Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Matrixyl Synthe’6: What is It?

glass test tubes
December 29, 2014 Reviewed by Marta 9 Comments

Remember Intel Inside? The high profile and incredibly successful campaign to create brand awareness for — of all things — microprocessors spawned surprisingly few jokes other than one that I perhaps made up about Intel Inside really being a warning sign. This came to mind when I noticed that there is a Matrixyl Inside logo that cosmetics manufacturers are being invited to put on their anti-aging serums, and it prompted me to take a look at the latest power peptide to join the Matrixyl line up, Matrixyl Synthe 6.

First, a Matrixyl 101

Matrixyl® is a trademark of Sederma and is the name given for a series of anti-wrinkle actives that contain a specific “matrikine,” a peptide that can link to a matching cell-surface receptor.

Matrixyl was launched by Sederma in 2000. Then, in 2003, Matrixyl 3000 was created based on two peptides: a palmitoyl tripeptide and a palmitoyl tetrapeptide. They established themselves as two of the most popular and reliable anti-aging ingredients.

Then, a couple of years ago, Sederma gave a boost to Matrixyl Inside with a new palmitoyl tripeptide that goes by the name Matrixyl Synthe’6.

What is Matrixyl Synthe’6?

Basically, Matrixyl Synthe’6 is palmitoyl tripeptide-38, a peptide produced from derivatives of the amino acids lysine and methione sulfone (the latter is synthetic). Palmitoyl tripeptide-38 is a matrikine-mimetic compound that regulates cell activity, wound repair and collagen tissue remodeling.

As the name implies, Matrixyl Synthe’6 stimulates six major constituents of the skin matrix and the dermal-epidermal junction. And these are:

1. Collagen I - It is the major component of the dermis.

2. Collagen III - This type of collagen is produced in the earliest phases of wound healing, before type I collagen synthesis initiation. It is mostly found in elastic tissues, including the skin, muscles and blood vessels, and it diminishes with age in favor of collagen I.

3. Collagen IV - This has important wound healing stimulation properties, as it interacts with keratinocytes, which induce epidermal cell proliferation immediately after a skin injury.

4. Fibronectin - A glycoprotein that appears to have a role in the stimulation and acceleration of in vivo tissue repair.

5. Hyaluronic acid - Known for facilitating wound repair, hyaluronic acid is thought to improve skin moisture and elasticity. Hyaluronic acid has a demonstrated ability to promote the delivery of active ingredients to the inner layers of the skin. Its free radical scavenging properties indicate that it may also have a role in UV protection

6. Laminin-5 - Alongside collagens and proteoglycans, laminins are important components of the basement membrane. Laminin-5 anchors the epidermis to the dermis. It also regulates keratinocyte migration, facilitating the healing of injured epidermis.

Does it work?

Very little independent research exists for Matrixyl. Indeed, we had to wait more than a decade for the first independent study — happily it confirmed that Matrixyl boosts collagen. But anecdotal evidence for both Matrixyl and Matrixyl 3000 is very positive, and my own skin seems to respond well to products with Matrixyl Inside.

The only studies on the performance of Matrixyl Synthe’6 are from the manufacturer, Sederma. In vitro tests of twice daily applications of a formulation containing 2% Matrixyl synthe’6 for five days found that type I, III and IV collagens significantly increased (p<0.01) by 105%, 104%, and 42% respectively. Significant increases were also shown for laminin-5, fibronectin and hyaluronic acid.

There are also the results of a placebo-controlled clinical study of 25 women aged 42 to 70 years. In this study, 2% palmitoyl tripeptide-38 was applied twice daily for two months on two facial skin areas especially prone to wrinkling: the forehead and the crow’s feet by the eyes. Forehead wrinkle volume and depth decreased by 31 and 16.3%, respectively, and lifting improved by 28%. On the crow’s feet, wrinkle surface, volume, and maximum depth diminished by 28.5, 21.1, and 15%, respectively.

The only independent study I could find was on safety. The CIR says that in diluted form there was negligible toxicity but some ocular irritation. No skin or allergic reactions were observed.

Where can you find it?

Not many products yet have Matrixyl Synthe’6 inside. Note that it is a very expensive ingredient, and beware of any products flaunting a high concentration unless they cost a fortune. In any case, Sederma’s own studies were at the 2% level. We reviewed it in Lumavera Anti-Aging Serum ($120) and it is one of the additions to the new formula in Your Best Face Correct ($150 in the shop), which I am currently testing.


Marta Wohrle is an anti-aging skin care and beauty expert and the founder/CEO of Truth In Aging. Marta is dedicated to uncovering the truth behind anti-aging product claims.

  • September 12, 2017

    by Ricky Guevara

    Hi Marta...My name is Ricky and I have been " self educating " myself on Facial Skin Care Ingredients when I decided it was time for me to take better, serious care of my facial skin and that was about 10 years ago. It all started with me noticing one day while in the car with my best friend and I looked into the mirror under the sun visor and I noticed that my skin between my upper eyes and my eyebrows was sagging, drooping down over my upper eye areas and ever since that day I am always on the lookout for a newer, updated, better Eye Cream to help with Firming the skin around the entire eye areas while also helping to lessen the looks of fine lines, wrinkles and Crows Feet and also products for the entire face such as Facial Cleansers, Exfoliators, Masks, Peels, Serums, Eye Creams and Moisturizers. In all of my reading in the last 10 years, I have come to this website quite often to read about certain skin care ingredients, and I have come to the conclusion that there are 4 very popular and proven ingredients that DO help the facial skin as far as anti aging/ anti wrinkle and firming of the Facial skin, at least this what I, ME, I believe, and those ingredients are " Retinol, Peptides, Vitamin C, but since pure Vitamin C is unstable, then Esters/ Salts of Vitamin C and lastly, Hyaluronic Acid." I have chosen to use products with Peptides and Hyaluronic Acid in them in my quest to have younger looking skin instead of using products with Retinol and Vitamin C. I also always try to buy products that have at least one of the three Matrixyl Peptides along with Hyaluronic Acid in them. I actually prefer Matrixyl 3000 and/ or Matrixyl Synthe 6, BUT I read a few articles stating that to get the BEST benefits/ results of an Anti Aging/ Anti Wrinkle Serum and/ or Moisturizer is a product that contains ALL THREE of the Matrixyl Peptide "family " and it is difficult to find a product that uses all three of the Matrixyl Peptide "family" and it NOT costing over $75.00. Am I at least on the right track as far as the ingredients used for Anti Aging/ Anti Wrinkle skin care products such as Facial Serums and/ or Moisturizers...??? I know I am no where near to be as highly educated as person such as yourself
    or other Aestiticians or Dermatologists, but I DO like to read and learn about skin care products and their ingredients, mainly because I am sick. I have been living with AIDS for the last 21 years, I have not been able to work since 1996 so I have quite a bit of free time on my hands and I spend much of that time reading and educating myself about skin care products and their ingredients . It actually has become kind of like a " Hobby " to me but I DO know that Skin Care is more than just a " hobby" to a lot of people, it is their jobs, their careers and I have A LOT of respect for them. As I stated, skin care has become like a " hobby " to me, and not just because of that sagging, drooping skin I HAD between my upper eyes and my eyebrows, but also ALL the prescription medications I have to take and I know that they have/ still are contributing to the look of my facial skin and also the skin on my whole body. I honestly don't know WHY I care so much about trying to stay looking young because I rarely leave my house. I only leave my house when I have my Dr's appointments and one in a while I might get in the car with my mother or brother when I am running low on dog food and they will drive to a Retail Store to buy my dogs their dog food and I will go inside the store but because I have recently lost quite a bit of weight, I DO look like a very sick man and YES I CAN see people pointing at me and YES I CAN hear people whispering things about me and it's almost always a joke in poor taste about my condition, so that's why I do not like to go out in pubic that much, but I still keep asking myself WHY do I care so much about trying to keep my face looking young and healthy and I don't know the answer but it just makes me feel a little bit better about myself. Anyway, Thank you for taking the time to read this and if you have a few spare minutes I would really appreciate your 2 cents about Anti Aging/ Anti Wrinkle skin care ingredients. Thank you again and have a great week and upcoming weekend....!!! Best Regards... Ricky

  • June 3, 2017

    by Andrew

    Timeless makes a Synthe 6 serum for under $25.

  • July 2, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Noreen, we have a selection of the Five Best with Matrixyl and you will see that some have Synthe'6 as well as Matrixyl 3000 and all are very good recommendations: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/five-best-with-matrixyl-3000

  • July 1, 2016

    by noreen moresco

    Is there a product with this matrixyl that really works?

  • April 11, 2016

    by Juanita

    I just ordered some Mad Hippie Exfoliating Serum that features this stuff, it it was $27.99 for 1 ounce, does that sound right?

  • January 18, 2015

    by Seth

    Hi,
    Derma E uses Synthe'6 in their Deep Wrinkle Peptide Moisturizer. I think it is listed as the 9th ingredient out of 24. Forget about having to pay a lot for this compound, I bought my 2oz jar for about $25!

    I got it about a month ago as of this writing. So far I'm not seeing a notable difference, but perhaps it is too soon. I also tend to use it only once before bed, not twice a day. I will continue to test it and report back if requested.

    PS. The 7th ingredient is Argireline

  • January 7, 2015

    by Elizabeth

    Here in Australia, John Plunkett Collagen Lift Moisturiser contains 2% Matrixyl 3000. We have been granted permission to use the "Matrixyl Inside" logo on packaging and promotional material. As far as I know this is the only product in Australia using the logo.

  • January 1, 2015

    by Katy

    Hi Marta,

    Matrixyl Synthe 6 is in the NCN Multi-Active Peptide Matrixyl Serum and the Multi-Active Accelerator Cream.

    I sell NCN products from the UK and both of these are big sellers.

    Kind regards
    Katy

  • December 29, 2014

    by Dennis

    Mad Hippie exfoliating serum has Matrixyl Synthe ’6 at only around $40. No idea what the concentration is though, but I am currently testing that serum myself.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...