Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Sunscreens uncovered - my latest finds and rejects

Sunscreens uncovered
Is a Solution for:
Sun Protection for Face
July 16, 2015 Reviewed by Marta 39 Comments

I am constantly trying to find new sunscreens to recommend to the Truth In Aging community and (with the notable exception of Dr Dennis Gross Dark Spot Sun Defense SPF50, $42) this is an extremely frustrating process. The vast majority of sunscreens are awful, ranging from poisonous concoctions whose only benefit is they cost no more than a few dollars to grossly over-priced and mediocre. In order to get to just a handful of potential sunscreens to test, I have been kissing an awful lot of frogs.

Since many of you have probably been looking at some of the same sunscreens as we plunge into summer, I thought it would be useful to take you with me on my voyage of SPF discovery and how I uncover the good from the not so bad from the dreadful (including things that are sexual attractants for moths - Skinceuticals, how could you).

Rejected

If this was a $5.99 drugstore product, it wouldn’t seem so bad, but for $34 I’d expect more from a sunscreen than petrolatum as the second ingredient. Elta MD UV Lotion Broad Spectrum 30 Plus (7oz) uses octinoxate (developmental and reproductive toxicity concerns) and zinc oxide as the sunscreen actives. Then there’s 10 synthetics with no skin benefits before getting to the only two ingredients that have any, sodium hyaluronate and vitamin E.

There are ceramides, which can help build the epidermal barrier, in CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion SPF30, giving it a nice little punch above its $13.99 price point. Plus there’s niacinamide, a powerful form of vitamin B. I’m passing on the basis of the sunscreen actives – although there is mineral zinc oxide, there’s also homosalate (a hormone distrupter), octocrylene (increases the production of free radicals) and octinoxate (developmental and reproductive toxicity). There are also two parabens, which are controversial preservatives.

Still, whatever you say about CeraVe, it has a little more to offer than similarly priced Solbar Fifty ($14.38). Solbar has octyl methoxycinnamate (estrogenic effects) as one of three chemical sunscreens. Synthetic ingredients with no skin benefits make up the rest of the ingredients and include irritants such as PVP/eicosene copolymer.

I was surprised at how disappointing Skinceuticals’ Physical Fusion UV Defense Sunscreen SPF50 ($34) is. The good news is that it is a mineral sunscreen with zinc oxide and titanium dioxide, rather than chemical actives. Beyond this there is no merit to this product – unless you want to attract moths. Amongst the ingredients (none of which have any benefits for the skin) is undecane, used as a “mild sex attractant” for moths and cockroaches (source). It is regarded as a hazardous substance in New Jersey.

COOLA Sport SPF 50 Fresh Mango Moisturizer ($32/5oz). The COOLA strategy is to leverage every eco-friendly symbol known to humankind. There are cruelty-free bunnies, save-our-seas dolphins, organic this and that. They have even appropriated the American Lifeguard Association’s badge. Not so cool, however, are the actual sunscreen actives – four chemical and highly controversial ingredients: avobenzone, octinoxate, octisalate and octocrylene. See this article for more on these toxic sunscreen ingredients. No amount of organic agave and beeswax would make me pick this COOLA sunscreen.

The problem with super natural sunscreens is that tend to be low-tech when it comes to dispersing the zinc oxide through the product, meaning that they use a high concentration and a ghostly cast is inevitable. Although zinc oxide-based Raw Elements ($18.99) has nice ingredients (such as green tea) and no nasties, reviewers report that it leaves a thick, white coating on the skin. Plus it comes in a tin (recyclable, but otherwise impractical).

Other natural sunscreens rejected for their unacceptable white cast are Kabana Screen Green, Episencial, Devita (pilling) and Celtic Complexion.

Selected for testing

A sunscreen with apple stem cells will get my attention. Soleil Toujours Daily Moisturizer for Face SPF20 ($55) also has a plethora of botanical oils – from various citrus fruits, through peppermint, rose and grape seed. There’s a lot of confusion and misinformation about the use of essential oils (especially citrus) oils and I will doing a deep dive into this issue in the coming weeks. While there’s aluminum here, as well as phenoxyethanol, the good more than outweighs the bad in this mineral sunscreen.

iS Clinical is a brand that I am becoming very interested in. I have an upcoming review of their fabulous mist with copper peptides and I am also testing a most intriguing vitamin C product. They have two sunscreens and although neither are squeaky clean, they look worth testing. Extreme Protect SPF30 ($68/3.5oz) has zinc oxide, a mineral sunscreen, and octinoxate, about which there are toxicity concerns. However, it does have a unique ingredient based on enzymes that are supposed to repair DNA. iS Clinical Eclipse SPF 50 Plus ($38) is a mineral sunscreen with some vitamin E. There isn’t much else to recommend it without trying it (it promises to be sheer and non-greasy) and the downsides are synthetics, silicone and alumina.

Radical Skincare Skin Perfecting Screen SPF30 ($55) is a mineral sunscreen with zinc oxide and titanium dioxide. Radical has kindly added some diamond powder to deflect bright sunlight away from your wrinkles. Other useful ingredients include vitamins C and E, niacinamide (a form of vitamin B) and even more antioxidants in the form of superoxide dismutase, coffee and green tea extracts.

Goddess Garden Everyday Natural Sunscreen SPF30 ($19.99/6oz) has titanium dioxide and zinc oxide totally about 12%. Good things include shea butter, green tea and raspberry seed oil. The preservative is radish root ferment.

Trufora Titanium Day Cream SPF30 ($45). Truth Aesthetics (good name) is behind the Trufora brand and we are just making its aquaintance. The sunscreen has 12.1% titanium dioxide and is backed up by rice bran extract, apple extract, chicory, rosemary and jojoba. 

The hunt continues, if you have found a good mineral sunscreen with additional benefits (or any frogs to be avoided, for that matter), do let us know.

 

 

  • April 12, 2016

    by Elisa@TIA

    Hi Ashley,
    We're working to get testers of Radical Skincare SPF and will hopefully have them soon!
    Best
    Elisa

  • April 12, 2016

    by Ashley

    Where are the follow up reviews for the sunscreens tested? I'm really interested in Radical Skincare.

  • August 31, 2015

    by sherry

    How about Neutrogena's Pure & Free Baby, SPF 60+

  • August 30, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Lori, Luzern's sunscreen looks worth testing, we'll add it to the list. Thanks for the tip.

  • August 30, 2015

    by Lori

    With so much sunshine year round in Texas, we use a lot of sunscreen! I have tried three sunscreens that I really like Suntegrity, MD Solarsciences (shown on TIA) and Luzern Labs which is my favorite. It is lightweight, totally transparent and provides major anti-aging benefits. It's incredibly strong UVA/UVB protection comes in the form of zinc oxide (a whopping 17.5%), and it's also packed with a host of goodies to fight aging and dark spots. (Vitamins C & E, organic green tea and ginger, organic licorice, organic edelweiss, buddleja davidii, and thymus vulgaris, hyaluronic acid, vitamin B5, and L-Arginine) .

    What are TIA's thoughts on Luzern Labs?

    I just purchased Osmotics sunscreen from TIA to try so I can compare the two.

    Thanks for your great website, it is a wealth of information and I enjoy reading all your great reviews, articles etc.!

  • August 20, 2015

    by KC

    I'd love to test sunscreens for Truth in Aging and the Soleil Toujours Daily Moisturizer for Face SPF20 looks like an interesting product.

    I'm searching for a sunscreen that is not too thick, not too thin, uses a physical barrier, doesn't leave me looking like a ghost an hour after application, and is good for my aging skin. Many of the drug store brands include chemical sunscreens which I prefer to avoid while many of the med-spa brands have a tint that doesn't work well for me and are too expensive. I'm looking for a sunscreen winner!

  • August 18, 2015

    by Imelda

    Our family loves the MD Solar Science Mineral Creme Broad spectrum SPF 50!!!
    Not only is it easy to apply and leaves no unsightly white streaks, it also works very efficiently and is not greasy at all. It is also priced moderately great for daily use during this hot summer in Southern California. We would love to try this Soleil Tojours, Marta!

  • August 18, 2015

    by Ann

    This has got to be the most confusing product groups in the market. Most products have some ingredient in them that is not good for you, or the SPF claims are not accurate, or its too pasty, it turns your skin white, hard to apply, or maybe too greasy. My favorite is still LaRoche Posay's Anthelios and this summer i tried Ocean Potion SPF 30 spray for kids and was very impressed, but I am always looking out for a great spray sunscreen especially one with added benefits. I would love to try the Soleil Tujours sunscreen.

  • August 18, 2015

    by Sandra

    I am an over 65 woman with fair Irish skin and have problems with sunscreens as far as breaking out from ingredients. Always looking for a good alternative as I sunburn through the car window. Please consider me for testing any new products.
    Thanks
    Sandra

  • August 18, 2015

    by Kelly

    Hi there! Lots of summer left to go here in Arizona so I'm always game to try a new sunscreen. I'm the ideal candidate with my Irish skin and freckles and can tell right away how well a sunscreen is performing.

  • July 27, 2015

    by Aurora

    I like MD Solar Sciences SPF 50 Mineral Creme because I can't stand the feel of wearing sunscreen and this one I barely feel at all...but if there are detractors I'd love to know about them!

  • July 23, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Denise, we have not only tested Suntegrity, we actually sell it. Hi Natalia, thanks so much - we'll be contacting you right away for a tester.

  • July 22, 2015

    by Natalia

    We have a great sunscreen too - Sun Si'belle Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Sunscreen- Tinted, 3.3 oz - It's light, tinted and doesn't have any white cast. No nasties either. You are welcome to test it out, Marta.
    Ingredients: Purified water, Organic Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Organic Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Panthenol, Tocopherol (from Soy), Allantoin, Sodium PCA, Organic Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Hyaluronic acid, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Iron Oxides, Laminaria Ochroleuca (Kelp) Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Sea Buckthorn) Fruit Extract, Organic Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Organic Rosa Canina (Dog Rose) Hips Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil, Organic Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Organic Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Seed Oil, Coenzyme Q10, Organic Althaea Officinalis (Marshmallow) Extract, Organic Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Myrciaria dubia (Camu Camu), Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract, Silybum Marianum (Milk Thistle), Organic Calendula Officinalis (Pot Marigold) Extract, Niacin, EthylHexylGlycerin, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide (Cosmocil CQ), Pelargonium Graveolens (Rose Geranium) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil. - See more at: http://www.sweetsationtherapy.com/sun-sibelle-broad-spectrum-spf-30-sunscreen-tinted-3-3-oz/#sthash.S8bqnwuA.dpuf

  • July 22, 2015

    by Denise

    Have you tested suntegrity? I use their face and body. Love the face it goes on under makeup well, blends in nicely and keeps my makeup on. My only complaint about the body is the tube is small. Goes on nicely, I do feel I reapply more than the garbage sunscreens but I feel that is true of all of the more natural products.

  • July 20, 2015

    by Judy D

    Thanks for the review, I've been looking for a while too. Can be tough. Here in Canada, I've come acrosss a Canadian company that I've really enjoyed using their sunscreens. They're called The Sunscreen Company TM so you would hope they have nice sunscreens! Have spoken to customer service people and have all been really friendly- I think they are a smaller company but I read about them through a popular Canadian blog Beautyeditor.ca. They have two formulas. Their Every Morning version applies really nicely, I use it for every day. Does have octinoxate and saw on their site whey they think encapsulating it is a crucial difference. Their Simply Zinc is their more 'natural' version, just zinc at 22%. This is the one that I first read a review about. Definitely a little thicker than the other version but applies pretty nicely, definitely not whitening or shiny. Will paste both ingredient list below. I think they are mostly Canadian based but can buy through their website thesunscreencompany.com.

    Every Morning Sun Whip SPF 25 (w/w) 15% Zinc Oxide (ZinClearTM)
    7.5% Octinoxate (Encapsulated), Aqua, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Isostearate, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-75 Stearate, Ceteth 20, Steareth-20, Glycerin, Cetyl Dimethicone, Methycellulose, Trisodium Ethylenediame Disuccinate, Xanthan Gum, Sclerotium Gum, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Silica, PVP, Chlorphenesin, Cetyl Alcohol, Sodium Citrate, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA)

    Simply Zinc Sun Whip SPF 30: (w/w) 22% Zinc Oxide, Aqua, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Isostearate, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Trimethylene glycol, Methylcellulose, Tetrapeptide-21, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum

  • July 19, 2015

    by Kirstin

    Hi Martha,
    You really need to read the consumer reports review on sunscreens, too, though. Specifically because they tested Goddess Garden. You are doing your reviews based on what the makers CLAIM are in their products but Consumer Reports actually tested them to see if stye their SPF clams were accurate and Goddess Garden failed miserably. I no longer buy ANYTHING from them. I have been using LaRochePosay's Anthelios since 2001 and it looks like I am sticking with them as they were one of the few brands who passed with flying colors! Have a read here and thanks for such great site, by the way! :)
    http://pressroom.consumerreports.org/pressroom/2015/05/my-entry.html

    Best,
    Kirstin

  • July 17, 2015

    by Stephanie

    COOLA offers a mineral line as well! It's my absolute FAVORITE mineral sunscreen because it is so so wearable for everyday! Totally agree with your claim about chemicals in sunscreens though. It's unfortunate that we haven't gotten any new sunscreen ingredients approved in the past decade!

  • July 17, 2015

    by Marta

    Thank you Erin. We tested Pratima (and liked it: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/pratima-neem-rose-face-sunscreen-spf-30) back in the early days of Truth In Aging, so this is a great reminder to revisit. Sarah
    I completely agree with you about MD Solar Sciences - yep, there's the silcone but I get compliments on my skin when I wear it (!) and it really does do the job. Helen, the Andalou products look really nice - and a good price. Can't really comment on O Cosmedics as the ingredients aren't listed - I'll have to contact them. And Replenix looks worth trying as the good seems to outweigh the bad

  • July 17, 2015

    by SummerStorms

    Ooo thank you Helen! I'm going to try these suggestions. (And Dennis and sarah w too, but Helen's were recommended for our Aussie sun)

    To Marta - Hurrah, this is the sort of post I like to hear from you here at Truth in Aging! keep those exacting standards!

  • July 17, 2015

    by Erin

    I'm a former Devita devotee, but now my all-time favorite sunblock is Pratima Neem Vetiver SPF 30. It's their "body" version- they have a neem-rose version for face, but it contains wheat germ oil, which I'd rather not use. Plus, the vetiver version is a bigger bottle/better value.

    It's got the shortest ingredients list I've ever seen in a sunblock and the texture is truly light and fluid and the scent is vetiver (which I love). No whitecast on most skin tones, completely non-greasy (there's actually no oils at all in it, as well as no silicone or dimethicone). It contains a few herbal extracts, including licorice and neem. It seems to prevent breakouts and generally improve my skin when I use it.

    It does go on a bit glowy/shiny, but that's not an issue once I apply my powder, and then it seems to control oil without being drying. I can apply it VERY generously without suffocating my skin. It did an amazing job of keeping me from burning when I was stranded out on a lake all day and forgot to reapply. I had it on my face and chest and a thicker sunblock on my shoulders. Only my shoulders got pink!

    PS- I would LOVE it if TIA carried this! The Pratima site is the only place to get it and their shipping is expensive!

  • July 17, 2015

    by Kathyk

    Hydropeptide SPF 30 has been my go to since I tried it on the Discover program. I believe the formula may have Bern changed with the packaging lately. My dermatologist pointed out that I had to love my sunscreen to use it regularly. So she told me to keep trying until I find a keeper. The peptides and skin pigment maxing properties are fantastic. But the smell and how I look keep me buying this product.

  • July 17, 2015

    by sarah wilson

    I live in sunny Santa Barbara, California, and hike in the mountains every day. I have been using MD Solar Sciences Mineral Tinted Creme SPF 30 every day on my face and neck for several years and think it is marvelous. Actually it's bloody marvelous.
    I have never burnt or even turned red despite hot, sunny hikes and walks on the beach. It hasn't given me any break outs and it goes on like a dream. In fact I never bother with foundation any more because the tint is subtle and it gives enough coverage to look natural whilst protecting the delicate skin on my face. I use it because it is one of the top choices of the EWG with very few nasties and a great overall score:

    http://www.ewg.org/2015sunscreen/about-the-sunscreens/617248/MDSolarSciences_Mineral_Tinted_Creme_Sunscreen%2C_SPF_30_/

  • July 16, 2015

    by Helen

    Living in Australia is tough that on your skin with our harsh sun. However I've found some excellent sunscreens that have 20% zinc oxide. These are:

    - Andalou Naturals Oil Control Beauty Balm SPF30
    - Andalou Naturals Skin Perfecting Beauty Balm Natural Tint SPF30
    - O Cosmedics Mineral Pro SPF30 Tinted (and Untinted). This also has resveratrol and palmitoyl oligopeptide.

    I've also ordered to try the new Replenix Ultimatte Perfection SPF 50 that is tinted and has 16.2% zinc oxide, ceramides, phospholipids, antioxidants and a whole range of other goodies. Best of all it is a quasi-BB cream that you can supposedly use as a primer.

    Interested to see what others think of these and especially the TIA team.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Stephanie

    I am fair skinned and in my mid 30's trying to find a decent sunscreen that won't break me out, wears nicely under makeup and isn't full of chemical nastiness. :) I would love to test this sunscreen out! I keep hearing how important it is to wear sun protection to prevent further skin damage but the best I have come up with is a tinted BB cream. Please help! :)

  • July 16, 2015

    by Alisa

    I've been a fan of IS Clinical for a few years now--there are some really good products in their line. Not sure about all the ingredients, but I do like the youth serum and the sunscreen--I'm interested to see your take. : )

  • July 16, 2015

    by Dennis

    I have tried dozens of sunscreens over the past 15 years and the best I have found is still Paula's Choice Resist Super-Light Wrinkle Defense SPF 30. This is a physical sunscreen that uses a slight tint to prevent a white cast. It rubs right in, no waiting, and never ever pills. It is also loaded with a enormous amount of actives, including astaxanthin and tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate.

    Devita used to be a gods gifts to sunscreens until they changed where they got their zinc. Although it's been improved slightly since the change, it still pills, even hours after applying. I only use it on my body because of this.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Liz, we have many reviews (positive) of Suntegrity and have been selling it in our store for a couple of years.

    Hi Kelly, thanks for the tip on Devita.

    Hi Susan, I'd mostly make the same comments on the Elta MD UV Clear as I made on the Elta MD Lotion reviewed above.

    Hi Genny, I am aware of and like the Image line. We have tried a few times to get in touch with the company to no avail, but you have galvanized me to try again.

    Hi Alina, I'll definitely look into Luzern. This brand came on my radar recently and are worth getting to know I think. And True Nature ingredients look great.

    Keep 'em coming!

  • July 16, 2015

    by karan

    I like the 100% pure facial sunscreen with organ oil. I have very sensitive skin and it is non-irritating and love the mineral sunscreen. It's all zinc oxide which is additionally soothing to my rosacea prone skin.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Kelly

    Thanks for the great informational article on sunscreens. Just goes to show that something meant to protect you may be doing more harm than good and how important it is to take care in choosing your products. I use Devita Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30. I love the ingredients and the price point. Yes it does pill but I have found the trick to preventing that. I wash, moisturize and sunscreen, then I go and prepare my coffee. By the time I go back to apply makeup, the sunscreen has had time to fully absorb and no pilling. Best of all it works!

  • July 16, 2015

    by Liz

    Look into Suntegrity (www.suntegrity.com). It has all natural ingredients, scientifically tested. safe for babies and children comes in tinted moisturizer form, as well as untinted, and there are new products on the horizon. It works on all skin types and continues to rate high in all categories. I'd love to see how it rates in your comparison.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Fireflyglows

    I've been using the Prana Reishi Mushroom Shield, that you sell, for the past few years and I'm very happy with it.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Alina

    I would love to try the Trufora sunscreen. I use sunscreen every single day of my life and I have tried a dizzying array of sunscreens, from the high end to natural lines. I am currently using the Defense sunscreen by Luzern and the tinted sunscreen by True Nature Botannicals. I am always on the lookout for a non-toxic sunscreen that would not make me look like an oily-faced geisha.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Genny

    In response to your article on Sunscreens have you reviewed or tried Image SPF skin care line? They are to be reformulated to be even better then they were, and seem to be more cost effective then the competition. I would love to hear your view on the skin care line and spf products.
    .

  • July 16, 2015

    by Kelly

    I'm up for testing a new sunscreen, I consider myself somewhat of an expert being a spotted girl living in Arizona!

  • July 16, 2015

    by Ann Rude

    I've been using MD Solar Sciences Mineral BB cream. It is a mineral sunscreen, spf 50, and comes in two colors. The cons: Lots of "cones". The pros: Smooths the skin without being like a foundation. I like both colors. The darker one (I accidentally purchased) is a mild bronzer. It evens out my skin, making foundation unnecessary and it doesn't rub off on clothes and cell phones. It has some good things, like caffeine, niacinamide and green tea, but I rely more on my serums for anti-aging. It is non-irritating and doesn't sting my eyes if I get sweaty. It spreads smoothly and doesn't leave a cast, plus I find it has a mattifying effect rather than being greasy. It is an effective sun block. I've tried the Dennis Gross product as well, and I would say they're on a par. I like the MD product better because it has the light tint that works well for me.

  • July 16, 2015

    by DJ

    I spent the 1970s and 80s the way most fair-skinned Southerners did: lying in the sun covered in baby oil, trying to achieve Cher's coloring. So I've already got my share of sun damage and don't want any more. Because most sunscreens are full of ingredients that are questionable to downright harmful, my current sun-protection protocol is a fig floppy hat. My reddened shoulders and knees attest to how well that's working for me. I'd be keen to try a sunscreen that's actually beneficial to my already-abused skin.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Susan

    Marta thanks for research on sunscreens.

    I hope you have the time to evaluate EltaMD UV Clear SPF 46.
    I and many others (see online reviews) that have sunscreen intolerant facial skin can successfully use the UV Clear formula. The UV Clear version is carried in many dermatologists offices.

    Active ingredients: Zinc Oxide 9%, Octinoxate 7.5%.

    Inactive ingredients: Purified Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Niacinamide, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Polyisobutene, PEG-7 Trimethylolpropane Coconut Ether, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lactic Acid, Oleth-3 Phosphate, Phenoxyethanol, Butylene Glycol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Carol

    I like where it is sunny-yet I was born with Nordic sun sensitive skin. I am ready and willing to test Trufora! When it comes to sun products-I'm your girl.

  • July 16, 2015

    by Gen

    For body sunscreen i trust only mexitan. In a non-micronuzed form so i does not penetrate skin, a bit of white film byt not too much, proven to protect, no nasties. For face, i have not found a great one yet, but my fav is Marie Veronique Organics tinted moisturizer and clinique cc cream (that has some good and some bad ingredients )

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...