Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Truth In Aging launches Hair Vitality Complex

Truth In Aging Hair Vitality Complex 1 oz

Our Rating: 5 stars

Is a Solution for: Truth In Aging Hair Vitality Complex
Thinning Hair & Shedding
March 6, 2012 Reviewed by Marta 74 Comments

I am incredibly proud to announce Hair Vitality Complex ($49 in the shop), the very first product to be launched by Truth In Aging. It is a hair serum that uses copper peptides as the active ingredient to help healthy hair growth and reduce shedding. I created it especially for women with thinning hair (although men are welcome to use it too).

Hair Vitality Complex has been in the making for over a year. I wanted to perfect a product to help with healthy hair growth that would be pleasant to use, contains no nasties and, above all works. Here’s the story:

My own hairline had been getting a little sparser with age and after research, trial and error, I discovered that copper peptides helped a great deal. The problem was that most copper peptide products were unpleasant to use and also contained other ingredients that I didn’t like. Also, they mostly seemed to be aimed at men, not taking into account things like reactions with chemically colored hair. And so I began to think about making my own version.

The first thing I did was contact Your Best Face as the company makes a range of excellent skincare products that I believe are created his  with intelligence and integrity and these were qualities that I wanted my hair product’s formula to have. I explained that I wanted a hair serum using copper peptides and the product had to be simple, effective, pleasant to use and safe.

We came up with a working prototype and tested it on 125 members of the Truth In Aging community. We were thrilled when more than 70% of testers (who typically used it for 8-10 weeks) said that it worked and they would buy it. We now knew we were on to something. With what we learned from the TIA testing group, we spent some months tweaking and improving the product further. The end result is an effective product with no lingering aroma, a pleasant texture (a non-greasy gel that easily applies and dries to a matte finish) and natural color (a clear bluish green that dissipates on application).

I’ve been using this batch on my widow’s peak since the beginning of the year and I am thrilled with the results. My hairline has completely filled in with proper hair (not that thin, wispy stuff). I find it best applied to a damp scalp after shampooing and before drying/styling. Those of you with short hair might find it doubles as a styling gel as well.

Hair Vitality Complex has a proprietary copper peptide complex made from a blend of amino acids and copper chloride. Copper peptides exist naturally in our tissues but there can be 60% drop between the ages of 20 and 60. They seem to work on the follicle in two ways: increasing follicle cell proliferation and follicle size; and copper also decreases programmed follicle cell death.

I am really pleased that the preservative used here is radish root, as I felt strongly about making sure Hair Vitality Complex included a safe alternative to parabens and phenoxyethanol. Radish ferment is effective against a whole range of tiny nasties from e.coli to a.niger and it is recommended that it can be used as the sole preservative in a cosmetic. Triethanolamine NF is here as a pH balancer and is completely free of diethanolamine (DEA), the chief concern in the formation of nitrosamines, potential carcinogens.

Hair Vitality Complex by Truth In Aging is manufactured by Your Best Face.

  • April 20, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Beth, I haven't heard of an excess of copper being likely as a result of using topical products. I just spent some time scanning the internet for some research and couldn't find anything. There could be all sorts of reasons for your dizzy spells - environmental, a virus, etc. The best way to narrow it down would be to cut out your CP products and see what happens, if your symptoms go, then you can try to reintroducing them but slowly. In the meantime, there's more information on copper peptides here: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/the-truth-about-copper-peptides

  • April 19, 2015

    by Beth

    I have been using this and some other products with copper peptides in them for quite awhile. lately, I've been experiencing dizziness and headaches and am wondering if maybe I'm getting an excess of copper in my system, because I can't think of anything else I'mdoing different. Can you comment on this?

  • February 3, 2015

    by Margaret

    I would like to know how to obtain free samples of some products that I am reading about here. Will soon be 67 and hair is thinning and need good and safe facial products. I am still active in the work force and want to look my best. I can't turn back the clock, but I can make the future "look" better with your help. Thanks!

  • December 14, 2014

    by Peggy

    Hi marta!

    Your product sounds like a godsend! Any way you could please send me a sample too? I will definitely write a review if i like it--no one will shut me up! lol
    Thanks much,
    Peg

  • December 27, 2013

    by Jan

    (5 out of 5)

    I would love to sample this product as well ... of course, a review would be forthcoming.
    Email and I will gladly give my mailing address.

  • March 14, 2013

    by Charmayne Pryce

    Hi

    Like the sound of the hair product for thinning
    hair my hair has fallen out all around because of medication and if possible. I would like a sample.Thanks

  • March 6, 2013

    by bel

    I have been using the Hair Vitality since Dec. 2012. I haven't written a review before this because I wanted to give it a while my hair grows slow. I am 47 years young and have had thin hair all my life. But getting older I found it getting thinner... So I would have to say I have seen less shedding and new growth at the hairline. I have also used it on my eyebrows and have noticed more growth as well. Will keep ordering.
    Thanks TIA

  • January 18, 2013

    by Steve

    Hi Marta, I would be very interested in gettinga sample of this to try, in return I would be more than happy to write a review, and recommend if effective (and obviously purchase a supply!).
    Just one question would this interfere folical growth and rest cycles?
    Ps very sorry for your lose :(

  • June 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Annie, it will help with both thickening (by reducing shedding) as well as growth.

  • June 10, 2012

    by Annie

    Will this help with hair thickening or just regrowth? Many thanks

    Gloria, I am very sorry your husband passed away recently, losing a loved one is so hard.

  • June 3, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    I've reviewed HVC and at most I use it 3 times a week. I stop at least 10 days before getting my hair treated and don't recontinue for a solid week after coloring. I haven't noticed any backward momentum in this temporary termination. It's still working great for me. Marta, thank you for a great product! ~jk

  • June 3, 2012

    by Doreen

    Thank you so much, Marta. I appreciate the swift response about your product. :) I will update about my results after some time goes by.

  • June 3, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Doreen, it should be gentle enough to use everyday. But at some point you should definitely be able to scale back. I use it every other day at most and get good results. You can experiment to see what works for you.

  • June 3, 2012

    by Doreen

    Thank you for responding, Marta. I just wanted to let you know my color came out fine with your directions to stop using once or twice before coloring.

    If you don't mind me asking another question: Some other copper serums advise to apply it every other day, at least at first. I've been using it everyday from the start (for about a month and a half). Does your product require an every other day at first approach, or is yours formulated to be gentler and safe to use everyday at first? Also, if I was to scale back to every other day, would I still get good results (as you do, applying every other day?)

    Thank you!

  • May 15, 2012

    by Marta

    I would stop using HVC one or two washes prior to the day coloring, just to be on the safe side. I doubt the product will interfere with coloring and if anything the vitamin B5 may help color absorb throughout the hair more evenly and last longer without fade.

  • May 15, 2012

    by Doreen

    Hi Marta!

    I was just wondering: I know this is safe on color treated hair but is it safe to continue using this product before coloring hair? I know other copper peptide products recommend stopping use for a week before using hair dye. Thanks!

  • May 14, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    Michele- I applied it to my lashes and brows, but was going to add that bit to the comments part of my review... only there haven't been any comments. *laughs I apply it to my lashes with a toothpick. ~jk

  • May 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Michele, it will work for lashes - just be careful applying it.

  • May 13, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    Hi Marta
    I am using it on my eyebrows-was wondering if you will be bringing out an eyelash one or could I apply this on eyelashes-taking care not to get in my eyes.
    Its so easily absorbed-just wondered if it would work on skin (copper peptides).

  • April 16, 2012

    by Gloria

    Junko,
    I am so sorry for your loss as well. It is always difficult. I lost my mom last July as well. So thanks for the hug and please receive it back to you.

  • April 15, 2012

    by Marta

    Junko, I am sorry to hear that. I hope that you had quality time with her the last holidays. My thoughts are with you and your husband.

  • April 15, 2012

    by Junko

    Gloria,
    Nice to have you back with us. My mother-in-law passed away unexpectedly a few weeks ago. My thoughts go to you and please feel hugged ~

  • April 14, 2012

    by Gloria

    Thank you Marta. I feel quite blessed to have had the opportunity to love and be loved by such a wonderful man. There is much to cherish and I shall forevermore.

  • April 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Gloria, I do remember that you're husband had been sick and I am so terribly sorry to hear that he passed. It sounds as there was a lot of love, enjoyment and empathy between you. They are things to cherish beyond a lifetime. Cheers to Rich indeed, and my thoughts are with you Gloria.

  • April 14, 2012

    by Gloria

    Hi TIA Community,
    I have been out of the loop lately, but I am trying to catch up. I ordered the Fabulous Hair bundle with the Hair Vitality, Emu Oil, and Nutra-Lift. I was pleasantly surprised at the Hair Vitality because I remember the testing. I loved it but the smell was terrible. This is awesome. I think my hair is thickening up in the back where my hair just wants to part. I always have that problem. Congrats Marta!! I absolutely love the Nutra-Lift shampoo as well. I am still working on figuring out the Emu Oil on what to do with it in my hair. My hair is so fine that it weighs it down and I have no body in it then. It just kind of goes flat against my scalp.

    I look forward to more development of products from you Marta. You listen to what people need and want and go out there and deliver.

    My life has been a little crazy for the last 3 months and I haven't followed too much. My husband had been in the hospital since January and passed away recently. He would always tell me that he loved when people would ask him if I was his daughter. He loved that I cared about my skin and cheered me on. So cheers to my beloved Rich.

  • April 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Michele, that's wonderful to hear. More than a 120 members of the TIA community tested Hair Vitality Complex and based on feedback I was very keen to ensure that not only would it be effective but that it would be pleasantn(smell and texture) to use and safe on color treated hair. Keep us posted on how you get on in the coming weeks.

  • April 13, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    I really like this product-from the packaging to the ease it absorbs and unlike Osmotics FNS there is no smell! I had to throw the latter away as the smell was so bad I couldn't use it without my family complaining. I am using this on my brows as well....so will feedback more soon...

  • April 1, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Marina, once a day for Hair Vitality is fine. In fact, I use it only every other day when I wash my hair. Alternating with Hair Signals is an interesting idea - please let us know how you get on.

  • March 31, 2012

    by Marina

    I'm ordering today! Just wondering if this is a 1x a day product. If so, can I safely continue using hair signals at night? Thank you the answer may be here but reading on an iPhone isn't easy......

  • March 19, 2012

    by JustD

    HOW AWESOME! I cannot believe how behind I am on everything of late. Life gets in the way, but so happy to see that what I was fortunate enough to be a part of has manifested into something I'm eager to try out! Congrats Marta! I'm so excited for the TIA!

  • March 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Mui, my experience is that Hair Vitality is faster to kick in and start working and the new hair is less wispy.

  • March 14, 2012

    by Mui

    Hi Martha,
    How different are the effects is it between the Reluma Original hair and the Hair vitality serum?

  • March 12, 2012

    by yzhang

    Would love to try this product. I've had thinning for the last 1.5years and have tried Folligen and emu oil combo as well as other branded hairloss products- for example from Phyto and Kerastase but nothing has helped. Folligen seems to be helping slightly with the shedding, but I'm not sure.

  • March 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Catlover2x, have you taken biotin supplements? I have heard from people who have said they seem to help hair growth in conjunction with topical products.

  • March 10, 2012

    by catlover2x

    OMG. First congrats on designing your first of what will be many successful products. My mother is bald and trying the combover route. Sadly I am following in her footsteps. I have tried many of the products here and elsewhere and my hair just keeps getting worse. Sadly it grows as fast as lightning, just not very much of it. I am so trying this ASAP. It’s this or shaving my head in despair.

  • March 10, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Jaysie, you can use it on dry hair/scalp, you just need to be a bit more careful about rubbing it in.

  • March 10, 2012

    by Jaysie

    Marta - Is the reason you use it only when you shampoo because it causes build-up or because it needs to be put on a damp scalp? I shampoo about every 3-4 days because of dry hair and am wondering if I could just dampen my front hairline with a washcloth in order to use it more often?

  • March 9, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Adrienne, there are about 100 pr dollops and you will need one to two dollops per day (or every other day). I use one dollop every other day, on my hairline. I shall do a video!

  • March 9, 2012

    by Adrienne Asher

    Hi Marta!

    Sorry to repeat, but I'm eager to know how many "daily dollops" are in your 1 ounce bottle? :)

    Thanks ever so!

  • March 9, 2012

    by Debra

    Hi Marta and congrats on your new product. I have used emu oil, folligen & hair signals with success. I also use Nutri-Lift shampoo which definitely helps with shedding! As one of your testers last year, I could definitely see new hair growth and gave it a thumbs up! I would love to try the finished product!

  • March 8, 2012

    by Naheed

    Hell Marta, Congratulations on this promising product have been losing hair a long time and have tried many things, from oils to serum and even Minidoxil. But nothing seems to work and I have left with very thin hair that is getting thinner every day. I would love to try this product. Please give my a chance to try it since I am getting desperate and frustrated. Thanks.

  • March 8, 2012

    by Anne Marie

    Marta! Congrats! Sounds like a great product that many women (including myself) could benefit from as we age!! Would love to give it a try!

  • March 8, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ana and Adrienne, regular and daily application would be best. However, I personally only use it when I wash my hair, which is every 2-3 days. There are a 100 or so pumps per bottle. I use one pump just on my hairline, but a full scalp treatment would need two pumps. You will need to keep up use. But once you feel your hair has been growing and shedding less you can experiment with dropping back to a maintenance regimen of a couple of times a week. These are just guidelines: veryone will be different, so you'll have to find the amount, frequency and continuity that works for you.

  • March 8, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi VanessaHH, this product wasn't tested on animals at any stage - either its individual ingredients or in its entirety. I would never do animal testing (however tempting it is to give my aging cat some additional whiskers)

  • March 7, 2012

    by Michele Watson

    I can't wait to try your product. I have been using Osmotics FNS hair serum but it smells awful and is very sticky!

  • March 7, 2012

    by JD

    I like how the products looks to be more scalp friendly- color-wise. Any chance you could say what % of copper peptides is in the product?

  • March 7, 2012

    by VanessaHH

    Hi Marta,
    I'm really excited about this product, but I won't use anything tested on animals. You mentioned it was tested on TIA members (which is great!), but I need to know if any part of it used animals as test subjects. Thanks!

  • March 7, 2012

    by Adrienne Asher

    How long does your 1-ounce bottle last, applied daily?

  • March 7, 2012

    by Ellen

    Very intriguing! As a child, I was in a couple of auto accidents which are now causing serious adult medical issues, one being digestive. This has resulted in hair thinning and skin issues so I'm very interested in being a trial user.

  • March 7, 2012

    by sameera

    Hi Marta!
    Congrats on the new product - this is so exciting! And I am so thrilled over the short and efficacious ingredient list. I would love to give this a try, for both myself and my husband. My husband has been losing hair both at the hairline and crown for a few years now, and nothing we've tried has given him sustained results in stopping the loss, much less regrowing the hair. I have a couple of bare patches at my temples, and have brows that refuse to grow in after an unfortunate waxing incident. We'd love to put it to the test, and record our results!

  • March 7, 2012

    by Ana

    Hi Marta! I'd love a chance to review this product! I still suffer from hair loss despite my many experiments with a huge variety of products.

    From the description and the fabulous ingredients, this one looks like a keeper. The texture looks interesting! I am hoping it won't leave greasy hair, as I can't wash my hair daily which is why I haven't been very consistent with my Folligen/Emu oil combo! I switched to Reluma/Emu and have a few wisps of new hair but nothing dramatic. Hopefully Hair Vitality is the one for me!

    I'm wondering, does this product also require daily application? And once you achieve desired results can you stop using it or would you lose the hair you grew?

  • March 7, 2012

    by RuthAnn

    wow! how exciting ~ I can't wait to try it, as folligen is pain to apply all over.

  • March 7, 2012

    by Amy Scott

    I am very excited to hear more about this new product. As a loyal TIA follower and tester, as well as a woman struggling with stress induced hair loss, I am a captive audience!

  • March 7, 2012

    by Ann R.

    Congratulations Marta! What a milestone.

  • March 7, 2012

    by Pat

    Marta, I sure wish you'd pick me! I've tried hair thinning products from France and from network marketing companies to no avail. Let me try your new product!

  • March 7, 2012

    by VickyL

    Congratulations Marta, this product looks excellent!

  • March 7, 2012

    by Gloria

    I can't wait to try the finished product that has been tweaked. It sounds awesome

  • March 7, 2012

    by Leslie Wayne

    Marta, you are brilliant.

  • March 7, 2012

    by klo

    Wow, this is great! Congrats! (I am approaching 40, and am regularly near a panic state on whether my hair is thinning, constantly inspecting my hairline. Looks like I may just have to try this.)

  • March 7, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Doris, nice to hear from you again.
    There are literally thousands of possible copper peptides, each unique based on the combination of aminos used and the potential role of the peptide. Copper peptides are formed through a bond between copper chloride (the most common form of copper used in the creation of copper peptides) and a nearly endless possible combination of amino acids. Almost every copper peptide you would encounter in beauty products makes use of copper chloride to form the copper peptide bond -- most products however do not list the out the type of copper and specific aminos (although I believe that Osmotics does). Some other peptides on the market primarily sold for hair care were originally created for wound healing. The particular aminos selected for the copper peptide in Hair Vitality Complex were chosen specifically with hair in mind.

  • March 7, 2012

    by Doris

    This looks promising. Good job! I love that it doesn't have any fragrance and is water-soluble, cone-free and doesn't have any unnecessary thickeners and additives. Great choice of preservative too. I was wondering about the copper peptides though, since it says "copper chloride" in the list. Is this the same ingredient that is in most of the Skin Biology products or is it GKH-Cu or Glycyl-L-histidyl-L-lysine-Cu(2+), the one that's backed up by research?

  • March 6, 2012

    by Julie Kay

    This is brilliant! Marta, I'm so proud of you. Are you happy dancing in your head all through the night? I will try this product! I lost the end of my left brow recently (less than 6 weeks ago), and I'm devastated. My hairline is so high, but I didn't want to use Folligen again. I am so happy about this; SO HAPPY! Rock ON! ~jk

  • March 6, 2012

    by Curmudgeonly old BF

    Congratulations, old bean - you've finally done it. I'm proud of you. Now get your finger out and do some more stuff. p.s. where's the free sample?

  • March 6, 2012

    by Mark

    It's really exciting that you have arrived at this point to have your own product and Darrell was the perfect choice to collaborate with. Kudos!

  • March 6, 2012

    by Emily

    Marta, Wow!! Congratulations to you and the TIA team -- this is just wonderful and so exciting. Here's to more! Warmest wishes.

  • March 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Joan,
    The photo in the post that shows a dollop of product that is about an application's-worth for the whole head (scalp). Hair Vitality Complex doesn't need a large, heavy application; the most effective way to use it is a small amount daily (or at least after every shampoo), regularly and keep it up - everyone is different and it may take 3-4 weeks to see results or up to 8 weeks.

  • March 6, 2012

    by Joan

    My hair loss isn't just around the hairline - it's diffuse and especially bad on the crown and occipital areas. At the moment, I'm using Skin Biology's Hair Signals all over my head.

    This product looks terrific and I love the ingredient list, but I'm wondering ... how long a 1oz bottle will last? What's the recommended dosage?

    By the way Marta, congratulations!

  • March 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Carman, Hair Vitality Complex was formulated for head hair. I've been trying it on my brows with good effect. If anyone tries it on lashes and brows as well as hair,I'd love to hear about your experience.

  • March 6, 2012

    by Junko

    Marta! This sounds absolutely perfect. on all levels right down to the radish root! So happy you chose to use the radish root. Will be really happy if it grows hair that's not dry, coarse or wispy!!

  • March 6, 2012

    by Carmen

    Any chance this can be used on brows and lashes??

  • March 6, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Ana, keep an eye out for your TIA newsletters this week as we are planning a few specials.

  • March 6, 2012

    by Ana

    WOW! I can't wait to try this!!!

    Congratulations Marta & TIA!

    PS.- Will you do a special offer for your loyal fans? Special discount or 2 x1?... Pretty please?!!

    I'm a little broke from trying all the hair & YBF stuff!

  • March 6, 2012

    by Teri Dourmashkin

    Congratulations Marta!

  • March 6, 2012

    by Dennis

    Marta! this is incredible! congratulations! next up, a full range of skin care!

Have You Tried Truth Vitality Advanced Complex with Copper Peptides 30ml?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment Truth Vitality Advanced Complex with Copper Peptides 30ml below.

My Comment

Add a comment... Truth Vitality Advanced Complex with Copper Peptides 30ml

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...