Free shipping on all orders over $39

ASEA Renu 28 Consigned to Dept of Daft

ASEA Renu 28
July 11, 2014 Reviewed by Marta 43 Comments

Someone wrote to us with the disingenuous cheeriness that only a product rep can have. She had just happened to come across this amazing anti-aging potion with only four ingredients and would love to know what we thought. The product was ASEA Renu 28, and its secret sauce is one of the more surprising — nay, preposterous — that I have come across.

Let’s take those four precious ingredients in turn:

Aqua/Water/Eu — um, that would be water

Sodium Magnesium Silicate — a synthetic silicate clay used as a bulking agent and to slow the decomposition of products (and it also goes into the making of concrete)

Disodium Phosphate — a buffering agent and, incidentally, a laxative

Sodium Chloride — a common and garden salt

At this point, you might be wondering how they can charge $80 for two tubes of ASEA Renu 28. Well, what to the untrained (or in my case cynical) eye may look to be water, salt and clay is actually Redox Signaling technology. Really! It says so on the ASEA website. And it “provies [sic] critical connections and communication between cells with Redox Signaling molecules to ensure optimum renewal and replenishment.”

Upon being told that Redox Signaling molecules exist in my body but are disappearing with age, I wondered why I hadn’t heard of them before. The first page of an online search revealed an advertisement for SilverLinings, a non-profit for “the emotional rejuvenation of displaced veterans.” The SilverLinings home page says “We have noticed that a Redox Signaling Supplement supports our veterans significantly.” Hmmm... I clicked on the link provided and was taken the ASEA website where Redox Signaling Supplements can be bought. This is subtle stuff.

A bit more digging through some genuine scientific papers revealed that “the major molecules that participate in Redox Signaling are reactive oxygen species (ROS) such as superoxide, hydrogen peroxide...” ASEA claims it is the world’s only source for Redox Signaling molecules, and I am wondering how water, clay, salt and a buffering agent amount to really complex molecules such as superoxide.

There is a paper on the ASEA website that says: “The reactive molecules in ASEA™ are produced by a complex proprietary electrochemical process that reduces and oxidizes the base saline solution, resulting in an equilibrium of several known reactive molecules.” Well, I do accept that there is a base saline solution, but I am still no wiser about the mysterious “electrochemical process.”  The rest of the paper is verifying that there are molecules present — incidentally, the verifier is a doctor who is also in the ASEA promotional video endorsing the product.

A test was conducted by Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) national laboratory that measured ASEA, in vitro, and reported an increase in glutathione and also in superoxidismutase, though to a lesser extent. Well, that must be bonafide. But on closer reading the PNNL report is very odd, indeed.

The first thing I noticed was that it wasn’t on any kind of PNNL standard reporting; there is no logo, address or anything that looks officially PNNL. At the end of the report, it says:

*PNNL is not in any way endorsing ASEA, it merely acted as an independent laboratory in performing and producing these test results.

Somehow I don’t think that a Department of Energy agency would need to say that. And there are few other things that don’t gel, like vague and hyperbolic language. Apparently, the PNNL tested “hundreds” of cells. That is not very precise or scientific. And the PNNL found the test results “extraordinary” — an adjective that doesn’t sound precise, scientific, or independent.

But I might just be getting cynical in my old age. Or then again, it could be something in the water.

See TIA's Five Best Anti-Aging Serums of 2014


Marta Wohrle is an anti-aging skin care and beauty expert and the founder/CEO of Truth In Aging. Marta is dedicated to uncovering the truth behind anti-aging product claims.

  • June 13, 2017

    by Kay

    I have a LOT of health issues that I have spent thousands of dollars on seeking natural alternative healing. I started drinking the ASEA a month ago and do not notice any real benefit as of yet. Keep in mind it takes aprox 90 days for your body to cycle thru any type of healing process or change. However, I have been using the Renue 28 lotion for only 2 weeks and have documented proof of healing. I have several cancerous raw spots on my body and a finger, those scaly red sores that hurt or itch. Those spots that the dermatologist needs to burn off but you keep putting off going and then they get worse. The Renue 28 has significantly reduced the appearance of those spots and the worse one on my finger no longer bothers me. But here's the incredible part. I have had very bad fibromyalga in my neck, shoulders and back for 30 years. I had a professional do an upper body thermogram of those areas. What I saw on the computer screen was horrific. My entire neck and back area were red hot....total inflammation. The technician rubbed Renue 28 all over those areas and did another thermogram 10 minutes later. The inflammation had subsided and now the computer was showing green and yellow colors, meaning the heat had dissipated significantly. I have a copy of this before and after scan to prove it. This is NASA developed technology at it's finest and you can't argue with it. Just FYI, I did not join up with their sales program, I have found cheaper sources through ebay .

  • April 25, 2017

    by Shelley

    I started using the ASEA Renu Advanced RENU 28 Revitalizing Redox Gel due to excruciating knee pain. After months of post-surgery rehab, I was still getting intermittent pain.

    About three days after using the Gel on my knees and a little on the back of my neck twice a day, I noticed with surprise that my knee pain was so much better. When the pain struck, it was only very mild, and after another week it's almost disappeared completely. I honestly cannot recommend it highly enough - I had almost given up hope of being pain free!

  • April 6, 2017

    by Courtney

    I got recommended for this product by a very reputable Australian naturopath for my acne. I'm 25 years old and have PCOS. This product has helped me significantly. I wash my face with water, dry, then apply Renu. Afterwards, I apply a tiny amount of raw organic shea butter. My skin always looks fresh immediately afterwards and when I use it on a daily basis, I have much less acne and any break outs I have heal a lot faster. If I stop using it, my break outs come back but as soon as I start using this product, they significantly look so much better when I see my skin the next day. Even the wrinkles under my eyes are disappearing. I really highly recommend this product.

  • December 21, 2016

    by Bob

    All I can say is after using it for a few months people say I look younger for some reason. Your skin looks great. etc etc. There has to be a reason whether its Renu 28 or must attitude. Who knows.

  • September 17, 2016

    by Dave

    I have been taking Asea for several months now. The first thing I noticed was longer more sound sleep, then my energy went through the roof, like making banana bread at 10 pm [I am 71] takes an hour to cook then all of the age spots on my hands were gone, but most of all is that I am much more mentally organized. I will take this product forever and I havent received a dime for these coments

  • August 7, 2016

    by Lori H

    From a review of your site it appears that you do market products.
    You don't mention any test results for your own 30-day trial of ASEA products. It appears you have not interviewed any of the Doctors that have written about their research of ASEA products, namely, Dr. Rob Ward. It appears you have failed to do your real homework in that you have not provided factual information, i.e. reference to scientific studies, etc. Can you explain how ASEA and Renu 28 works, the real science behind it? Please be honest and respond with the truth.

    Wikipedia stated the following: "Truth In Aging accepts no payments for their reviews and makes full disclosure when a product has been supplied by a marketer. They review everything from anti-aging serums, anti-aging treatments, beauty and skin products, and haircare and health products and treatments. Products are for men and women and given a 30-day testing period before reviews are written, giving readers and honest, genuine, and helpful review."
    Sincerely,
    LH

  • December 31, 2015

    by Jackie

    Hi Marta,

    I went looking for ASEA research after reading about it in Robert G. Wright's book, "Killing Cancer -- Not People", and wanting to know more about its mechanisms in promoting health. There is significantly more research available now. It might be worthwhile to update your blog post...

    Best Wishes in your work, Jackie

  • December 15, 2015

    by Jess

    Just because a product is from mlm it doesn't automatically make it a bad product not does it automatically make it the best in the world and groundbreaking either..... Yes i think they hype it more than it needs to be but at the end of the day it's a business model that product is sold. I could winge that we work and pay heap of tax because we work on a wage/salary and can't claim anything, but others can own and run a business/bank etc and yet claim a loss and get extra money and hand outs from the government,, but it wouldn't mean I would never buy or use the serive they provide.
    Everyone is just trying to make a living. I am here because I am reading a review on a product to see it if it works not really about in which way it is sold,,, I don't care about that and nor would i judge that. I just want to know if the product is worth buying and does what it says.
    If I read something that picks on the way it is sold then the review is biased from the start

  • November 21, 2015

    by Hilary

    Unless you've learnt a little bit about structured water you may not understand what they are talking about. Water can be restructered and it holds that better in a sodium solution. It can have tremendous benefits as many people have experienced by using a water vortex machine. I don't know much, but I have been taking a very small dose of ASEA for a few days and so am not able to say much about the benefits, but it is having a definite detoxing effect on myself.I an having to sleep and rest a lot more. So I can definitely say it's not just salt water.

  • November 11, 2015

    by Bobby Sha

    The product must be used correctly to see the results that are numerous and documented. They have tried them on pets so I am not sure how the placebo would work on them. The marketing should not be considered in making the product selection as this strategy is used as people who use it are the best sellers eg before and after pictures of their face. You are commenting on the ingredients not the process they use to develop it. When you review a cake do you comment on the eggs?

  • November 11, 2015

    by Elaine

    Salt is not ok for high blood pressure/hypertension persons

  • October 31, 2015

    by Bill

    Multi-level Marketing, most famous for the AmWay company, promotes the possibility of wealth for anyone who is willing to work hard and follow the company program. The numbers can look impressive. Millions of dollars to be earned by promoting the "amazing" products, said to be life changing and ground breaking innovations.

    I do believe that there are millions to be made, but that is only possible if you are able to convince many people to convince many more people to market the products.

    The supporting materials from every MLM (Multi-level marketing) company I have looked into have an almost religious context of introducing the masses to the opportunity. The telephone support conferences, the group meetings, the recruiting of new prospects, all seem to me to reflect a "secular religion" more than a retail marketing of products.

    One common denominator of a lot of MLM programs is that the founders are members of the Latter Day Saints church.

    Has anyone else noticed the same theme?

  • October 29, 2015

    by Douglas

    This stuff is absolute bullshit some lady selling manatech products gave me some to try get me to buy it as an acne treatment and all it did was screw my skin up more, I do have an extreme case of acne but this is worse than pro active for reactions on my skin -8/10

  • September 25, 2015

    by Davyn

    I would say that any product that hydrates the skin would do you good!
    A skin care routine and hydrating is important for the health of anyone.
    This product has such a push to promote a positive placebo effect!
    (mainly because its multi-level company)
    That is its downfall in my mind, Its sold at such a high cost!
    Your told to on sell to others and you will get a return of your money?
    Why not sell the product for what its worth! no strings attached.
    That would be the moral and ethical thing to do.
    It is such a disturbing thing to see.
    When greed seems to be the main motivation to sell a product!

  • August 31, 2015

    by Paula Melville-Clark

    I've been using Renu 28 for 4 months and am amazed at the improvement in my skin (wrinkles, smoothness, moisture). Just not the same skin I had 4 months ago. In addition I used it on SK's (seborrhoic ketoseses) on my back. My skin doctor said he had nothing that would get rid of those. It took 4 weeks for them to disappear. They literally hardened and peeled off. He is now using this product. It's one thing to "look" at the ingredients and "dig through" research papers but maybe people should try the product and investigate the positive testimonials before casting an opinion. If not they should consign their opinion to the "department of daft" (just saying).

  • August 13, 2015

    by Leo

    i have been asked to try this cream for back pain???

  • July 13, 2015

    by helen

    Hi I was interested in your article, and I too am a cynic. I did try the renu 28 for the trial actually a little longer around 6 months.

    There was a difference , perhaps the clay lol. However I have stopped and my skin has gone back to the orginal state un clayed lol. I could not justify keeping up the high expense and concerns about long term effects. Guess I will just be content with aging gracfully :)

    I also tried it on my hands as was told my arthritic hands would be pain free ..... that did not happen.

    My concern is that alot of people are being bluffed with so many supposed scientific reports by suppose medical experts ??? Thankyou again just the cynic in me.

  • July 9, 2015

    by Oscar

    I been using this product for six weeks. I have not notice any change in my skin. I will stop using this product. Very expensive $150.00 a box.

  • April 21, 2015

    by Joe

    Believe it or not, Asea and Renu28 also work on us Irish, I have been using the Asea for 3 years, several family members also have seen and felt the benefits, or could it might be the leprechaun in us that might be helping us to look and feel better.

  • March 3, 2015

    by noni_wills@hotmail.com

    I would love to try this product for a 30 day trial how do i go about it

    Annette willls

  • February 27, 2015

    by Margaret

    Marta

    I have only been on ASEA for 1 1/2 weeks and after drinking ASEA the very first day, my excruciating painful teeth ( i had for at least over a week) on one side of my mouth gave me relief. I was so pleased to stop taking pain medication, which i usually refrain from.
    The RENU 28 is helping my husband's very sun damaged forehead and hands look hydrated and smooth, healing of blemishes and burnt off marks.. The RENU 28 also helped my 88 yo mother's painful legs to give her better night's sleep. Renu 28 takes the sting out of my insect bites, redness and itch!
    I can understand why you have your website and I don't have any negative to say about it ... but please consider trialing this product with your testing group for said quoted 30 days..and see what happens. You could ask asea to send their product to you complimentary for a 30 day trial?

  • February 20, 2015

    by Jan

    Hi Marta, with those ingredients I would be skeptical. Maybe they have some secret ingredient in the product that works synergistically with those other ingredients. I do find it hard to believe the product really works. I have friends trialling it and they have not seen any benefits as yet. For my money I would be using something formulated scientifically by a research chemist. I have been using a particular one that really DOES work. I have just turned 70yrs old and I am told I don't look a day over 50. All thanks to this research chemist.

  • January 19, 2015

    by debbie

    I was given a tube or renu 28 from a friend, and after 21 days, results are amazing. still not sure how or why the keloid scars are fading after 26 years and the other 5 year old. the 5 year old scar on my breast is flattening (after surgery I was given cicatrix patches - which didn't work) the tennis elbow is feeling good and the elbow itself is now callous free and cleaner looking than the left side. my partner is so impressed he wanted to try his elbows (that looked like cracked heels), after 2 days they are smooth and the cracks have healed, no other product was used.
    Don't know what the 4 ingredients do together that make it effective. Yes I'm a big sceptic, with only a few years of medical experience behind me I too am suspicious, but Hey, if it works ill keep using it.
    Debbie

  • January 14, 2015

    by Taylor

    There is definitely something fishy about ASEA. One glance at their website and it's obvious. The 'Who We Are' http://www.asea.net/en-au/whoweare/ourstory.aspx section is a clear indicator of how little the founders care about skin care. I suspect the CEO from Kraft and the Telecom guru have too much money. Why not start up a skin care company they say? Instead of deliver good skin care products, lets just use the website to boast about how amazing our careers have been and only sell 1 product. I thought your article was fantastic Marta. I came across it when I googled 'is it just me or is ASEA weird?'. I think you're on to something.

  • January 4, 2015

    by Yousef

    Any links to the patent jenny?

  • December 12, 2014

    by Teresa

    The only disappointment I have is that the drink, when taking 4 oz., doesn't last longer than a week. They must make it more affordable.

  • November 17, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Tim
    That isn't actually how it works. It is the other way around. We only sell products that we have endorsed. Members of the Truth In Aging community test products for at least 30 days and only if they are given a strong endorsement do we consider them for selection for the store. It is a model that I am very proud of.

  • November 16, 2014

    by Tim

    Ha! You fooled me. I wrote my response before looking over your website. It appears that you only endorse products you sell. Ha ha ha. You got me!

  • November 7, 2014

    by Robyn

    A friend sent me the Renu28 two months before it was available in Australia. It really worked for me. Crows feet gone, stretch marks gone and my skin is the best it's been a long time. I have always taken care of my skin and used Dr Lewinns skin care products so it has nothing to do with bad habits before. I've met women who say Dr Lewinns doesn't work and is a waste of money so I guess not everything works for everyone BUT the Renu 28 is a product I won't be without now. Wish I could attach my before and after photos.

  • November 3, 2014

    by Lori

    I find it odd that with the exception of Marta's review everything else on the first two pages of Google search is from/by ASEA. Seems a bit shady to me. Think I'll stick with SOD.

  • October 29, 2014

    by Jenny

    look a bit deeper into the ingredients before judging.... the sodium chloride has gone through a 3 day patented process to become redox signalling molecules....a huge science breakthrough of our life time....google it...you only have to look at the before and after pics to see it works. and you can use it on acne, sore joints and muscles. it's made a huge difference to my husbands back.

  • September 30, 2014

    by suzanne

    OK...the fact that I am responding on this page reveals to me that I have made my decision about this product and the ASEA line all together. I was turned on to the ASEA product line at the start of July 2014 by a guy who I trusted even though I NEVER trust products from a company structure built on the backs of friends and push for "sign up's" before the participant has had a change to test the product. Nevertheless . I committed to a 90 day trial not only of the RENU but the water as well. Because I had initial skepticism I took into consideration that the product might not stand a chance even if it was working so I had my two adult kids and my husband use the RENU due to their skin issues and all of us took the ASEA water...90 Days have passed...when reviewing the before and after photos there were NO visible signs of change. As far as the ASEA water...the only impact it made on any of us was that we all slept much better. Last I wish to comment on the very real fact that I know a half dozen people who are trying to make their living selling this product line and they swear by it...but they show no visible signs of improvement in their skin or their health.

  • September 26, 2014

    by Aude Le Barazer

    Marta,
    I also came across the product. I am a health practitioner and I was quite blown away by the presentation. Now being an ex lawyer, I had to do my own research. Nevertheless I bought 4 tubes because I wanted to try. After all I was only risking $83, not a small amount, but I am sure that we spend this type of money on other products that have no benefit. I tried the product on half of my face to see the difference. Meanwhile I did my own researches. The whole thing lasted two months, I also crossed referred with other medical publications while my skin and energy have become amazing and I have published a very simplistic paper about it http://www.onlinehealthmag.com/the-very-best-anti-ageing-product/
    My friends seeing the difference on my skin kept asking me to order for them so I eventually became an associate. The product is very affordable, it is the very best anti ageing product I have ever come across and there are no nasties inside, plus it is distributed through network marketing so only word of mouth, no photo shopped celebrities. Just tick all my boxes.

  • August 16, 2014

    by Hami

    I tried too and I'm impressed. It`s the best product, I ever had.

  • August 16, 2014

    by Lydia

    I'm using Renu 28 and love it. I suspended disbelief and just tried it.

    If I faithfully applied it twice a day every day as directed, I'd see even more impressive results. But, my crow's feet are smoothed away, the lines on my forehead and frown lines are much softer, as are the lines around my mouth. The skin on my neck is also smoother. And, the sun spots on my hands are lighter.

    When applied, and you are supposed to massage the gel into your skin for best results, you will feel a tingling and tightening. You really will see results within days.

    I've used many other products that cost more and less than Renu 28, but I am happiest with these results. I think the price of $40 is very modest compared to all the creams and gels being sold at department stores and Sephora.

    I think all these skincare companies tend to make fantastic claims with tenuous links to science. All I know is , Renu 28 works and I will continue using it in place of other products.

    Marta, your cynicism is not misplaced, but you really should try a product before dismissing it.

  • August 14, 2014

    by Amy

    Hi - well I tried and I love it. Didn't look at the ingredient list - just started using it as directed. The lines on my forehead are not as deep - something that a product I pay well over $100 for wasn't able to touch.

  • August 11, 2014

    by Justin S.

    Dear Marta

    My name is Justin S. We have met during a short holiday brake by coincidence a very charming lady who was about to enter the ASEA sales team as an independent agent. I purchased shortly after our meeting trough her RENU 28 and began using it two days ago after it arrived by mail. Indeed the products are expensive, but I trust her as a person , since she simply was so charming and real, and seemed so knowledgeable . As well I decided to take the risk, I can afford it. When the products arrived I checked the ingredients and had instantly my second thoughts, which even increased after I did my research into the background of the company and the history of the company , and the development of the product. We are looking at a shrewd marketing campaign. They are surely ready to make millions and will . The little movies on their website are a bunch of well composed nonsense. The problem I have that is that it is not likely to deliver what it promises . By the way, a decrease of 23 % of the depth of wrinkles is really only very limited. Its the difference between being relaxed and hectic, said in one sentence. In other words, one better has a good mood and a slight smile, in combination with a good skin cream as to invest in the Lamborghini, Ferrari or Rolls Royce that the owners of ASEA are driving in already, or will drive very soon. Anyhow , I have purchased the product , what a dummy I am, and will eat my flower bulbs this autumn instead of planting them if I have people making me compliments without asking for it. Thank you for being honest and holding on to integrity.!

  • August 3, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Darren, before deciding whether to put something on my skin - an important choice - I research the product. After having done so, I have concluded that - given the quality of ingredients, dubious claims and what appears to be false reporting of studies means - I will put my money elsewhere.

  • August 3, 2014

    by Darren

    As a previous poster asked....have you actually tested it otherwise it is not a review but an opinion on ingredients. I was looking to find info on whether it worked or not but this 'review' doesn't help me at all.

  • August 1, 2014

    by Marta Wohrle

    Not only that Faye, but I got a letter from the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory thanking me for "pointing out that ASEA is using PNNL's name to add credence to their product." And confirming: "As a non-profit, we do not endorse products."

  • August 1, 2014

    by Faye

    Yes, Marta, this stuff is a hoax! I purchased one tube at $40 from the wife of an acquaintance last weekend without first checking the ingredient list. Sure, salt will hold a bit of moisture for a moment--but that's it! Unbelievable, that they could charge that much for salt, clay & HOH!

  • July 23, 2014

    by veronique

    What I miss in your article is : have you actually tested the cream on your skin? I think this is an absolute must-do -it seems to me- to give a complete image of the possible benefits on the product? I don't think can judge a product solely by doing some research on paper.

  • July 14, 2014

    by Kathie

    Marta,

    Have you reviewed the Dermatest Labs results? This skin therapy is changing the skin care industry.

    ASEA has over 30 patents, 6 of which are applied to RENU 28.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...