Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

Five Best for Sagging Skin 2013

Solution for:

Sagging Skin, Wrinkles
July 17, 2013 Reviewed by Marta 18 Comments

This post has been updated: Five Best for Sagging Skin 2014

You asked and I listened. It is clear from comments from members of the Truth In Aging community that solutions for sagging skin are critical. I’ve been scouring for newer and better and have some breakthrough finds to update my Five Best for sagging skin. Lift your spirits and read on.

  • Ultra Renew Plus

    Ultra Renew Plus ($149 in the shop) By far the best skin firmer that I have found is ultrasound. The way it works is that the ultrasound energy causes rapid oscillation of tissue and this promotes movement of fluid waves against cells. This action facilitates movement between the inner and outer cells and thereby increasing fibroblastic activity and collagen formation. Ultra Renew Plus permits ultrasound to be used at the same time as LED light (red is best for firming and plumping) and weekly sessions can be augmented by the Regular use at home (three to five times a week) has noticeably lifted sagging that was starting around my mouth and jawline. Read more on ultrasound and how it works.

  • Medik8 Growth Factor

    Medik8 Growth Factor ($185 in the shop). I recently tested this serum from the UK and it has become a firm (pun intended) favorite. It has a good effect on wrinkles – even those forehead ones – and a very noticeable lifting and tightening. EGF is bioidentical to human EGF, but synthetically produced – hence, the pre-fix SH (synthetic human) rather than RH (recombitant human). Medik8 claims that its EGF is more potent than barley-derived ones. Based on personal use, I would agree with that – and it is triple-filtered for extra purity.

  • E’shee Multi-Tensor Extreme Face Lift Serum

    E’shee Multi-Tensor Extreme Face Lift Serum ($159 in the shop). E’shee’s petite products punch way above their weight and the latest is no exception. Multi-Tensor lifts and firms – and not by merely making the skin feel superficially tighter. After several weeks, my jawline looked more contoured, my cheeks firmer and my forehead actually seemed a little lifted, as well as less noticeably lined. And I am continuing to be impressed. The key ingredients are sulfates (not the bad kind you get in shampoo), starting withmagnesium sulfate, an anti-inflammatory; manganese with antioxidant properties; zinc, an anti-immune booster; and copper. Another key ingredient is whey protein, which contains the TGF-1 protein that stimulates collagen and elastin production.

  • Your Best Face Control

    Your Best Face Control ($160 in the shop). Control has been formulated with several sag fighting peptides. Both work on elasticity, the loss of which leads to the dreaded droop. One is Syn-Hycan and the company that makes it tested it on women aged 56 to 65 years with loose skin on face and forearms and claims a significant decrease in sagging and double chins. Another ingredient in Control, Relistase has also been designed to treat sagginess and restore firmness to the skin. As you would expect with YBF, there’s a ton of antioxidants here. This is my go to night serum and find it hydrating as well as firming, lasting me through to morning.

  • La Vie Celeste Eclairage Restorative Serum

    La Vie Celeste Eclairage Restorative Serum ($98.50 in the shop) New from a favorite natural formulator, this serum majors on the firming peptide, caprooyl tetrapeptide-3 is derived from a growth factor, namely TGF-ß and stimulates production of laminin 5 (as well as collagen VII). Tetrapeptide-3 is also supposed to be pretty good at beefing up fibronectin (by 60% apparently). The bonus factor of Eclairage is that it also brightens the skin with other dominant actives, including oligopeptide 68, a peptide that is supposed to be more potent at lightening the skin than arbutin or vitamin C. Bearberry and turmeric are also skin lighteners and are amongst a ton of carefully chosen actives.

  • August 14, 2014

    by Loretta

    I agree with Rick. I wish I could afford $100.00+ for a oz. or so of a cream I .am fairly sure the high end products do a good job but am also sure their mark up is very high. I was never over weight but got very ill/had lots of pain and spent almost a year just sitting or lying down...thus parts of my body got wrinkles.

  • August 5, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Amy
    There aren't any good firming neck creams that I have tried. But the Ultra Renew Plus works on the neck too. As do some of the face creams mentioned in my 2014 update - especially Prime: http://www.truthinaging.com/review/five-best-for-sagging-skin-2014

  • August 5, 2014

    by Amy

    How about necks? There are many products recommended for faces, but what about necks?

  • March 18, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Karren, first of all congratulations on loosing weight. I have a few ideas for you. One would be to try exercise. You don't need to bulk up, but lean muscle will give you a little padding. You could take a look at The Bar Method for great, shape changing routines that work at any age. http://www.truthinaging.com/body/fitness As far as creams go, there is Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Body Repair Lift http://www.truthinaging.com/review/osmotics-blue-copper-5-age-repair-body-lift-reader-reviewed-and-recommended and we have an LED and ultrasound device for cellulite and firming: http://www.truthinaging.com/ultra-renew-sculpt

  • March 18, 2014

    by Karren

    Hi Martha, have been following your blog, and must say i have learned a lot, after losing weight i have a loose skin i have tried exercise a mostly every firming lotions that is available but nothing works. I really don't want have to do surgery, what is the best alternative as far as treatment to help with the inner thighs, under arms, belly fat and cellulite your help will be appreciated. Thanks Karren..~~~~~

  • February 27, 2014

    by Rick

    I find it suspect that you always seem to find things wrong with lower cost items like phytoceramides, and you regularly recommend high end products. I am glad that you can afford such luxuries.

  • February 2, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Christine, if you want to avoid phenoxyethanol, try the Your Best Face Control or the La Vie Celeste Eclairage as neither of these use this preservative.

  • February 1, 2014

    by Christine

    I am desperately searching for a product to help with sagging skin. I am just 45, and I lost 35 lbs. I am experiencing quite a bit of sagging in some areas and less in others. It is quite devastating as I have always been told how young I look...until the weight loss, which was healthy for me to lose it!

    It's so great that you are giving this information. I have one question though...I've read a good deal about Phenoxyethanol and it's toxicity level. I have read that it is harmful if it is more than 1% of a cosmetic product and many countries have banned the use of it in cosmetics. It is fairly high on the ingredient list of some of the above products which scares me a good deal. Keeping in mind that even if it is less than 1% of the product, how much you use of it will factor in. Can you help me with this? Thanks

  • May 25, 2013

    by Esther

    Hi Teri, thank you for coming back to me! well I will read a bit more about it and consider it...I am using Retin a so I want to make sure ingredients don't interfere.
    Martha, thank you for the links, I am looking forward to continue reading and informing myself. I had to fall for Retin A simply cos I had been fighting some wrinkles for years now... to no avail.

  • May 22, 2013

    by Teri

    Hi Esther: Sorry for the delay in responding, but just saw your post. The LVC Eclairage Serum has a smaller percentage of ChroNOline than our face and eye creams, but still an effective amount to help in the sagging department. The serum is packed with so many wonderful antioxidants and anti-agers so you still get a wonderful synergistic effect. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

  • May 19, 2013

    by Marta

    I'm not really a fan of retinols and think they should be approached with caution. There some articles here: http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/retinol
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/what-is-it-retinol/
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/retinol-when-to-use-it-how-to-use-it/

    And you can read about glycolic AHAs"
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/how-to-use-glycolic-and-alpha-hydroxy-acids
    http://www.truthinaging.com/review/exfoliation-101-from-brushing-to-retinol

  • May 19, 2013

    by Esther

    Thank you Marta looking forward for the next articles. Exfoliating with retinols is something I would be looking forward to read, especially using glycolic or lactic acid when you are using retinols...which reminds me to ask, wouldn't it be better of to use a 30 % glycolic peel once a month rather than using 5% or every other day simply because you are already using so many actives on a daily basis...like Vitamin C serum, Retinol, EGF....would be interesting to see what you and others have to say about it...
    Thank you!
    Es

  • May 18, 2013

    by Marta

    I think it is fine to continuously use growth factors. Here's the link to the 30-something regimen:
    https://www.truthinaging.com/review/a-beauty-regimen-for-30-somethings

    I'm going to post an article on using exfoliators and retinols at the same time.

  • May 18, 2013

    by Esther

    Great feedback and thank you Martha. I do put EGF after the retinol at night though...I use EGF twice a day...So now maybe I should take your advice and alternate...I use EGF in the mornings ONLY, whenever I use retinol..

    Will await the feedback re LVC. Still has got a few moisturisers to use up.

    Martha I was browsing re skin regimen for 30 something the other day and I lost and I cold not find it at all! And that was really helpful for me...would you mind sending the link please, if that's ok??

    Oh, and is it ok to continue using the EGF all year round every day or does one recommend not buying a second bottle straight away?

  • May 18, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Esther
    I would not recommend using retinol at the same time as other serums - but any of them could be added in to your routine in the morning with the retinol at night. The LVC cream also has ChroNOline, the active against sagging and so you would still be getting the benefits. I don't know whether the Elcairage has a higher concentration than the serum - perhaps LVC founder Terri will weigh in to advise you.

  • May 18, 2013

    by Esther

    Well done Martha I cant thank you enough....so if I already use the Medik8 EGF...together with a Vit C Serum and a Retinol Serum...which of the others (YBF or Eshee or La Vie Celeste) can I use with it? do they go together (ingredients wise) or anything cancels anything out?
    also last time you quoted a mosituriser I think, from la Vie Celeste...does this serum work better than the moisturizer you quoted before? since I am layering a lot of serums maybe I would be better off going for a moisturizer..again, if it is as effective....
    Thank you always.

  • May 17, 2013

    by Marta

    Hi Jan, without a doubt it would be ultrasound. It works better than any topical on its own. Of the topicals, it is a closer call. Probably the E'shee, but YBF Control has plenty of anti-agers and so is the best multi-tasker. But frankly, all of these picks are worth trying. I am quite pleased with all of them.

  • May 17, 2013

    by Jan

    So Marta, of all of these, which would be your go-to for jowl sagging?

    Thanks!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...