Free shipping on all orders over $39

PaloVia Laser- reader reviewed and recommended

Pros

Eyes are lifted, plumping of the nasolabial folds

Cons

The serum is little more than mineral oil
March 13, 2012 Reviewed by Dennis 25 Comments
My desert island product

In the past few years I have reluctantly come to terms with the fact that most creams and serums are never going to produce the results they claim to. I find this to be particularly true when it comes to eye creams. Despite all the diligent work I have put into my skin since a young age, my eyes really began to show my age by the time I was 34. This led to years spent scouring department store beauty counters (working free samples out of sales girls was a sport to me), browsing Sephora, and surfing the Internet for the holy grail of eye creams.

I’m 38 now, and the closest contender I’ve found thus far is ReLuma ($90 in the TIA shop). I am convinced this product healed a cyst under my left eye. A great product, but not even ReLuma can begin to approach the results that the PaloVia has so far yielded

Using the PaloVia Skin Renewing Laser ($499) is unsettling at first, but well worth it! My eyes are lifted, plumped, and look refreshed. I have also been experimenting with other areas of my face with some success noticed, such as plumping of the nasolabial folds. I don’t think there’s any reason you couldn’t get results like that anywhere on your body! At any rate, I dare say I’m starting to recognize the same face I wore during the noontide of my youth. This groovy little device is awesome!

I know I’m gushing, but there are some things about PaloVia that have given me pause: The reviews on Amazon are mixed, it caused some pretty gnarly bruising/red marks when used on the highest setting, and the serum is little more than mineral oil and a paraben. The serum is also costly at $30 for a replacement, and is impossibly difficult to wash off. Not to mention, I read a pretty damning opinion from a board-certified dermatologist that the PaloVia’s laser wavelength isn’t enough to produce long-term permanent results.

The limited 25 zaps every 8 hours is also kind of a downer, mostly because I want to share it with friends and family. However, I can see why they implemented this rule; it’s tempting to go a little crazy with the device once results are noticeable.

While it still may not be the miracle product we’ve all been searching for, at the moment this is my desert island product. Another unexpected outcome, due to the PaloVia’s effectiveness on me up to now, is that I find myself visiting TIA less and less (no offense, TIA team!), hoping one day I would visit the site and Marta would have discovered a breakthrough. Barring that miracle breakthrough ingredient, maybe the future of anti-aging lies in tools: PaloVia, Clarisonic, Sirius Aurora LED ($149 in the TIA shop), etc. I’m looking forward to an at-home Ultherapy-type machine. Sounds unlikely, I know, but who would have thought five years ago that we would have at-home fractional lasers?

  • June 21, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Tam, unfortunately this product has been discontinued by the manufacturer.

  • June 20, 2015

    by Tam stilgenbauer

    I purchased my paloVia renewing laser a few years back from QVC shopping network. I used to use it regularly and want to stay on the maintenance program. My problem is that I think the battery is dying. Instead of 25 zaps per eight hours, I now get seven at most. It simply stops and the window on the device goes black. I can reboot it but the same thing happens with every attempt. Is there some way I can replace the battery? I've checked with QVC but they no longer carry this item. Can you help me or even recommend a place that can? I've taken very good care of my device (store in original box), so am sure this isn't a result of misuse.
    Thank you! Tam Stilgenbauer

  • November 8, 2014

    by Mary

    Hi Teresa
    I also have the PaloVia and when i ran out of the gel i used Aloe Gel from Trader Joe's works just as well.

  • November 2, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Adriana
    Yes it is possible to use it over the entire face. However, this product has been discontinued.

  • November 2, 2014

    by Adriana

    Is it possible to use fullface ?

  • January 10, 2013

    by Dennis

    Sherri, I am still using this, every day, twice a day. Here is how I measure results: Before I started to use this device, I practiced very good skin care. Yet people used to guess my correct age (38 at the time). Once in a while someone would flatter me with a 27. Now I get mistaken for 24/25 almost consistently. I am not saying PaloVia is responsible for all of that because I have also had a couple of TCA peels and I now do regular lighter peels once a month, but I know it is playing a big part. I do use it on my brow line and just about everywhere else on my face. I've also used it on my neck and hands with good results. I think with the PaloVia results vary widely. The timelapse image on their site is very impressive. However, I have tried this on friends/family consisitently for 3-4 weeks without results even close to that. As far as lifting and plumping. I think that happens over time, again depending on the person. I tend to view it similarly to skin needling in that it is destroying old collagen to make way for new and thus you may see some lifting/plumping. Althought with skin needling I believe you only do a couple of treatments a year. With PaloVIa, you have to keep up with it. I certainly feel I can tell when I've been missing more than a few days. As much as I love my PaloVia, I would personally advise you to get an ultrasonic device such as the ultrarenew. It's actually meant for plumping and lifting. I've been using an ultrasonic device and can vouch for that myself. A lot of people here seem to love it as well. Also it is much cheaper than a PaloVia. If you don't like the results with the ultra renew, you can always upgrade to a PaloVia. Good luck

  • January 10, 2013

    by Sherri

    Hi Dennis, are you still using this device? If so, are you still pleased w/your results? You mentioned lifting of the eye area, did you use the laser on the brow line? What about the nasolabial folds, did you get significant improvement in this area? My main concerns are lifting and plumping. Thanks!

  • June 27, 2012

    by Teresa Callahan

    I, too, would like to know if there is an alternative natural gel to use with the PaloVia.
    I despise the serum that accompanies the machine.
    Surely, something else would work?

  • May 27, 2012

    by Trena Morris

    Has anyone experimented with using organic aloe vera gel with the Palavia? Or any other organic alternative other than that comes with the device? I am allergic to a lot of ingredients in most facial products and have to be very careful of ingredience such as "mineral oil".

  • March 18, 2012

    by Dennis

    Lynn, I'm really bummed that you had no result s since mine have been so positive. I also used it on a female friend of mine for a month solid and it really helped her crows feet.

    I wonder if it's just the certain users? I've read that some procedures, such as thermage, have no effect on certain people.

  • March 18, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Lori, Palovia is made by Palomar and its machines for dermatologists go by the name of Palomar and also, I believe, Starlux.

  • March 17, 2012

    by Lori

    Marta, is the same type of laser offered as treatments with a physician and if so what are they called?

  • March 17, 2012

    by Mary

    By the way, has anyone tried the ReAura? I think it may have an advantage over the Palo Via in that it's supposed to be used much less frequently, which might help to reduce lingering redness issues. Unfortunately, as far as I know, it is only available for sale in the UK.

  • March 17, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi Lynn, I think we all share your frustration. I founded Truth In Aging because there was a lack of good, unbiased information about beauty products. Thank you for joining Dennis and other Truth In Aging reader reviewers and sharing your experience with us. I hope that you will hang around and continue to do so. You can help us create a genuine community of, as you put it, "real opinions" that are useful and make us smarter consumers.

    In the same spirit, I have added your specific comments on using PaloVia to the reviews on the PaloVia product page in the TIA shop. Thanks!

  • March 17, 2012

    by Lynn

    Dennis, yes I have used the PaloVia laser. I actually I bought it three times on QVC and returned it three times after using it for two months each time. I also am not faint of heart, and used it every single day, on high, and I did not have much of a problem with the zaps being interrupted. I stupidly kept buying it because I kept reading about some people having good results -- I kept hoping it would be a good tool so I wanted to give it a longer time to work. You can't say I didn't give it a great shot. I am also very lucky that I only have one little crows foot on each side of each eye and little lines around my eyes only when I smile. I am 50 years old so I believe I was the perfect candidate for the PaloVia. I lived through the red marks, which I could never make go away since I used it daily. Concealer did not totally hide my red marks and the laser really dried out my face, but I didn't care, I figured if I saw results and then did the maintenance, I wouldn't have the red marks any longer. That never happened because I used it straight for two months; I did not do the twice a week maintenance the second month, I still used it everyday, so really, I gave it a great shot to work. Sadly, it did not change a thing in six months of using it. (I also used it on the small vertical lines I have about my mouth - no change there either). I guess I am very cranky about the glowing reviews because there are so many people out there that do blog for companies and get paid or get free stuff - Google it, you'll see. And the companies themselves inundate the blogs with positive opinions so people will by their products. It just is very disappointing to me that we cannot rely on any reviews of any products because of all the deception. Who can tell what may be real and what is not? The only reviews I believe now are the ones that don't have any bad reviews, or the bad reviews are extremely minimal. Further, of course paid bloggers and company bloggers are going to say a few negative things about the product, they want people to believe they are "real." The one thing you will notice with these reviews are the "negatives" are all superficial -- something that is easily fixed, nothing to do with the effectiveness of the product. Paid bloggers can easily say the PaloVia laser causes redness and dryness because these are two things you can't get around if you use it, but they are easily fixed when you don't use it, use it on a lighter setting, or are in the maintenance phase. And Marta, I didn't attack anyone "personally." I attacked the paid and company bloggers for ruining the "truth" about products. It does us all a disservice, and it is very disappointing to me that what could be such a wonderful way to communicate the truth of "real" opinions, has been rendered useless.

  • March 16, 2012

    by Mary

    Dennis, yes, I have experienced sensitivity that sometimes seems worse, or maybe I just get tired of it. Then, I'll take a week off and then go back to some sessions just on low. My situation is complicated also by eczema, and while it isn't always present, I thought it might be responsible for some extra sensitivity. A very helpful product I've used is homeopathic arnica, both a topical gel and the oral form. I feel that these together have controlled the redness a bit.

  • March 15, 2012

    by Marta

    Hi StephanieG, we have the PaloVia in the shop - and with a saving of $55 plus free shipping: <a href="http://truthinaging.com/palovia" rel="nofollow">http://truthinaging.com/palovia</a>

  • March 15, 2012

    by StephanieG

    Thanks for the review! I would love to see this in the TIA shop!!

  • March 15, 2012

    by Dennis

    Mary, that's awesome. I totally use on my forehead too, especially between my eyebrows. I love this tool, as much as I love my clarisonic face brush and sonicare toothbrush. It's just a normal part of my every day grooming. The redness really is bad and somedays my sensitivity to it is a lot more than others. Have you experienced the same?

    P.S. I was using Jason's Vitamin K creme with horse chestnut post-treatment. The creme claims to help bruising and redness. I didn't notice a difference.

  • March 15, 2012

    by Dennis

    Lynn, it seems unlikely to me that someone paid to tout the PaloVia would complain that not only does it leave really bad marks, and the reviews on amazon are mixed, but that it's "not a miracle by any means" I'm paraphrasing myself. I also included a link to a dermatologist with the same opinion as yourself. I thought my review was fair an balanced and most importantly? It was my review. My opinion. Please respect that and refrain from false accusations. I have absolutely no connection to PaloVia or TIA, other than being an active reader of this site and being lucky enough to test some products for them. Lastly, your opinion that "Anyone who has used the Palovia laser knows it doesn't work." is a sweeping assumption. I'm curious to know if you have used this yourself? did you have a poor experience?

  • March 14, 2012

    by Mary

    My experience is very similar to Dennis's. I got mine a little over a year ago and never used it according to the directions - just too much redness. Instead, I used around 3 times a week on medium and got amazing results, around my eyes, naso labials and forehead. Most people think I'm 35; I'm 50. I now use it once or twice a week to maintain. Still get a lot of redness that takes 2 or 3 days to go away, but am not going to stop using it because of that. That's what concealer is for!

  • March 14, 2012

    by Ann

    If a person is alone in her bathroom, and no one is around to see her zap her face, does it count as "having work done"?

  • March 14, 2012

    by Marta

    Hello Lynn, none of our reviewers are paid to write reviews. The PaloVia has been reviewed on this site four times, including a review by me - I did not enjoy the experience and wrote candidly about that. Three members of our community reviewed it and liked it. All opinions here are welcome and appreciated. We'd be happy to hear about your personal experience, but please don't make unfounded personal attacks to get your point across.

  • March 13, 2012

    by Lynn

    This is a crock of crap. Anyone who has used the Palovia laser knows it doesn't work. Let's see, are you a paid blogger or work for Palovia to hype its products? Whatever, quit promoting products that don't work. We need people to be honest so when something does work we can all believe it. People like you on the internet are doing everyone a disservice. The internet could be a powerful tool to help us all know what is good out there, but instead, it is useless for recommendations because you can't believe good reviews because of people like you. Your review is laughable -- it is so obviously bias for whatever reason you are touting the company. If a product works, it works for everyone -- there won't be any bad reviews. Unfortunately for Palovia, this is not the case.

  • March 13, 2012

    by Marta

    Dennis this is a great review and I am thrilled that my PaloVia found a good home. I agree with you that devices are really the breakthrough. I shall make sure, this year, that I look for more and even better.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...