Free shipping on all orders over $39

AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum Review

is a Solution for:
Crow's Feet, Dark Circles, Fine Lines, Puffy Eyes, Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum .5 oz
99
June 12, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 42 Comments
TRU Rating
An anti-aging eye serum that really works

Pros

Growth factors and peptides tackle lines and dark circles

Cons

Packaging needs an upgrade

I felt ready to write my review of AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum ($99 in the shop) about two weeks in. I knew it was going to be a winner. My under-eye area was looking smoother and the lids a little lifted. Five weeks later, I pronounce it one of the best I have ever used. AQ’s serum for the face is an impressively effective product and the Eye Serum is a totally worthy companion.

Of course, the key active is AQ’s human fibroblast conditioned media. This contains growth factors – specifically, TGF-Beta, GM-CSF and PDGF. These signal the cells to do a myriad things, including repairing wounds, stimulating collagen and glycosaminoglycan production, and inhibiting matrix degradation. Growth factors are at the cutting edge of anti-aging skincare, but they aren’t the only potent actives in AQ’s Eye Serum.

Two peptides that make up Matrixyl 3000 are here. This ingredient should be very complimentary to the growth factors as the peptides also encourage collagen synthesis. In addition, there are no less than three ingredients that are supposed to help depuff the eyes: dipeptide-2, which is supposed to improve lymphatic circulation, hesperidin methyl chalcone, which can help strengthen the capillaries, and N-hydroxysuccinimide, supposed to eliminate blood-originated pigments.

The skin around the eye may also be brightened by aminoethylphosphonic acid, which may inhibit melanin (although there isn’t much research that I could find to back this up), lactic acid and grapefruit extract.

AQ’s Eye Serum has a very light, almost watery gel-like consistency and I can’t believe how far it goes. A tiny, pea-size pump does both eyes (under and upper, including the lid). I don’t really suffer from dark under-eye circles and so can’t testify to its effectiveness in that department, but I have it to be an excellent depuffer. Best of all is the skin tap test – when I gently tap my under-eye area with my finger, the skin feels firm and tight as a drum.

To all of those people who have emailed me recently to say that they love the results they are getting with AQ’s face serum and have been dying to know what I think of the eye serum, here’s the answer in a nutshell: highly recommended.

  • April 1, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Vicki, I think this AQ eye serum would be a good choice. Although this review is a couple of years old, this eye serum remains an out and out bestseller. The growth factors will help thicken and firm the skin and the peptides will help with dark circles.

  • March 31, 2015

    by Vicki Koepp

    I don't have puffy eyes, I do have dark circles. I have thinning skin that seems to show "veins" under the eyes. So it would seem I need something that will thicken the skin, and thus the darkness will fade. Do you have suggestions?

  • September 16, 2014

    by Allison

    (2 out of 5)

    I tried this product in hopes it would help firm and smooth my under eye skin. I also tried another one recommended on this site but neither one worked and used each for months. the AQ serum burned my eyes slightly too.

    So disappointed that I spent so much money and neither one worked.

  • April 7, 2014

    by Linda Moore

    (5 out of 5)

    The most amazing eye serum I have ever used! I ran a busy medical skincare clinic for ten years in the Sf Bay Area. Tried them all. This one works to "erase" under eye redness and circles. I saw an improvement in less than a week. I ran out and the issues returned within 3 - 4 days. So, it doesn't "heal" but it sure does work with daily application. Also, the bottle lasts almost 2 months, so quite a "deal".

  • November 3, 2013

    by Cathy

    (2 out of 5)

    I used the eye serum for many months before I figured out it was this that was making my eyes red. I stopped using it around the eye and my eyes cleared up immediately. Now I'm using it on the tops of my lips where it will hopefully help the small lines there. I hope if anyone else has the same reaction, they can pinpoint it faster than I did. I'm sure the serum works well for some, but something in the formula didn't agree with my eyes.

  • October 20, 2013

    by Marta

    (5 out of 5)

    Yes Lisa you absolutely can. Lash was formulated to be used alongside the eye serum, which has additional ingredients for dark under eye circles etc

  • October 20, 2013

    by lisa

    Marta, can you use the eye serum and Lash concurrently? I really love my eyelashes with AQ Lash but do not want to give up the eye serum.
    Thanks,
    Lisa

  • September 10, 2013

    by Lou

    I would love to try this product before purchasing it. Where could I get a
    sample of it?

    Thanks a lot.

  • June 5, 2013

    by Donna

    Unimpressed. Paltry results. This eye serum does go a long way, I'll agree with that. I deal with puffiness and dark circles and after having gone through the entire bottle in about two months, I could see no improvement with either of these issues. The serum has a nice feel and I do believe that a eye cream is important so I'm going to keep looking one that actually provides noticeable results. I continued to use it until it was gone, wishful thinking (that and after you spend this kind of $, you better use it!)

  • January 11, 2013

    by Nicky

    I've been using this eye serum for 3 weeks now on one eye.. after all the rave reviews I have to say I was expecting something great .. ... the first few days I did notice a difference everything looked a bit better . I also noticed a very slight lift but after a few weeks I have found if I'm tired the lift isnt noticeable .. it has softened the crows feet very slightly but as the weeks have gone on compared to the other eye the wrinkles under my eye seem to look worse like its dehydrated the under eye skin area .. I have been using it on my eyebrow and lashes on one eye ..so far I havent really noticed anything significant in hair growth.. I think it definately has potential for some people .. maybe who dont suffer from dry or wrinkly under eye areas .. would I use it again No I think I will try something else .. the eye eye cream I used on the other eye is elite serum .. I know its been marketed pretty hard lately but it hasnt done to badly in comparison to AQ .. dont notice any lift with it but the under eye area is better and I think it removes the darkness under your eye slightly better than AQ .

  • January 3, 2013

    by Balkz

    I'm in my mid to late 20's and I have started to notice very early aging around my eyes. I normally don't moisturize as often as I should. I was wondering if I could receive some sort of sample of AQ before purchasing it. Although everyone's reviews seem great I would like to take it for a test drive myself!

    Thanks!

  • October 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Benay, eye creams often have additional ingredients that are specifically designed to target dark under eye circles, puffyness etc. AQ's serum includes these kind of ingredients. However, if you don't have those issues then you could just try the face serum and see how you get on. For more information on whether eye creams are really necessary, see this post:http://www.truthinaging.com/eyes/are-eye-creams-really-necessary

  • October 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi PL we haven't been able to replicate your issues of slowness in checkout - all is working well. Please try again or contact customerservice@truthinaging.com for further assistance.

  • October 6, 2012

    by Benay Singer

    Hi. I would like your opinion on using both an eye serum/cream in conjunction with either the same companies face serum/cream as I have been told by a few derms that it is really necessary to buy a separate eye cream as the facial serum/cream is all you need for the entire face and eye creams are simply a marketing ploy to purchase separe products. What do you think of this??

  • October 6, 2012

    by PL Cook

    I have tried to buy the eye serum($99)
    The network is so slow ....is there another way to order these products in a reasonable amount of time ?
    thank you!

  • October 6, 2012

    by Gloria

    I also use it on my eyelids and I have not had any problems with any burning or irritation. I have used many eye serums and creams and AQ is the best I have used. It is well worth the money you spend and I have had several people ask me if I have had "some work" done. When I tell them what I am using they don't believe me. The bonus is my sparce eyelashes appear to be getting longer and thicker. I received my samples in my Discover box and will hang on to them in case I run out or for traveling. A little goes a long way. I just don't think I will ever use anything else now.

  • October 5, 2012

    by Karen Watanabe

    I purchased the AQ eye serum just before leaving for a 5 week trip to Europe. I loved how my eyes looked throughout my trip! Normally my skin takes a beating whenever I leave home, but AQ kept my eyelids hydrated and the creepiness that I have been noticing disappeared. I can't wait to compare this to the YBF Correct which has been sitting in my wish list forever.

  • October 5, 2012

    by Amy at Truth In Aging

    Hi everyone, please note that we have now run out of AQ eye serum samples. Thank you!

  • October 4, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Sandra, I use it on my eyelids and I have sensitive skin. So far, I am aware of only one person who said her eyes got puffy after using it.

  • October 4, 2012

    by Sandra Kim

    Hi Marta,

    Thank you so much for your reply. I have a couple more questions... is it safe to use on the eyelid area? And is it okay for people with sensitive skin? Thank you again!

  • October 4, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Sandra, it is a light gel but I personally find it more than hydrating enough and do not need to use a moisturizer with it. We have a very limited number of samples available so please email customerservice@truthinaging.com if you would like to try it.

  • October 3, 2012

    by Sandra

    Hi! Does anybody know if this eye serum is moisturizing? The area under my eyes are extremely dry, and most eye creams aren't moisturizing enough for me. Thank you!

  • October 3, 2012

    by nicole bailey

    I would love to try the AQ eye serum. Are you aware of where I might be able to get a sample before I purchase? It sounds amazing

  • September 13, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Holly, someone had a similar experience with skin tags and ReLuma - must be the growth factors.

  • September 13, 2012

    by Holly

    This is a great product - and it seems to have completely shrunk an irritating skin tag that had developed just above my upper eye lash on one eye. I'd never experienced the annoyance of a skin tag before but finally, on turning 48, I got one. And it was bugging me! I started using both the AQ serums in early July and after a month or so I realised that the the skin tag was becoming smaller. Now it's completely gone! I can only attribute this to the AQ eye serum - so thank you!

  • July 5, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Marta!

    That is fantastic news! The AQ team is going to be ecstatic to hear that news. I have just decided to test that theory out myself with just one eye to compare to the other! I will let you know how I do!

  • June 30, 2012

    by Marta

    I have to post an update to my review. AQ's eye serum - used normally as an eye cream - makes eyelashes grow. I haven't used an eyelash growth product for months and months and I noticed after 4 weeks of using AQ Eye Serum that my eyelashes had become much longer and darker. At first I thought I was imagining it, then someone else noticed. Aha! An added bonus from an already great product.

  • June 20, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Karen, if you want to try both then use one at night and the other in the morning (AQ says its products work better overnight).

  • June 19, 2012

    by Karen

    Marta, Got your e-mail, thanks for the advice to bookmark my questions. Still unsure of YBF/Correct or AQ. I have great skin, but "crepey" lids is my only problem to date. No dark circles and my eye cream is fabulous. So, would it work to use both of them, or too much product on such a delicate area of the eye/skin? Thank you!

  • June 18, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    You're very welcome!

    For anyone who is wanting to sample AQ Skin Solutions, look for BOTH the AQ Active Serum and AQ Eye Serum in Marta's "Discover with Marta!".

  • June 18, 2012

    by Raeann

    Very Informative and very helpful!!
    Thank you very much!

  • June 18, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi Reanne,

    Thank you for your question! To answer your question, growth factor technology has been around since the 1980's, and have been patented for cosmetic use since 1994. To date, there are no published articles of any negative effects from topically applied growth factors. Our founder and formulator, Dr. Ahmed Al-Qahtani actually used this technology to grow skin on 3rd degree burn victims. You can do more research on him at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed and type in his name to see the studies that he's published.

    Our growth factors are proteins that are naturally found and produced by your body's fibroblast cells (skin cells). Over time, as you age and due to sun damage, your body loses its fibroblast cells and does not produce as much of these growth factors. These growth factors are what help to repair the skin and keep it youthful and vibrant. What we've done at AQ Skin Solutions is: taken a human fibroblast cell from donated tissue, and we've genetically modified and purified the cell to produce the purest growth factors possible and only the ones that are beneficial to the skin. We now duplicate our genetically modified cells in a FDA approved diagnostic lab and have a patented cell line. The growth factors in our products are collected from our purified cell line. So our growth factors are the same proteins that your body makes when it is healing the skin.

    We always say that it is safer and more recognized by your body than foreign proteins or ingredients that are made from chemical, plants and sometimes animals. A good example is that if you really think about it, plants make growth factors that are beneficial to itself. But a plant thrives on photosynthesis, the sun. Whereas in human skin, the sun can cause skin cancer and it what causes aging and damage.

    Also, growth factors act locally on the skin and do not enter the bloodstream. They are not recycled by the body and do not travel through the bloodstream to other parts of the body. Your body recognizes what it is and uses it accordingly. The US FDA also allows for use of growth factors in cosmetics.

    That was a lot of information! But I hope that I was able to answer any questions you may have. If you have any further questions, of course absolutely feel free to email me directly at pamela@aqskinsolutions.com.

    Thank you so much for your patronage, for using AQ, and for having questions! keep them coming!

  • June 16, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Raeann, I'll let AQ comment on the specifics of where they source their actives. In the meantime, here is some background on human conditioned media: http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredient-spotlight/stem-cells-and-human-conditioned-media
    The long term effects question is a good one. I have not yet come across any research or evidence of concerns, but obviously this is on my radar and I'll post any interesting information that I come across.

  • June 15, 2012

    by Raeann

    AQ seems to good to be true. I am seeing great results and loving it. I guess I have a question for Marta and Pam. I'm using the AQ face and eye serums twice a day, everyday. AQ is always the first thing to touch my face.
    After long term use, could growth factors cause harmful or strange side effects??
    I don't know much about growth factors and
    and I don't want to end up regretting using them . Also could you please educate us on exactly where the growth factors come from??Thank you.

  • June 15, 2012

    by Pamela Xiong

    Hi TaraB,

    The dark circles around the eyes are due to poor circulation. AQ Skin Solutions has specific ingredients to improve circulation and get rid of dark circles. I think you will be very pleased!

  • June 15, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi TaraB, they are both really good. I personally don't have a dark circles issue and so can't really compare them effectively. But for tightening and firming I have found AQ a little better for me.

  • June 15, 2012

    by TaraB

    Hello Martha, What would you choose for dark circles, wrinkles, tightening and firming - AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum or ReLuma Eye Serum? I'm finding it difficult to choose between the two. Thank You

  • June 14, 2012

    by Marta

    That's a hard choice Karen. They are both really good. I think AQ is better at tightening/firming and Correct is better for crepey skin on lids or under the eyes, so it would depend what your need is.

  • June 14, 2012

    by Karen Prince

    Marta, so if you were to choose, would you purchase AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum or Correct? I want to get the best product for best results. Thanks.

  • June 13, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Kate, I don't put anything over the serum apart from sunscreen. I find it is hydrating enough on its own. I am pleased you are enjoying it so far.

  • June 12, 2012

    by KateZ

    Marta I've been waiting for the results of your trial of the eye serum. I've been using the face serum for approx 2 weeks now and am really pleased with the results so far. I should have known that the eye serum would be just as good but wanted to be sure before spending the money. I know that you use the face serum in the morning (I use it at nite) so have to ask if you put anything on over the serum besides sunscreen?
    Thanks for your update!

  • June 12, 2012

    by Valerie

    I'm so excited to have a new eye product to try. I'm just finishing up my bottle of Reluma Eye Cream and have been on the search for something new. I was wondering if this product works well on wrinkles. My wedding is in 7 weeks and I was hoping to find somethign that will make a difference on wrinkles in that time frame. I like to use Correct on my upper lids for crepiness, but really need a new eye product for wrinkles. Thanks for the discovery Marta.

Have You Tried AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum below.

My Comment

Add a comment... AQ Skin Solutions Eye Serum

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...