Free shipping on all orders over $39

MitoQ Moisturizing Anti-Aging Serum Review

is a Solution for:
Age Spots, Fine Lines, Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
mitoq moisturizing anti-aging serum
119
March 31, 2014 Reviewed by Marta 8 Comments
TRU Rating
A powerful mitochondria-targeting serum that makes skin look healthier

Pros

Makes the biggest difference on my neck than anything ever before

Cons

Includes phenoxyethanol

One of my predictions for 2014 was that anti-aging potion makers would tout ingredients that target mitochondria. So, I was excited when a TIA community member wrote to tell me about MitoQ Moisturizing Anti-Aging Serum ($119 in the shop), a New Zealand anti-aging serum and oral supplement with just one active ingredient and a claim of being 1,000 times more powerful than any other.

At the end of 2013, scientists made the news with the discovery that they could turn the clock back for mice. They did this by getting cellular DNA and mitochondria to communicate properly. Mitochondria are responsible for providing the necessary energy for cell activity. Without mitochondria, most cells couldn’t function; and if cells couldn’t function, we wouldn’t exist. In an experiment with mice, scientists were able to reverse the aging process by using a protein called NAD.

The active antioxidant component of MitoQ, mitoquinone mesylate, is in fact ubiquinone, the active antioxidant in Coenzyme Q10.  But unlike other antioxidants, MitoQ was developed to target mitochondria. It is accumulated selectively and extensively by mitochondria, in contrast to other antioxidants, which distribute evenly throughout the cell. This accumulation — or concentration — is where MitoQ bases its claims of being 1,000 times stronger than other antioxidants.

It was actually developed in the 1990s at the University of Otago in New Zealand, but there isn’t a ton of research. Medical trials on liver protection and Parkinson’s seem to be mixed. Furthermore, I’ve never found a standout anti-aging serum that relied solely on ubiquinone. It would be up to the mitochondria targeting of MitoQ to make its Moisturizing Anti-Aging Serum a winner. Well, winner it is.

MitoQ is supposed to support healthy skin cell function. And my skin does look healthier — it appears more radiant and rejuvenated. The lines on my forehead are smoother, and MitoQ has made more difference on my neck than anything ever before. The serum is a medium-weight cream, is easily absorbed and has almost zero scent.

I was surprised to see behentrimonium methosulfate listed as an ingredient. It rang a bell to me, as it’s commonly found in hair conditioners. And it is true that behentrimonium methosulfate is used as a common detangler. I was relieved to find that this rapeseed oil derivative also acts as an emulsifying agent and is gentle enough to be used in baby products that are left on the skin. When used in lotions and creams, it gives a soft and powdery after-touch to the skin. Also benign are the emollients, dicaprylyl carbonate and glycerin. There are two preservatives, the relatively mild potassium sorbate and the more controversial phenoxyethanol, a possible neurotoxin.

As a side note, I have also been taking the MitoQ 5mg Targeted Anti-oxidant Supplements ($69.95 in the shop) and am not really sure how I feel about them. Let it be known that I am a supplement skeptic. For the first two weeks, the promised dopamine high never came. In fact, I felt decidedly under the weather — along with tout le New York as we suffer an endless winter. But during these past two weeks, I’ve been feeling decidedly perkier. Who knows?

What I do know is that I will be buying the MitoQ serum again.

Read our roundup of reader reviews for MitoQ Moisturizing Anti-Aging Serum

  • June 27, 2016

    by Marta

    Hi Sharon, I did call it out in the article. Our editor, who proofs, formats and publishes the articles, did not choose to call it out as a con. I have now done so.

  • June 27, 2016

    by Sharon

    Marta,
    I have seen where you list the ingredient phenoxyethanol in the "Con" category on other products but not this one, the MitoQ Serum. Why?
    It is from your site that I learned about phenoxyethanol and later researched this ingredient. I appreciated your info on this very unhealthy ingredient in other products. Wondering why it is not mentioned in your "Con" category.

  • May 28, 2015

    by Margaret

    I was lucky enough to purchase this product at a very low price. I just happened to see it but was still working on another product until it was gone - then I planned on using this. I suspect that whether one has dermal fillers and/or Botox definitely has an effect on whether a product works or not. (I couldn't resist trying this for a couple days only when I first got it, before I had my dermal fillers). Now that I'm using it in the presence of my dermal fillers, it seems to be much more effective and really highlights the contours of my cheeks, plumps up my skin, evens out skin tone, and absorbs quickly- no sticky residue. I wanted to give it four and a half, but I couldn't :-)

  • November 7, 2014

    by Teri

    I've been using this since it first became available in the shop, and absolutely love it. It truly does work wonders on so many different issues. But, I have a question. Should this be used alone or can it be used with my numerous other products? If so, do you have any specific product suggestions that would enhance this product or visa verse. I would like to use it in conjunction with my other products ts but don't want to be mixing this with anything that may cancel out its active ingredients.
    Thanks in advance.

  • September 25, 2014

    by Martha Jaquelene

    (5 out of 5)

    Kudos to the great anti aging formula MitoQ it really works wonders. Observing the change in one's skin after applying MitoQ was heartening since the skin was on a path of recovery. As a side note I hope MitoQ will become a regular in my kit just like the dermology hair removal cream has already become one.

  • September 20, 2014

    by Noralee

    if this really works to get rid of wrinkles, I would be your best advertisement ever!

  • April 23, 2014

    by Catherine

    (4 out of 5)

    I'm giving MitoQ four stars for the moment only because I've just been using it for a month. I am cautiously thinking that my skin is actually truly changing. I am 59 with very oily acneic skin which I have kept pretty much under control for many years now with Proactiv but when the opportunity came along to try this new product I thought I'd give it a shot. I've certainly noticed that previous 'bumps' under my skin that have remained stubbornly in place for a LONG time and going away. I've had a few minor breakouts but think this might just be associated with the aforementioned 'stuff' that's been trapped under my skin for years just letting go and working itself to the surface. And I don't think there can be any doubt that my skin is just overall smoother and more refined in texture. The other thing that is truly notable is the reduction in the appearance of very deep creases I have on my chest/neck area. I have used MANY products over the past five or six years on my chest and this is head and shoulders better than absolutely anything else I have tried. I have used the product on cleansed/toned skin morning and night as recommended. So I am going to persist with MitoQ, I have a six month supply and at this point I would definitely say I will be re-ordering but will re-review at the end of six months and hope to award five stars at that time : )

  • April 22, 2014

    by Emma

    Hi Marta, I have been using MitoQ for 9 months now, and also find it good. It is great for sensitive skin as it has such few ingredients. I think my skin has improved in quality since using it

Have You Tried MitoQ Moisturizing Cellular Energizing Serum ?

Write your own review today
Perfect Great Good Didn't Like Hated It Rate Me
TIP: Roll over me

Join the discussion! Leave a comment MitoQ Moisturizing Cellular Energizing Serum below.

My Comment

Add a comment... MitoQ Moisturizing Cellular Energizing Serum

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...