Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

The Truth About Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)

The Truth About Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
Is a Solution for:
Acne, Brittle Nails, Dry or Brittle Hair, Dull Hair, Dull Skin, Fine Lines, Limp Hair, Redness, Rosacea, Thinning Hair & Shedding, Uneven Skin, Wrinkles
May 5, 2015 Reviewed by Marta 17 Comments

Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) is an ingredient that I once wrote a dismissive article about. I concluded that although great claims were made for what it could do, they were largely unproven. MSM wasn’t a miracle cure-all and could even be a cosmetic "Emperor’s New Clothes". Recently, however, anti-aging brands that I really like and respect, such as Sevani, BRAD and Sciote, proudly tout MSM, and it finally struck me that it was high time to get to the truth about MSM.

What is MSM?

Though the name sounds intimidating, methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) is basically sulfur and it is in our bodies, as well as in some plants. To add a bit more color, it is composed of sulfur, oxygen and methyl. In the presence of ozone and ultraviolet light, MSM (along with dimethyl sulfoxide) is formed from dimethyl sulfide, taken up into atmosphere, returned to the earth in rainfall, and taken into the root systems of plants. As such, MSM can be found in small quantities in a variety of foods.  

Sulfur represents about 0.25 percent of our total body weight, similar to potassium.

How did MSM get to be touted as a miracle cure?

It all started with a book called The Miracle of MSM: The Natural Solution for Pain. This is where the "Emperor’s New Clothes" comes in. A bandwagon emerged and tons of companies clambered aboard, touting life-changing supplements. WebMD lists a multitude of ailments that MSM is said to aid, from snoring to AIDs, and then puts the kibosh on all these claims by saying there is no evidence, or scant research. No wonder I had been a skeptic. Wikipedia isn’t much more reassuring, noting that placebos fared just as well in treating osteoporosis.

Contrary to what the sellers of MSM supplements contend, there is no recommended dietary allowance (RDA) for MSM or sulfur. Sulfur deficiency has not been described in medical literature.

Are there any claims that do stand up to scrutiny?

Not that many. However, importantly, MSM has been reported to increase antioxidant defense (glutathione) (source), as well as decrease the actual production of reactive oxygen species (ROS) (source).

What can MSM do for skin?

MSM is sometimes described as “nature's beauty mineral”. OK, but would this description have any more credence than the promise to cure arthritis? The idea is that MSM  has the ability to enhance collagen bundles and keratin, the important stuff in our skin, hair and nails.

Now if you connect some dots, there is something to this. Keratin, present in the skin, hair, and nails, is particularly high in the amino acid cystine, which is found in sulfur. Apparently, it is the sulfur bond in keratin that gives it greater strength. Sulfur is also present in two B vitamins, thiamine and biotin. Interestingly, thiamine is important to skin and biotin to hair. Sulfur is important to cellular respiration, as it is needed in the oxidation-reduction reactions that help the cells utilize oxygen.

And, yes, you’ll be relieved to know there is some research. According the University of Maryland, MSM helps form connective tissue in skin.

By the way, even WebMD concedes that MSM might help rosacea, noting that a cream containing MSM and silymarin seems to improve skin color and other symptoms of rosacea. Indeed, sulfur is widely used to treat acne and other skin disorders.

Skin brightening

Sulfur also acts as a skin whitener, at least certain sulfur containing amino acids do (source). It is claimed (mostly in patent applications) that MSM may increase the production of pheomelanin, the melanin that is found in fair-skinned people, relative to eumelanin. MSM is a naturally occurring form of sulfur and its application is supposed to increase intracellular sulfur levels, which causes dopaquinone to be diverted towards pheomelanin production.

Absorption enhancer

MSM may help other active ingredients penetrate the skin. It is said that because MSM makes the cells more permeable, it thus enhances the absorption of nutrients

MSM and hair

I was especially excited to find that there is a credible connection between MSM and hair growth. One study looked at the effect of Methylsulfonylmethane on hair growth. The researchers combined MAP (a form of vitamin C) at 7.5% and MSM at 10% and concluded that results were “comparable to or better than the result in the group treated with minoxidil 5%”.

Where you can find MSM

Sciote has incorporated MSM into its Sciote Skin Vitamin-C Face Lotion ($65) and Sciote Super Moist Hyaluronic Serum ($75 in the shop).

Another brand that likes MSM enough to feature it prominently amongst its typically long ingredients lists is Sweetsation Q*Lumiere Organic Day Creme ($29) and Lumi*Essence Body Organic Advanced Brightening Repair Treatment ($48 in the shop).

BRAD gives MSM a lot of love and you’ll find it in many products in the line, such as BRAD Biophotonic Hydrating Hyaluronic Infusion Serum ($95) and BRAD Biophotonic Sublime Youth Creator Gel-Cream ($245).

Sevani touts MSM for boosting collagen in its all-natural products: Sevani Rose Hyaluronic Age Defying Tonique ($39 in the shop) and the Sevani Hyaluronic Wrinkle Defense Serum ($68 in the shop).

  • May 22, 2017

    by Kate

    I've started taking MSM approx 2 weeks ago and already seeing notable benefits. However i wondered if MSM can be overused? Can you take too much MSM?

  • December 14, 2016

    by RW

    Sulfur is also anti-bacterial and anti-fungal.

    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16229980
    https://www.truthinaging.com/review/what-is-it-sulfur-as-a-cure-for-acne

    Bathing in spring water with high sulfur content has been touted for many centuries as good for treating all manner of ailments.

  • December 12, 2016

    by Marlene

    Jana, only saw your question now. I keep msm paste on my face overnight, every night and sometimes after exercise I'll put little bit around and on my nose where the Rosacea used to be worse. My skin has cleared up completely, but I'll never stop using the paste. Just wait for it to dry, about fifteen minutes, and then wipe off the excess before going to bed. If you wake up and find few pustules still left, put mor paste on for as long as you can before going out. This has worked miracles for me and I no longer have to hide my face or cover up my skin. For me it worked immediately, but we are all different and I can only encourage you to perservere and not give up hope.








  • October 21, 2016

    by Jana

    Marlene.... how long did you leave the paste on your face for? And how often did you do this for Rosacea? I'm also a sufferer of Rosacea.

  • October 8, 2016

    by D

    I just ran across a company, Modicum Skincare, that has an exfoliant based around this ingredient. The only other ingredient is aloe. It seemed strange to me as I'd never run across anything claiming any exfoliation properties.

  • September 2, 2016

    by marta

    No Peter, the study used a topical application. That's why it was compared to minoxidil

  • September 2, 2016

    by Peter

    So just to clarify, the possible benefits for hair loss are gained from oral consumption? This is never fully disclosed, and it is confusing seeing that many skin products contain it for topical application.

  • May 6, 2016

    by Marlene

    I use msm paste made simply from pure crystals and drops of water on my face. Went from Level 4 Rosacea to 99% clear skin in three days, and now three weeks later skin is still clear. No redness or pustules after suffering from Rosacea for nearly thirty years. I now also drink it once a day and have loads more energy, less pain and stiffness and have noticed longer eyelashes! It hasn't become thicker though. I will never stop taking it and plan to increase the amount gradually.

  • March 7, 2016

    by Cassandra

    MSM was great for my skin, but I noticed hair loss

  • February 8, 2016

    by Rahat

    I am using MSM since last week and I noticed dramatic results in my mood, my joint pains and energy level.. I loved to have this twice a day. Yes, it cause insomnia but this is because u have highly energy level which makes you awake. Increase your physical work to use the energy and you will be have a perfect sleepl

  • February 7, 2016

    by Robert

    I have been taking the Kala health crystals product for two weeks. I awake more alert in the mornings and seem less tired. So far so good. I am not affiliated with any health food company.

  • January 27, 2016

    by Liz

    If you go to Examine.com (they are an evidence based site) you can find links to citations on NIH's site about MSM. Use the keyword "Methylsulfonylmethane".

    Now, I am not a believer in government anything as my political beliefs are to the contrary but if that gets people into thinking there's something more to MSM than meets the eye, perhaps they will read something like Examine.com, go to the links and start some research on their own.

    I can only say that I have been taking MSM since August 2015 and I am enamored with the benefits. Perhaps some of that is a bit of placebo effect and I am okay with that. Often, we are finding, the placebo effects are also part of the pharmaceuticals story too.

    Dr. Lissa Rankin has written a book called "Mind Over Medicine: Scientific Proof That You Can Heal Yourself' and she talks about the placebo effect and as a physician who has battled her own illness, I am inclined to agree with her on much of what she speaks about in her book.

    In either case, MSM is more than just for skin, it goes to a cellular level and since so much of our food base is depleted of not just sulfur but other vital nutrients, it's always worth it for people to dive into these things even if there hasn't been a ton of clinical research done.

    Often clinical research is not the first thing that money is spent on when we are discussing natural means to heal and aid the body's overall health. There's not a lot of money to be made like there is in the pharma industry.

    So anyhow, just my two cents worth. MSM is really something that seems to be changing my health in dramatic ways.

  • July 14, 2015

    by Krista

    How "natural" is MSM?

  • May 6, 2015

    by Kimberly

    I am a believer. I use NCN Skincare's Multi-Active Accelerator, and not only does it help any crepey skin, but I am pretty sure that the MSM in it is responsible for my newly filled in eyebrows. They almost look like they did when I was younger.

  • May 5, 2015

    by betty

    What about taking it orally? Would that help the skin?

  • May 5, 2015

    by Dennis

    Anytime I use a product with MSM, whether a body lotion, or a face serum, my skin looks in peak condition. I am a believer.

  • May 5, 2015

    by Linda

    I used MSM a few years ago after I cut my hair into a pixie. I used the MSM for maybe 5 or 6 months and my hair literally grew 12 inches in one year. I only stopped taking it when I felt as if I was gaining weight, even though it wasn't showing on the scale. I know it sounds weird, but after a month of being off them, I felt back to normal. I tried researching to see if there was any correlation between MSM and weight gain but couldn't fine anything. But it really did make my hair grow like crazy!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...