Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Skinfinite LOL Eye Serum- reader reviewed and recommended

Our Rating: 5 stars

Pros

Botanicals that firm the eye area and reduce puffiness

Cons

Reviewer did not have dark circles to see the product's effects
April 24, 2012 Reviewed by Mark 13 Comments
An effective serum with ingredients comparable to similar, more expensive products

Although much can be said and written about a product and how it performs, perhaps the real evidence of whether or not it works is to answer the question: Would you purchase it again? After six weeks, I am nearing the end of my bottle of Skinfinite LOL (Laugh Out Loud) Eye Serum (.5oz/$49 in the shop) and am facing that very question.

But first, I would be remiss in not mentioning the ingredients list. If peptides and botanicals work for you, this will definitely be worthwhile reading. Third and fourth on the list are tetrapeptides (EyeserylTM and HaloxylTM) to address eye puffiness, dark circles, firmness and tone around the eye. BioskinupTM is a collective blend of botanicals (Ptychopetalum Olaciodes Bark/Stem Extract, Pfaffia Paniculata Root Extract, Lilium Candidum Flower Extract) that work to alleviate puffiness, fine lines, stimulate blood circulation, and act as an anti-inflammatory. Hesperidin (a citrus bioflavonoid) improves skin tone and stimulates circulation to reduce dark circles; evening primrose oil (contains Gamma Linolenic Acid) provides anti-inflammatory and emollient benefits. Although the list goes on, these are a few of the ingredients that specifically target problems associated with the periorbital area.

My concerns around the eye area are to maintain firmness and skin tone, hydrate, address the start of fine lines, and reduce occasional puffiness. My go-to eye product has been kaplanMD Intensive Eye Cream, so this is what I used around one eye, and the Skinfinite LOL Eye Serum around the other for this test.

To begin with, I like the Skinfinite pump bottle that made it easy to dispense just the right amount – no wasted product. As a serum, it has excellent lubricity and I found one drop was plenty for each eye. Lightly tapping the serum around the eye, it absorbs quickly without any sticky residue. I used this morning and night and was pleasantly surprised to find it kept pace with my kaplanMD Intensive Eye Cream. It worked well right away, keeping the eye area firm and moisturized. Luckily, I don’t have problems with dark under-eye circles, so I honestly can’t speak to that. However, I did intentionally skip an evening application when I knew I would be up quite late without sleep, resulting in a bit of puffiness in the morning. I resumed application early the following morning and in about an hour the puffiness had gone.

I quickly discovered an affinity for this eye serum and it has performed very well for me over the entire six-week period (and yes, I will be purchasing this in the future). Made with ingredients found in more expensive eye products, I found this eye serum to be an excellent performer at a good price point. This is another great candidate for the TIA shop, too.

Note: kaplanMD has recently launched a new Intense Eye Concentrate that I’ve just begun testing, so watch for my review of it in a few weeks.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Glycerin*, Acetyl Tetrapeptide‐5, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide‐7, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Glycosaminoglycans, Ptychopetalum Olaciodes Bark/Stem Extract, Pfaffia Paniculata Root Extract, Alpha Glucosyl Hesperidin, Lilium Candidum Flower Extract, Actinidia Chinensis (Kiwi) Fruit Powder, Coffea Robusta (Green Coffee) Seed Extract, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder*, Steareth‐20, Chrysin, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Flower Oil*, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil*, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Oil*, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, N‐Hydroxysuccinimide, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Alcohol Denat., Phytic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Benzyl Alcohol, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract

*Certified Organic

Buy Me
$ 49.00
  • January 15, 2015

    by Sandra

    (4 out of 5)

    I am pleased to say that this seems to be working for me, right away. I have very fair skin, and late nights, stress, and lack of exercise (working at the computer too much!) shows on my skin first as puffiness and dark circles around my eyes. LOL eye serum prevented both, and I have been nearly sleepless, unfortunately, for two nights. I wouldn't recommend sleeplessness for testing, but for me, it provided exactly the conditions I need help with the most.

    My only concern is with the very strong smell of the product. It smelled so strong that I was concerned about putting it close to my eyes, and I waited before using any other cosmetics until it dried, in case it stung my skin and I had to wash it off.

    It did not sting, dried to an unnoticeable trace that felt very moisturizing, but not sticky. I did check the bottom of the container for the expiration date, however, as the odor of the product worried me. No worry, though, because the expiration date is more than a year out. But I still wish it smelled better, right out of the pump wich, by the way, dispensed exactly enough to treat both eyes.

  • August 8, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Isanna
    Thank you for this. We don't knowingly recommend or sell products with cheaper twins and so we will look into this further.

  • August 7, 2012

    by Isanna

    Sorry to rain on your parade but I found two identical products
    this -http://epidermeskin.com/webshaper/store/viewProd.asp?pkProductItem=79
    and this -
    http://www.triderma.com/new-products/anti-age-eye-gel/
    Also, Skinfinite Platinum 8 peptide is identical to Skin Perfection Peptide serum but twice the price.

  • May 31, 2012

    by Mark

    Linda - your feedback is really appreciated - I'm glad it worked for you, too!

  • May 31, 2012

    by Linda

    I have always had problems with dark circles under my eyes and after reading Mark's review I decided I would give LOL a try. Now, I cannot live without my LOL...after a month there is such a huge improvement with my dark circles and the lines around my eyes. For anyone who tired of looking tired, this product is a must! I am going to try Skinfinite's Platinum pm retinol cream next and I will keep you updated. Thanks for the recommendation Mark!

  • May 24, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Jennifer, I haven't tried the Skinfinite, but this review does make it look worth trying. However, I don't think that the ingredients in YBF and LOL are all that similar. Some of the peptides are in both, but YBF has many more as far as I can see and also has the antioxidants, spin trap and Lipochroman-6. LOL has more botanical ingredients.

    Here are the YBF Correct ingredients:

    Reverse osmosis water, Eyeseryl (water, acetyl tetrapeptide-5), licorice root extract, Haloxyl (hydroxysuccinimide, chyrsin, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), Snap-8 (water, acetyl octapeptide-3), olivem (cetearyl olivate), Matrixyl 3000 (glycerin, butylene glycol, water, carbomer, polysorbate-20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-3), cucumber extract, Renovage (triglyceride, teprenone), nylon-12, triglyceride, Syn-Tacks (glycerin, palmitoyl dipeptide-5, diaminobutyroyl hydroxythreonine, palmitoyl dipeptide-5 diaminohydroxybutyrate),alpha arbutin, nutmeg butter, caffeine, olive leaf extract, vitamin e, ethyhexyl palmitate, vitamin B5, dimethyl isosorbide, spin trap (phenyl butyl nitrone), Lipochroman-6 (dimethylmethoxy chromanol), Sepilift DPHP (dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline), idebenone, alpha lipoic acid, sodium hyaluronate, c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, violet leaf absolute, oakmoss absolute, triethanolamine, paraben du

  • May 24, 2012

    by Jennifer

    Hi there! I've just finished my first bottle of YBF Correct and saw this product. I couldn't help but wonder -- is YBF Correct 3 times as good, for 3 times the price????
    YBF Correct has helped reduce puffiness and crepyness for me for sure, but I had hoped for better results with the dark circles. Like Glynnis above, my eyes are the biggest age give-away. Wearing my shades, I like to think I'm ageless :)
    I'm curious to know if you have any comments on the two-- I notice the active ingredients are similar, though it's hard to know the concentrations. Have you had the chance to do any side by sides with YBF and LOL? (Are you looking for someone?? I'm your girl!!)
    Thanks for your insight.

  • April 26, 2012

    by Glynnis

    I've been using Skinfinite's LOL for about 2 months, and as far as the dark circles under the eyes...it does take care of them beautifully! I've had to use two different concealers to hide my circles and make my eyes look bright and fresh, but since using the LOL, I've been able to eliminate both concealers! And yes, it does eliminate lines. That was my whole reason for trying it...I'm almost 48 and my eyes are my biggest age give-away. Since using it, the lines have diminished quite a bit!

  • April 26, 2012

    by Rosabel

    Thank you, Mark! You've been a great help.

    I'm going to get a bottle to try!

  • April 25, 2012

    by Mark

    Hi Rosabel - thanks so much for your comments and question. I am going to say yes, because I had a couple of fine lines at each eye that with previous use of the kaplanMD had disappeared. Since I did a side-by-side comparison using both products and the LOL Eye Serum performed as well as the kaplanMD, it maintained the results I had previously achieved.

  • April 25, 2012

    by Rosabel

    Thanks, Mark & TIA! LOL sounds promising, I'm glad to learn of it. The name appeals to me. I enjoyed your review and am glad for you that it's performed well for you. 

    Was it good for fine lines? I'm hoping to make a fine line go away. (For some years I've had two. Happily, one seemed to have disappeared recently unbeknownst to me. Thank you, Marta & TIA, YBF, and Reluma. I'm much obliged to all of you - I think that line might have gone away due to Correct and your Reluma serum. The other line seems a little obstinate, unfortunately.)

  • April 24, 2012

    by Mark

    Junko - yes, the Skinfinite LOL Eye Serum will be my new daily eye product (when not testing an eye product)- because it performed well and at a great price, Note that I was comparing it against the older formula kaplanMD Intensive Eye Cream and I am currently trying out kaplan's newer Eye Cream Concentrate, so the jury's still out on this one.

  • April 24, 2012

    by Junko

    Mark * Thanks for the review! So, would I be correct in saying that you'll be buying Skinfinite LOL instead of KaplanMD Intensive Eye Cream because it performed as well, but it's cheaper?

Have You Tried Skinfinite LOL Eye Serum ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Skinfinite LOL Eye Serum below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Skinfinite LOL Eye Serum

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...