've ever tried

Sciote Firming Eye Crème ($65 in the shop) is just about the best eye cream in its price bracket that I have come across. It is hydrating and anti-aging, keeping the eye area skin smooth and wrinkles at bay. I am always being asked to recommend a really good eye cream at around the $60 mark, and finally I can.

Sciote is a new brand to me and one after my own heart. Sciote’s motto is that knowledge is power. I was especially charmed to read that Sciote means “know yourself” in Latin. When I read this sentence on the company’s website, my first thought was that I could have written it myself : “We want to empower you the consumer to make knowledge-based decisions about your health and beauty needs.”

Anyway, back to Sciote Firming Eye Crème. The real litmus test is that I have continued to use it even though my 30-day test period is up. I find it useful on its own, or for extra hydration if one’s serum (in my case AQ Eye Serum, $99 in the shop) needs a moisturizing boost. The texture is somewhat dense, but it absorbs perfectly and does not feel heavy or greasy.

The first few ingredients in an aloe base and palm oil base include two alpha hydroxyl acids, glycolic acid and lactic acid. These exfoliants help clarify and smooth the skin, encouraging wrinkle repair. Although they feature quite prominently, I did not find Sciote’s eye cream sensitizing in any way. Some of the other actives include alpha lipoic acid, known as the "universal antioxidant" that can can work inside the cell and in the cell membrane. There’s also coenzyme Q10, an antioxidant that helps neutralize harmful free radicals, one of the causes of aging.

Amongst the botanical ingredients in Sciote Firming Eye Crème is Oregon grape, which is in fact not a grape, but related to the barberry. It does, however, have a good research pedigree when it comes to treating skin disorders. In addition, there’s antioxidant strawberry and kiwi fruits. And I like the inclusion of propolis, which bees make and use as a kind of bee mortar to hold their hives together.

I would have preferred Sciote Firming Eye Crème to have come without sodium hydroxide, a potential irritant, and the preservative phenoxyethanol. But that’s really not much to dislike in what is a terrific mid-priced eye cream.

Oh, and by the way, Sciote is pronounced Shoh-tay. So now you know and knowledge, of course, is power.

Buy Me
72
  • September 20, 2014

    by Wendy

    I love this eye creme! I've been using it since the product launched after trying alot of other eye cremes over the years. This is by far my favorite.

  • January 3, 2014

    by Marcie

    Love, love, love Sciote!! I am in my 40s and have been using Sciote since it
    came on the market. I have never had so many compliments, and my skin
    has never looked better. No one can tell how old I am. Yay!! I don't know
    who came up with this stuff, but I do have a question - What took you so
    long?
    I think the eye cream is great but for me using the whole product line
    really transformed my skin. Thank you Sciote!!

  • January 3, 2014

    by Joan

    I have been using Sciote skin care for the better part of a year now and specifically I have been using the eye creme as part of my daily regime and I am a HUGE fan of the product! First, the smell is to die for and my skin glistens after using. I receive repeated compliments from those around me on how young and fresh the product has made my skin and I LOVE it!

  • January 3, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Susan

    We are waiting for a few more reviews to come in from our testers (I think the antioxidant mask should be the next review coming in) - if there are more positive reviews then we will definitely look into carrying the line.

  • January 3, 2014

    by Susan

    Curious to know if you think you might start to carry some of this line soon.

  • December 31, 2013

    by Christy

    I have used a lot of different brands of skin care on myself over the years. This line is unlike any other. This authentic line is not only affordable, it works!!! Once you start using the products you won't stop. I highly recommend it to all skin types.

  • December 31, 2013

    by Debra

    Love this new format!

  • December 30, 2013

    by Kim Cherie

    I have been a licensend Esthetician.Cosmetologist for 25 years now. In working with clients over the years, it is important to find a good balance between natural/nature and the beauty of modern ingredients. I believe I have found this beautiful balance in Sciote! I have been personally using the products on myself as well as the clients, and am thrilled with the results. Especially the eye firming cream. I find it it be firming and nourishing without being too heavy and find I can wear it day and night. I have tried about 75% of the line thus far, and am proud to use it in my spa! I am a true advocate of Sciote and look forward to their continuation and expansion into the field!

  • December 30, 2013

    by Scott

    I'm a big fan of the Sciote products. I've used the Vitamin C cleanser and the Vitium anti-blemish moisturizer as part of my daily routine for over a year and these are my favorite skin products ever. I feel better and look better! What more can I say?

  • December 30, 2013

    by Jeffery Miller

    I have been using the entire Sciote line for about a year now. As a male client, I've struggled to find a line that REALLY worked for me without all the extra frills & perfumes. The packaging is very unisex and pleasing to the eye, but more important the ingredients are amazing and truly work without added fragrance. I love how all the products penetrate and absorb into the skin immediately but still hydrate and firm. Men are looking for skin care too, they are just a little hesitant about going to the cosmetic counter for it. Guys...you can order this online @ sciote.com! Amazing!!
    Jeff

  • December 30, 2013

    by jani

    I've been using SCIOTE SKIN for over a year now and it is the BEST thing I have ever put on my skin. After just 3 days of using it my husband commented that I was looking younger! People who I see regularly have commented too. Everyone wants to know what my "secret" is...
    I use the following products Vitamin C cleanser, Vitamin C 20% Super Serum, Advanced Super Moist Hyaluronic Serum, Peptide + Defense Firming Eye Creme and Peptide + Defense Firming Day Creme.

  • December 30, 2013

    by Lorenzo

    I have been using the Sciote skin line for nearly a year now and LOVE it. I am specifically using Vitamin C 20% Super Serum, the eye treatment, super Moist Hyaluronic Serum and Face Crème. I have seen a notable difference in the look and feel of my skin as it has made it appear more youthful and removed wrinkles, evidence of aging and several sun spots that I had. I love this product and would recommend Sciote to anyone.

Have You Tried Sciote Peptide+Defense Firming Eye Creme?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Sciote Peptide+Defense Firming Eye Creme below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Sciote Peptide+Defense Firming Eye Creme

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...