Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Hair Vitality Shampoo by Truth In Aging is launched

Hair Vitality Shampoo 8.0 fl oz
April 9, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 30 Comments

I’ve been pulling my hair out (figuratively) for most of this year. Making a shampoo, let me tell you, is not easy. My goal was to create a shampoo that cleanses gently, imparts ingredients that encourage healthy hair growth, rinses out completely and complements Hair Vitality Conditioner and Hair Vitality Complex. It has been a long time in the making, but now I am happy to say that I have a formula for Hair Vitality Shampoo that I am proud of.

Hair Vitality Shampoo ($35 in the shop) does not foam. Sudsers are typically chemical and would compromise the kind of product I wanted and so with the guidance of Darrell Owens of Your Best Face, who formulated Hair Vitality Shampoo for Truth In Aging, we went instead for gentle cleansing agents. At the same time, it was critical for me that I not shampoo tangles into my hair. Many natural shampoos leave me with a hair nest that I have to saturate with conditioner. I wanted my shampoo to rinse out, leaving my hair smooth and tangle free.

Decyl polyglucoside is a non-ionic surfactant derived from plants. It’s gentle enough for sensitive skin and can be used in baby products. It also possesses moisture-binding properties that help make the hair feel smooth and soft. Stearamidopropyl dimethylamine (an alternative to silicone) comes from rapeseed and is used as an anti-static agent and a mild cleanser. Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium is a water-soluble derivative of natural guar gum, and delivers conditioning properties. Polyquaternium-10 is an anti-static that adds sheen and is considered safe.

Having gotten the basic functionality out of the way, it was on to the fun stuff. Hair Vitality Conditioner and Hair Vitality Complex help with healthy growth and reduce shedding, and I wanted the companion shampoo to rally to the cause alongside them. So there is caffeine, which some studies have shown to reduce hair loss. I particularly like the addition of ferulic acid, a powerful antioxidant; it has been given a boost in that department by rosemary. There is also beta sitosterol, which has been seen to have a positive effect on male baldness. There is speculation that it blocks the action of 5 alpha reductase, an important enzyme in the hair loss process. Aspen bark extract has salicylic, which helps exfoliate the scalp and keep the follicles free of gunk. The natural preservative is oil of ravensara and a gentle form of thyme oil.

You do have to get into a different mindset for a non-foaming shampoo. Hair Vitality Shampoo is easily massaged into the scalp and rubbed through the hair. It rinses out easily and completely. Because it doesn’t tangle up the hair, I found that I can use significantly less Hair Vitality Conditioner than I was when using it with other shampoos. The result is hair that has volume and shine. Best of all, after several months of testing this shampoo alongside the conditioner, I have only a few strands of hair in the drain hole. Actually, that’s second best. The very best is that my colorist says I have the hair I had when I was 30.

Ingredients: Reverse Osmosis Water, Decyl Polyglucoside, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium, Polyquaternium-10, Meadowfoam Seed Oil, Ceteareth-6 Olivate, Citric Acid, Aspen Bark Extract, Dl-Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Ferulic Acid, Caffeine, Beta Sitosterol, Rosemary Antioxidant, Vitamin E, Essential Oils Of Lemongrass, Carrot Seed, Thyme Ct. Linalool And Ravensara

  • July 2, 2014

    by marta

    Hi Monica, the line is very suitable for fine, curly, thin hair. Please note that we have relaunched as Truth Vitality with the Advanced Complex and we will have a reformulated shampoo and conditioner in a couple of weeks: http://www.truthinaging.com/hair-care/truth-vitality

  • July 2, 2014

    by Monica

    Hi, Marta:
    I happened upon this website and am interested in a few products. I have very curly, fine and thin hair, which happens to be getting thinner by the moment. Would you recommend the hair vitality line for naturally curly hair?
    Thank you in advanced for your help.

  • August 29, 2013

    by L

    This is, by far, the best shampoo and conditioner I have ever used.
    I can go an extra day without shampooing. I have more volume and my hair feels amazing using the duo.

  • June 22, 2013

    by Beverly

    I received a sample of the shampoo and conditioner a few days ago. I've never used a shampoo that didn't suds up. It was a different experience for sure. I massaged through my scalp, and down to the ends. I have long hair, thought I'd need more, but the amount was perfect. I have to say my hair looks wonderful. My scalp felt really clean, and best of all when it dried my hair wasn't flat. Just so shiny and soft. I will purchase this in the future.

  • June 22, 2013

    by Marta

    I am so pleased to hear this Dennis. Your results are exactly what should happen. Because it is more of a cleansing treatment and doesn't foam it takes a bit of getting used to. Less is generally more and it reduces, in my experience, the amount of conditioner needed.

  • June 22, 2013

    by Dennis

    I just used the sample you sent with my order and I was worried because my hair felt very heavy after I rinsed it out - as if I had used conditioner. I usually have to use oil stripping shampoos because my scalp is so greasy. This usually leaves my hair very dry, but very full when dry. Since I am slightly thinning any conditioning or weight can make it look thinner. However, once my hair dried, it was soft, full of volume and so shiny! excellent shampoo TIA!

  • April 11, 2013

    by Alice Forbes

    Great sounding product, would love to see if it works for me too

  • April 11, 2013

    by Courtney McKeown

    Hi Marta,

    I am 25 years old and have had long naturally sun bleached blonde hair since I was a little girl. However in my early 20s I went through a stage of foils every 3 months and skipping hair cuts or even trims for over 2 years. The result was thin, damaged and flat hair. In a desperate attempt to get back my beautiful healthy hair I cut it all off and started fresh.

    I am now incredibly aware of my hair (vs my 22 year old self) and try to care for it as well as I can. However, I still have an issue with hair shedding. I am currently using Nioxin and thought I was happy with it until I found your website. I am now using 'Feed your Youth' by recommendation of your girls but am still using Nioxin as I haven't found an alternative yet that has sold me. I try my best to live a healthy lifestyle with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables as well as regular exercise including running and Bikram Yoga at least twice a week. I would love to trial your new concoction and give you the perspective of a mid 20 year old with mildly thinning hair.

    Thanks,
    Courtney

  • April 11, 2013

    by Martha

    Hi Marta -- I AM DESPERATE!! My scalp breaks out no matter what shampoo I've used, and believe me, I've tried them ALL!!! I have dark hair that has always been pretty healthy, but in the last 2 or so years, I am spiraling into the yucky-hair vortex. Scalp problems, oily roots, dry ends and tangles... I'm so sick of spending, hoping, then chucking. HELP ME PLEASE!!
    Best,
    Martha

  • April 10, 2013

    by Dana

    Hi Marta, I would love to try your new shampoo. In the last few years my hair has become thinner and more unmanageable. Would be interested in trying a natural product that sounds like it could help. Thanks

  • April 10, 2013

    by Lori

    Might you be offering a "package deal" with the shampoo and conditioner? I'd like to try them together - have yet to find hair products I love for my changing hair.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Fee (Phyllis) Roberts

    What a feat Marta! I would love to try your shampoo. As I'm approaching 50 I have noticed that my regular shampoo is not good for my hair. It is in fact causing more thinning than I should have. I started using a shampoo targeting my age group but I have not seen any results. Congratulations on your achievement =D

  • April 10, 2013

    by Pam R.

    I have to wonder if you made this shampoo for me? I am in my 50's and post meno and it's like I woke up a few months ago and saw all these wiry grey hairs mixed will my now dull dirty, dishwater color, baby fine, stick straight hair. Along with that, there's way too much hair in my brush, on my sink and on my floor. I've searched the internet and tried many items with little result. I would love to give this a try.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Sandra

    What a nice opportunity! I would also like to try Hair Vitality Shampoo on my thinning hair.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Mamavalveeta03

    This sounds like just what I've been looking for. At age 52, my thick, lustrous hair has lost it's oomph. I want it to look YOUNG again! I would love to try this out and review it!
    thx!

  • April 10, 2013

    by Ellen Gates

    I need a new bottle of shampoo, and would give a detailed review if I could try this!

  • April 10, 2013

    by Lydia

    Long hair has grown on me. Five years ago I stressed out and lost a lot of hair. Prior to the time of shedding I had lush dark blond thin stranded hair. Washing my hair and vacuuming, at that time, became heartbreaking activities. I cleaned, what looked like to me, wig fulls of hair out of the drain and vacuum. The last hair stylist I ventured to would stop every couple of minutes to clean errant hair strands out of her tools. The hair I had grew long as I searched for products that would also jump start regrowth
    Everyday, now, I smooth my hair back from my forehead and gently tease the hairline to see how many small hair sprouts I have. I'm happy because at one time I didn't have any hair sprouts. I believe that I have had some success because I was willing to read about and try all sorts of remedies to stop shedding and renew growth. I love Truth in Aging Hair Vitality Conditioner and I would thrilled to try Hair Vitality Shampoo.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Cindy

    Wow Marta! Sounds like something both effective and GOOD for our hair. I'd love to try Hair Vitality Shampoo on my unruly mane. Since the grey has taken over, my formerly baby fine hair has become course and dry ... and finding something without all the nasty chemicals and such has been quite a challenge.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Naheed

    Congratulations Marta on yet another great product. I would love to give this SLS free shampoo a try to see if it helps my thinning hair. Thanks!

  • April 10, 2013

    by Angelina

    Greetings and congratulations on the formulation of your new shampoo! I've been trying different hair care products in search of those more in line with a lifestyle free of harmful chemicals. It would be my pleasure to try Hair Vitality:)

  • April 10, 2013

    by Connie

    I would love to try this new shampoo. I color my hair and I am also experiencing thinning. I am 50+. I use a sulphate free shampoo now, but it does not do much for the texture of my hair nor does it promote healthy hair growth.
    Thank you

  • April 10, 2013

    by Marika

    Still coloring my hair at age 50+ I'd love to see what a no-sudsing agent will do to improve texture and thinning.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Deborah W.

    I'm sure glad you have worked on this kind of hair product.Yes, I would appreciate trying a sample.

  • April 10, 2013

    by Deborah Lonsdorf

    HI Marta, I'd love to try Hair Vitality. Have trouble getting a good shampoo for my medium textured silver hair (sounds so much better than gray...)
    Best,
    Deborah

  • April 10, 2013

    by Susan

    Congratulations are your new shampoo ! I have been in search of a shampoo for my unruly dry hair for over half of my life. I have tried everything from handmade bar soap to salon products. I would love to try this .

  • April 10, 2013

    by Pam

    Marta,
    I would love to take the dare to try Hair Vitality Shampoo. I'm already using the conditioner and have been using Mukti shampoo which leaves my baby fine grey hair probably a bigger tangled nest than yours.
    Thanks,

    Pam

  • April 10, 2013

    by Ruth Rose

    Sulfate free is the only way I shampoo my hair.

  • April 9, 2013

    by Julie Kay

    Marta! I more than admire your determination, devotion and dedication to each task you set out for yourself. Congratulations, girlfriend! I bow to you. ~grasshopper

  • April 9, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Dennis, it's 8oz (same as the conditioner).

  • April 9, 2013

    by Dennis

    Congratulations, Marta! I can't wait to try this soon. What's the ounces?

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...