Free shipping on all orders over $39

Five Best with retinol 2014

Five Best with Retinol 2014

Solution for:

Fine Lines, Wrinkles
March 25, 2014 Reviewed by Marta 14 Comments

Retinol serums can be among the most effective for rejuvenating skin. I am a big believer in rounding out retinol, which is a powerful exfoliator, with antioxidants and collagen-boosting peptides. As someone with sensitive skin, I am also keen to find retinol formulations that are kind as well as effective. In the past year I have discovered some really exciting retinol serums, so here is my Five Best with retinol for 2014.

  • Amarte Eyeconic Eye Cream

    Amarte Eyeconic Eye Cream ($80 in the shop). This is a most unusual eye cream and a very effective one. For a start it has 3.8% concentration of retinol. If the very thought makes your eyes water, then note that I didn’t find Eyeconic irritating at all. Epidermal growth factor also takes center stage in Amarte Eyeconic. Overall, Eyeconic is well-balanced with a base of moisturizing glycerin and argan oil, plus some good botanicals.

  • BRAD Biophotonic Sublime Youth Creator Gel-Cream

    BRAD Biophotonic Sublime Youth Creator Gel-Cream ($245 in the shop). Retinol shares center stage with Sublime’s other heavy hitters, Matrixyl 3000, a combo of two peptides that help boost collagen production, and moisture-retaining phospholipids. Sublime also has a very interesting plant stem cell called Resistem that reduces micro-inflammation caused by toxins. A fabulous gel serum that resurfaces, while tightening and plumping.

  • M.A.D Skincare Youth Transformation Retinol Complex Serum 1%

    M.A.D Skincare Youth Transformation Retinol Complex Serum 1% ($79). What impressed me about M.A.D’s 1% retinol serum is that when we asked our tester, Julia, to try it out, it passed muster against the prescription retinoids that she had used in the past — without being drying and irritating. Although not prescription strength, M.A.D softens wrinkles and fades dark patches. M.A.D does not formulate for purists, so expect  silicones and PEGs. However, the good outweighs the bad with amino acids and antioxidant botanicals such as mistletoe.

  • Skinfinite Platinum PM Cream 1% Retinol

    Skinfinite Platinum PM Cream 1% Retinol ($79 in the shop). Skinfinite says its retinol is entrapped in molecular microsponges that enhances skin penetration in a time-release delivery system. With 1% retinol. While some testers report it to be useable every day, another reviewer found it too strong to use more than once a week. A great workhorse of a retinol serum, the formula is rounded out with shea butter, almond oil, beta-glucan (D), and ceramide-2.”

  • Eslor Brightening Activator Serum

    Eslor Brightening Activator Serum ($110). It doesn’t get much more straightforward than this: retinol in the form of retinyl palmitate, vitamin C and vitamin E. There’s a couple of silicones and essential oils and that is it. Expect to see reduced redness and an overall brightening and plumping of the skin.

  • February 24, 2015

    by sebrina

    I am an African American Women who has deep lines around my mouth , I need a good cream that will not make these lines so obvious. I need a cream that is affordable , something over the counter.

  • October 17, 2014

    by mary

    hi,
    please let me if you have online class with certificate. and what is the best face laser tightening and the best laser for eye wrinkle

  • April 18, 2014

    by Marybeth

    I would like to have the best skin possible for my daughter's wedding this coming October. I will be 62 and want to look good in the wedding photos!

  • April 1, 2014

    by Kimberly Irby

    I am presently using Skinceuticals retinol, so would love to try a retinol that is advanced in its formula.

  • March 26, 2014

    by Barb Wicklund

    I have tried so many retinol products. Would love to compare Medik8 Retinol 3 TR! Some expensive, some not! I'm 54 and believe in taking care of my skin! (Or at least trying!)

  • March 26, 2014

    by pat

    I recently purchased the Medik8 Firewall (based on your review) and have noticed a difference in my skin. I would love to try this product from Medik8 and see if it measures up to my expectations from this company.

  • March 26, 2014

    by Kim

    I would love to try the Medik8 retinol 3 TR. I am 54 and have been using vitamin serum religiously and would like to add a retinol. I've read such good things about the Medik8 line and would love to try it. Thanks for all of the great work you do!

  • March 26, 2014

    by Kim

    I would love to try the Medik8 Retinol 3 TR. I just turned 54 and have been using vitamin c serum religiously and would like to add a retinol. I've read such good things about the Medik8 line and would love to try it. Thanks for all of the great work you do!

  • March 26, 2014

    by maria

    Hi Marta! I've written you about my experience with IPL/Radiofrequency. In the 18 months since, I've taken good care of my skin and I see improvement. When I was 19 I got acne for the first time and so I started using Retin A (back in 1985 when it was just out!). Well at that time they didn't warn you about going out in the sun while using it and I was in Spain and got a horrible burn and a brown spot that's never gone away. BUT...the great part about that experience is that from the age of 21 I've worn sunscreen religiously (I'm in my late 40's now) and I've used retin A on and off and eaten well, etc... so despite my experience with IPL/RF that I do think caused damage, I still have good skin. Having said that, I do need some additional help from the enlarged pores/loss of fat, that the RF caused and I would love to try the serum! I know a lot about retinols and ingredients and would be able to judge it well and write about it well. Thank you!

  • March 26, 2014

    by Sandra K

    I'd love to try this retinol product. I've been using another brand for a couple of years, which has been pretty good, but am hoping to find another retinol product that's even more effective. I use retinol to fade scarring, sun damage & to prevent as well as heal hormonal related breakouts.

    I'm hitting 46 years old this May & am seriously getting into all sorts of products & tools, including dermal rolling. I'll be buying some additional anti aging tools from Truth In Aging for my birthday this year.

  • March 25, 2014

    by Kelly Fleischaker

    I'm in to try since there's no doubt my sun damaged skin needs the help!

  • March 25, 2014

    by Lisa Harrod

    I am 54 and have a number of facial wrinkles a d would love to see them diminish or lesson with your product. Look foward to hearing from you.

  • March 25, 2014

    by Kathy

    I would love to try Medik8 Retinol 3 TR. I'm 47 and my skin is in a rut. I've been using Mad Hippie and Tilvee products for the past few years, but I think I need to add a retinol to my routine, and would love to try this product.

  • March 25, 2014

    by Ricky

    I have beeen wanting to try a retinol serum or a retinol based moisturizer for years because I have read so many wonderful results of using Retinol on the facial skin. I am 47 years old and I have the beginnings of fine lines by my temples and I would like to try a Retinol product to hopefully help stop the fine lines from gettting longer and eventually meeting in the middle giving me lines on my forehead. I have managed to keep the fine lines and crows feet away from my eye areas and around my mouth, the nasal labial lines ( I think that is what they are called, the lines from my nose to my upper lip area ) all from using good eye creams and moisturizers with Matrixyl 3000 and Argirline, and now I am worried about fine lines on my forehead, my moisturizer doesn't seem to be as effective on the fine lines near my temples and I really dom't want fine lines on my forehead. I have been able to stay ahead of the visible signs of aging, but I am terminally ill and many of my medications have really messed up my skin with it being too dry, rosacea, excema and I try to read about the best ingredients for dry skin and also ingredients that have peptides and Vitamin C to help keep any fine lines and wrinkles from getting out of control but I guess retinol has kind of scared me because of possible " down time " if the retinol is too strong and possibly irritating to my skin, especially during these cold, dry winter and early spring months, plus it seems products with retinol are kind of on the pricey side and social security disability doesn't afford me good skin care products all the time. I can buy an eye cream one month and then save a few months to buy a good 2 oz moisturizer and then save a few months to buy an anti-aging facial serum etc, etc, etc... but I try to always have the 3 main esssentials, a good cleanser, eye cream and moisturizer but I am really interested in trying a retinol serum because like I said, of all the good reviews I have read of people using products with retinol and the amazing results Retinol is for the skin. Thanks for taking the time to read this, Have a great day !!!

Join the discussion! Leave a comment below.

My Comment

Add a comment...

-or- Cancel Comment
* Required Fields
truth in aging's five best

Truth In Aging's Five Best

The very best to choose from for your skin concerns.

Read More

truth in aging videos

Truth In Aging Videos

Helpful how-tos and reviews from Marta and friends.

Watch Now

meet our contributors

Meet Our Contributors

The TIA community consists of our trusted reviewers.

Meet Them

be inspired

Be Inspired

Inspiring thoughts and women who are aging gracefully.

Read More

  Loading...