Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best eyelash and brow growth treatments 2012

Is a Solution for:
Eyelashes & Brows
Reviewed by Marta September 19, 2012 30 Comments

Lush lashes and brows can keep years off your face. Much experimentation and some serendipitous finds have turned up some extremely effective and safe – if sometimes surprising – eyelash and eyebrow growers. Here is my Five Best – they all produce longer, stronger lashes and brows, plus they are all prostaglandin free. People will notice, really!

AQ Eye Serum ($99 in the TIA shop). I absolutely had to include this. Yes, it is an eye serum and it will do a good job of keeping lines and crow’s feet at bay. But an added bonus (and everyone loves a twofer) is, in my experience,  longer, thicker, darker lashes. After using AQ for about six weeks, I began to notice my lashes were growing. I thought it was my imagination until other people started to notice too. I put it down to the growth factors that are the key active in this eye serum. Read the review (and note my eyelash update in comments).

ReLuma Lash ($95). Like AQ, this is based on growth factors, but is specially formulated for eyelash growth. ReLuma Lash takes about six weeks before significant lash growth is seen. But patience is rewarded by new lashes, as well as longer darker existing ones. It can also be used with success on eyebrows. ReLuma Lash’s actives are growth proteins from stem cells. ReLuma Lash gets a boost with keratin and panthenol and lashes are conditioned by moisture attracting gluconolactone. Read the review.

Brow Vitality Complex ($36 in the TIA shop). Feeling a little over-plucked? This brow rescue treatment is based on the formula for our bestselling Hair Vitality Complex. Brow Vitality is enhanced for better application and absorption by the brows. As with Hair Vitality Complex, the actives are copper peptides and vitamin B. Copper peptides are said to increase follicle cell proliferation, while decreasing programmed follicle cell death. Read the article.

CODE:ai Lash Extend Serum ($115). The active is myristoyl pentapeptide-16 and 17. Lash Extend Serum has this peptide at a 30% concentration. Results can be seen after about three weeks – longer lashes. It also works on the eyebrows as well. After six weeks, the results are more impressive with the hairs not just longer, but also more flexible and healthier looking. Read the review.

Osmotics FNS Serum ($69). Osmotics makes an eyelash growth product, but it is so similar to the FNS hair growth treatment that it makes more sense to go with the hair product and apply it carefully with a fine eyeliner brush. FNS Serum was developed with cancer doctors and majors on amino acids. There are 18 amino acids in human hair and they are all here in this serum. In addition, there is an antioxidant favorite of Osmotics, tetrahydrocurcumin and plenty of B vitamins: B6 (pyridoxine), Myo-insitol, which has been shown to strengthen the cells of the hair, helping it to retain moisture, serving as a humectant and anti-static agent, niacinamide, thiamine and riboflavin (B2).

  • July 1, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Claire, all of these should work for menopausal women. This post has also been updated for 2013:
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/five_best_for_eyelashes_and_brows_2013

  • July 1, 2013

    by Claire

    What eye lash enhancers works best for post menopausal women?

  • April 27, 2013

    by Jan Steinle

    I was wondering if any or all of these products are ok to use if you have eyelash extensions? The after-care card I got says to stay away from products with oil or solvents in them as it will negatively affect the glue.

  • November 30, 2012

    by Samantha

    Great! Im going to try the AQ Eye serum. Gotta love the two-fers!
    Thank you!

  • November 29, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Samantha, if you have the ingredients list and can post it, I can check it out for you. Generally, the active is a prostaglandin and this causes skin discoloration. There are no prostaglandins in the five recommendations in this post.

  • November 29, 2012

    by samantha

    I haved used Grand Lash Md with great success, it made my lashes longer and darker in about 8weeks, when used daily. I LOVED my long thick lashes! However, I did develop hyperpigmentation around the lashes. Im so disappointed! What products do you recommend I could use with same results but no hyperpigmentation? What is the ingredient that causes it?

  • November 27, 2012

    by Lisa

    Are any of these products safe to use while pregnant and or nursing? I used to use latisse which worked amazingly well, but cannot be used while pregnant. I miss my long lush lashes.
    Thanks!

  • October 17, 2012

    by Jan

    I always go back to Folligen. Eyebrows grow practically overnight and lashes within a few days begin to lengthen. I apply along my lashline lightly with an eyeliner brush, then use a mascara brush to also brush on lashes. I would rather use Folligen than any of the other products. May not work for others, but my brows and lashes love it!

  • October 15, 2012

    by jarrod marshall

    Does anyone know if Brow Vitality works???

  • October 14, 2012

    by Suzanne

    Oh please please let me dare to try the Brow Vitality complex! I have hypothyroidism, which causes periodic hair, brow, and lash loss. I am desperate to find products to help with regrowth, but I don't have the funds to experiment a lot. I will take before and after pics. Thanks for your consideration!

  • September 27, 2012

    by Tammy Allen

    I would love to try the Brow Vitality Complex. Of all the things I miss the most it is my lashes. It changes yoru look entirely.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Mia

    I want to try Brow Vitality Complex so bad. I am only in my early 20s, but a few too many times over plucking and a bad eyebrow wax messed them up big time. Some of the hairs that do grow in are lighter and thinner...would love to see if this product would make them thick and strong again. Thank you for the chance!

  • September 26, 2012

    by phyllis

    I would love to try the Brow Vitality complex. I haven't won a trial before. But, more than that, I am suffering from mid-life and hypothyroid-induced hair loss. I have a big hole in my right eyebrow! It is begging for help!

  • September 26, 2012

    by Michelle

    I would love to try Brow Vitality Comples. The outside of my brows are MIA.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Nancy Yang

    Marta,
    Not to add to the "I'd like to try" spam, but felt like it could not hurt to ask. I'd love to try the AQ eye serum or ReLuma lash. I actually do product review/tutorials on youtube....so if the result is positive, more than happy to relay it on my youtube channel.

    youtube.com/callmenansay

    Thank you!

    -Nancy

  • September 26, 2012

    by sydney85

    I would love to test the Brow Vitality Complex. My once lovely thick eyebrows have become a thin line. I am in my 50's and would love to have an improvement in my eyebrows.

  • September 26, 2012

    by pipi

    I would love to try Brow Vitality Complex...Actually, I would be Honored to test Brow Vitality Complex!

  • September 26, 2012

    by Dee

    Hello Marta!
    I would *love* to test the BVC. Being in my 50's together with my heritage make my brows scarce and blond. I've had a lot of discouragement with many brow products but am loving the products TIA is developing so have high hopes for this one!

  • September 26, 2012

    by Kelly Dragos

    Hi Marta,
    I'm also 49 & have had noticeably no brows past my natural arch for several years....so tired of pencils & powders, PLEASE put me on the Dare to Try list! I'm hopeful just reading about the product!!
    Thanks,
    Kelly

  • September 26, 2012

    by Alison

    Hi Marta,

    I would love to give the Brown Vitality a whirl to see if it will fill in my patchy moth-eaten eyebrows. Is there anything I need to do/sign up, or will this comment suffice?

    Thanks!

  • September 26, 2012

    by Judy

    Would love to review Brow Vitality Complex. I was an English teen in the 1960s/early 70s...with Twiggy in vogue and pencil thin brows a necessity! No one to blame but myself...I didn't listen to Mum, and plucked away like the impressionable lass I was. Later (too late) I missed/longed for my original eyebrows. Now in my late 50s...help me bring back my brows!

  • September 26, 2012

    by Ellen

    Having decimated part of my once too-thock brows decades ago, I would love to try this.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Janice

    Hi Marta. I'd also love test Brow Vitality Complex. My brows have been thinning slowly over the last few years (I'm 49) so it's now necessary to fill in with a pencil - something I don't like to do and which can look artificial. I've never tried any kind of brow/lash product before.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Karlyn

    Would love to review Brow Vitality Complex. I am the victim of a drive-by crazed aesthician who decided "less is more", so I went from eastern European uni-brow eyebrows (not necessarily a good look) to barely there, will they ever grow back again brows. Being in my late 40's have I done irreparable damage? Can they be saved?

  • September 26, 2012

    by Angela Barnes

    Hi Marta, I would love to try the BVC in the Dare To Try It.

  • September 26, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Nancy, Code:AI and Hydropeptide use a peptide and if that isn't working for you I would consider trying AQ's eye serum or ReLuma Lash. They are based on growth factors and you may have better luck with this active.

  • September 25, 2012

    by Nancy Yang

    Marta,
    Super excited for this post. I am yet to find an amazing eyelash growth product. Hydropeptide did not work for me, and Code:AI gave barely noticeable results.

    Which one would you recommend most for someone who is trying to achieve very long lashes? (I have short stick straight asian lashes)

    -Nancy

  • September 23, 2012

    by Patricia

    Thank you Marta. Now if only the skin care companies could put specific instructions like that on their packaging - instead of the usually very general "Apply around eye area" . Some do say not to apply on the eyelid itself, and at least I am more cautious with how I apply those. But it would be great to know how to apply to get the most benefit from the ingredients!

  • September 20, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Patricia,
    Yes, I do use it on the eyelid right up to the lashes and under the lower lashes. Like any other growth factor, it has to activate the follicle so it needs to reach the follicle - this won't happen if you are only using the serum on the brow bone. You could give it a careful try, but obviously shouldn't use it if you have any irritation or other reactions due to your sensitivity.

  • September 20, 2012

    by patricia

    Marta, How are you applying the AQ eye serum for your results with eyelash growth? I have been using it for about 2 months, but I am only using it on the under eye area and the upper eye above the crease of my eyelid. Are you using it on the lid itself? I was afraid to apply it there because of my sensitive eyes. To date I have not noticed eyelash benefits, but maybe it's my application method?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...