Free shipping on all domestic orders over $39

sagging skin

Five Best for Sagging Skin 2014

Solution for:

Sagging Skin
June 17, 2014 Reviewed by Marta 16 Comments

When we asked the Truth In Aging community to tell us their number-one skin concern, nearly 80% said sagging skin — that’s a big number. The primary cause of sagging skin is loss of collagen and elastin, the skin's supportive connective tissue. The facial muscles also weaken with age. Therefore, I have been trying to find the very best boosters of collagen and elastin and I have made some very good discoveries. My Five Best for sagging skin just gets better every year, and this is the 2014 list that will lift your spirits and your jawline.

  • Truth Vitality Lux Renew

    Truth Vitality Lux Renew Ultrasonic & LED Anti-Aging System ($249 in the shop). Ultrasound is still the best thing I have found for sagging skin. Here’s how it works: the ultrasound waves pass from the treatment head of the device to the skin, causing a vibration of the surrounding tissues (particularly those that contain collagen) which boosts fibroblastic activity and collagen formation. The Truth Vitality Lux renew has five intensity settings. Then, there’s the ionic mode, which helps stimulate the facial muscles. LED light helps to plump skin and reduce wrinkles. Patience and diligence are required, as the results are cumulative, but they are rewarded, and even someone as antsy as me manages four 10 to 12 minute sessions a week.

  • Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Prime

    Osmotics Blue Copper 5 Prime ($135 in the shop) is the latest product from Osmotics and is aimed at women over 40. It was a labor of love for Osmotics founder, Francine Porter. I am finding that it’s having a great effect on my neck, jawline and “marionette lines.”  It has triple strength copper peptides (a proven collagen booster), epidermal growth factor, natural artichoke leaf extract for increasing skin thickness and a patented new tetrapeptide that promotes collagen and elastin for firmer skin and improved elasticity.

  • MitoQ Moisturizing Anti-Aging Serum

    MitoQ Moisturizing Anti-Aging Serum ($119 in the shop). Don’t just take it from me; much of the Truth In Aging community has experienced the lifting effects of MitoQ. As Naheed put it: “I would recommend the MitoQ serum to anyone looking to get firmer skin.” Based on just one active ingredient, this serum is a powerful antioxidant that targets mitochondria. The manufacturer claims it is 1,000 times more powerful than other antioxidants. I can’t vouch for that, but I can report that for firming and smoothing, MitoQ works.

  • Your Best Face Control

    Your Best Face Control ($160 in the shop) has a formula that is focused on improving elasticity, which is critical for helping the skin defy gravity.  The big guns are two tripeptides. One is marketed under the name of Syn-Hycan and is specifically aimed at lifting sagging skin. The other is called Relistase, and it inhibits elastase activity and boosts collagen 1 synthesis. Plus, there is Matrixyl 3000, a blend of two peptides for boosting collagen production.

  • Medik8 Firewall

    Medik8 Firewall ($145 in the shop) is one of the heaviest hitters, with Matrixyl 3000, copper peptides, niacinamide and some powerful free radical scavengers. Copper is the key mineral in lysyl oxidase, an enzyme that weaves together collagen and elastin. Niacinamide increases ceramide and free fatty acid levels in skin, which prevent skin from losing water content. Firewall stands the test of time, as well – I’ve been a fan for more than four years.

  • December 15, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Judy, you can buy these products online from our online store. Each product above has a link to a page where you can buy and we do ship to Canada.

  • December 15, 2015

    by Judy

    I live in Alberta Canada what store carries these products?

  • July 1, 2015

    by Louise

    I am what I believe to be a young 74. My facial skin is good ( according to my Esthetician). I get facials once a month and have tried various facial creams over the years. I rarely wear make up. I would like to keep my skin as young as possible but I really don't have a clue what to use. Any way that you could make some suggestions? Thanks ever so much.
    L

  • February 7, 2015

    by RF

    Hi Marta, thanks so much for your thoughts about using a vitamin C in addition to MitoQ, I greatly appreciate it!

    RF

  • February 7, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi RF, I am glad to hear that you are finding the site and being a member of our community helpful. Mitoq is great for wrinkles and skin radiance, but I haven't found it especially helpful for hyperpigmentation and definitely think that you should add in a vitamin C for that.

  • February 5, 2015

    by RF

    I greatly appreciate the information provided by TIA, it has been so helpful in my search to find natural, effective options for skincare.

    I am in my 50s and am looking for a few good, multi-purpose anti-aging products. Is MitoQ effective in cases of mild hyperpigmentation and sun-damage, or should I also use a Vitamin C serum in addition to MitoQ? If yes, I am considering the Elizabeth Dehn for One Love Organics Vitamin C serum.

    Other facial products I am considering, based on the TIA reviews, are YBF Correct for eyes, and Suntegrity 5 in 1 sunscreen.

    Thank you,

    Ruby



  • January 1, 2015

    by Marta

    Hi Suzanne
    The Newa is a different technology. It is radio frequency. The Truth Vitality Lux Renew is LED light (red and blue) and ultrasound. They are very different and not comparable. In any case, I think the depth issue is a bit of a red herring. Radio frequency treatments work by generating heat. The treatment produces localized heat injury of the dermis and subdermal layer as well as the collagen contraction leading to skin tightening. Ultrasound works by vibrating (you can't feel this) at the cellular level and boosting collagen. You can read more on how ultrasound works here: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/ultrasonic-how-it-works
    And you can compare different technologies by reading this article: https://www.truthinaging.com/review/anti-aging-treatments-what-are-they

  • December 31, 2014

    by SMN

    I am trying to choose between the Newa Skin Renewal System and Truth Vitality Lux Renewal.

    The Newa Skin Renewal touts deeper penetration into the skin which is appealing however it does not mention addressing hyperpigmentation and does not suggest using it on other body parts.

    The Truth Vtality Lux is appealing because it address plumping, lifting and pigmentation and can be used on the neck, chest and other body part. The depth of penetration is not mentioned, any thoughts?

    Thank you
    Suzanne

  • November 8, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Jiota, we do not have an ultrasound only device. You could always gift your Quasar to a deserving friend.

  • November 8, 2014

    by Jiota

    Hello, I am interested in using an ultrasonic device however I already own the quasar md device, so I don't need another LED device. Do you have a device that is only ultrasound?

  • July 27, 2014

    by TIA customer service

    Hi Shalini



    You are already getting Matrixyl 3000 with Medik8 Firewall and so there is no need to add in Nutra-Lift or another Matrixyl based product.



    Retinol and growth factors work by very different mechanisms. Growth factors signal to cells to do things such as produce more collagen. Retinol is a deep exfoliator that forces cell turnover to be more rapid. In general we prefer growth factors because they are operating at the cellular level and too much retinol can be drying and thin the skin. Having said that, combining the two can be very complimentary.

    A great under eye cream is Amarte's Eyeconic as it has retinol and growth factors. There is more information on it here: http://www.truthinaging.com/amarte-eyeconic-eye-cream

  • July 27, 2014

    by Shalini

    I need your help in making me select a good product for my concerns/age.
    So, the thing is that while I do not have wrinkles to repair, I do have fine lines and loss of volume at 38 now. I do get fillers done now and then.
    I have been researching quite a few products... and stumbled upon one of Marta's posts; in which you mention that growth factors and peptides need something to repair in general. And that products rich in Matrixyl should do a good job at my age.
    However, that being said, I am using Brad Multipeptide Elixir as it does a good job at plumping skin. And Medik8 Firewall as a preventive antioxidant product.

    So as regards Matrixyl... I am thinking to invest in Nutra Lift Rejuvenating Therapy. Let me know if this would act as a good adjunct to my regime.
    Also... in light f the above; would you suggest that I include a retinol based product as opposed to growth factors?
    I ask this not only because my skin does not need repair products (like growth factors), but also because I read some place that growth factors have replaced retinols in their efficacy. This leaves me a bit confused :)
    Kindly let me know and truly appreciate all your help
    Thank you!
    Shalini

  • July 22, 2014

    by Jennifer

    I would also include facial massage as a treatment for sagging skin - in particular loss of contours. Since i started doing it as a pre-cleanse treatment with either a cleansing oil or balm I have seen really good results in terms of firmness and more defined contours-particularly around neck and jawline. It also helps relax facial muscles so those deep expression lines like 11's can improve as well. If nothing else it just gives a great instant plumpness and lift to the skin. Marta, I'd love to see you explore this issue and get your take on it!

  • June 18, 2014

    by Marta

    Hi Christina - no they are not meant to be used together. It is hard to pick just one for the neck as they are all good. Personally, I use MitoQ or Prime for my neck.

    Hi Dede - I would go for a good ant-aging body lotion such as Stemulation's Relance (http://www.truthinaging.com/stemulation-relance-body-lotion), the Ultra Renew Sculpt will also be helpful (http://www.truthinaging.com/ultra-renew-sculpt) and exercise with the Bar Method (http://www.truthinaging.com/body/fitness)

  • June 17, 2014

    by Dede

    This is all good, but what about the sagging skin, the wrinkly-old crepy-looking skin on my arms? Is there anything I can do for that?

  • June 17, 2014

    by Christina

    Hello, You read my mind! I was just looking around for something new to try, and this popped into my inbox. Serendipity.

    Question: Would you choose one over the others (not including the Ultrasonic system) or are they meant to be used together? My problem is sagging skin, and I hate my neck. What one product would you recommend to target this?

    Thank you!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...