Free shipping on all orders over $39

five best with vitamins a-e

Five Best with Vitamins, A-E

Solution for:

Acne, Dull Skin, Fine Lines, Hyperpigmentation, Redness, Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
February 24, 2015 Reviewed by Marta 20 Comments

We know that vitamins are good for us, but when they are applied topically, they do very different things. Here’s the top five vitamins for skin, what they do and the very best of each. When it comes to the Five Best with vitamins, you need to know your ABCs (D & E, too).

  • Vitamin A

    Vitamin A is for exfoliation. Retinol is vitamin A in its whole molecule form. Vitamin A itself does not have a direct effect on skin, but is only effective after specialized enzymes in the skin cells convert it into Retinoic Acid. Vitamin A increases skin cell turnover. Read more on retinol and vitamin A.

    Sciote Advanced Retinol Crème ($64 in the shop) is an antioxidant serum that has 2% retinol, which is backed up by some salicylic acid, which is also an exfoliator. The formula also contains vitamins E and B5, as well as Sciote’s signature natural form of hyaluronic acid.

  • Vitamin B

    Vitamin B is for cell metabolism, anti-aging and anti-acne. There are eight different B vitamins. The most common in skin care are niacinamide (B3) an antioxidant that enforces steady cell turnover, pantothenic acid (B5), a wound healer and acne curer, and B8, which helps protect the skin from UV damage.

    Your Best Face Hydrate B Concentrate ($45 in the shop) is a simply formulated serum that punches above its weight with three forms of vitamin B: niacinamide (B3), panthenol (B5) and insositol (B8).  A peptide called Syn-Hycan has been added to counteract sagging skin.

  • Vitamin C

    Vitamin C is for hyperpigmentation. It will also curb inflammation, enhance sunscreen protection, retain moisture and bolster the skin's immune system. There are many types of vitamin C with varying degrees of stability and effectiveness. Newer ones claim to be gentle as well as potent.

    Medik8 CE-Thione Rechargeable Vitamin C Serum ($150 in the shop) offers 15% ascorbic acid, which is given a good boost by vitamin E and glutathione, a busy molecule that does all sorts of important things — detoxification, antioxidant defense, maintenance of thiol status (a molecule in our blood) and modulation of cell proliferation.

  • Vitamin D

    Vitamin D is for absorbing vitamins A and C, skin radiance and collagen production. Most of us are vitamin D deficient, and there are few good cosmetics that contain it. Vitamin D is helpful for counteracting skin redness.

    Elizabeth Dehn for One Love Organics Active Moisture Time Release Vitamin D Moisture Mist ($39 in the shop) is a moisturizer that comes in the form of a spray. One Love Organics uses shitake mushroom extract, which is a good source of ergocalciferol or vitamin D2. This is a good thing because ergocalciferol helps protect the skin from sun damage. This moisturizer also contains alpine rose.

  • Vitamin E

    Vitamin E is for antioxidants and UV absorption. Vitamin E protects cell membranes, active enzyme sites and DNA from free radical damage, therefore, it can prevent signs of aging including wrinkles and fine lines. Types of vitamin E include tocotrienols and tocopheryl acetate.

    Kenneth Mark MD Antioxidant Hydrating Cream ($120). Vitamin E in the form of tocopheryl acetate is the dominant ingredient in this serum. But it doesn’t stop there. The good doctor has added the powerful antioxidant astaxanthin, along with potent collagen booster, copper peptides, minerals, vitamin A, two forms of vitamin C, alpha lipoic acid and superoxide dismutase.

  • March 3, 2015

    by Rebecca

    Sadly due to my years of knowing best and ignoring advice, I exposed my skin to the sun without protection. Now, at almost 40 I have premature aging and sagging to my neck. Hugely self conscious and as a new mum to a 14 month, I fear looking more like his grandmother than mother. Would be brilliant to be able to try and review the Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream.

  • March 2, 2015

    by AJ

    I would love to try the Juice Beauty Cellular Neck Lift cream. My neck shows my age the most and the cream I have been using for a year has not helped. I don't mind wresting scarves in the cold months but not so much in the summer months. I would write a review of my experience with the product. Thanks!

  • February 26, 2015

    by Diane

    I'd love to try Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream, as my neck is definitely letting me down (!). I feel self-conscious in anything other than a turtleneck, which isn't the best item of clothing when the weather's warm!

  • February 25, 2015

    by Mary

    Honestly, I went to bed one night at age 58 looking like I always look, & the next morning, I said to myself, "What happened to your neck? You look like mom!" Even my husband said something one day, & he doesn't even notice a fuschia-colored manicure. I wear scarves now even when it's warm out. No necklaces, either. I feel like I aged overnight, with sagging, turkey waddle skin. When I look online to see what products could augment my new facial exercise routine, they all claim to work wonders. Which one really is the bast?

  • February 24, 2015

    by Dennis

    Hi TIA, I have discovered a new line called instanatural. I am currently trying out their vitamin a serum http://instanatural.com/collections/skin-care/products/age-defying-retinol-serum. It has been agreeable with my skin so far, and lt let's talk about the price? It cannot be beat. Cheers!

  • February 24, 2015

    by Linda

    Looking forward to a product that works on the neck. So far nothing has helped my 63 year old sagging neck. I have rings, chicken sink, sagging skin under my chin. Tried the famous Dr.'s product without success.
    I no longer want to wear necklaces.
    Hopeful this will help.
    Linda

  • February 24, 2015

    by Karen

    I would LOVE to "Dare to Try"Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream. I have been a loyal fan & user of Osmotics, "Necollete" for several years now, with good results.

    I have a little bit of sagging, but off set that with maintaining a facial/neck exercise each morning.

    I would be DELIGHTED to try, "Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream" and write an excellent review for you and your readers! Very excited about this new product that you have found.

  • February 24, 2015

    by joan

    I love Juice Beauty products--I think I've liked them all! The brand is a good one.
    I'd love to try this product for you--if not, then I think I may need to buy it for myself
    and let you know what I think!

  • February 24, 2015

    by Sue

    I would LOVE to try a neck cream for wrinkles and sagging that really works and has good ingredients!! Can't use Perricone...fishy smell alone is a turn off. I have tried the Juice Peeling product and love it, so I would like to try another product in this line and the neck cream would be perfect!!

  • February 24, 2015

    by jessica

    i religiously use vitamin a,c, and e. while i haven't purchased anything with vitamins b & d in them, i would be interested in the difference these make

  • February 24, 2015

    by Lori

    I need neck help! I have hundreds of products none specifically for the neck area and believe it or not a lot of face creams will cause breakouts on the my neck. Neck zits? Ain't nobody got time for that! I love Juice Beauty and would love to give it a try!

  • February 24, 2015

    by Lisa Schnitzer

    I am 62 and just starting to get deep lines around my neck (I unlovingly call these tree marks) and slight marionette lines. I prefer all natural ingredients but nothing yet has seemed to make a difference. I used to use the Juice Beauty mask, but this is a new challenge and I am ready to try something effective for this specific use. I use the Truth Renew device but I have thyroid issues, so I don't use it around the neck area. Help Juice Beauty!!

  • February 24, 2015

    by Tina

    I would love to try and review the the Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream. I'm in my 40's and lately I've really been noticing the results of my earlier years of sun worshiping on my neck.

    I've tried Perricone Sub-D for my neck and the fishy smell was so bad I sent it back.... I'm using Strivectin on my neck right now and I haven't noticed any results in the month that I've been using it. I'd love to find a product that would make a positive difference so I can feel more comfortable wearing summer styles that show my neck!

    Thanks for such an informative website.
    Tina Gray

  • February 24, 2015

    by Nancy

    Currently I use a Vitamin C and hyaluronic acid serum along with a cream specifically for sagging neck skin. In addition I use the Truth Renew. As long as I am consistent these help.
    The write up on the Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream sounds great. Even though the products I mentioned help, if there is something that works better I would really love to try it.

  • February 24, 2015

    by Sandy

    I take astaxanthin orally as well, after I first read about it here at TIA. And I'm all about the copper peptides. Always looking for a good way to tone up the neck and jowls, as well as the marionette lines, now that I've hit 50+. Between these vitamin-packed serums and creams, and ultrasound, micro-current, and LED, I'm hoping to improve what I have.

  • February 24, 2015

    by Ro

    Hi,
    I would love to try this neck lifting serum/lotion. I'm 48 and need any help I can get :)

  • February 24, 2015

    by Marla

    Hi Marta,

    I think I am the perfect candidate to try Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream. I am 54 (55 soon), and the majority of my aging seems to be occurring in my neck. I have visible sun damage, wrinkles, sagging and crepe skin. I would love to try Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream to see if I can turn back the clock (and my bad sun worshiper decisions). Thank you!!

  • February 24, 2015

    by Candace

    I would LOVE to try Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Lifting Neck Cream!!
    May I be able to test try and review?

    Thanks

  • February 24, 2015

    by Karin

    Hi,
    So you say it's good for sagging skin? Well, then I am the candidate for this trial and review! Just caught a glimpse of my neck in the mirror. Hopefully some help will be coming my way. Thank you, Karin

  • February 24, 2015

    by ilene

    Would love to try this particular neck cream, since my neck is starting to show it's age! Everything I currently use, works for a short time, and then the wrinkles start to show fairly quickly.

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...